Can you PLEASE PLEASE just put a simple trash can icon on the links panel so i can just delete links that are no longer pertinent?
Can you PLEASE PLEASE just put a simple trash can icon on the links panel so I can quickly and easily delete links to images that are no longer pertinent. this would be valuable because I use the same base maps over and over but import different source sketches that I trace/digitize on to the map. once the feature is digitized and I've deleted the sketch the link lives on forever. Or better yet, just the way it works in InDesign (maybe you've heard of it) - if you delete the image, the link to it automatically deletes.
Dina Dembicki commented
I can see the value of being able to delete a linked file from the links panel. But it already sort of does that, when you click on go to link. Assuming the layers are visible and unlocked, it takes you to the linked file where you can delete the file, thereby also deleting the link.
I haven't ever experienced a "ghost link", where there's no file but the link remains. But I have been able to not see linked files that were hidden...
Emile Holmes commented
TLDR: If I use the 'go-to link' button on a broken link, it means I want to go-to the link, regardless if layer is hidden and link is locked.
Whenever illustrator crashes [for me] the links break. That's annoying enough, but what's worse, is to delete every 'invisible ' link, I have to turn on all the layers and make sure they're all unlocked before the 'go-to' link even finds them. That means I either manually go through the sublayers, or unlock everything then go back and re-lock the things I need locked after I've deleted the links. Waste of time, waste of a button.
Definitely missing the trash icon from there, it is super annoying especially when the original source of image is missing, than hard to delete that link and always come up the warning when I open the file.
Jeanne Guderian commented
I've yet to be able to get one of the work arounds to actually work. They are ponderous at best. It seems like this should be a simple thing.
I pull up old files all the time, re-work them, delete old images that were linked. Re-save the file, and when opened again asks for ghost links. It's simple, a waste bin on the pop up menu to remove the dead links. I think there is a work around but is it not easy to just bin these?