Skip to content

AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator)

My feedback

7380 results found

  1. 13 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    The opacity mask indeed acts like a pocket dimension and is barely accessible for anything, including Ai itself... Thanks for the report!

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    This is something many struggle with, I think.
    The problem is worse given the fact scripts can’t deal with the contents of opacity masks, reported here: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/908050/suggestions/46727548 — and it means we can’t automate looping through each individual mask and doing anything with it, like outlining fonts... please upvote it if you really crave a one-click solution to the problem.

    Opacity masks are like parallel universe...
    At the moment the only partial solution I can offer is to use the amazing and free Select Menu plugin form Graffix: https://rj-graffix.com/downloads/plugins/#selectmenu — it will allow you to select object with opacity masks applied (with the new Select > Object > Special Art Types > Opacity Masks) to help you iterate through them manually. Better than nothing!

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  2. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Yeah! And it works, partially, the button works — but not the field. Nice catch!

  3. 17 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    A current 'workaround' is to disable Transform Tools option in Preferences > Smart Guides. This removes the 'uniform' guide, making the smart guides less useful, but it stops it from jittering.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Ah, it’s this one again... I know about the trick with disabling the option, mentioned here and there, but I can’t accept is as a solution to myself, because I need this option enabled :)
    Thanks for writing back. I think there were other reports on the same topic, will try to find and merge them.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    I can’t reproduce this on one computer, but suddenly can on a different one!
    Both have Windows 10, same exact snap settings... something is very odd. I will test more.
    Meanwhile, please locate your preferences, archive the folder, and send it over to the team via sharewithai@adobe.com (mention the link to this report, for tracking, http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/50935031)
    Backup the folder (to restore later, if needed) and try to reset Prefs — very often it magically 'fixes' small problems. I’ll try the same.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    That’s an important difference and you never stated this previously, but I still can’t reproduce it, no matter what I drag: a point or a segment.
    So, please, DO record the exact operation you are doing, as a GIF (I use lightweight LICEcap to grab these), or a video (Sharex or many others).
    There should be a difference, and these would help to catch it.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Same exact settings, but on Windows, in 30.1 — holding Shift does allow me to snap a rectangle to a bleed guide, pressed before or in the middle of dragging. Odd!
    I suppose you can’t test it on a Windows machine, same as I don’t have an access to a Mac currently? It can be the difference...

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Hector, can you share a test file, please? It seems like this happens only in some specific circumstances.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Disabling Transform Tools in Preferences > Smart Guides does make it go away, but it’s a mere workaround

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Erwin, does the older trick to workaround it work for you — to toggle Construction Guides in Preferences: Smart Guides?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Here is the demo

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Yes.
    It is very similar to this now solved problem:
    https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447-illustrator-desktop-bugs/suggestions/36247978-constrain-shift-key-doesn-t-work-with-smart-guid
    And it is caused by the merely same problem — a Smart Guides option, this time it’s Transform Tools' fault. Disable this option as a workaround.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Jay, I can’t reproduce it :(
    Can you share the file, please? At least the part of it that gives the bug.

  4. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Oh, I wish never of these bugs happened at all... Ai is just that large that any change can nudge something very important and written decades ago. And there's no 'rewrite it from scratch' route, because it’s constantly in use by us. Glad this one is gone.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    David, what version do you have? Is it 30.2.1?
    A similar bug was reported and confirmed as fixed in 30.2.1, http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/50781968
    Please comment back.

  5. 7 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    When I try to recreate this problem today, in latest versions, it seems to behave.
    Does anyone here still have this?

  6. 4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Michael, do you experience this problem today? Can you please check and comment back? Seems like fixed when I try to test it.

  7. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Steve. does this happen today? I try to recreate this in the latest build and it never happens. Please check.

  8. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) shared this idea  · 
  9. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    The line has a rather odd variable stroke applied... when changed to Uniform, the bugs vanishes. However, even if I remake the stroke width to be 0 in the middle, and thicker at the outer end, the bug stays. I supposed a rounding error happens. Upvoted, thank you for the report.

    As a workaround I can advise to make the illustration larger and downscale it when exported. Another approach is to use Artistic brush instead.

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  10. 13 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    While in the Artboard mode, the Select > All top menu command selects objects, not artboards. So it means only the hotkeys become modal, while the menu commands still refer to object selection only. It makes sense... but then again, selecting objects while working with artboards seems odd... Perhaps the names of these two commands should become Select > All Artboards and Deselect Artboards, to match the modal hotkeys? ...at the same time, the Select > All on Active Artboard stays valid... this definitely requires more thinking.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    The hotkey (Cmd/Ctrl+Shift+A by default) now works in the Artboard mode to deselect all artboards, however the menu command still stays inactive.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    A related problem:
    Select > All menu command also selects all artwork instead of all artboards only
    http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/41482618

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) shared this idea  · 
  11. 1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) shared this idea  · 
  12. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Ryan, do you still have this problem, or did you figure it out since then?
    If it still bothers you, please tell more about your workflow. Ideally, a full chain of steps and /or a video attached would be needed to help the team to investigate it.

