AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
My feedback
7384 results found
-
11 votes
The fix is available in both Beta 27.9 9 and Prerelease 29.6 191 builds. Please try to test it and comment back if it now behaves as expected
An error occurred while saving the comment
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Mario, do you mean opacity masks or clipping masks?
Can you share a file, please?
Also — when you save a file, do you check 'Include Linked Files' option or not? -
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment A related request:
Convert fractions to decimals within the program, not just the new file dialogue box: 116-7/8" to 116.875 in
http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/45572233 -
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment A related request:
Allow to show simple fractions instead of decimal fractions when possible in input fields
http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/49702511An error occurred while saving the comment Your use a hyphen to type it, don't you? This is treated as a minus generally.
I just want to point out there is a clash between the metric and non-metric systems once again, and if it gets done that straightforward, this is going to upset a lot of users, who do not care about fractions of an inch.
I understand your frustration as well, I just add there can be even more frustration caused by 'fixing' it.
Am interesting idea though, I wonder if any comments will follow. Thanks for the request!An error occurred while saving the comment While I'm all in for complex math operations in a field, I can't but notice that '116-7/8' is '116 minus 7 divided by 8', which gives '115.125'. The division is performed before subtraction, evich is a not even a thing which is universally agreed on — but using a minus sign as a conjunction symbol is even less conventional and intentionally adopted.
-
22 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
7 votes
Should be fixed in Beta. Please verify if this works properly now.
An error occurred while saving the comment Guys, what do you say about having Edit > SVG Presets dialog (similar to presets for PDF there)? How often do we need to change several parameters at once and to juggle them exporting files for different tasks? I personally stick to a single set of values, but perhaps someone needs to have different ones regularly?
An error occurred while saving the comment I got a comment on this from the team.
The fallback to 1 is a regression that happens now when opening an SVG file and saving it normally. This should be fixed in the latest Beta — please check it if you can. If not yet — the upcoming Beta.An error occurred while saving the comment I have no idea why it puts 1 as a default value :(
Perhaps it’s a bug, but it’s hard to check without a complete reinstallation... will try to avoid this but get some info on it.An error occurred while saving the comment That’s why the icon felt familiar, it’s Syncthing.
I tried to make some changes into it and see if Save As and Export As keep the decimal value — they did.
But then I relaunched Ai, open (imported, actually, since it’s not an Ai-made document) and checked again... while Export As kept my chosen 5, Save As set is to 1 (instead of the 7 I put there previously). Not good indeed.
Joseph, do you confirm the same?An error occurred while saving the comment Joseph, was the file created in Ai in the first place?
Do you keep the original in .ai format?
Can you share the original file, with no precision loss baked in?When I try to recheck this from the scratch, I can’t reproduce it — the Decimal Spaces value is kept on 7 for me all the me, both for Save or Save As...
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
23 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Guys, what do you say about having Edit > SVG Presets dialog (similar to presets for PDF there)? How often do we need to change several parameters at once and to juggle them exporting files for different tasks? I personally stick to a single set of values, but perhaps someone needs to have different ones regularly?
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
10 votes
The team has started investigating this
An error occurred while saving the comment Guys, what do you say about having Edit > SVG Presets dialog (similar to presets for PDF there)? How often do we need to change several parameters at once and to juggle them exporting files for different tasks? I personally stick to a single set of values, but perhaps someone needs to have different ones regularly?
An error occurred while saving the comment It seems like latest Bets builds (starting with 29.5 52) now remember these options and keep them it between sessions. At least they stick for me when I try. Please try to test it to see if it works as expected for you and comment back.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
35 votesUnder Review · 9 comments · Illustrator (Desktop) Feature Requests » File Save, Import and Export · Admin →
An error occurred while saving the comment Guys, what do you say about having Edit > SVG Presets dialog (similar to presets for PDF there)? How often do we need to change several parameters at once and to juggle them exporting files for different tasks? I personally stick to a single set of values, but perhaps someone needs to have different ones regularly?
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
27 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Guys, what do you say about having Edit > SVG Presets dialog (similar to presets for PDF there)? How often do we need to change several parameters at once and to juggle them exporting files for different tasks? I personally stick to a single set of values, but perhaps someone needs to have different ones regularly?
-
33 votes
The latest Beta 29.5 52 now remembers these options in the Export As dialog and keeps it between sessions. Please try to test it to see if it works as expected for you and comment back.
An error occurred while saving the comment Guys, what do you say about having Edit > SVG Presets dialog (similar to presets for PDF there)? How often do we need to change several parameters at once and to juggle them exporting files for different tasks? I personally stick to a single set of values, but perhaps someone needs to have different ones regularly?
An error occurred while saving the comment UserVoice administrators can’t delay or force anything.
The decision about making a feature implemented or a bug fixed is always based on the vote count, the comments’ content, and the internal goals the team develops.An error occurred while saving the comment At least I’d love to have this option sticky, for Ai to remember its state per document...
