AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
My feedback
7382 results found
-
3 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment -
6 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Looks very broken... It behaves the same in all the places, correct? Properties, Character panel, Control panel?
Are you seeing fonts in Type > Font menu, at the top? -
40 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment A related report:
Align is immune to Constrain Angle
http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/49084997An error occurred while saving the comment Mike, I asked this even before it got shipped.
Unfortunately, Ai team decided to ignore / postpone implementing that.
Here is the request you can upvote: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657-illustrator-desktop-feature-requests/suggestions/44001624-match-arrow-keys-to-view-rotationAlso, as you already know, Astute Graphics offers a nifty workaround for this with its DirectPrefs panel, which allows to sync the Constrain Angle value to the current view rotation angle. Arrows and selection marquee will still work unaffected, but this if better than nothing.
An error occurred while saving the comment There is a native workaround to deal with it and a third-party automated solution.
To force Ai to rotate a coordinate system with the view, you have to go to Preferences > General and edit the Constrain Angle value. Put a negative angle in the field — so, if you rotated the view 37°, put minus 37°. When you do that, hitting arrow keys will result moving the artwork in a proper direction, and new shapes created will be drawn properly.
Unfortunately, the marquee you get when drag with selection tools will stay rotated — this is a separate issue.
An automated solution would be using DirectPrefs plugin from Astute Graphics. Open its preferences (in the panel’s menu and enable Show Constrain Lock option. This will add a small button on the panel. Once you press it, the plugin will automatically sync the rotation angle and the constrain angle.
Take a look at the screenshot.
The plugin is free, once you register.An error occurred while saving the comment Elenit, yes, true, the team is aware of the disconnection you describe and it is under review.
To make most of tools work unrotated when the view is, you need to change Constrain Angle value to be a negative of you current view angle (e.g. minus 15 for 15). So far manually, but it’s going to be automated. If you can’t wait, you can use a similar option in DirectPrefs plugin form AstuteGraphics’ plugins pack — it matches the values for you in background.An error occurred while saving the comment AstuteGraphics plugin pack has a plugin called DirectPrefs, that has Constraint Lock option. Once enabled, it counter-matches the Constrain Angle set in general preferences, giving you the grid that is always orthogonal to a view, which makes arrow keys work orthogonal as well.
Sure it must work from the box.
An error occurred while saving the comment You can move the view with PageUp/PageDown and modifier keys: Ctrl to scroll horizontally instead of vertically, Alt to use smaller steps instead of large. These require two hands (unless you use the right one) though...
As for the view rotation... I’d propose to use Shift (I think it does nothing now but dings). Will it work for you?
Not sure if arrows keys should be modal for that, but that is my preference.
An error occurred while saving the comment It can, but it still can’t do it automatically.
See, it is not the canvas that is rotating, but a 'camera' looking at it, a viewport. The axis is still at 0, and arrows work accordingly.To do what you want, you should copy the angle of the view rotation, open Preferences: General and set the negative of the copied value to the Constrain Angle field. Turn on the grid to see if it 'straight' now.
I am considering this request as 'Allow Ai to counter-sync Constrain Angle with the rotation of the view' :)
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
3 votes
The current description is too brief, please elaborate: what should it do exactly (some before / after images would help), where should it appear, what’s the reason behind it.
An error occurred while saving the comment The current way to achieve this, if I get it properly, is to select objects, mark one as a 'key object' (by clicking it last), then use Distribute Spacing set to 0 in the Align panel. This pushes all objects but they key one together, with no gap, effectively making them touch.
Does it work for you? What would you want to be improved?There is a ColliderScribe plugin set from Astute Graphics, that offers some interactive tools that allow to 'magnet' objects: https://docs.astutegraphics.com/colliderscribe/snap-to-collisions-tool
How does it differ from you intended vision? Please comment back. -
5 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Edit similar object seems to not a proper thing to use for aligning at all. As you point out, changing positions in this mode leads to simultaneous shift of all the copies.
Still I can’t get what is exactly you are going to solve with these.
So please, Daan, if you had a video or a GIF recorded, showing what your intentions are, this could help more than a text. -
16 votesUnder Review · 71 comments · Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs » Effects, Appearance, Graphic Styles · Admin →
An error occurred while saving the comment It sure is. Do you have anyone with Windows to test it, just to narrow it down to Macs only?
An error occurred while saving the comment I see, thanks. I test it with Windows 10.
If you toggle preview in the CPU mode — does it differ?An error occurred while saving the comment @NH, when I try this in Illustrator 30.1, it works as expected. Can you take a look at the document attached and see if looks differently at your side?
Can you share the specs your system has, the build version, the GPU details?An error occurred while saving the comment Richard, please share some screenshots at least (preferably a video), a test file (try to zip it before attaching, UserVoice has some temporary problems with attaching .ai-documents), your full OS and GPU specifications, the settings defined in your Effect > Document Raster Effects Settings dialog (the resolution should make sense for your media and the Add Around Object should be large enough to fit your blur value chosen).
If the site fails to allow you attach these, please send it all directly to the team via sharewithai@adobe.com, and mention the link to the report, so they can track it back here — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/50668040
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Brad, Damian, does it help to disable GPU mode?
If it does — can you please provide the exact full spec of your machine?
OS build, GPU model, driver version?
Please also provide the actual test file in the .ai format, so the team can try to replicate the issue on their side and see what is wrong? -
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment This is painful :( Please tell more.
What format did you use to save these, .ai or .pdf?
What were the names of the files you are missing? (a screenshot would do).
