AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
My feedback
7384 results found
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment -
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Illustrator never changed the way scaling works, it’s what Photoshop tried to impose at some point. Now it can be changed back with a dedicated option in Preferences > General: Use Legacy Free Transform.
As for the 'change tools back to old way' — what do you mean specifically? The classic toolbar is still available for us, and we can enable it via Window > Toolbars > Advanced. Or did you mean something else?
-
47 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment A way to create QR codes directly in Illustrator now is this free QRCodeMakerPro extension by Ten Agata:
https://exchange.adobe.com/apps/cc/13171/qr-code-maker-pro
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
3 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
12 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
16 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Julie, do you mean GRIDS or GUIDES? Reading the text I see you talk more about grids ('customizable colors instead of gray'). At the same time you call them 'guidelines', and talk about matching a layer, as if each layer can have its own set. So — grids or guides?
-
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment This request reminds me of one particular script made by Katja Bjerrum, PageIndexer. Does not the thing you want either, but perhaps you can contact her as commission one?
An error occurred while saving the comment Interesting... Feels like a very custom tailored workflow for me, but I see the usefulness in some workflows.
I bet a custom script can be made that puts this time stamp on the current artboard, and then updates it if one exists already. Perhaps it should be out in a dedicated layer also. Would you use such a solution? -
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Heba, does it work anything better with the latest Ai build? Can you please check it?
-
3 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Ryan, do you still have it freezing on you when you try to paste HEX value using Properties’ Fill/Stroke dropdown?
-
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
22 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Here is a small picture to illustrate the problem.
While technically the intermediate colors are not actually in RGB, they are definitely picked from the non-linear transitions between control points.
We are taught by native gradients to have blatant straight transitions between colors and don’t expect these to happen with other hues.The image on top is what we have now. Why yellow becomes more orange the further it goes form the point? Why green becomes darker and deeper? What is the color in the bottom left corner and where it comes from?
Sometimes we need only those colors we defined and their intermediate values.
Take a look at the bottom image — I faked it manually. This is what we expect to get out of these three colors.
I think a second mode should be introduced to allow this.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
shared this idea
·
-
3 votes
Hi,
Apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to this issue.
We are unable to reproduce this issue in house.
Can you help the Illustrator team to isolate this issue further so that we can nail this down?
If yes, then please let me know the following:
1)Kindly provide some video , Test file(Via File→Package) & some steps with which you are facing issue and share with us .
2) Is this file specific or happens with any object in a newly created file also?
3) Kindly share your preferences folder with us in a zip File
MAC: /Users//Library/Preferences/Adobe Illustrator 24 Settings//
Win: C:\Users\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe Illustrator 24 SettingsKindly share the requested information at ShareWithAI@adobe.com in a Zip file.
Please mention the title of this issue as the subject of the mail.Thanks and Regards
Ankit Goyal
Illustrator TeamAn error occurred while saving the comment I wonder if the problem shown in the second part of the video in the comment below is till happening? Never seen the direction of the gradient flipped when hovered with Smart Guides enabled!
As for the first half of the video — this is actually normal for Illustrator. After dragging over an object with the Gradient tool, the gradient annotator get automatically repositioned so it goes through the center of the object. The appearance stays the same, only the annotator shifts. I suppose Ai makes it so that the controls are always within the bounds of objects, to minimize confusion when several objects with different gradients are selected altogether.
Affinity Designer does it differently, as well as Corel Draw — the annotator sticks exactly when it was drawn (also AD shows only one annotator at a time when several objects are selected).
Would you mind me splitting this into two entries: one bug report and one feature request?
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Debbie, can you check if this happens with a latest Illustrator build? Especially if you use transparency?
An error occurred while saving the comment Debbie, unfortunately, not yet.
The bug is known, but the solution is not hat simple, it turns out.
We all wait :( -
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Does this behave any differently if you choose to use CPU mode instead of GPU?
Can you please share you exact OS and GPU specs? -
3 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment When this submenu is focused (the first time after launch), Illustrator builds the list of the currently installed fonts, converting it into the menu structure (since menus are handled by OS). This is not an effective process, since menus are not designed to hold this many items... for me it takes 17 seconds, and I have ~900 fonts. How much do you have installed?
Ai has a dedicated dropdown menu in Character panel and other places that handles huge lists better... but I get the problem is about accessing the top menu, its other items... I learnt to not focus it through years :) I understand this is a workaround, but I really have no idea if Ai team can cheat the OS.
Voted.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
8 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment I can confirm that.
But this happens not because of this is a library item specifically, but because of the way you get rid of the 'bounding box', as you wrote it
It’s not a bounding box — it’s a clipping path. When you delete it the way you did in the video, you get a clip group without a clipping path, and Ai goes mad working with this construct!Take a look in the Layers panel.
An embedded item from the library gets not a one, but TWO clipping paths, wrapped into each other (there is a dedicated request about not adding these: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/32168584).
This happens because Illustrator uses the PDF copy of the original placed artwork when importing an asset, and these clips get created (as funny as it sounds within the context) to maintain positioning and dimensions... and PDF format is used to allow assets to be readable across all Adobe applications that have access to libraries.Typically, if someone tries to align a clipping group with no clipping path, Illustrator will fix it, converting to a simple legal group (but not immediately — the first try will be off, just like in your video).
But in your case you have not one, but two groups nested!
So Ai never fixes the broken clipping, because the second clipping obscures the first flawed one.This is a mess, and it should be definitely fixed.
The workaround I can advise you for now to avoid this behavior is to stop deleting the clips like you do, and use these steps:
1. Object > Clipping Mask > Release command, as a hotkey (typically Cmd/Ctrl + Opt/Alt + 7), several times,
2. then Shift-click the actual artwork with Selection tool to remove it form the selection,
3. then Delete the clipping fluff.VectorFirstAid panel from Astute Graphics plugin bundle has a dedicated Remove Unnecessary Clip Groups, for this and similar cases, and I bet there were some free scripts for that as well...
By the way, native Select > Object > Clipping Masks command, followed by Delete, will not make clip groups into groups automatically. But again, unless you have to many of them nested, Ai will try to covert them the first time you do anything with them.
Finally, take a look at a short GIF attached for clarification.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
9 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Brandon, do you mean mobile in general, or for a specific platform and/or format?
I wonder, why would you need to scroll trough them at all? Do you need to access a specific one that it at the very bottom of the dropdown list?
What got broken for you exactly 4 years ago, and how specifically?