AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
My feedback
7384 results found
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment -
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Hmm. Won’t happen for me on both the GA and Beta builds, on Windows... but these are not 28.7.3/4.
Can you test this with the latest versions? Just in case it’s something only the older ones had? -
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment It’s probably Snap to Pixel got enabled.
This option is on when we create a document for screen intent, and you can see if it’s on or not in the View menu (search for Snap to Pixel command) or in the Control panel (sadly disabled by default) — it should have a small button on its right side.
Also check Snap to Grid option — it can have the same effect.
Please comment back if these help (or not). -
5 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment I work in print often also, and even worse so, I do it in metric scale, so 'mm' is what I prefer for all units, including type and stroke :)
Where is a way to do it in Illustrator.
You have to find the folder containing your document profiles. On Mac it’s somewhere here:
Macintosh HD ▸ Applications ▸ Adobe Illustrator 2022 ▸ Support Files ▸ New Document Profiles ▸ en_US (or the other language locale)
Open the Print.ai profile, make changes you want in Preferences for units (and also Paragraph styles, if you want to have your own custom default font), save it, and use it next time you create a new document.There are many nice articles about changing document profiles that can provide more details.
Start with this one: https://productivista.com/new-document-profiles-saves-your-default-settings/Also, don’t forget to backup the saved file, because Illustrator tends yo update these without a permission on update.
-
5 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment I remember upvoting this, and now I found it again, to answer the question at the Illustrator Beta forums: community.adobe.com/t5/illustrator-beta-ideas/artboards-discussion-feedback-for-jan-prerelease-webinar/idc-p/15109626
To quote myself, Ai is build upon PostSctipt, and it postulates 1 pixel equals 1 point. The resolution It’s hardcoded and won’t bulge.
I bet this change would be insanely complicated to pull off, although I really want it, because I often have to move artwork between different media...
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Rex, do you still experience anything like this?
-
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Oliver, you can switch units using 2 custom JS scripts, wrapped in an action, one per unit.
Put this into a .jsx file for inches:
app.preferences.setIntegerPreference("strokeUnits", 0);
and this one for points:
app.preferences.setIntegerPreference("strokeUnits", 2);This is a workaround, sure, but an effective one.
Please try it and comment back.As for the mockup you propose — it is rather confusing. I understand the intention behind it, but it looks like Ai is going to handle unites separately, and not combined with a values, which is not cool at at all — no math, no live conversion, a step back. And as a solution it’s not much faster than the current method — 2 clicks compared to 5 clicks we have today (plus some aiming).
-
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment This is because Ai doesn’t provide an ability to assign different units PER artboard. But it allows to set one for the whole document, in File > Document Setup (Cmd/Ctrl + Opt/Alt + P).
So is your request about individual units per artboard, or just a shortcut to the document’s units form the Artboard Options dialog? -
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Hmm. I can see these in the File Type dropdown in Export As in 29.2.1, on Windows... What version are you using? Can you share a screenshot, please?
-
526 votes
As mentioned before, this got shipped into the main (GA) build, but the development is not completed. The team has been gathering all the user feedback and intends to address it.
Here are several relevant entries you can upvote.
Bug reports:
- Spots and Globals are converted into process colors when included into Swatch Info
- Swatches Info doesn’t work for the only swatch selected
- Swatch Info renders a saved tint as yet another copy of the main global color
- The default text color in Swatches Info is rich RGB black when used in a CMYK document
- Tabs in Swatch Info text are made with spaces instead of actual tabs
- Bottom margins for labels are too small for Swatch Info objects in the column view (with no card backgrounds)
Feature requests:
An error occurred while saving the comment Indeed, it doesn’t! A saved tint is rendered as yet another copy of the main color.
And naturally the chips on canvas do NOT use the actual swatch...An error occurred while saving the comment This is almost good!
Several things to complete:
1. Lab values for spot colors — planned
2. Names for named colors — planned
3. 'Generate Color Info' says more about the legend, but not about having chips on canvas
4. 'Create Swatch Palette' is somewhat better, but since many still call panels as palettes (specifically Swatches) this can be confusing
5. Something in between would be better: Place Swatches Palette (not 'create', since it can refer to the panel)
6. I don’t like the fixed margin for text. I think it should be relative to the font’s size, or the leading. When it’s 12pt for text, it’s OK, but I don’t use points as units, and as in many other places, this default value in point would mean nothing for my layout (as with rearranging artboards, default effects’ settings, etc.). Please don’t ignore Metric world, it’s larger than Imperial.
