Skip to content

AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator)

My feedback

7384 results found

  1. 65 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    The one that opens for me when a file gets double-clicked is Beta, because it was installed last :/ it’s something Windows does and the only way to change it it to reinstall GA build. When I try to do these steps — still doesn’t happen for me!
    Can you at least show or tell what fonts do you get? do the names change or do they change only visually?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Alas, Marco, can’t reproduce it.
    This is what tried:
    1. Opened the file with 29.8.1 and installed the missing fonts
    2. Saved it under a new name(with no font embedding), closed the document
    3. Double-clicked the file
    The fonts are the same: Espiritu Condensed and Mislab Std Compact Demi
    What do you get when these do change? Or do they change only visually, and the names stay the same?

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Please package the project and send it to the team for reviewing, at sharewithai@adobe.com
    Mention the link to this report for tracking it: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/50066601

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Corstiaan, can you please package the document and share it with the team, along with font used (if possible)?
    Send it over to sharewithai@adobe.com

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Howard, some changes were made to how missing fonts are handled... Ai now tried to render the outlines for these, even if the fonts are missing, until you try to edit the text. But something goes odd here... the team is aware of this.
    The docs use RichelaKids, Southern, and CestLavieRegular — just to be sure, are these all are installed at YOUR side when you open the files?
    Can you share the links to these fonts, so the team can try to replicate the behavior? If you can share the font files — please do, send them to sharewithai@adobe.com, and put the link to the bug report so that they can track it: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/49871712

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Howard, please share the files that get altered with the team for reviewing. You can do it here in the comments if you are OK with sharing them publicly, or send them to sharewithai@adobe.com (in this case please mention the link to this report for tracking purposes: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/49871712)

    It’d be helpful if you shared some screenshots of how it looks originally and how 29.5.X displays it, with the Character panel visible.

  2. 6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  3. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Not sure I remember a title change... Doesn’t the dialog just close while the progress is going?

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  4. 4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Updated from 29.7.1 to 29.8?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Oliwia, if other files behave, you’d have to share this one with the team so they can dissect it and start investigating. Please share it here in a comment if you are OK with making it public, or send directly to sharewithai@adobe.com (in this case please mention the link to this report, http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/50479839)

  5. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    What about this single object? Is it safe to share only it?
    What do you see in Layers when you have it selected?
    When you select it initially — do you see any values in the fields, or do these become blank only when you start edit them? When you do, how do you edit them exactly — type only and use Tab or drag sliders as well (it’d be ideal to have a video recording of this)?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    @NicoleB, it’s not clear what is selected in your document.
    It feels like you have several objects selected with different fills and strokes — that’s why Illustrator shows [?], indicating it’s a mixed selection.
    To change the colors still, you need to call the dedicated dialog — Edit > Edit Colors > Recolor Artwork. Click Advanced Options button in the panel that appears to get there.
    By double-clicking each chip in the 'New' column you can tweak each separate color in your selection.
    Please comment back if it helps.

  6. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Astute Graphics offers a plugin that adds a panel that allows to add some of these, but not all. Given the fact how often I need to change this, I second this immediately.
    Do you know one can access grid settings by double-clicking Measure Tool icon, by the way?

  7. 1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Nate, Font Team believes this might be related to the recent break or an outage or a login issue. Can you try once more and see there is a recurrence?

  8. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  9. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    There are several similar problems on the topic:
    1. 1 bit TIFF files still importing inverted after all these years — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/41619745
    2. PDF with CMYK JPEG is inverted when opened in Illustrator — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/38271577
    3. Illustrator turning all PNGs into negatives (with or without yellow background) after saving and reopening document — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/45228802 (marked as fixed)
    ...and others

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Can’t reproduce this following the steps — the image opens non-inverted.
    Perhaps something differs... Please share a test file with the embedded image that leads to this behavior.

  10. 5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    This is how it’s stored in a PDF, as two objects, as far as I’m aware. This is how Ai imports it back.
    Combining them back would be an interesting thing to have, but that would be an interpretation, and perhaps error prone.
    Given the fact Illustrator is not a general purpose PDF-editor, and the ’Ai editing compatibility' is a way to ensure the complete editability — this is not a bug, but a feature request.

