AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
My feedback
7384 results found
-
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment -
12 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment There is request you might be interesting in upvoting:
Add Transform Again Individually / Transform Sequence Again / Sequence Again Individually commands, as in InDesign:
http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/49716974
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment There are several custom script solution for this, such as:
- https://github.com/sky-chaser-high/adobe-illustrator-scripts#stepAndRepeat
- https://github.com/hendraanggrian/prepress-adobe-scripts/blob/main/Illustrator%20Scripts/Objects/Step%20and%20Repeat....jsx
- https://github.com/dumbm1/ai_scripts/blob/master/autors/OlegButrin/StepRepeat.jsx
- https://sites.google.com/site/dtpscripting/illustrator-scripts/stepandcopyai
Which means the demand is here. -
11 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
shared this idea
·
-
52 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Thorbjørn, there are two ways to do it I’m aware of.
1. In Pathfinder’s menu choose Pathfinder Options and tweak the precision value to set the 'radius of impact'. Be careful though. Enable the Remove Redundant Points option.
Then, select a path you want to treat and press Unite button in the panel.
If the anchors are close enough (or just happen to be on the straight line), Ai will remove one or all affected ones.
The downside of this operation is that it can alter your compound path involved.
2. VectorFirstAid plugin panel form Astute Graphics allows many checkups for artwork, and this one is among them. If you do it often, this tool would be very helpful.An error occurred while saving the comment Thorne, I had no troubles by making the result I think you wanted... see GIF 1.
But the images you show are most probably done with some other approach. What did you do to get the result in image 2?...oh, I see. Most probably you used Shape Builder tool, correct? ...see GIF 2.
Here the result would be two identical shapes layered on top of each other (it makes sense once you analyze how it works, but doesn’t from the goal you have, I know).
This still does not explain the strange garbage points you got... that’s why I asked for a video.An error occurred while saving the comment @Thorne, can you please share the test file with the object you are having problem with and a video depicting the problem?
An error occurred while saving the comment @Ben, this is the limitation of the method the team used to implement round corners. Ai has to keep the minimal distance between these two points to let it see both arcs as separate entities.
You can check this yourself (or look at the GIF I attached) — If there is only one anchor point instead of two, Ai sees it as one corner only, made for a very specific curve.
Sure, this method should be revised, and I strongly suggest making it a separate request, instead of just a comment under the mostly unrelated one. Please do!
Meanwhile you can use a commercial plugin to work with these, Dynamic Corners by Astute Graphics. As far as I know, they use a different principle to detect corners, and the endpoints get really merged into one automatically.An error occurred while saving the comment Cam’s solution will work for a single path only.
If your object has several gaps and not one, this Unite will close each path, instead of connecting gaps. And you don’t need to select points for that, just select the path as a whole and hit Unite.Object > Path > Join connects the closest gaps, with a straight segments, first all of them but the largest, and close the path with the second operation. It has it uses, can be applied to a path selection too, but also to a pair on points — only one pair, and only a valid pair.
A less known Average and Join commands welds two selected points.Join tool would be another option to close gaps, with a sharp intersection of two curved or straight segments (it depends on a possibility). Unfortunately this tool can’t be automated, lacks proper feedback, options, and is very specific.
Another solution would be to use a paid plugin from AstuteGraphics suite, Connect tool. It build a new smooth segment between. The feedback is excellent, there are some options, results are almost better than stock Join, but it also can’t be automated and assigned to a hotkey.
I assume there is a mix of different 'merge', 'join', 'unite', 'connect', 'weld', etc. terms happened. The original topic started never explained exactly what they wanted, and everybody else talked about different things.
Perhaps we never know what was the original request :)
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
5 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
shared this idea
·
-
11 votes
If you have documents that have this behavior, please share the them so that the team can review the bug and make it fixed. Screenshots help, but this can’t be reproduced without the test files. Thank you!
An error occurred while saving the comment Kara, these are the artifacts caused by cutting some corners while computing with GPU.
I don’t mean it’s fine though. If you still have the actual files that behave like this — please share them. Screenshots are not enough to get this moving.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Well, a vendor could have updated their GPU driver, and some internal instructions could have changed to draw the stuff on screen, or the OS could have get an update that deprecate some instructions, it all happened before. Things change. Though I really doubt the cracked versions can have it differently, this can easily be a pure coincidence and a false conclusion.
Nothing can be told for sure and investigated without proofs and the test file. If you know for sure you had no problems with the specific art using a specific build — please share the build number and the file itself, so the team can reproduce it. It won’t work the other way, sorry. As I said before, these can be fixed only per individual basis.
An error occurred while saving the comment Ziga, this is a trade off GPUs make to be able to render the art quickly, faster than CPU. At the moment we have to make a choice — fast, but not exactly perfect, or slow, but precise. The team knows about limitations, but to have a chance to have these fixed each case has to be tackled individually — different configurations make different results. So if you can provide this exact test file and specify the region which has this problem, the team at least would be able to try to reproduce at their side.
