Don’t delete preferences after downgrade
This issue is critical.
When downgrading using the CC app (from “Other versions”), the entire preference folder is wiped out, for instance from 27.9 to 27.8.1.
It means that downgrading delete without warning years of work on custom shortcuts, transparency presets, default options, workspaces, etc.
I lost everything just because I wanted to avoid some bugs I had in 27.9.
At the very least, there should be a warning. Ideally, there should be no deletion of preferences.
Even if the use makes a copy of their preferences folder (for instance by copying “enGB” to “enGB (backup)”, the backup copy is deleted during the downgrade.
This is extremely damaging, as many professionals rely on heavy customization of their work tools. If a new version is unstable or buggy, they will downgrade to be able to work. If they loose all there preferences during the process, they would not be able to work at all (hello!).
Example of preference folder: ~/library/Preferences/Adobe/Adobe Illustrator/Adobe Illustrator 27 Settings
Illustrator also often deletes preferences when just upgrading:
Same problem affects Beta versions: