Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs
When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:
- Details of your operating system
- The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop)
- The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
- Your expected result and the actual result
- Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)
414 results found
-
1 vote
No longer happens in latest releases
-
Zoom on drag, not after
Zooming involves pressing the command key and the space bar, and then clicking and dragging the mouse. The speed and duration of the drag is replicated in the zoom on screen. Or so it used to be.
All of a sudden now, when I click, instead it draws a box, the contents of which then fill my monitor — but only when I release it.
It used to zoom in on the mouse drag - but now it waits until I’ve completed the box. How do I toggle back to the previous settings?1 voteThe 'marquee' way of zooming is the way it worked before GPU rendering was introduced.
So it works only in GPU mode — check it you have enabled in View > GPU Preview.
Plus you should check if Animated Zoom option is enabled in Preferences > Performance section.
-
Issue with align to key object tool moving objects off the workspace not by the selected distance
When I try to align with a key object, the objects move off of the workspace and not by the distance selected. I have created a video of the issue here: https://www.screencast.com/t/hz5lD32lOW
1 vote -
tengo problemas en crear mascara de recorte
SOLUCION A ESTE PROBLEMA
1 voteIllustrator allows to clip with compound paths, but not with a group
-
Cannot move type!!!!!!
I cannot move any of the type that i type and i also cannot select the type that i just typed..... I am extremely annoyed with these updates...... Why can i not moved type? Why as soon as i have typed a word, can i not then select that same type???
1 voteUncheck Preferences > Type > Type Object Selection by Path Only option.
If it does not help — please leave a comment
-
Typo in What's new Pop Up
ILLUSTRATOR IS SPELLED INCORRECTLY!!!!
1 vote -
Gradient colour not following path of curved line
When I go to colour the gradient after applying it to a thicker curved line a new shape is made and takes the colour and gradient that I chose. This shape appears to be connected by the same anchors as the curve but is just a straight line.
1 vote -
Alignement of neighboring objects
Hi, when I used to move my objects on artboard, there used to be lanes and alignments automatically showing me when two objects on the artboard are in alignment with a green line. However, I can't see that feature anymore, it just happened since yesterday. very frustrating. Is this a bug, or is this due to some settings issue?
1 voteIn case someone can’t see these, check these:
1. Disable Snap to Grid
2. Enable Smart Guides
3. Make sure you have Spacing Guides option turned on in Preferences > Smart Guides
-
Can't Add Artboards in Increments of 10 by Using Shift
Used to be able in the new document window add 10 artboards by shift+clicking the buttons to the side. Now whenever I do it, it's just one at a time. Would be nice to have that back.
1 voteDoesn’t seem to happen anymore in the latest builds of Illustrator, in both legacy and modern versions of File New dialog.
If it still happens for you, please comment back.
-
Josef Pro font disappears as you type
I am trying to type the word "Communications" in Adobe Illustrator. If I use any other font, it types fine and looks fine. When I use Josef Pro, the "ti" goes missing and only shows "Coomuncaons". When I change from Josef Pro to any other font, I can see the "TI". I tried this is other applications such as Microsoft Word and Excel and this problem does not happen. It's definitely an issue with Illustrator.
Unfortunately, I cannot use another font because our company logo uses this Josef font.
Please help.1 voteIllustrator tries to load a ligature from the font and can’t get one. Got resolved with unchecking the 'Standard Ligatures' button in the Window > Type > OpenType panel.
If you have a similar problem with a different font, please try the same thing and comment.
-
In the latest version cursor keys are now moving the selected objects/nodes 2 pixels instead of 1
Up until 24.2.1 if I selected an object or node and hit the cursor keys they would move 1 pixel in the direction of the key. Now all of a sudden they move 2. makes trying to align/tweak the position of objects/nodes really difficult and painful
1 voteThis often happens when we open Preferences and accidentally press Up or Down arrow key. The very first field focused in the dialog is Keyboard Increment value, and pressing an arrow makes it either zero (which turns into the smallest allowed value of 0.0001) or 2 (if you had 1).
Open Preferences and change the value back.