Can you share a file like this, please. -
1 vote
Hi All,
Thanks for reporting the issue!
We’ve reviewed the issue, but unfortunately, we're unable to reproduce the issue on our end.
To help us investigate further, could you please share:
- The .ai file where you’re seeing the issue
- Or a short screen recording capturing the issue from the start
Also, let us know:
- Is the issue 100% reproducible on your side, or does it happen intermittently?
Your input will help us get to the root of the problem faster.
Looking forward to your response!
Regards,
Aishwarya G Gadodia
Illustrator Team
An error occurred while saving the comment Dan, the .ai file seems to be missing among the attachments... are you sure you shared it? UV should allow these.
Without the file it’s impossible to review, reproduce, study and fix it, so please try again. If it fails to get attached still — please send it to sharewithai@adobe.com, and put the link to this report (http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/49715831) in the body of the email, so the team can track it back. -
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Back to this.
Pick the right document profile (now displayed as a category in the modern version of the New Document dialog): Mobile, Web, Social, Print & Video... these have RGB as the default color mode. Other categories / document profiles are intended to be used with CMYK and therefore have it assigned.An error occurred while saving the comment It depends on a printing shop and the workflows they have.
And since CMYK is probably never going to be as wide as RGB, and color management is a real science, making new users less aware of this would be our downfall :) Ai gets dumbified enough.
'Oh, why my acid green is not that acid as it is on man new iMac...' — this tsunami will choke the remainder of savvy users. CMYK math is different enough to respect it always. 2023 is not about better inks or better math.I am one of those who’d rather like AI to have CMYK as a default color space — and for me it is, I changed the document profile to Print in New Document dialog and it stays CMYK for me unless I create something in RGB with an RGB-based document profile. I am the master of my color spaces :)
But this is my private point of view, as always.
Why do you want it to be the default one exactly? What makes you want it to be otherwise? I’d love to hear and soak in. -
2 votes
Hi,
Sorry for the inconvenience caused to you due to this issue.
We are unable to reproduce this issue.
Please help us in isolating it further. We would need you to check
1) Is this Issue still happening on your machine?
2) If yes, Kindly provide some video, Test file(Via File→Package) & some steps with which you are facing the issue and share with us at ShareWithAI@adobe.com in a Zip file.
Please mention the title of this issue as the subject of the mail.
3)Please ensure under Menu Entry View→Show Bounding Box is on.Thanks and Regards
Ankit Goyal
Illustrator TeamAn error occurred while saving the comment Most likely Cmd/Ctrl+Shift+B got accidentaly pressed, and this disable the bounding box.
If this happens again, try to press this again or use View > Show Bounding Box command. If it won’t help, comment back, please. -
5 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment I can confirm this, and this is still a problem after these years passed since the report.
Here is a small GIF to help to understand the problem. -
3 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment @farhanprwnto, do you still have this happening for you in the latest builds?
-
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Jeffrey, can you elaborate on this? What schemes do you mean? The UI one? The default swatches? The default graphic style? Something else entirely?
-
25 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment A relevant request I think it’s even better than this one:
Play actions WITHOUT expanding them in the panel
http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/49713134
Please upvote it!
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
shared this idea
·
-
4 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Yep, this.
This is why I made a somewhat similar request... 7 years ago, to have a Collapse Actions button: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/33521329
But the only reason that makes them unfolded is the way they get expanded when played. Eliminating the only reason would just makes the button almost obsolete.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
7 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment So the bug slipped away... saddening. Glad it’s working for you though.
If you happen to encounter it again, please collect all you can so the team can try to reproduce it. Even if it seems narrow, it can actually affect a lot of us, in the very inappropriate moment. Thanks!An error occurred while saving the comment Odd and bad :(
I test this with 29.4 and Windows 10, and both methods seem to work for me...
Aidan, can you always reproduce this? In a new document as well, with simplest objects?An error occurred while saving the comment I wonder if this is still an issue in the latest versions of Illustrator?
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Satya, please share the file here, so the team can review it.
It’d also help a lot if you try to reproduce it from scratch and record this on video. Thank you! -
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Works for me... something must differ then between out setups. Please tell and/or show more: what do you copy, how, what are the color modes, transparencies, etc.?
-
36 votes
I am happy to share that we have fixed this bug in our latest release – 30.4 which is available worldwide now.
You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html
Thank you for all the feedback. Keep it coming!
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
23 votes
Now works as expected in GA build 29.5.1
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment I confirm this, and thank you so much for the report — it means it’s not only me!
Here’s a quick comparison between how it works today and a the way it used to work (recorded in CC2017).
It doesn’t matter if Smart Guides are on or off, or any other snapping-related settings are toggled (like Highlight anchors on mouse over). -
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Am I right it shows up like this at any moment, with or without anything selected?
Ervin, provide a bit more information about your display setup, orientation, etc.
Not sure I can derive what these are form the report, and perhaps the team won’t be able as well.