  11. 49 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    The latest 2022 release has the Discover window that you can quickly call using F1 by default, which searches most if the commands available.
    Have you tried it? Please tell us how it differs from what you expect from the global search you have in mind? What is missing or can be improved?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    @Kieve, this change has been undone in the 29.8 build
    Read these two requests to know more:
    Focus the Search field in Preferences (introduced in Beta 29.7.0.60) when the dialog gets opened, and focus the found and highlighted option — illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/50114175
    Keyboard Increment field in Preferences no longer gets focused when dialog opens, new Search field does — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/50255313
    Also — this particular request you commented in is about Search in top menus, not Preferences.

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    There's a plugin in development that does this. I can't share any details yet, sadly.

  12. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    It is! This is incredibly silly, but I agree!

  13. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    The latest Ai build is 29.8.1, not 28... Are you sure it’s not a typo?

  14. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  15. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  16. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Lola, you can disable it in Preferences > Selection & Anchor Display, with the 'Show Artboard name on canvas' option.
    The request about it is this one: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/40405873
    Glitches are known to the team, but please still record a small video, to make sure it’s the same nature.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    I confirm. The reference point locator inside of the Artboard Options dialog applies only to the X/Y coordinates, but not to the Width/Height fields (and it goes after this block, so it can be treated as expected).
    However, when I try to do the same in Control or Properties panels, it works as expected.

  17. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    It's even more peculiar than this.
    If you apply an arrowhead to these concentric circles, you will notice that after using Compound Path > Make the starting points of the original paths shift by one segment. However, the command does nothing else but keeps the direction of the curve at the very bottom, but reverses all the rest.

    If you check Attributes panel, you’ll see that the default Fill rule used is Non-Zero Winding. It works by comparing the directions and subtracting the fill when the direction is the opposite, yes (the actual math is a bit more complex). While this rule works fine on some basic cases, as you say, it doesn’t work well for concentric cases :) But there is a second rule — Even-Odd. Simply clicking this button in Attributes makes it work.

    Whenever Ai tries to be smart (meaning the team tries to make it smart), it usually fails :D
    I’m glad Ai actually doesn’t try to be smart here and juggle my directions more than it does now. The panel gives me enough control with Compounds.
    If I do want Ai to try to auto-reverse paths, I use Exclude Pathfinder — sure, it has some side-effects (arrowheads dropped is one, although not dangerous — intersections is a most crucial).

    Does this help?

  18. 7 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    As per the comment, the most accessible way to create multiple artboards is to draw multiple rectangles with required dimensions and positions, followed by the Convert To Artboards command.

    There are multiple ways to create several rectangles fast: Transform Again command, an expanded blend, Split into Grid command.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    I see. At some point there was an internal discussion to allow us to click on the (+) button (recently added) on the edge of the artboard with some modifier key held, to get a dialog where we can set the number of artboards to add.
    Would this solution satisfy you?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Not sure I do understand what you mean.
    If you need to create 10 artboards, I’d suggest creating 10 rectangles (Ai offers several methods to do it: Transform Again, Split into Grid, Transform Effect... even though the native Step & Repeat is something it still misses: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/39044275 — possible with plugins and scripts, however) — and then using Object > Artboard > Convert to Artboards command.

    If you mean something else — please explain.

  19. 9 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Hi All,

    Thank you for reaching out and reporting this issue.

    We’ve attempted to reproduce the problem in-house but have been unable to do so with the current information. To assist us in resolving the issue more effectively, we would greatly appreciate it if you could provide the following details:

    1. Machine configuration and GPU details.
    2. If possible, the .ai file(s) where the issue is observed.
    3. A short screen recording demonstrating the issue.
    4. Confirmation on whether the issue persists with the latest Adobe Illustrator build.

    Your input will help us investigate this more thoroughly and expedite a resolution.

    Looking forward to your response.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    @Henoch, there is a separate report for this specific problem you are sharing — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/50092491
    Added you as a voter there based on your comment here. Thanks!

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Marc, perhaps you can help?
    The next time this happens, bundle the file with the full OS and GPU details and send it over to sharewithai@adobe.com, along with screenshots and video.
    A report without data and evidence is hardly useful :(

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Noah, can you send the file to sharewithai@adobe.com?
    Also please attach that screenshot you made right in the email.

  20. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Enrico, please share a screenshot of how it looks and send both the original .ai document along with the .indd document to the team for reviewing — use sharewithai@adobe.com, and mention the link to this report for tracking it back here — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/50455044