AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
My feedback
7837 results found
-
3 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment An error occurred while saving the comment Tiago, what is the color mode of this document? Is it RGB or CMYK?
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Would you minds sharing a test file that gets imported poorly, please?
UserVoice has problems with allowing SVGs to be attached, to rename it to .txt
Just to be sure, send it, please, also to sharewithai@adobe.com — and mention this report’s link for tracking, https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/51787566
Thanks for raising this up! -
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
Freeform gradient duplicated produces per-copy divergent PDF Type 4 shading
-
Adobe_Bug_Report_Freeform_Gradient_StepRepeat.txt 35 KB -
00_README_SubmissionPackage.txt 5 KB -
05_Defective_8up_Win_AI308.pdf 775 KB -
08_Defective_8up_Mac_AI308.pdf 773 KB -
06_Defective_8up_Win_AI308_2ndSave.pdf 776 KB -
10_Defective_8up_Mac_AI298_Save04.pdf 773 KB -
09_Defective_8up_Mac_AI298_Save03.pdf 770 KB -
07_Defective_6up_Win_AI308.pdf 665 KB -
11_Defective_8up_Mac_AI298_Save05.pdf 773 KB -
13_Control_8up_Mac_AI298_ExpandedBeforeDuplicate.pdf 554 KB -
04_Control_2up_SymbolInstances.pdf 469 KB -
03_MinimalRepro_2up_Duplicate_offset269pt.pdf 472 KB -
12_Defective_8up_Mac_AI298_Save09.pdf 686 KB -
01_Source_1up_FreeformGradient.ai 420 KB -
14_Fixed_8up_Win_by_PythonNormalizer.pdf 199 KB -
02_MinimalRepro_2up_Duplicate_offset300pt.pdf 472 KB
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Try this script, please:
https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/6q6v7fryhpt0baf3hh1ru/DetextAreaType.jsx?rlkey=dt4u2nt5u58f9hfw6ldu0z7x4&dl=1
It might drop the text for all viable objects in the selection in one go.
Any suggestions are welcome.An error occurred while saving the comment LLMs distill communities, some things get lost in the process :) Thanks for writing back.
An error occurred while saving the comment Actually Illustrator allows this without any recreation, but not with a menu command like InD is having (and Ai won’t have it probably, because it doesn’t have frames as a construct). You need to select the path only (Group selection is the best tool to do this), copy it, deselect, paste in place. The path keeps its appearance.
The Control panel doesn’t have a button to quickly switch between the area type as a wholesome object and its path (similar to what InD has and to the toggle we see when working with clip groups), but nobody requested to see one yet.
-
7 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
shared this idea
·
-
15 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment There are two scripts (at least) that do it:
https://github.com/sky-chaser-high/adobe-illustrator-scripts#moveGuidesjs
https://github.com/swwwitch/illustrator-scripts/blob/master/readme-en/CollectGuides.mdNot automatically, we’d have to run them, but it’s a best thing we have so far (scripts are great).
An error occurred while saving the comment Relates to this request:
Shortcut to toggle visibility of Guides Layer
https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/32740273An error occurred while saving the comment As an option, sure.
Sometimes guides inside of groups is something a user wants, but in some cases (especially when guides are hidden) a guide in a group can cause a lot of troubles.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment New guides? Which ones do you mean? There were no new guides implemented recently...
As for the dedicated layer for guides — here are requests you can upvote:
— Automatically push guides to a single layer: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/36594571
— Make guides to be like in InDesign: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/37211029 -
1 vote
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
shared this idea
·
-
15 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Those other 2 mentions about 27 limit:
— 27 Spot Colour limit: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/39387550
— Remove limit of 27 spot colors on PDF export: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/32162746
Should I merge it all?
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
3 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
8 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Also discussed here: https://www.reddit.com/r/AdobeIllustrator/comments/1wv25qe/adobe_for_the_love_of_graphic_designers/
People prefer talking to voting, as usual :(
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Jeffrey, not sure I get it right.
