Skip to content

Dirk Schulze

My feedback

41 results found

  1. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi. In many cases, increasing the decimal places to a value 3 resolves the issue:
    1. File > Save As
    2. In the SVG Options dialog, click on "More Options"
    3. Select the text field for "Decimal Places" and change the value to a higher value (for instance 3).

  2. 1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi Elliot,

    It should be possible to upload small .ai files to UV directly. If you prefer to send an email, use ShareWithAI (at) adobe dot com. We would need an actual .ai file that reproduces the issue. Thank you very much.

    Kind regards,
    Dirk (Adobe Illustrator)

  3. 1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi Richard,

    Dirk from Illustrator here. I can't comment on the changes to the CSS output. We did have a small change where we accidentally wrote fill values that were set to the default (#000). It could have affected the way we format the CSS output to make the size of the SVG file smaller. I'd need the .ai file to compare the outputs.

    However, the issue you report about the attribute order on the SVG tag is due to your SVG Options settings. It seems like you changed the settings for "Responsive". Change it back and height and width will disappear again.

  4. 13 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Alex, please try the latest version of Adobe Illustrator. When selecting the profile 1.2 Tiny, you would no longer get the x/y attributes. The generated SVG should be valid SVG 1.2 Tiny now.

  5. 29 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    I am closing the ticket due to lack of response.
    Please get in touch with us at sharewithai@adobe.com or any of the other support channels – helpx.adobe.com/support.html . Please give a reference to this post so that we can identify you.

    Thanks
    Anish Kumar
    Illustrator Team

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    This should be fixed in later versions of Adobe Illustrator. For others: if you do see such issues, experiment with the "Decimal" option by increasing the number.

  6. 1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Elisa, please experiment with the option "Reattivo" that you see in the SVG Options dialog.

    Disabling that option makes the SVG document size fixed. Enabling makes it flexible in size. If I understand your use case correctly, disabling the option would do what you want.

    (Both routes, Save As and Export do have the same option.)

  7. 91 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We have the fix available in the latest release. Please update Illustrator using Adobe Creative Cloud application to the latest build for version Illustrator CC 22.1.
    Please refer to our knowledge base FAQ – https://illustrator.uservoice.com/knowledgebase/articles/1844590 if you face difficulty in update.
    Or get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html

    Warm Regards,
    Ashutosh Chaturvedi | Sr. Quality Engineering Manager – Illustrator
    Adobe. Make It an Experience.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Zoida, is this issue always reproducible on your device? Is it reproducible on other devices? Is it specific to the document or the number of exported assets?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hello Yavuz,

    We are sorry that you see this issue. Do you see this issue in general or just for specific Ai documents? Would you be able to share such an Ai document? You may zip it up and upload it here to the UV issue page or send it to us at sharewithai (at) adobe dot com.

    Thanks a lot in advance,
    Dirk

  8. 22 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    To the original post (File > Export As > SVG), make sure to select "Layer Names" in "Object IDs".

    There was an issue in some Illustrator versions where the selection "Minify" did not respect the choice of "Object IDs". This has been fixed.

    To:
    > When I export an SVG, I choose "unique" for Object IDs. In the past, Illustrator would take my layer names and use them in a "data-name" attribute on the SVG tags.

    This is no longer reproducible in 27.2 and does seem to be fixed. Please retry and open a new ticket should this still persist for you.

    To:
    >there is no width attribute in the <image> tag

    This has been fixed.

    To:
    > We are using "data-name" attribute to manage elements color, text etc in webApps. It is very critical for us.

    Please add more details about your workflow. Ideally create a new ticket.

    To:
    >.st0{fill:url(#Element1_00000070839701103496739130000017927991525955991726_);}

    Please try the Asset Export panel or File > Export which should not have this issue.

  9. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    This indeed is a limitation with SVG export in Adobe Illustrator currently.

  10. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    SVG unterstüzt keine inneren oder äußeren Konturlinien. Für die Korrekte Darstellung in SVG Viewern (z.B. im Browser) werden Konturlinien zu Pfaden umgewandelt.

  11. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    I understand that the symbols exported to SVG via File/Save as/SVG are visually correct but the resulting SVG has transforms and viewBoxes in the markup that you'd like to avoid.

    As a temporary workaround, please use File > Export > SVG (or Asset Export).

