Illustrator (Desktop) Feature Requests
When entering a new feature request, please provide:
- Description
- Why is this valuable to you?
4826 results found
-
Bring back Duplicate button in the Contextual Task Bar
It would be very useful to bring back the repeat / duplicate icon in the Contextual Task Bar -- specifically when selecting shapes. Illustrator 2024 had this feature when a shape was selected. The 2025 update removed this feature.
Please bring this back, or allow users to customize the Conceptual Task Bar in the settings.
7 votes -
Automatically pick a key object from a selection as a target path when using Object > Object on Path > Attach command
Illustrator allows us to set a key object by clicking one of selected objects, to perform align and distribute operations (sadly, a very underutilized method!)
But Objects on Path doesn’t use this method at all, technically being an align & distribute operation.
If I have a selection and marked one object as a key one already, after calling Object > Object on Path > Attach command I STILL have to click a target path! I already made my choice before running the command, why does it force me to make a choice twice and precisely click again?
A clear miss.…
7 votes -
Option to add dimensions to current / specified layer
I enjoy the new dimension tool but find it annoying that it creates a whole new separate layer. Maybe my workflow is unconventional, but it would be nice if the dimensions could just be added to my print instructions layer instead of a whole new layer just for the dimensions. I make a lot of diecuts and find myself still using old methods to create the dimension lines due to it always putting them on another layer.
7 votes -
Allow Download & Print feature for Share to Review
Allow Download & Print feature for Share to Review. Also including comments and titles.
7 votes -
Adobe Please Update Image Trace
Totally understand the business aspects of focusing on tools which have the most users. However Image Trace appears stuck in a time warp, and not moving forward. May be stretching but with the AI, ML tools Image Trace should be far more capable than the current form. The inability to distinguish lines in an image is of concern. You should be able to draw more interest to take raster drawings to the next level with Illustrator. Has been almost 24 years when this was released. Definitely time to take to the next level.
7 votes -
Add a 'Select More' menu option
When working with a very busy file, it's often much easier to select an anchor or line segment than an object.
My idea is to have a menu option that selects the object or objects which currently have anchors or line segments selected.
A user could select an object by first selecting one of its anchors, and then using this menu option.
If the user hits this feature multiple times, it could continue to 'select more' by, for example, selecting all siblings within the current group, and then the group itself, and then the group's siblings etc.
7 votes -
Graphic Styles direct hotkeys
Some of us use graphics styles A LOT. And a way to quickly apply them now requires aiming and clicking. In modern now, a precise targeted click is the most inconvenient, attention-expensive, and rather ineffective gesture.
Pro users use hotkeys.
Since InDesign’s Quick Apply is not a thing yet (that’s another story), we’d like to be able to assign direct hotkeys to chosen styles.There are several ways to approach this: by name, or by position in the list... but not as an action wrapper — we have so little of F-keys.
7 votes -
Allow to disable or enable center points for all or specific objects types on creation
With Area Type, if I use the text tool to highlight a word (for example, if I want to embolden the word), if I catch the centre point of the text box in the wrong way, Illustrator will assume that I want to create a new text box, which I don't. I know I can manually disable the centre point via the Attributes panel, but I need to set the centre point to OFF by default, and to my knowledge there is no way of doing this.
7 votes -
Guided tracing brush (Snap to trace), similar to Photoshop’s Content aware image trace
The automatic full image tracing in illustrator often does not create useful results. The set of lines is too busy or doesn't line up with where a human would consider the edges to be.
As an alternative, a brush tool tool that snaps the lines to the underlying image layers would be more helpful. Human input shows the general location of a line, and illustrator can then snap the line to the nearest set of pixels that appears to be an edge, helping make smooth an accurate traces without excess lines.
While it would be a slower process, the creative…
7 votes -
An option to hide units in dimensions made with the Dimension Tool
Can you add an option so that the units are not displayed for dimensions and only the number is displayed? Thank you.
7 votesLatest Beta Builds now allow to hide units for dimensions.
Toggle the option in the tool’s options dialog to force it for new objects, or disable it in the Properties panel for existing and selected dimensions.
-
Allow Shape Builder to close edited path, but keep the one below opened
Hi there!