  13. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    There is one (two even).
    When you create a new document, Illustrator uses 'document profiles' to base a new document upon, with presets included: brushes, swatches, symbols, styles... if you need a specific set of these, you should create a document that have only those you need, save it, and put into the dedicated folder (this page would tell you the correct paths: helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/kb/create-custom-new-document-profile.html

    To use this profile then... well, the 'modern' New Document dialog sucks... it displays the default document profiles only, as categories/tabs on top, but to choose a custom profile, you’d have to scroll the right column, find the More Settings button, to open the dialog (that looks exactly like the legacy New Document dialog, with all the options exposed!), and to choose the Profile there.
    If you wish to see this dialog instead of the modern one, you can toggle the 'Use legacy "File New" interface' in Preferences > General.

    Another method is to use .ait templates.
    These can live in any folder. Any .ai document can be renamed to .ait and behave as a base — launching it would create a full copy of it, but unnamed, so you won’t replace the template when trying to save it later. The difference is that document profiles don’t allow to set up anything on canvas (like guides or preplaced art) or set up specific layer structure, while templates do, but won’t allow to set up the size and the number of artboards, being just full copies.

    There are several requests here to streamline the experience. While these work and make total sense when you learn about these two, it might not be exactly clear at first. If you are interested, I can share the links to upvote.

  14. 16 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    I can’t agree it is fixed fully.
    It should not happen in newer files, yes (I hope), but old ones still have it, and resaving them won’t fix it.

    What we see is 'Flip' flag for the Type object doesn’t match the actual position of the text. When we scale text with the flag mismatched, Illustrator re-renders it accordingly to the flag... but it doesn’t match the intention and the consistency is broken.

    It should work the other way around, I think. I believe it was an Ai’s fault to mess up the flags, because the objects look like intended, and Ai allowed to make them look like this. What a fix should do is check the way the text is rendered and toggle the flags accordingly.

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  15. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Ah, yes, same deal. Adds one handle.
    Sure, I have a plugin to kill these afterwards, but why create these in the first place...

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  16. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Something is off with reading back the encoding in the legacy files, I suppose... Worth checking further, I agree. Can you share these files, please?
    Send them to sharewithai@adobe.com, and mention the link to this report — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/51068689

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Randy, these names (as well as some effects’ other presets’ names) get recorded when a file is written — so It feels like the locale of the computer this template was saved at doesn’t match the one this template gets open at... Can you please check what language does the machine that originated it uses, and what it is for other computers?

  17. 11 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Akshaya, it is exactly like the GIF attached to the original report, nothing changed.
    1. Create a circle (I did this in a CMYK Print-based doc)
    2. Fill with a default gradient, remove stroke
    3. Make a copy of it
    4. Change the type of one into Perceptual, leave the other Classic
    5. Export a PDF with a low resolution for images, to instantly spot the rasterization
    6. Look at the PDF

    The result is bad. While the ellipse’s edge with the Classic gradient is true vector, the Perceptual one is just a raster blob. It should be a raster image CLIPPED into ellipse.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Not confirmed. The bug is still present, the edges are still rasterized.

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) shared this idea  · 
  18. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Soraia, can you record a small video of you trying to work with text, please?
    You’re on Catalina, right? Can you share other specs your computer has?

  19. 6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Hi,

    Thanks for reporting this issue.


    We are unable to reproduce this issue in house. We need your help in getting this issue reproducible.

    Kindly provide a video and Test file(Via File→Package) with some steps with which you are facing issue and share with us in a zip file at sharewithai@adobe.com. Please mention the title of this issue as the subject of the mail.

    Please Also let us know if you have been using any 3rd Party plugin while facing this problem.

    Since this is not a generic issue that we can reproduce at our end, we might need someone to look into your machine to figure out what is going on here.

    If yes, then please do let me know about your available time so that I can schedule a connect session accordingly.

    Our time zone is IST (+5:30 GMT).We are available between 8.00 am to 8.00 pm…

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    There is nothing to package, really.
    In a Print-based document I created a guide (and changed the color to magenta to better see it on white).
    I toggled the style to be dotted.
    I created a rectangle and an area text object.
    Immediately the guide jumped (visually) 1 px away (while solid goes through the edge perfectly).
    I zoomed with Opt/Alt- wheel back and forth and it jumped (visually) even further away.
    I tested it with no plugins (I hate doing that, it kills my plugin toolbars) — no difference.
    In CPU preview mode it looks OK.

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) shared this idea  · 
  20. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    This problem is reportedly fixed in the latest Beta Build 30.5.0.18. You can update and test if it’s truly gone.

    However, please not there are some known issues with this particular build:

    • Opening recent files from Home Screen Recent section is not working (opening recent files from File > Open Recent Files works fine).
    • Generative Expand does not open its own HUD when used after Generate Vector, Generative Shape Fill, or Sketch to Vector. Instead, the previous tool's HUD is displayed and Generative Expand remains inaccessible. Workaround: Ungroup the generative content first, then apply Generative Expand.
    • Half of Astute Graphics plugins can’t get loaded. Both teams are now aware of the problem.
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Yep, I remember it was working... Checked an older 2017 version, works there.

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  ·