  12. 27 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    @Pierre I am sorry that you still experience issues where <textPath> doesn't get imported visually correctly for you. There isn't anything specific that you'd need to do on import. It should just work.

    Do you have an SVG file that you can share with us? Just change the extension from .svg to .txt and upload it here. We would like to take a look at it and see if we can find the issue.

    Thanks a lot for your patience,
    Dirk

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hello from Illustrator. Thanks a lot for reporting this issue. We are targeting the issue in multiple iterations.

    Starting with Adobe Illustrator 23.0.6, SVG files with <textPath> (text-on-path) get imported visually correctly. This means, all characters get positioned and rotated along a path as specified by SVG 1.1.

    We are working on importing text-on-path semantically correctly as well so that in future iterations of Adobe Illustrator text can get edited more easily on the path directly.

    We hope that the first iteration will solve a lot of issues that you are facing today and ensure that we are improving SVG import constantly.

    Thanks,
    Dirk

  13. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi Kris,

    Dirk from Adobe Illustrator here. We are very sorry for the issue you experience. Could you try the following please?
    1. Open the SVG file in question in a text editor.
    2. Save the SVG file to a new SVG file with a different file name.
    3. Open the new SVG file in Adobe Illustrator.

    Please tell us if the newly created SVG file opens in Adobe Illustrator.

    Thanks,
    Dirk

  14. 4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    For testing

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Just as an update:

    We contacted the support team at UserVoice and they said that they will add SVG and Ai file upload support shortly.

    In the meantime it should be possible to change the extension of SVG files to .txt

    Greetings,
    Dirk

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi Brennan,

    I fully agree! However, I haven't figured out if we are even able to change this and allow SVG files or compressed files as attachments. At this point, the only alternative is using a file sharing host.

    I'll keep you posted when we find alternatives,
    Dirk

  15. 39 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi Brennan and Francis,

    @Brennan We will review the issue with character and paragraph styles.

    @Francis Got your request to multiple classes applied to an element. We will review it as soon as possible. It is a tricky one though. As mentioned by @Brennan, we are half way there if you use “Graphic Styles”.

    Greetings,
    Dirk

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi Gregan,

    Thanks a lot for opening this feature request! Could you please send the minimal Ai test file (the one with the .a, .TWO, .b output) to sharewithai@adobe.com?

    Do I understand your request correctly that you want to give each style class an individual name or do you want to have them all the same individual prefix?

    Also, would creating and applying graphic styles with names of your choice be suitable for you if the same name is chosen as CSS class name on the SVG export?

    Thanks a lot in advance,
    Dirk

  16. 10 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hello LNMB,

    Thanks a lot for confirming the intend. We are currently reviewing the request and will add it to our backlog.

    Greetings,
    Dirk

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi Thomas, Tamer and LNMB,

    Thanks a lot for your reply to this issue. We have a couple of more questions to your request.

    @Tamer @LNMB Adobe Illustrator already does have the option to convert all text of a selection/artboard/document to outlines for SVG export. You may find the option in the Font dropdown menu. Select Convert To Outlines in the SVG Export dialog. The text in your original document will not be affected by this option and stays text.
    If you use Assert Export, use the settings icon (a cog), go to the SVG tab and you'll find the setting there as well. If you are aware of the SVG Export dialog but didn't see the option to convert to outlines, please let us know how we can make the option more visible.

    @Thomas I'd like to understand the issue with the text looking thicker on export. The current result of converting text to outlines is the same as selecting the text object and going to the menu item Object > Expand... Are you comparing the expansion result with the original text? Text engines have some additional techniques like hinting that try to avoid aliasing. Without that, expanded results may indeed look thicker or less crisp on edges than the original text. The results also depend on screen resolution and platform and might be quite noticeable.

    Greetings,
    Dirk

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hello Stephen,

    Thanks a lot for reporting your experience with the Export as dialog for SVG export. We are currently reviewing your request.

    Greetings,
    Dirk

  17. 6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Hi Akshay,

    We were able to confirm the issue that you see. The issue indeed does not happen with Illustrator 2018 (22.1).

    We identified hyphenation as the potential culprit. To workaround the issue, either disable hyphenation in the Paragraph panel or make sure text does not get hyphenated.

    We are sorry that you experience the issue and are working on fixing the issue.

