AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
My feedback
7384 results found
-
33 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment An error occurred while saving the comment @Stéphanie, no, on Windows you have to create a virtual desktop first with Ctrl+Win+D, and to use Ctrl+Win+arrows to switch between these. Windows use the Win key for almost all OS-related shenanigans.
But sure it’s a valid observation. These can be altered, of course, in Mac’s Preferences > Keyboard > Shortcuts > Mission Control... but I assume Mac’s keys are more important for Macs’ users.
Anyway, these nudge keys should be customizable too.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Shift + Arrow does ×10 nudge, leave it as it is.
Alt + Arrow is reserved for 'nudge with a copy', don’t touch it (and it takes away Alt completely)
So we have Ctrl+Arrow and Ctrl+Shift+Arrow left: first one is ideal to have 1/10 of the increment value, and the second could be even 1/100. -
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Yeah, looks broken. Works fine for me...
But still — does it happen in the dedicated Transform panel for you as well? And the Properties? or does it happen ONLY in Control?An error occurred while saving the comment Can’t replicate, the second filed gets updated fine for me...
Stefane, does it happen in the dedicated Transform panel for you as well? And the Properties? For any object? -
19 votes
修正は最新の30.3一般リリースに反映されています。アップデート後、問題が解消されているか確認し、引き続き問題が発生する場合はご報告ください。
The fix has been pushed into the latest 30.3 general release. Please update, check, and comment back if it still happens.
An error occurred while saving the comment -
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Mark, please provide the test file with this object, full OS and GPU specs, so the team can review this case.
You can either attach the file to the comment (if you are OK with having it publicly accessible) or send directly to sharewithai@adobe.com (in this case please mention the link to this report, http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/50562141) -
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Recently Astute Graphics developed their own version of Transform effect, which offers a variety of pivot choices, including custom point: https://docs.astutegraphics.com/vectorscribe/ag-utilities-overview/ag-transform-live-effect
Quite powerful!An error occurred while saving the comment Yes, this would be a great addition to this tool as well, I agree.
And surely there is a request for that: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657-illustrator-desktop-feature-requests/suggestions/37809568-transform-effect-with-manually-adjustable-anchor-p
Please vote!An error occurred while saving the comment Sorry, forgot to attach the file
An error occurred while saving the comment Andreas, well it can be done with blends, but the way might seem not that clear. Take a look at the file attached. It's not an exact replica of the thing you wanted, but you can get the idea.
Some notes:
— an ellipse is cut at a top point
— a simple blend is created first, and then both the blend and the cut circles are selected together, and then Replace command is called
— each path blended is a compound path with a point-helper, to help Ai to maintain the relative positions
It does not meant the idea you proposed is bad, on the contrary :)
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment OK, this is more clear now.
Some details are still not. Like what if I set 10 copies, customized each and the reduced the number of copies to 2, and then decided to make it 10 again — should these new copies remember settings they predecessors used to have...I get the idea, but still do not understand why this thing is needed.
However, I definitely know that this is similar to the ability I want, to pick a child from the the generated art (Transform is one) and apply next effect to this child (or a range of children) only.What do you think of it?
An error occurred while saving the comment How should it work and what customizations offer?
Please expand your idea further. -
7 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Recently Astute Graphics developed their own version of Transform effect, which offers a variety of pivot choices, including custom point: https://docs.astutegraphics.com/vectorscribe/ag-utilities-overview/ag-transform-live-effect
Quite powerful!
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment You can use workaround with invisible larger object grouped with your art, with a center in a point you need.
Adjustable anchor position would be great though, but it won't be easy in many ways: to set absolute coordinated but store them as relative offset? What will happen if you move your art then or change dimension or art itself? Needs a lot of thinking, while dummy trick already works.
-
New document (File > New) window / dialog is blank / black / gray / empty
-
Screenshot%202026-11-07%20alle%2010.07.15.png 1076 KB -
%E8%9E%A2%E5%B9%95%E6%93%B7%E5%8F%96%E7%95%AB%E9%9D%A2%202025-10-08%20200544.png 40 KB -
Sni%CC%81mka%20obrazovky%202025-10-07%20o%2011.38.42.png 216 KB -
Capture d’écran, le 2021-02-19 à 20.42.23.png 200 KB -
illustrator tech issues - create new.jpg 499 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-07-09 at 06.35.08.png 1059 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-06-28 at 10.00.53 PM.png 359 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-05-29 at 1.39.00 PM.png 2908 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-05-29 at 1.39.00 PM.png 2908 KB -
Screen Shot 2020-03-03 at 12.32.55 PM.png 302 KB -
Screenshot 2019-11-14 at 10.01.55.png 624 KB -
Screenshot 2019-11-14 at 10.05.54.png 174 KB -
Screenshot 2019-11-14 at 10.06.17.png 221 KB -
1.PNG 22 KB -
ice_video_20181212-103345.mp4 2807 KB -
Ai home page.png 81 KB -
illustrator_screen.PNG 132 KB -
newdocument_blackpanel.jpg 133 KB -
Capture_AI.JPG 59 KB -
Illustrator.PNG 125 KB -
IMG_0071.MOV 26874 KB -
Capture.JPG 50 KB
81 votesAn error occurred while saving the comment Jakub, please try this:
1. In Preferences > General try to enable 'Use legacy "File New" interface' option — this should work as a temporary workaround
2. In the same place try to click Reset Preferences to see if the problem with the modern New Document happens dew some Prefs corruptionAn error occurred while saving the comment That’s not a real fix though. Although the legacy dialog works just fine, it does not magically makes the modern one work :( Glad at least you are able to crate docs now.