But you also say 'preview'... the Export As method does not have one. You probably mean the second dialog, 'JPEG options' or 'PNG options'? This hardly makes little sense, since it’d also require to duplicate the naming options, the artboards options... And this process has to have a standard OS dialog to pick the name and the folder, in some way, followed my format settings... The team tried to swap them in Export for Screens, when we choose the settings firsts and then can pick the folder, and this method has a LOT of backlash from users.
So I think just making an option sticky is a safe enough solution, without duplicating anything anywhere.
An error occurred while saving the comment Which format do you refer to?
Export dialog has the Use Artboards option, but it can’t be applied to any format AI is capable of exporting to.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
39 votesUnder Review · 17 comments · Illustrator (Desktop) Feature Requests » File Save, Import and Export · Admin →
An error occurred while saving the comment Guys, what do you say about having Edit > SVG Presets dialog (similar to presets for PDF there)? How often do we need to change several parameters at once and to juggle them exporting files for different tasks? I personally stick to a single set of values, but perhaps someone needs to have different ones regularly?
An error occurred while saving the comment Hey, Jonathan, thanks for the note! Interesting... Well, this looks like a legit way to control these then. Does it look as a final solution to you though?
-
159 votes
Just a general status update. We are currently and will continuously improve SVG import support in Adobe Illustrator. We are currently working on solving the issues mentioned in this report. Please feel free to open new bug reports here on uservoice if you are experiencing additional/untracked issues.
An error occurred while saving the comment Guys, what do you say about having Edit > SVG Presets dialog (similar to presets for PDF there)? How often do we need to change several parameters at once and to juggle them exporting files for different tasks? I personally stick to a single set of values, but perhaps someone needs to have different ones regularly?
-
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Mariuxi, what is 'Reformat'? Where did you learn about it? There is Retype one I know about, and there’s a third-party plugin called Reform... Please clarify. Provide some screenshots if you have any.
-
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment This can be due to the country assigned to your account...
As per this page — https://helpx.adobe.com/firefly/get-set-up/learn-the-basics/adobe-firefly-faq.html — Firefly services (and everything 'generate' in Ai is considered to be a part of these) are not available in several countries: Russia, Belarus, China, as well as Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Crimea.
I don’t know for sure what country are you in (and won’t publish it here in a comment if I knew), but this could explain it.
Are you able to see other generative commands, like Object > Pattern > Generate Patterns? or Object > Gen Shape Fill? -
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Illustrator does not allow pasting images into text.
But it does support SVG format, and when an image is copied, Ai prepares it to be pasted into apps that support SVG, as SVG code. So when you are in text editing mode and try to paste, Ai honestly (and a bit dumbly) pasted the code there.
I’d say it should not do this, sure.
And a workaround (except for not trying to paste these like this) would be to disable the Include SVG Code on Copy in Preferences > Clipboard Handling altogether. -
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Hmm... This value is used for screen-space snapping, because it’s zoom independent. And it's used for SELECTION, giving us, human users, some slack to not always click pixel-to-pixel to select points.
If we imagine it being able to use absolute units instead, like 1 micron, it’d mean you’d have to zoom a lot to just select a point...
The value for snapping though... I think you mean the ability to control the snapping strength distance, correct?An error occurred while saving the comment Ken, this value works in screen space, with your display’s pixels, zoom independent.
It doesn’t relate to your canvas units at all, therefore linear units can’t be used.
1 px you show is an extremely tight area to perform clicks, requiring inhuman precision!
Why do you set it like this? Can you please tell a bit more about your workflow, just to understand how do you expect it to work? -
5 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
4 votes
Mateus, please File > Package the document, save the PDF preset used into a file, and send these over to the team for investigation, to sharewithai@adobe.com
Put the link to this report in the body of the email as well: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/49687994
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Thanks for the file!
I confirm this. The only thing that actually survives in the PDF exported is a background and a single triangle form the very first logo indeed, no matter what PDF settings I try.
There is definitely something’s wrong with the logo, twice in fact, that throws Ai off...
I’ve cleaned the object, removed extra points, extra groups, extra fluff, etc... now it gets exported fine — take a look at the file attached.
It’s definitely a bug and should be reviewed. -
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Hmm... Illustrator recently learnt to sample outside of the main window...
Does it work for you at all if you click the canvas first and then drag it outside? Or does it work but fails when you drag it over the next monitor? -
7 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Eyedropper picks the local color of the object underneath, as the Appearance panel displays it, not the rendered color that might happen with blur or other effects or transparency applied — and it seems to be the case here.
There is no way to pick this color natively, but there is a plugin developed that can do exactly this, AG Color Select Tool: https://docs.astutegraphics.com/subscribe/ag-color-select-toolAn error occurred while saving the comment Astute Graphics recently released a dedicated plugin tool just for this, Color Select Tool: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBVV_sOTbCQ
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment A way to workaround this is to Rasterize a copy of the stacked stuff and then pick color from it
I can replicate the issue using the steps provided, thank you.
The rotated image with the opacity mask indeed has the placed PSD within shifted, for me way below I left it when saved the doc.