Illustrator (Desktop) Feature Requests
When entering a new feature request, please provide:
- Description
- Why is this valuable to you?
4821 results found
-
Hitting Escape while creating a shape, an artboard, while using Rotate, Scale, etc., doesn't cancel the process
When we marquee a selection and hit Escape — it gets canceled.
When we hit Escape while dragging out a guide — it gets canceled.
Dragging out a brush on the canvas — works.
Dragging out a swatch to drop it on a gradient or the canvas — works.
Dragging the appearance form the Appearance panel — works.
...and many other casesEscape does NOT work for these cases:
1. Creating a shape, an artboard, an area text
2. Rotating, scaling, shearing, free transforming...
3. Setting up the width with the Width tool
4. Setting up the gradient with the…11 votes -
Stop creating extra anchors
Using tools like the join tool, shaper tool and some pathfinder tools, creates more anchors than were originally in the elements that are being joined using the tools mentioned. This degrades my lines and sometimes turns corner anchors into curved or moves the anchors all together when creating more. I have spent a lot of time having to go back and fix these issues. Most of the time you can't see it until well after you have saved and have to rely keeping extra backups of your work to ensure you aren't losing details. Extra anchors creates more data to…
3 votes -
Package/collect multiple illustrator files at once for sending to printers like "Art Files 3" does.
We currently use Art Files 3 to package multiple ai files at once without having to individually open the illustrator files. With the new Illustrator 2023, Art Files 3 is no longer compatible and they also seem to be out of business. We send anywhere from 3-20 files at once on a regular basis. Working with multiple artboards in one file is not an option. We need to find a subsitute app or a solution that can package miltiple files, fonts and images (both embedded and linked) all at once like Art Files.. We can't use the AI package feature…
3 votes -
Some way to control the mesh density of generated 3D objects?
I'm using Illustrator to turn some 2D drawings into 3D objects which I export as OBJ/GLTF to other software. The process is really quick and simple, and produces very smooth and clean mesh objects, however... I'm having trouble with the total lack of control over the geometry density/resolution of the generated 3D model.
I've experimented with increasing the number of anchor points and size of the drawing to see if I would get a 3D model made of more polygons and vertices, but had no success.
It would be amazing if there was a proper way to control the generated…2 votes -
Make the option 'Select and unlock objects on canvas' available for default!!
I love when this option was available in some version of Illustrator but magically disappear in one update, I thought that you discard this option, but if I wasn't here I never realize that I have to enable manually this option on the Preferences panel.
I was angry because it was available on InDesign but not in Illustrator, fortunately I research a little and found the response to one request like mine in this section.
1 vote -
Wrong German translation of item in the Select menu
Select > Object > Area Type Objects is translated as
Auswahl > Objekt > Flächentextoptionen
should be
Auswahl > Objekt > Flächentextobjekte1 voteThe team is planning to fix this issue for the upcoming July 2023 release.
-
notification when links won't update because of locked layers
It would be great if I could get a notification when links don't update because they're on a locked layer. I keep clicking on the update button in the links palette and I think something's wrong, when it's operator error.
3 votes -
cycle multiple colors with live paint bucket
example: with black and none selected, in one swipe I will have every other object black.
1 vote -
解像度を変更できる機能が欲しいです
解像度を変更できるようにして頂けると大変助かります
1 vote -
Problemas con uso de mallas.
Al tener una forma creada con la herramienta Creador de formas o buscatrazos, y luego intentar utilizar una malla no funciona,
O al intentar usar las herramienta "creador de formas" o "buscatrazo" en una forma que tiene una malla de degradado, tampoco funciona.1 vote -
Hitting Alt+Down does not open dropdown lists
I expect Alt+Down to drop down focused lists with options inside, like Font Family / Style, Stroke Weight, etc.
Sure, I understand it might conflict with duplicating, but in fact no, since Ai does not duplicate when a field is focused anyway. At the same time, it’s a common and expected behaviour in other applications.
10 votes -
Option to disable auto-save for cloud documents
クラウドドキュメントは使いたいが、ファイル編集時に自動保存したくないです。
バージョン履歴はありますが30日しか保存できず、それ以前の
ものは1世代であっても遡れず非常に不便です。どのタイミングで
クラウド保存したいかコントロール可能にしてほしい。4 votes -
Fix Heavy Shaded PDF Import Error
Illustrator is reporting an issue while importing heavy shaded PDF files from CAD Software ArchiCAD. Error Message in Attached File. The PDF which triggers the error is also attached.
1 vote -
Make my palettes static
My palettes are always moving. No matter how much i adjust the size the whole group goes up. and down. Why cant they just stay in the same place? right now my swatches/brushes/symbols palette takes up the whole right side. even though i only have the very basic number of swatches. meanwhile the others are all pushed to the bottom and i have to search for each palette.
Basically I dont want to search for the palette i need. I want it to be on the side where i left it. instead of resizing. I'd rather scroll inside a palettes…
2 votes -
A mode to make edges for objects always visible, similar to how InDesign does it
An option to show all bounding boxes would be useful. Currently, only the selected object is displayed with a "border". This would help to locate specific objects that are sometimes hard to see. It could look similar to how it looks after using the "select all" option. Probably the problem then would be to highlight the actually selected item. But it could be quick to switch on/off, or it could be in a different e.g. slightly simplified form (compared to "select all")
2 votes -
Use Typographer's Quotes should be more accessible
"Use Typographer's Quotes" should be added to the Character palette to make it more easily accessible. Sometimes I'm designing a document that uses typographer's quotes, but most of the time I work with documents that reference dimensions in feet and inches, so I need to be able to switch back and forth between typographer's quotes and straight quotes quickly.
In addition to that, "Use Typographer's Quotes" should be moved from File > Document Setup to Illustrator > Settings > Type to match the way Photoshop and InDesign do it.
The Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign teams (and probably others, but those…
2 votes -
Make the Info panel more usefull
The info panel is too concise in my opinion.
E.g: when a place image is selected, it should show its pixel size, scale, rotation, color mode etc.4 votes -
Add performance scripting options
Currently the options to increase scripting performance are limited. Please add ...
- the ability to process documents without openingen them visually. The documents should remain hidden during processing
- an option to disable screen redraw
- an option to minimize the application windowThese scripting options would be useful ...
8 votes -
Do Not Disturb / Quiet / Focus Mode Option
No alerts, dialogues or any other disruptions while working.
11 votes -
Scale with constrained proportions
Give me a key combo with the scale tool to constrain proportions.
The diagonal motion doesn't cut it. I'm doing very detailed work and there is no indicator if the proportions are actually locked or not. Very frustrating.
4 votes
- Don't see your idea?