Do you mean Recent in the Home Screen and/or in the File > Open Recent Files, or both?
What are your settings in Preferences > File Handling? Do you have or not the 'Save in Background' option enabled? -
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Yes, these get lost for me as well when I try.
The shadows get displayed fine when viewed in a browser or in Inkscape.
Affinity fails to import shadows too.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
4 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Jason, do you test it on a curves spine like this one?
If yes — then it always behaved like this.
There is a feature request to allow us to control distribution separately form the curvature of a spine — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/32403880
Do you mind me merging this to it?Also, there is a workaround I can offer for now — add more points on a path. The more points you add, the more uniform the distribution becomes.
-
4 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
1 vote
Reported to be fixed in the general build 30.3
An error occurred while saving the comment Hm... When I try to enable 'Auto-collapse Iconic Panels' in Preferences > User Interface, in Illustrator 30.1, on Windows 10, and then try to select a font in the Character panel, it stays opened. The only way to make the panel collapse when I browse the fonts is to click the title of the main window — but then font explorer dropdown still stays.
Can you please record the behavior you are seeing at your side? -
5 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Kenneth, here’s a test file (with two artboards named 'black' and 'magenta') and my settings used.
Notice I have the Multiple Files checked. Without it it indeed produces a single PDF file, but that’s expected.
Can you check if this is what’s happening, please? -
45 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment I see. There is a similar problem that mentions a dual-monitor setup (http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/50782655)... well, it’s something else then :(
As a workaround, please open Preferences and enable the 'Use legacy "File New" interface' option — it should skip the modern dialog and fall back to the advanced legacy one.An error occurred while saving the comment I meant actual monitors, yes. But if you do have virtual ones — do you?
An error occurred while saving the comment Do you have one or several monitors?
An error occurred while saving the comment Is it still broken for you?
An error occurred while saving the comment Paul, any issues with later builds?
An error occurred while saving the comment Which one do you mean?
The one at your Home Screen?
What about File > New?
If it fails as well, try to go to Edit > Preferences and check 'Use legacy "File New" interface' — does it make any difference?An error occurred while saving the comment Audri, if you go to Preferences > General and check 'Use legacy "File New" interface' — does the dialog appear when you try again?
Just to understand if Ai fails completely to create a document, or is it only the modern dialog misbehaves.An error occurred while saving the comment Does it work if you don’t copy anything?
If yes — does it matter what you copy? a text, a vector art?An error occurred while saving the comment So it works, good. It’s not an actual solution, since these dialog don’t display thumbnails for recent templates and docs, but it’s fast and I prefer it to the shiny modern one.
> Is there a way to have this window as it's set by default?
Not sure if I get it. You mean you like this one better than the modern one? When you check the 'Use legacy "File New" interface' option in Preferences — this is the dialog you will always get from now on for File > New and Ctrl+N.
Or do you refer to the templates folder you wish to always get opened?An error occurred while saving the comment But what about the legacy option, the #3? Can you create new files using the previous version of the File New dialog?
An error occurred while saving the comment Tina, some questions.
1. Does it help to erase A4 form the search field at the bottom?
2. Does it help to switch form Recent section at the top to Print? Does that section have anything in it?
3. As a workaround — does it help to open Preferences and toggle 'Use legacy "File New" interface' option and then try to create a new document again?An error occurred while saving the comment Jo, try these two things:
1. Go to Preferences, General, and Enable 'Use legacy "File New" interface' option. Ai then should use a simpler dialog.
2. If it works, then try to locate the 'CCX Welcome' folder. It should be located somewhere here: 'C:\Users\<YOUR NAME>\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\CCX Welcome' (Mac users should have it at '/Users/<YOUR NAME>/Library/Caches/Adobe/CCX Welcome'). Delete it. The OS might not give it away that easily, so you’d have to quit Illustrator AND Adobe Creative Cloud App. In my case I had to use an external unlocking app to do that (I used LockHunter).
Then, when you relaunch Ai, it will rebuild the files anew and some modern UI panels/modes like Home, Properties, and the modern File New might start working.
Please reply back if anything helps or not.An error occurred while saving the comment Atle, but what happens when you do that?
Ctrl+N should pop a File New dialog — does it appear? Do you use the modern one or the legacy one? Does it help to toggle it (in Preferences > General: Use Legacy "File New" Interface)?
Are you able to see the home screen when no file is opened?
Which version are you using?
Please tell more.An error occurred while saving the comment I wonder if enabling 'Use Legacy File New interface' in Preferences > General helps.
Also, please check if hitting Ctrl/Cmd + Alt +N works to instantly create a new document with no dialog shown, and if assigning a custom hotkey for the 'File > New' in Edit > Keyboards Shortcuts allows then to call it (to see if there is a problem with the modern dialog itself, or just its hotkey). -
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment You made two similar requests: one for the desktop version (this one, and it allows it, in a way I described), and the one for iPad (this one — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/931888/suggestions/50798900 — and there is no solution on iPad, other than making a duplicate of your path).
An error occurred while saving the comment Bogdan, Illustrator allows to create these today, using Appearance panel.
Take a look at the test file attached, please.
The path on the left is a more simple method, but it’d work only for the uniform stroke weight.
The second path is put into a group, and it allows to include other objects into it and still get the uniform red contour.
Both methods have their use and are easy to use when saved into Graphic Styles.
Does this cover your need? Please reply. -
6 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
6 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
I fixed 'radial' to 'angular'. Ai just doesn’t offer angular (conical) gradients.
A request to have these is here: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/36003616