So, the thing is that - when I have 2 intersecting open filled paths, I really want to remove the outside path of one path using Shape Builder tool. But I want the second path to stay open. and the first path to become closed.It may sound as a picky request. But I struggle with this issue everyday, like, 20+ times.
7 votes -
Multilingual Spell check needed for multilingual package design.
I am a package designer. Our company fully committed away from English only packaging to "3L," using English, French and Spanish. Sometimes, we do 8L for emerging markets. When we review our packaging, and before film release, we use Spell Check in our routine. However, it is cumbersome to find English misspellings, when Spell Check spends so much time identifying French and Spanish as misspelled English words. Plus, it would be nice to catch a misspelled French or Spanish word, just in case our translation service team made a mistake. We'd not know because we are not native speakers. With…
7 votes -
Package and Export for Screens / Assets: Same As Current Document Folder button
In Package dialog I’d like to have a button to change the path to the location of the current document.
BTW, same button is needed in Export for Screens / Assets dialog.
7 votes -
I want to control how many pop-ups I see.
I'm just trying to work, Adobe, but all the pop-ups are driving me mad! The tool tips are fine, but to be working away and be bombarded with this pop-up telling me to share my work and then another asking if I know how to do such-and-such.... I discover new features on my own whenever the app is updated, and if I want to find out anything else, I know how to do that. I don't need constant reminding. Please, please please, Adobe, please let this be a preference setting that can be turned off.
7 votes -
External arrowheads for small dimensions
The current Beta version is showing the new Dimensions tool, but as you can see in my screen shot, where I am working actual size, for the small dimensions it would help if there was an option to have the arrows outside the lines going toward the inside of the dimension rather than the outside. Thus leaving the small gap empty and making it visually clearer.
7 votes -
Creating several symbols at once (Multi-Add symbols)
An option when adding Symbols to the Symbols panel for a multi-add option, similar to the Asset Export panel.
7 votes -
Area Type "Inset Spacing" option to set different values for top, bottom, left and right
エリア内文字の「外枠からの間隔」に天地左右で異なる値を設定できるようにして欲しいです。
InDesignの「フレーム内マージン」ではできるので、Illustratorでも可能になればもっと便利です。また、日本のユーザーはエリア内文字で表を作成することがあります。「外枠からの間隔」に異なる値が設定できれば、表の作成時にも調整しやすくなります。
(例)
https://twitter.com/hamko1114/status/1661574685614825475↓ English ver. (Using Translation tool)
I would like to set different values for the top, bottom, left and right in the "Inset Spacing" option of Area Type.
It's possible in InDesign; it would be more convenient if it could be in Illustrator.
Additionally, Japanese users often use Area Type to create tables. Different Inset Spacing makes it more adjustable.
(Example)
https://twitter.com/hamko1114/status/16615746856148254757 votes -
"Save a Copy" and 'Save As' dialog need the 'Suffix' option, like "Export As" has
Much like the recent fix to the "Export As" dialog box which added a filename 'Suffix' checkbox option when saving an image or images, would it be possible to also get a Suffix checkbox option added to the "Save a Copy" dialog box?
When I need to generate a PDF (or SVGs) using Save a Copy (my go-to method, less cumbersome than Print > PDF) which is several times per day, I don't want "copy" added to the filename and I have to remove it every single time before saving. Thanks."Export As" filename suffix threads referenced:
7 votes -
I DON'T WANT Cloud Files.
I am so sick and tired of having to wade through cloud ****, JUST TO OPEN, SAVE, or otherwise work with files.
I don't need, or want, to save every file on Adobe's servers. It may make lots of sense for some, but not me. Stop making us jump through hoops to deal with local storage.
7 votes -
Make Global Edit work with guides
Guides in Illustrator are treated like objects. It does not suite everyone, and there is a request to make them a completely separate entity, like ones in InDesign, without them being able to get selected with 'normal' object, get grouped, etc.
Still, when a selection of a guide is made, it is expected for it to behave like a selection would do. We can transform them (rotate scale, flip, move), hide/lock individually... and it feels normal for a selected guide to be affected by the Global Edit feature.
However, it does not :(
7 votes
- Don't see your idea?