Illustrator (Desktop) Feature Requests
When entering a new feature request, please provide:
- Description
- Why is this valuable to you?
4817 results found
-
A 'snapshot' feature, similar to After Effects
I use After Effects 'Take snapshot' feature (Shift + F5) all the time. I always go to use it in Illustrator, but it's not here. It would be very handy for referencing changes or states.
5 votes -
Object > Repeat > Mirror needs Snapping
When using the handles in the viewport, snapping is not available. Snapping would make all of the "Object > Repeat" functions much more useful.
5 votes -
Preview of the Artboard Sizing
If we could see what the sizing of the artboard would look like before we click the create button, because sometimes it's just easier to test there before starting an entire new document! :)
5 votes -
Calculate surface area with Dimension tool
With the last update, you brought the possibility of customizing the scale in the dimension tools, thank you for that. Would it be possible to obtain a new tool for calculating the surface area in m², by selecting any closed shape?
5 votesThe team has started working on this request. As a first step they want to understand the requirements correctly and build the right feature set based on the feedback gathered.
If you are willing to discuss area calculation in a call session, block a time slot here: https://outlook.office.com/bookwithme/user/c1b7ecea1cbd42a2a7068cfeb7861bdd@adobe.com/meetingtype/Fn8tXNebh0eyv4xTnvQ-3Q2?anonymous&ep=mlink
-
Allow to set up Viewing options for PDF exported, like InDesign does
Do you think we could have Viewing options added as implemented in InDesign?
5 votes -
「テキストからベクター生成」にレイヤーオブションを加えてください
背景と上に乗るキャラクター等をレイヤー分けできるような仕組みを追加してください。
たとえば、「下のレイヤー:波の穏やかな白い砂浜のビーチ、上のレイヤー:じゃれ合う2匹の子犬」
というようにプロンプトに記述したレイヤー構成に従って生成されるようになると格段に使い勝手が良くなると思います。
5 votes -
Callout Tool
I'm sure a simple callout tool with some callout styles will help a lot. Sometimes I need to export as a pdf just to use callouts in acrobat. Can you manage it?
5 votes -
Get rid of prompt window
i would love to be able to hide/get rid of that prompt window that says "generate, edit path, repeat, group, lock.." that pops up. its pretty annoying.
5 votesYou can disable this panel via Window > Contextual Task Bar menu command.
The current Beta 28.5.0.34 has a bug though, that enables it back after Ai is relaunched. If you are using normal build, it should just work.
-
Rename Unembed to Unembed All when several images are selected
A command in the Links panel’s flyout menu allows us to Unembed an image, when it’s selected.
It’d be great if the name of the command change into 'Unembed All...' when several embedded images are selected.Also mentioned here: https://x.com/DTP_Transit/status/1742338384302149796?s=20
5 votes -
Allow third-party developers to add dividers and custom sorting into Effect menus
Third-party developers can add custom items in menus.
Some create their own sub-menus, some add them in-between native commands... there are several practices they use and when they all get used together it feels somewhat chaotic.But it feels like this is because plugin devs can’t fully control the commands in menus. It turns out, they can’t control the order and sorting, add dividers in Effects (but seemingly can in every other menu)...
Effect menu is the most weird menu in Ai, it looks different from others. Maybe that’s why?
There is an existing UV post about it:
https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447-illustrator-desktop-bugs/suggestions/36951433-effects-menu-is-smaller-larger-than-other-menus-on5 votes -
Make scrollbars higher contrast or allow customizable colors for them
The gray on gray scheme of the slider and handle in the scrollbars is extremely difficult to work with. Higher contrast is needed or provide the ability to customize the slider color. This is an accessibility issue for older or visually impaired users!
5 votes -
Make gradient hard stops
A gradient can be striped when you move 2 stops of the same color on top of each other. It would be easier if this were not needed as is the case in Cinema 4D. So Illustrator should have a setting that gradient stops break the gradient and make stripes.
Posting this on request of a forum participant. Please see the post here: https://community.adobe.com/t5/illustrator-discussions/my-illustrator-wishlist/m-p/14408654#M396609
5 votes -
寸法ツールで描画したものを数値で編集
寸法ツールで寸法線が描画できるのは非常に助かります!
ソフトウェアの仕組み的に難しいと思いますが,寸法ツールで作成した寸法線の数値を編集できるようにし,3DCADソフトみたいに,その寸法編集が描画に反映されると図の作成に非常に便利になると思います。5 votes -
Feature Request: Preference for Copy and Duplicate Layers without auto renaming and adding "copy" to them
Hi Adobe 🙂
I make large Illustrator files that have lots of layers, and often I find myself copying a layer that has a ton of sublayers. I spend way too much time renaming the copied layers removing the word "copy" or "copy 3" etc from the sublayer names.
I have found some workarounds, if this helps anyone. If I want to copy a layer called **, I will copy it, then rename it XXXz then paste and the new pasted layer is ** without the name copy, then I can go back and remove the z from the…
5 votes -
use of Info panel for graph elements
When working with a graph, use the Group Select tool to select one element of the graph. In earlier versions (prior to ~2016 or 2017?), the Info panel displayed the size/position of that element. Why was that feature DROPPED? Please reinstate that bit of code--there is no other way to determine the size of any element (except to copy and paste it, then delete it).
Better yet, if the Transform panel was active for a graph element, it would make it so much easier to control the size of each path. (I'm looking at you, tick marks, which are seemingly…5 votes -
Allow to choose a reference point (pivot / origin) for live shapes
With a Line live shape we can set a length and an angle of the line, using Line Properties section in Transform panel (or Properties).
But there is no way to choose the position of the reference point, these apply always to the middle.
I want to be able to extend/contract or rotate a line from one of both ends.
Same applies to other live shapes, which gets transformed with the dedicated controls always from the center.
5 votes -
Close panel by a middle-click on its header
Middle-click today is a common gesture.
In browsers and file managers with tabs it allows to close a current tab.
There is a feature request to allows us to close tabs in Ai as well: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657-illustrator-desktop-feature-requests/suggestions/38150188-add-middle-click-to-close-documentBut I would also like to be able to close panel with a middle-click. Not collapse — this is what a left-click does — but just close the panel.
5 votes -
Image Trace like Vectorizer.AI does
Adobe, love all the new A.I. features but what I would really love in Illustration would be what Vectorizer.AI does. Forget live trace, give one click vectorizing, please! Like what Vectorizer.AI does but in Illustrator.
5 votes -
Auto Optical size
Please add auto optical size for variable fonts with opsz axes similar to Adobe InDesign automapping:
https://helpx.adobe.com/in/indesign/using/using-fonts.html#automap5 votes -
Improve intertwine for gradients on strokes and effects
Improve intertwine to allow gradients along a path before intertwine is made, then fully implement drop shadows to overlap intertwined segments. See attachment explaining workaround I produced along with high res rasterization to show where result is better than Illustrator display on monitor.
5 votes
- Don't see your idea?