Skip to content

AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator)

My feedback

7380 results found

  1. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Oh, I love it. Not sure anyone ever requested this, to sort the exported items by their artboards (there was this one, about sorting the list of assets by artboards though: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/31408063).

    There is this quite old now MultiExporter script: https://gist.github.com/TomByrne/7816376
    Forked many times, but not exactly modified... but it doesn’t offer the functionality you seek.
    Not sure about this extension either: https://github.com/TomByrne/IllustratorSmartExport

    You can try to modify these to perform the sorting you seek...
    And I’d really love to have it from the box in Ai. Upvoted, thanks.

  2. 4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Wow! What about the dedicated Window > Swatches panel? Does it show these the same way?
    When you try to double-click a swatch to edit it — do the values also correspond to white, or is it just a rendering bug?
    What is GPU and the driver version?
    Does this bug stay when you create a new document, or relaunch the Illustrator?

  3. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Christina, what version are you using? Did it start happening recently, with particular files, or does it also happen with any new document?

  4. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Yes, even with a specific gradient color stop selected. I don’t click there much, but each time I try to edit a stop, I fall into this trap. I wonder if anyone actually uses to to convert a gradient fill into flat (which can be done with hitting comma or the button under the selector).

  5. 152 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    I miss a way to de-activate artboards greatly.
    I need all artwork shown and unlocked, but I need some of artboards to be exported as images to preview and discuss, but some others to export for printing. These groups don’t match, so I have to remember the ranges for each case. A hundred of those is tough to manage.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    I’m still missing an ability to deactivate artboards. Not hide with their contents, but turn off the frame (unless I hover in the panel, perhaps), exclude from defining the paste coordinates, from Zoom into Artboard, from Next Artboard... I want to activate these artboards later, for export purposes, but don’t interfere with me navigating the canvas.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    There are several similar requests:
    1. Layer Comps, similar to what Photoshop does, requested here: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/32923834 (and the comments there offer several plugin solutions)
    2. Artboard-specific Layers ('Layers per Artboard'), requested here: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/31133392
    Which one do you mean? Or do you mean something else entirely, perhaps filtering like InDesign does?
    And welcome to UserVoice!

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    The problem with this can be caused by the fact artboard can overlap each other, and one object can be placed inside of several artboards, or overlap some, or be a small part of another artboard while almost fully placed into another one.
    How do you intend to work around these problems?
    Let’'s discuss it.

  6. 5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    If anything like this happens today, please share a test file and the exact settings used to export an image (and the resulting image as well). Mention your OS details and the version of Ai used.

  7. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Griff, still a problem today?

  8. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) shared this idea  · 
  9. 141 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    @william lopez, it matches this request, it seems, — Display copies of links' duplicates as instances, like in InDesign: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/32307490
    Is this what you mean?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Related to this request:
    Batch relink to CC libraries
    https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/31902295

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Luckily we have a script to relink multiple images with one file:
    https://github.com/dumbm1/ai_scripts/blob/master/jsx/fast_relink.jsx
    Huge thanks to Marat. Shame on those who work with relinking at Adobe...

  10. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  11. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Oh, interesting. Can you keep your eye on it?
    Also, in Preferences > Clipboard Handling, what options do you have checked (and if fiddling with them changes anything)?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Andrew, not sure I follow... I try to reproduce it, but it just works.
    Can you record a small GIF or a video to show the exact steps in case I do it wrongly?

  12. 6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Khush, can you please share a test file?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Renee, please share a test file with the text object within, the one you can confirm the bug is happening.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Can you please share a test file and some screenshots or actual exported files, along with the details on the method used (Ai provides several) and the settings?

  13. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    I confirm, but my case doesn’t require color fonts.

    Here, in my file, I have a compound path using Screen mode.
    It is wrapped into a group and has two drop shadows applied (to imitate a custom distribution).
    Strangely, the second shadow gets the compound path included in the raster image generated, looking as a ghost. If I Expand Appearance for the group, this duplicate of the compound path gets baked into the image!

    Happens in the latest Beta 30.5.0.64 as well.

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  14. 260 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Herman (HI!), but this is what Ai does today: 2 objects selected would force Align To to Selection (and I hate when it does for two points I need to align to an artboard’s edge). That was a reason to ask for Align To hotkeys, to force our will over the SmartDetection™.

    'Fill Artboard' — do you mean 'resize the selection non-proportionally to make it fit the selected artboard(s)' or 'create a rectangle with the size of the artboard(s)' or something else at all?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Sudhir, there is not enough default free keyboard shortcuts to assign all of these commands.
    But you can assign them to any keys you want via Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts: Menu commands, in Object > Align.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    There is now a dedicated request to have hotkeys (and menu items) for Distribute Spacing commands: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/47529830

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Bobby, I think I remember a request to 'treat the first / last selected object as a key object', the same way Corel Draw does...
    However, currently I can’t locate it. Would you mind to log it separately? If I find one later, I will merge them.
    Please describe the way you think it should work, the way for Preferences and / or Align to handle it, if it should highlight a key (and why not if not), etc.