-
Custom Brush doesn’t get affected by color
I am not able to change the color for my custom brushes. Whenever I select a new color for the brush, the brush still paints black. I have opened and closed the program several times but nothing has worked. I have deleted and made new brushes, but I am still having the same problem.
1 voteThis happens if the colorization method for a brush is chosen to be just None.
Changing it to be Tints or any other form the dropdown in the brush’s options solves the problem.
-
Selecting two objects adds millions of points to second path...
Adobe Illustrator 24.2.1 (and its predecessor) have a horrible feature which I assume is a bug. When selecting two separate paths (or even two separate text objects) using the Selection Tool or Direct Selection Tool, it seemingly adds millions of points to the second path. The points are not really added and don't actually exist, but they LOOK like they do, meaning it adds a thick blue line along it that looks ghastly and is completely off-putting. I can't use those versions at all and have had to stick to 24.1.3 which is the latest version to not do it.…
1 voteThe description matches with the fixed 'auto-keying' issue.
-
Control panel to set coordinates is missing
Before the last update I used to be able to draw a square or ellipse then type the location I wanted to place it, X or Y. Now that is gone. Now I have to open another box "TRANSFORM" in order to place the shape exactly where I wanted it. Very inconvenient. If I at least had the ability to dock that box at the top it would make life much easier. It has been at the top for as long as I can remember. I often use this like a CAD software when I draw. The last update made…
1 voteIllustrator team decided to swap the horizontal Control panel (the top bar you probably mean) with the vertical Properties panel in the default workspace.
We can choose to show it instead of Properties with Window > Control.
-
In Illustrator 2020 the changes to Align tool window are a headache. Defaulting to align by key object .... Very frustrating defaults.
In Illustrator 2020 the changes to Align tool window are a headache. Defaulting to align by key object .... Very frustrating defaults.
1 vote -
Select same fill color does not take into account tints
When I select "same fill color" or "same appearance" it selects all items using that particular pantone regardless of whether I am using that pantone at 100% or a tint (ex 40%, 50%, 60%).
1 voteAs per the comment, Illustrator can be made into respecting tints with the 'Select Same Tint %' in Preferences > General
-
Cannot open Illustrator after updating to version 24.1.2. Windows 7 reports an error "missing VCRUNTIME140_1.dll". (The 24.1.1 is ok)
Cannot open Illustrator after updating to version 24.1.2.
Windows 7 reports an error "missing VCRUNTIME140_1.dll".
(The older version 24.1.1 works fine after downlaoding.)1 votePlease try the steps mentioned on this page to have this issue resolved – https://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/kb/vcruntime-error-on-launch.html
-
Fill & Stroke colors & gradients selective but only previous fill visible on object
Latest Windows PC Version 10 64-bit. Adobe 2020 (24.0.2).
Everything was normal until I began drawing a regular 5-point star with green fill & black stroke (fill color doesn't really matter). Layer shows correct colors of star in layers panel but the layer folder and what's visible on screen show no change in red fill result (which was set previously). In other words, choosing different fill colors made no difference. However, stroke color can be changed. Tried other shapes with same results. (Even restarted Illustrator.)
Putting another shape on top of a previous shape caused the stroke of 2nd shape…1 voteThis happens because the top layer has a custom appearance applied to it.
To undo that, you’d have to target the layer again, open the Appearance panel, and click the 'Clear Appearance' button.
You can read more about Appearance and Selection markers in Layers panel here:
-
Bug with stroke
Hello! I got a bug. When you copy a shape to a new artboard, a stroke appears that cannot be deleted. It is superimposed over the usual stroke. And when you remove the fill and stroke, it remains. The same when reinstalling the program, this problem remains in this file.
P.S. I worked in the latest version of illustrator1 voteThe target layer has an appearance assigned. See comments for details.
-
Help > Illustrator Help goes to marketing page
Selecting Illustrator Help from the Help menu no longer links to Illustrator information and search links, but goes to a generic CC marketing page. From there, there is no clear path, and it requires at least two more clicks, in addition to having to figure out which are the appropriate links to follow. This is not helpful, and takes time away from productive work.
1 voteHelp > Illustrator Help now opens the Discover panel, with the immediate in-app access to articles, with the search option.
- Don't see your idea?