AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
My feedback
7815 results found
-
8 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Actually Illustrator allows this without any recreation, but not with a menu command like InD is having (and Ai won’t have it probably, because it doesn’t have frames as a construct). You need to select the path only (Group selection is the best tool to do this), copy it, deselect, paste in place. The path keeps its appearance.
The Control panel doesn’t have a button to quickly switch between the area type as a wholesome object and its path (similar to what InD has and to the toggle we see when working with clip groups), but nobody requested to see one yet.
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Jeffrey, not sure I get it right.
Do you mean that when you invoke Move, the selection jumps to some position (I suggest with the Preview enabled), but Horizontal and Vertical fields are empty? or do I fail to get the problem? Would you mind recording a small video? -
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
3 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Yes, it’d be great to have this warning.
The VectorFirstAid plugin by Astute Graphics has one (with an option to disable it) for its Completely Ungroup function: https://docs.astutegraphics.com/vectorfirstaid/vectorfirstaid-panel/vectorfirstaid-panel-flyout-menuAn error occurred while saving the comment How do you imagine this?
Where exactly do you think Ai can show this warning? Before or after? Is actually lots of appearance less noticeable than a warning that most likely would be a notification, like the one is shown when love shape is expanded? -
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
3 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment A related request:
Adapt default imperial/metric units to geolocation, or remember previous settings
https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/31659982An error occurred while saving the comment I see the frustration... I had to design a custom script in Autohotkey (Windows only) that goes into Preferences and toggles all the units. Macs have other means to set this up, AFAIK.
However, I doubt a fully automated solution could ever be a thing within Ai from the box. I just don’t see a clear error-prone way to set this up... but if this one ever gets done, Ai should drop a 'shy message' saying this got changed, allow to revert back, and give a link directly in the message we can click to alter this automated behavior.Plus there is this related request:
Make units and grid settings to be bound to file
http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/32403850
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
3 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment A related request:
Existing documents open to your preferred units, even if they were created in different units
https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/44015871 -
16 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Several more fixes made to handle more complex cases and keep the baselines match exactly.
Meanwhile wanted to share this script also — I feel it touches a related problem: https://x.com/efficiency_d/status/2105433642994634919An error occurred while saving the comment Oh yeah, good catch. It doesn’t exist in Ai scripting, it’s how InDesign handles it... it should be `TextFrame.spacing` instead. But dead check around it 'worked' anyway, so it never crashed.
I found several more narrow cases it can do better with, and will revise it further. Meanwhile has updated the current script. Thanks.An error occurred while saving the comment Meanwhile I made a script for this: https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/vhvv51d8wuk86lx9n21od/FitAreaTypeFrame.jsx?rlkey=0q2he1xj0tlt177khzm68870n&dl=1
Supports English and Japanese locale.
Unfortunately, I was not able to find a way to toggle Auto-Size (height), only force enable it, but all other Fit options work — for rotated objects too (and it can convert irregular shapes into rectangles. Supports different text alignment (detecting it by the first line).
Hope this helps. Please feel free to test and use and comment.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment I actually clearly see the difference now, and agree these differ.
Auto-size in Ai makes the frame to auto-expand or auto-shrink vertically when text is added or removed, while keeping the width fixed. InDesign offers a lot more options in Text Frame Options > Auto-Size: height and width separately or together, proportionally or not, from a chosen corner or side, with minimum and maximum values...
But double-clicking a frame marker or a corner does a different thing altogether — it actually resizes the frame to hug the text from the side/sides needed at the moment, and it makes the text to overflow when it gets added later. It’s basically 'auto-size once'.
We can do the same thing though in a way already, utilizing something InDesign does not have — point text.
Double-clicking the round marker on the right side of the bounding box (or going Type > Convert to Point Type) and then clicking it again when it goes white effectively makes the frame hug the text tight, giving mostly the same results.
The downsides of this solution — it requires two precise double-clicks instead of one, and it drops all the Area Type Options if you had any (like Inset Spacing or First Baseline distance) — which is mentioned in this report: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/47243432I’d say it’s close enough, but why not going a bit further and actually have it. Voted.
An error occurred while saving the comment Robin, but why do you specifically say you don’t mean the 'Auto-size' option? What is the difference for you?
An error occurred while saving the comment There's 'Auto Size' option in Type > Area Type Options that does this
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Aha, thanks!
What happens if you try to Paste Without Formatting (Ctrl + Alt + V)?An error occurred while saving the comment Doesn’t happening for me when I try...
