Fix annoying save bug after adjusting UI preferences
I just encountered an annoying save bug that caused me to lose 90 minutes of work in Illustrator. Here is the sequence of events:
• I opened an existing document in AI, with the intention of changing it and saving as something else.
• I opened preferences and made a minor UI adjustment (tweaked the size of my tool bar).
• Dialog #1 stated that changes will not occur until you restart AI. Would you like to restart? Yes/No.
• I selected YES (without thinking), under the assumption that I would be given the option to 'save as.'
• Dialog #2 stated that I could either save over my existing file or trash my changes.
• I wanted to 'save as' so that I could save the new work without writing over the existing file. Since both options were undesired and there was no way for me to back out, I chose "do not save" and lost my work.
I would prefer to have seen a "CANCEL" button that would have allowed me to back out of the process altogether, so that I could manually save the new work. Now, I'm forced to start over.
Please look into it and find a fix. Thanks.
Very true. Sorry to hear about the work you lost :( We all been there, but this problem is indeed quite absurd. Thanks for the story.