An error occurred while saving the comment As a workaround, try to open Preferences and check 'Use Legacy "File New" interface' — does it help to avoid the problem. Please reply.
An error occurred while saving the comment Check all the methods Ai has to create new documents and see if any of them work.
1. File > New
2. File > New, but with 'Use legacy "File New" interface' option enabled in Preferences > General
3. Creating a new document from an .ait template file (you can save any document as such a template, and then double-click it to create a new document based on it).
If you get any error message — please share a screenshot.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Nur, meanwhile you can revert to legacy New window in Preferences > General. It won’t fix that one, but it will allow you to work.
-
-
4 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
4 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
3 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
shared this idea
·
-
5 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
shared this idea
·
-
3 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Another plugin that can suit your needs would be Cool Selection, offering Selection Brush tool: https://www.cool-selection.com
An error occurred while saving the comment Yes, got it. Fixed the title and the description a bit to better suit the illustration provided — thank you!
At the moment the only way to have this in Illustrator is to use Super Marquee Tool plugin by Astute Graphics: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9QuUIK_HxQ
It provides choices of Rectangular, Elliptical, Square, Round shapes, and these can be cycled on the fly by pressing a dedicated key.An error occurred while saving the comment Can you please elaborate more? I have an idea in my head when I read this, but I suspect it’s a different one...
Perhaps some mockups to explain it? -
3 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment UI is User Interface.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
shared this idea
·
-
3 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
3 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
4 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Alessia, please record this behavior on video and share it here, along with your OS and hardware details (GPU included).
Did it work better in older builds? When did it start happening? Does it differ if you draw slower and/or disable real-time drawing? -
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
9 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Sure, I’ve just did. Thank for being patient but persistent with it.
An error occurred while saving the comment Sadly I don’t have any new information on this, Maria, sorry.
If I get any, I will add a comment.An error occurred while saving the comment Confirm in the latest Beta.
Yeah, Greek capitalization is a complex topic.
Merging this to an existing report.An error occurred while saving the comment Indeed, Μαΐου keeps only one dieresis if the language is set to Greek.
Picking English would transfer both accents.
I test this in the latest Beta.The situation with Russian is different, since these accents are not actually accents, but parts of actual letters, different Unicode symbols altogether, while in Μαΐου these are secretly https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Combining_Diacritical_Marks
If a font or an app don’t / can’t handle these properly, the construct breaks, like the image shows.
But И and Й, as well as Е and Ё are not forms of each other, but monolithic characters.
Anyway, this is outside of the scope of the problem.Back to the Greek!
Maria, can you please share a simple series of steps I and others can try to reproduce this properly?
Does TT button behave differently from using Type > Change Case Uppercase?
How different builds treat it differently?
Which do you prefer and why?
Share a file the team can repeat these steps with, please.An error occurred while saving the comment Reading about monotonic and polytonic system was fun though!
An error occurred while saving the comment Maria, I took some time to study the problem.
I found this report here at UV: Accents disappear for capital Greek letters — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/40178119So somebody wants the accents to stay for capitals.
You, on the other hands, say Greek capital letters do not take the accents...
Well, it seems like 'far less used' — https://icu.unicode.org/design/case/greek-upper (a ton of links)
More informal discussions also exist: https://www.reddit.com/r/GREEK/comments/15nmsm5/as_implied_by_the_fact_that_when_writing_in/Something similar happens in Russian, with it’s 'Ё' and 'ё' — they often become just 'Е' and 'е', to save time or make letters more compact, since words using it rarely gets mixed with their homographs. However, the other pair of letters, 'Й' and 'й', never loose their breve. The 'Ё' facultative state causes many problems when happens (or not) in official documents, names especially.
However, when I try to reproduce you problem, using 'σπανάκι ψιλοκομμένο σε μερίδες' line from the adjacent report, I don’t see any difference!
No matter if I actually convert these into Capital Case using Type > Change Case > UPPERCASE, or press All Caps button in Character panel, no matter if it’s English or Greek in Character’s Language dropdown — the spinach line always gets displayed WITH diacritics for me, as ΣΠΑΝΆΚΙ ΨΙΛΟΚΟΜΜΈΝΟ ΣΕ ΜΕΡΊΔΕΣI am redirecting this to the Type team.
My private opinion is Ai does it correct. A proper capital form of a letter with diacritics should get one. It’d be a disaster for Russian to loose breve and two dots (they are considered to be neither umlaut or diaeresis).
An error occurred while saving the comment Please help me to understand this.
You say 'we need to change the language to Greek for accent to disappear' — you mean 'change to English'? or does it automatically detects English in Character and you have to force change it to Greek for these to vanish?
Clayton, there is a dedicated request about this: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/37751530
I’ve just added you as a voter there, based on your comment. Thanks!
Meanwhile, a workaround is to use Move Dialog (V, Enter) — it has a larger limit, same as the maximum artboard size.