7. Why not drag-n-drop also, with the last settings used?
8. Hotkey
9. Don’t see a way to create several columns or rows. I see it wraps at ten though — what if I need 5 or 7?
10. Don’t see a way to position captions to the right of the chips for the column view
11. In column view the bottom margin of the text is too little, and text seems to relate the chip below, not above. No, it' should not be solved by manual spacing, the minimal value should not allow this mistake.
12. No gradient and patterns is odd.
13. No hints for options
14. Don’t force the layer. Give a way to use the current one (Same goes for dimensions. Users should have a choice on their document structure. Don't undercut our decisions)
15. Where is Preview? Can we see these generated before we click OK?
Other than these — VERY close! Already usable! It remains just a tiny push for it to be complete! Pleased with it.An error occurred while saving the comment @gwintrup, I added you as a voter to the dedicated request about guides 'being more like in InDesign' — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/37211029
An error occurred while saving the comment Do you cook? :)
Imagine you want to make a meal.
You open a fridge, you grab the products you need, you put them on the table, grab a knife, cut products, cook them.
Sure, some don’t do that :) They run back to fridge every time (and they don’t upvote this probably).Swatches panel is a 'fridge'
Take a look at how Von organizes his Swatches: https://youtu.be/aDnoMHs32-o
These are swatches he puts in a template and use across some of his projects.
Sure the illustration doesn’t need ALL of these.
So he 'puts chosen swatches on canvas' — like products — and cook with them only.Take a look at the video above, from 28:40 specifically (https://youtu.be/aDnoMHs32-o?t=1720)
Swatches Panel can’t have these as large as he wants them to be.
We can’t make Swatches panel to hide some.
There is no way to quickly detach some colors into a floating panel.
Swatches are separated with thin lines and if prevents us from seeing how they react to each other.
We can’t make one swatch larger than other to set a ratio of colors (like Von does even later in the video — see image 1).This image 1 is what artists do at the image 2.
And Swatches — is image 3.
And what is requested here — is image 4.An error occurred while saving the comment Meanwhile, Sergey Osokin made a script, ColorToner, that automates making shades-tints-tones, with a great range of options: customizable steps and purity, text legend, size and gaps, preview, adding to swatches, etc.
Worth having if you are into this workflow: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-MK0bEbD78
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment There are several external methods of doing that.
https://github.com/johnwun/js4ai/blob/master/renderSwatchLegend.jsx
or
https://productivista.com/make-a-list-of-colors-from-your-selection/
and
https://o2creative.co.nz/shop/Powerscripts/Color_Sample_Prints_PowerScript_for_Adobe_IllustratorAn error occurred while saving the comment This is not a panel, but may be this script I made could help somebody from 368 users who voted for this?
It will place selected swatches (or all if none are selected) as a group of colored rectangles wit a set dimension.
https://twitter.com/tchegr/status/1330496523428372482An error occurred while saving the comment It looks almost like Swatch Libraries palettes you can open and enlarge swatches to a not that big a size. So it’s almost there already.
Gap options, larger size for squares, and easier way to create and save and manage these windows?An error occurred while saving the comment I don't agree with this.
Drag-n-drop is also used as a way to apply color. You can easily miss and create square instead off applying.
If you want create color chart of your swatches — use RenderSwatchLegend script by brilliant John Wundes: http://www.wundes.com/JS4AI/ -
2 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment Can you please share a test file and some screenshot to show how it looks?
Please also share the settings you use when you save the file. -
4 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Does the new option form the Align panel, 'Align to glyph bounds', solve it for you?
An error occurred while saving the comment I would disagree, but it's more complicated than that... Gotta think about it
-
10 votes
Latest versions of Illustrator can do that.
If you have the bounding box enabled, double-click the bottom filled square handle to toggle Auto Size.
You can also do that in Area Type Options dialog.
