Moving Artboards and Locked Layers
The latest CC updates' new feature allows locked/hidden layers to move when you move an artboard. This doesn't make sense since locked should mean locked. I am running into problems now because my company uses a lot of artboards to make print-production files, and sometimes you need to re-arrange the artboards while working on the file.
There should be a way to turn this feature on or off. Such as "keep locked/hidden layers locked when moving/duplicating artboards, or allow locked and hidden elements to move when artboard moves"
We have the fix available in the latest release. Please update Illustrator using Adobe Creative Cloud application to the latest build for version Illustrator CC 22.1.
Please refer to our knowledge base FAQ – https://illustrator.uservoice.com/knowledgebase/articles/1844590 if you face difficulty in update.
Or get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html
Ashutosh Chaturvedi | Sr. Quality Engineering Manager – Illustrator
Adobe. Make It an Experience.
I need to be able to organize/align my frames on one artboard, then copy only certain layers to a new one with alt+drag. Not sure why that ability was nuked but it's trashed my workflow. Please bring it back.
Troy Havelin commented
I need to be able to move art-boards and have the locked layers move with them. If anything please allow to toggle between the two features.
I am also very frustrated by this! I am having to change my entire workflow because I frequently need to copy only the visible objects inside an artboard, which was the default behaviour in the old version of Illustrator.
This needs to be fixed!
Shawn Zhang commented
Guys, I have a work-around.
1. unlock the layer that you want to "lock";
2. drag the entire layer away from any art board, for example, way up on the canvas
3. rearrange your artboards
4. select that layers again and drag the entire selected layer back to art boards.
5. lock the layer and carry on.
Shawn Zhang commented
This is very frustrating. Adobe please change this back. If I lock a layer, don't move it.
Steve Mulvey commented
In the past, I could lock a layer or an object, move an artboard, and the locked items would stay where they were (i.e. locked).
This no longer seems to be the case.
I am aware of the workaround of where I can untick the checkbox in Properties labelled "Move Artwork with Artboard", but frankly this is not helpful in my workflow.
I often need to move and duplicate items on just one layer without items from a second layer moving with it.
This seems like a massive step backwards, and is causing significant problems to me.
Surely a more helpful checkbox in Properties would be "Honour locked items when moving"
This really needs to be changed back, or you could build in an option to enable/disable this behaviour. This change is a terrible disruption for my workflow.
At at least make another option that lets you enable/disable this feature.
Valerii Mamedov commented
@ShivendraAgarwal there should be no middle ground here. Learn consistency please.
This was a very poorly thought out feature.
If Adobe introduce changes like this, why not include the old behaviour as default, and have a simple toggle in preferences if users want to switch to the new behaviour? (or the other way round even, just give people the option.)
As a workaround for those who need access to the old behaviour, it's possible to download an older version of Illy through the adobe creative cloud manager/installer and use that instead. You can access the manager by clicking Help > Updates
Simon Barton commented
1: Illustrator CC2018 22.0.1
2: When moving, duplicating or rearranging artboards the artwork also moves even if all the layers are locked. This has never been the case with any previous versions. If the artwork is on a locked layer shouldn't it stay in its original position?
I had an art board that had artwork that went over the edge of the art board, i then created a second art board but illustrator automatically placed it too close to the first art board so the artwork was spread over both boards, i didn't want the artwork on both boards so i locked all the artwork and then tried to move the second art board further away but the locked artwork moved with the second board.
Once a layer is locked it shouldn't be possible at all to move artwork, this worked just fine before the newest update, but now when I move my artboard the artwork moves with it even when the layer is locked. This means i now have to change how I work when I set up my print files, and makes it take a lot longer, not cool.
Daniel siew commented
In previous version of Illustrator, artwork on a locked layer would not move with the artboard, even if "move/copy artwork with artboard" was enabled. This was useful if you wanted artwork on some layers to move with the artboard, but not others.
Now, all artwork moves with the artboard regardless of whether the layers are locked or not.
Jim Smetana commented
Move an artboard
Select the artboards you want to move.
Do one of the following:
To move the artboards and its contents, select the Move Artwork With Artboard options in the Properties panel or click in the Control panel, and then position the pointer in the artboard and drag.
To move the artboards without its contents, click to deselect the Move Artwork With Artboard option in the Properties panel or click in the Control panel, and then position the pointer in the artboard and drag.
Specify new X and Y values in the Properties panel or the Control panel.
This is highly annoying. I use a locked layer as a massive background colour or pattern for all my artboards. Making locked elements duplicate when duplicating an artboard makes this impossible - I can see when this is necessary but it was a very, very unwise decision to not provide a toggle for this. Please solve ASAP.
Locked is locked! There is no reason to change logic.
If users are asking for this "feature", make it an option, not the default. The way it is implemented now makes it feel like a bug, not a feature.
I used to be able to copy an artboard and have the "Move/Copy Artwork with Artboard" button clicked and it would only move the art on the layers I had selected as visible in the layers palette. Now it moves everything whether I have it visible or not. I end up copying and then going back to the layers palette and locking the art I want to keep and then deleting from the layers I didn't want to copy in the first place.
murphy james, right with you on your comment.
This was ridiculous having this feature. Not sure how many people wanted this change, but sure the people that don't like it will out weight it. You also removed the outer trim marks which we used on a daily basis. Your engineering is going backwards.