Please tell more: what app are you copying from? can you reproduce it with a different document / page / text from the same app, and/or new document in Illustrator? -
284 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Given the obvious fact the development of the Illustrator for iPad has slowed down rather severely (if not stopped), I personally doubt Adobe is interested in ever touching Android devices... There is a very promising web version of Ai, built on the foundation the iPad version made, but it’s currently limited to Chrome or Edge: https://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/web/get-set-up/access-the-app/access-illustrator-web.html
I feel like it’s going to try be a solution for Android users someday. But again, it’s nothing but speculation. Still, the more votes we put here, the better the chance.An error occurred while saving the comment As far as I’m personally aware, the team has no certain plans to develop a separate build for Android.
The team has been actively developing a browser version though — https://illustrator.adobe.com/
It’s not the same as the desktop one (and probably won’t ever be like it), but it’s very close to what iPads now have... but at the moment it is supported by desktop systems only: https://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/system-requirements.html#ai-on-the-webStill please upvote and comment!
-
26 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment There’s a much larger request about bringing Illustrator on Android in general: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/41023306
I think this request should be merged into it. -
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Tuan, as far as I know nothing really changed.
Ai offers several workflows, as it used to.
In the Export dialog, Ai uses the names of the artboards (only) when these are specified, and uses numbers when artboards have their default 'Artboard 15' names (manually renaming it would count as a custom name). Ai never offered both — when using Export As.In Export for Screens dialog though, the names of artboards are always used, custom or default — and we can also specific prefixes.
To have both the number and the name, we can use #AN one (followed by _ or -)... and it would put it before the name.Leading zeroes is not something the dialog offers, yep. It was mentioned by Mike Choo in this now completed request about prefixes — https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/34032529 — and I think it should be promoted to an idea on its own.
But perhaps I just got you wrong?
Does the method above suffice? Please tell more about your workflow. -
2 votesNeed More Info · 2 comments · Illustrator (Desktop) Beta Bugs » Colors, Swatches, Patterns · Admin →
An error occurred while saving the comment When I try to reproduce this, Ai just doesn’t allow me to delete spot swatches or color groups that has them that are used within freeform gradients on canvas. So it must be something odd with the file itself. Please assist and share the file, the part of it that matters for the reproducibility.
An error occurred while saving the comment Gina, would you mind sharing a test files, the one the team can try to reproduce this problem with?
Please send it to sharewithai@adobe.com (along with the link to this report somewhere within the text or title, https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/939477/suggestions/51742998) -
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Jennifer, what version of Ai are you using specifically? Do you recall the exact step that crashed the app?
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Tommy, do you mind sharing the files, to help the tea to investigate it?
Please send all of these to sharewithai@adobe.com, and mention the link to this report for tracking, https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/51740160
The option is rather wonky still, but since the problem doesn’t occur reliably, it might be file-realted — please assist. -
7 votes
This has been fixed in the latest version - 30.3.
This fix would not correct the existing damaged files but should not happen on new files saved from newest version. Existing files can be corrected by resaving them in latest version.
Please check at your end and let us know.
An error occurred while saving the comment As reported, not fixed, it seems:
https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/51740160An error occurred while saving the comment Thanks, pleased do.
Just to be sure — can you please package the original file (with all the image included), and send it all to the team via sharewithai@adobe.com, so they can try to investigate it, if needed? Put the link to this report in the text, for fast tracking it back here, http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/51079009An error occurred while saving the comment It looks like the PDF part is not consistent with the native part of the document, and when it gets imported into Photoshop (that reads the PDF part), the way the imported document looks doesn’t match what you get when you read the saved file back in Illustrator — am I correct?
Is it only thumbnails look wrong when you import it, or the actual art looks off then too?
What Ai version are you using? Does the Ai Beta behaves differently for you (there were some fixes made)? Can you check it, please? It’s safe to install them both together, the normal version and the Beta one, and you’d have to resave a document using it before trying to import into Photoshop.An error occurred while saving the comment Marko, please supply the test files to help the team to investigate this, along with the settings used to generate these. Any error messages these third-party apps, any discussions you can share a link to — all could help to dig into it. Please either share these herein comment or send via sharewithai@adobe.com (in this case, please mention the link to this report, for tracking it back here, http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/51076405)
An error occurred while saving the comment John, the team would need to see these files, along with some screenshots of how it looks for you, to verify they can reproduce it in house.
Please share what you can here or send it all directly to sharewithai@adobe.com (please mention the link to this report for tracking it back here: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/51032623)
Also — do you have Save in Background enabled in Preferences > File Handling, while saving a document in Ai? Does disabling it makes any difference?An error occurred while saving the comment Kindly provide test files and screenshots, for the team to review.
The problem you mentioned with layout was a bug, now fixed, reported here: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/50515743 -
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Do you mean the dialog that got shrunk to a tiny window? You are on Catalina, right? Are you using Ai v30.8.1? When did it start happening? Can you try to resize the window?
-
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
Also discussed here: https://www.reddit.com/r/AdobeIllustrator/comments/1wv25qe/adobe_for_the_love_of_graphic_designers/
People prefer talking to voting, as usual :(