    As for the hotkeys in general — as you say, RLCTBE in Ai do something else and reassigning them hardly worth it...
    But there are plenty of requests about hotkey customization in general, including more modifiers and more flexibility. Please upvote them, it helps.

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    While this is necessary, you can still use Actions to record alignment/distribution (I do). These are limited to F-keys, but you can always redefine them in Autohotkey (Windows) and Hammerspoon (Mac).

    As for the Tab — this button is taken (and I would be very mad if it would be taken from me).
    'Next object above/below' is there, Alt+Ctrl+square brackets, is it what you want? (it kinda broken in Isolation mode though)

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    While it's not done, record some Actions for aligning and use F-keys to access them.
    This is a way I use now.

  15. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Mike, please tell more.
    What OS do you have? What printer? What driver version? What Ai build? What print settings (both in Ai and the printer’s own ones)?
    Can you share screenshots for all these, along with a test file, and the image of the printed result?
    The more data you provide, the higher the chances the team can reproduce this and fix.

  16. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    ¿Puedes mostrar una captura de pantalla del mensaje de error?

  17. 48 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Illustrator allows this today.

    1. Go to File > Place and choose the files to be placed.
    2. Click and drag on the canvas to define the grid area.
    3. While dragging, hold Opt/Alt to place all files in one gesture with an auto-calculated grid.
    4. For a custom grid layout, while dragging, press arrow keys to adjust rows and columns — Right/Left for columns, Up/Down for rows.

    Known limitations.

    1. Unlike in InDesign, we can’t control the gaps with Cmd/Ctrl + Arrows.
    2. It won’t work for drag-n-drop on canvas. works only with File > Place.
    3. This option works only for placing images, and won’t affect tools like Rectangle — use Rectangular Grid Tool instead.

    Please try how it works and comment back to help the team to polish the feature.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    A very related request,
    Arrange selection in Grid
    https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/48804881

  18. 9 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    A very related request,
    Place multiple files in a grid like InDesign (Gridify)
    https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/32686120

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Vichot, how do you think to control the process?
    What UI do you think this feature should get?
    How do you intend to control columns, rows, gaps, overall width and height?
    Some object would have to be resized, while some other can stay unchanged, — how do you plan to mark these?

    While there is no fully automated solution for this now, there are several supplementary free scripts you can use today to boost this workflow drastically:
    1. Resize to Size script by Sergey Osokin, www.youtube.com/watch?v=PN3dAf6rac8
    2. Distribute Stacked Objects script by John Wundes, https://github.com/johnwun/js4ai/blob/master/distributeStackedObjects.jsx
    3. Fit / Fill Image scripts by Seiji Miyazawa, https://onthehead.com/ais/group008/ (these are very similar to what InDesign allows)
    These would save you a ton of time.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Oh yeah, scripts deserve so much more.
    As for now Adobe Exchange offers a way to host extensions (in most cases are just glorified wrappers for scripts) — exchange.adobe.com/apps/browse/cc?page=1&product=ILST&q=extensions — but nothing for just scripts. And we have hundreds and hundreds of them, and they cover so much gaps in UX.

    UV has a separate request for a dedicated script panel, please upvote it as well: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/39903586
    Plus there are several decent external solutions, Scripshon Trees being one of them: https://exchange.adobe.com/apps/cc/15873/scripshon-trees

    But none for the Exchange for scripts.
    Adam, would you mind me promoting your comment into an idea for it?

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Adam, it’d be nice indeed to have a feature like this in Ai natively. Count me in.

    Meanwhile I can offer to use a free script to achieve this result — alignObjects by sky-chaser-high :https://github.com/sky-chaser-high/adobe-illustrator-scripts?tab=readme-ov-file#alignObjectsjs

    You’d have to specify the tolerance value to define common axes for rows and columns.

    Please be warned also that scripts can’t handle opacity masks properly (you can upvote a request to fix this here: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/908050/suggestions/46727548)

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  · 
  19. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Yep, totally confirm.
    Happens in Beta s well, on Windows 10.
    Here’s a simple test files, for faster testing.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Scott, just for reference, can you please share one screenshot of the way it look at your side?

  20. 4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) commented  · 

    Confirm. It’s possible when we target objects within a continuous range in this filtered view, but not across ranges.

    A related request to allows proper range selection, not with an incorrect 'target appearance' marker routine: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/51241837

    AdminEgor Chistyakov (Admin, Adobe Illustrator) supported this idea  ·