Do you mean that when you invoke Move, the selection jumps to some position (I suggest with the Preview enabled), but Horizontal and Vertical fields are empty? or do I fail to get the problem? Would you mind recording a small video? -
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
3 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Yes, it’d be great to have this warning.
The VectorFirstAid plugin by Astute Graphics has one (with an option to disable it) for its Completely Ungroup function: https://docs.astutegraphics.com/vectorfirstaid/vectorfirstaid-panel/vectorfirstaid-panel-flyout-menuAn error occurred while saving the comment How do you imagine this?
Where exactly do you think Ai can show this warning? Before or after? Is actually lots of appearance less noticeable than a warning that most likely would be a notification, like the one is shown when love shape is expanded? -
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
3 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment A related request:
Adapt default imperial/metric units to geolocation, or remember previous settings
https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/31659982An error occurred while saving the comment I see the frustration... I had to design a custom script in Autohotkey (Windows only) that goes into Preferences and toggles all the units. Macs have other means to set this up, AFAIK.
However, I doubt a fully automated solution could ever be a thing within Ai from the box. I just don’t see a clear error-prone way to set this up... but if this one ever gets done, Ai should drop a 'shy message' saying this got changed, allow to revert back, and give a link directly in the message we can click to alter this automated behavior.Plus there is this related request:
Make units and grid settings to be bound to file
http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/32403850
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
3 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment A related request:
Existing documents open to your preferred units, even if they were created in different units
https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/44015871 -
16 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Several more fixes made to handle more complex cases and keep the baselines match exactly.
Meanwhile wanted to share this script also — I feel it touches a related problem: https://x.com/efficiency_d/status/2105433642994634919An error occurred while saving the comment Oh yeah, good catch. It doesn’t exist in Ai scripting, it’s how InDesign handles it... it should be `TextFrame.spacing` instead. But dead check around it 'worked' anyway, so it never crashed.
I found several more narrow cases it can do better with, and will revise it further. Meanwhile has updated the current script. Thanks.An error occurred while saving the comment Meanwhile I made a script for this: https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/vhvv51d8wuk86lx9n21od/FitAreaTypeFrame.jsx?rlkey=0q2he1xj0tlt177khzm68870n&dl=1
Supports English and Japanese locale.
Unfortunately, I was not able to find a way to toggle Auto-Size (height), only force enable it, but all other Fit options work — for rotated objects too (and it can convert irregular shapes into rectangles. Supports different text alignment (detecting it by the first line).
Hope this helps. Please feel free to test and use and comment.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment I actually clearly see the difference now, and agree these differ.
Auto-size in Ai makes the frame to auto-expand or auto-shrink vertically when text is added or removed, while keeping the width fixed. InDesign offers a lot more options in Text Frame Options > Auto-Size: height and width separately or together, proportionally or not, from a chosen corner or side, with minimum and maximum values...
But double-clicking a frame marker or a corner does a different thing altogether — it actually resizes the frame to hug the text from the side/sides needed at the moment, and it makes the text to overflow when it gets added later. It’s basically 'auto-size once'.
We can do the same thing though in a way already, utilizing something InDesign does not have — point text.
Double-clicking the round marker on the right side of the bounding box (or going Type > Convert to Point Type) and then clicking it again when it goes white effectively makes the frame hug the text tight, giving mostly the same results.
The downsides of this solution — it requires two precise double-clicks instead of one, and it drops all the Area Type Options if you had any (like Inset Spacing or First Baseline distance) — which is mentioned in this report: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/47243432I’d say it’s close enough, but why not going a bit further and actually have it. Voted.
An error occurred while saving the comment Robin, but why do you specifically say you don’t mean the 'Auto-size' option? What is the difference for you?
An error occurred while saving the comment There's 'Auto Size' option in Type > Area Type Options that does this
Can confirm.
It seems that Cmd/Ctrl+V is treated as Cmd/Ctrl+Enter — all the other values get proportionally shifted relatively the value change.