An error occurred while saving the comment There are two related requests:
1. Snap textframe size to content (like double-click in InDesign) — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/31956682 — this one is quite different compared to what Ai does
2. Allow Area Type to auto size with center and bottom alignment — http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/48502847An error occurred while saving the comment There's 'Auto Size' option in Type > Area Type Options that does this
-
2 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
An error occurred while saving the comment Chris, yes, even with the 'Align to Glyph Bounds' option (located in Align panel’s flyout menu) it still is measured by em-box, which includes side-bearings — they make a space between glyphs.
What I have though is the script that can partially ease your pain:
https://twitter.com/tchegr/status/973947185292193792?s=20Please vote there in the correlating request if you want it to be fixed someday.:
https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657-illustrator-feature-requests/suggestions/33610747-add-an-option-for-trimming-side-bearingsAn error occurred while saving the comment Chris, there is a new Font Height Options in the latest release that almost fully address this, along with Align to Text option.
-
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment Another related request:
Align text based on actual width (not including spaces)
http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/39649978An error occurred while saving the comment It cant be improved with the options to align to x-height and cap height:
https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/35039683An error occurred while saving the comment Simon, can you explain it further, with images?
An error occurred while saving the comment This should be also extended to the set of 'Convert to Shape' effects!
E.g. 'Convert to Rectangle' is a great way to add a live background plate under a live text, but it is applied to the em-box, naturally. If you introduce 'Tight Fit' option there (along with 'Cap-height' and 'x-height'), this would give much more control over the parametric appearance workflow in Ai.An error occurred while saving the comment Follow-up to the previous comment:
and if you make a stroke instead of a fill, enable Preview Bounds, you will have a strange gap between visual edge of the stroke and the bounding box. And the green rectangle will align to this enlarged bounding box! With bbox excluded it will align to the black fill again.An error occurred while saving the comment So, here's the problem.
I have a live text, and it has two fills. Bottom orange fill has Offset Path effect applied to it.
For whatever reason I want to align my green rectangle to the visual bottom of this text (I marked it with a guide).
1. I see that a bounding box is now around my Em Box, and lower edge is lower than the guide.
2. So I go to the options and enable 'Use Preview Bounds'. Ai extends the bounding box so all orange is now inside of it, but the bottom edge is still where it was — because Em Box is still higher than the orange fill.
3. So I go the options again and check 'Exclude bounding box: Point Text' — I believe that it would trim that part of the bounding box that extends below the orange fill.
4. I set the text as a key object and align box to the text.
5. Boom, it aligns to the black fill!
6. OK, I say, I go to options again and untick exclusion.
7. Now it aligns to the bounding box!
Having Preview Bounds off and Exclusion on will align to black fill.
So there is no way to align a box to a visual edge now :)An error occurred while saving the comment It took me a while to find the option.
Well, I found it at first try, but it's named differently now and has two options, so I wondered if there's a different place for a Tight Bounds now.It clashes now with 'Use Preview Bounds' options. Please check all combinations and see for yourself (especially text with a fat stroke, 'Use Preview Bounds' on, 'Exclude bounding box: Point Text' on — is should align art to the visible edge of the text's fat stroke, but it does not).
-
3 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
1 vote
An error occurred while saving the comment All of this can be done using Appearance panel and saved as a preset in the Graphic Styles panels for future use.
Add a new fill in Appearance, put it under Characters, apply Effect > Convert to Shape > Rectangle, choose options.
You can change the color, corners, transparency, apply other effects...
There is no reason to make a simplified more strict version of this, Appearance is already too simple :)Hope you discovered it after you requested this in 2021!
-
6 votes
An error occurred while saving the comment InDesign has it... Affinity apps have it...
In Illustrator, it gets enabled when the font has it. Take something like Roboto, and compare All Caps with actual capitals used — All Caps use more spacing.
The thing though it’s not listed as an option in OpenType panel.
The fact the font has to have it is fine, this should be something programmed in the font.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
15 votes
As per the comment within, this can be resolved like this:
1. In Preferences > Type > enable Show East Asian Options
2. In Paragraph panel choose Avoid Head and Tail, Strict
Please comment back if it works or not for you.
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
-
9 votes
AdminEgor Chistyakov
(Admin, Adobe Illustrator)
supported this idea
·
I wonder if it works any faster than it used to for you...
When I check it today, it’s almost instant, like it should, with no noticeable pause.
Can you please recheck this behavior?