    The Adobe Illustrator Team

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi Akshay,

    Thanks a lot for sending the file to us. We are currently reviewing the issue and will open a backlog item.

    Greetings,
    Dirk

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi Akshay,

    Thanks a lot for reporting this issue. One way to share Illustrator files with us is by sending an email to sharewithai at adobe dot com.

    Illustrator, currently, flattens text if it includes surrogates or emojis. Could that be the issue you see?

    Greetings,
    Dirk

  18. 14 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Thanks a lot for the information. We put the matter under review and will add it to our backlog afterwards.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi from Adobe,

    At this point, the only way to get the <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?> element from Illustrator is to use the File > Save as option. We are considering an option to export with the encoding tag in the future.

    Greetings,
    Dirk

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hello Taylor,

    I am not sure I understand your issue. Export As does leave <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?> out on purpose. Especially web browser don't need this tag anymore and some browsers like IE 9 don't even support the SVGs with encoding tag. The majority of SVG viewers beside web browsers don't require this tag either.
    Could you provide an example file that would not work w/o the encoding tag?

    Thanks a lot,
    Dirk

  19. 5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Thanks a lot for sharing the SVG file with us. We will review the issue ASAP and get back to you.

    Greetings,
    Dirk

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hello Devra,

    I am really sorry to hear that you have issues with opening the SVG file in Illustrator. Would it be possible to share the file in question with us? It would be great if you could either upload the SVG file here (maybe with .txt extension so that UserVoice accepts the file) or mail it to sharewithai (at) adobe dot com.

    Thanks a lot for reporting the issue,
    Dirk

  20. 5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi Friedrich,

    Thanks a lot for your feedback. We definitely have the 2nd workflow and especially the most-minimal-destructive preservation part on our long term roadmap. And we will consider keeping the document structure, author data, meta data and styling information as untouched as possible. (A truly round-tripping experience.) This may take us some more time though.

    If there is any low hanging fruit that we can do in the short term that would have an immediate impact to your workflow we would be very interested in that.

    I wonder what benefits you see with workflow 1, the pure import workflow. What information would you like us to keep? How is it different from workflow 2?

    Greetings,
    Dirk

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hello Benjamin,

    I share your frustration and we are constantly improving the import of SVG into Illustrator.

    A question to you: As mentioned, InkScape preserves its own primitives in the SVG file while providing a fallback for non-InkScape viewers and authoring tools. What would be your expectation to Illustrator when you modify an element that has InkScape primitives that might no longer be valid with the changes from Illustrator? Should Illustrator remove those annotations actively? What if the annotations from InkScape are still valid even with the change from Illustrator? Is it still ok to remove the annotations/primitives?

    Greetings,
    Dirk

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Dirk Schulze commented  · 

    Hi Benjamin,

    I understand the issue that you are facing and I understand the request to support "a simple round-trip" experience for SVG.

    However, there are a lot of things to consider:
    * SVG has a very limited set of features considering the complexity of most illustration applications even beyond Adobe Illustrator. Every authoring tool has a different way to handle the limitations.
    * InkScape uses its own namespace to enrich SVG documents with the features that go beyond the capabilities of InkScape and provides a fallback for SVG compatible implementations.
    * Illustrator, as any other SVG consuming application but InkScape itself, is only able to understand the SVG compatible fallback.

    Even if Illustrator would try to keep more metadata from the originally imported SVG document and you do edits to the SVG document in Illustrator, those would not play nicely with InkScape since Illustrator would really only modify the fallback but not InkScapes enhancements.

    As said, InkScape enriches the SVG document with its own capabilities. However, this really just makes the SVG document an InkScape specific file format like Illustrator's own .ai file format. Since the feature set of both applications are very different, a fulfilling round-trip experience won't be possible.

    Just like InkScape, you can preserve Illustrator's capabilities in SVG as well and Illustrator provides a fallback rendering for all SVG compatible implementations. InkScape runs into the same issue when opening such an SVG files from Illustrator as it is the other way around.

    Therefore, Illustrator considers SVG more of an export format than a native file format. To clarify, this is not a reason of Illustrator being older than SVG but a way to handle the limitations of SVG.

    I hope that clarifies the issue and explains why keeping more metadata on round-tripping wouldn't actually solve the issue you are facing.

    Greetings,
    Dirk

← Previous 1 3