Illustrator (Desktop) Feature Requests
When entering a new feature request, please provide:
- Description
- Why is this valuable to you?
4817 results found
-
Circles in Illustrator are not accurate
The circles in Illustrator are flawed and here's why.
I discovered a major bug in Illustrator CC. The circles in Illustrator are not accurate. This is the case regardless of whether you use the ellipse tool or the arc tool. Make a circle. Check the dimensions to make sure it's accurate. Draw a radius line at 0º. Copy it 3 times and rotate the copies 90º,180º and 270º. When all of the copied lines are put on the center of the circle, they all touch the inner edge of the circle perfectly. However, Copy the 0º line and rotate it…16 votes -
Make ImageTrace Like CS5 LiveTrace
ImageTrace may use less points but it completely gets rid of any ink bleed when tracing inked line art. The ink bleed was achievable with CS5 Live Trace but once ImageTrace was introduced it's not possible to achieve with any setting.
Please make ImageTrace great again, it was great as CS5 LiveTrace. Unbeatable. At least make CS5 available through Adobe CC subscription if nothing else.
I know I'm not the only one, please upvote if you feel the same way and miss the accuracy of CS5 LiveTrace.
16 votes -
Release to Layers should inherit custom names from original objects
When I Release to Layers, all of the objects within that layer are renamed to "Layer 1, Layer 2, Layer 3" etc. and I'd love to be able to have the new layers be named the same as when they were objects.
49 votes -
Acceso directo a objetos/texto con rapida configuracion (ejercitos age of empires)
hola! les escribo para dar una breve sugerencia la cual quizás ya fue propuesta por otra persona impaciente igual que yo... Si alguna vez jugaron al age of empires y fueron atacados podrán haberse dado cuenta que si configuraron sus ejércitos con anterioridad podrán defenderse mejor o incluso realizar un ataque mas efectivo. Esto se podría hacer seleccionando primero el objeto/texto y después apretando (control) mas un numero. De esta manera se podría hacer cambios de las distintas profundidades de diseño mas rápido, sin tener que mover todo para los costados si se quisiese cambiar algo el z-index 1.
Espero…2 votesIllustrator today offers Save Selection for this.
We can access these the old way, via Select > Save Selection (and also Edit / Update Selection commands), or via a more modern way, with a small button at the bottom of the Layers panel.
Alas, there is no way to assign a keyboard shortcuts to quickly select them back, similar to what games offer, we are now forced to click this menus... On Windows we can press something like Alt+S, Up arrow, to quickly focus the bottom of the Select menu, followed by choosing a saved selection we need, followed by Enter — but it needs high APM :)
So I will treat this as 'Allow to ahve hotkeys for saving and loading Saved Selections'
-
Layer Panel Rename + tab
This one is (or sounds) easy and would mimick Photoshop’s function :
I need to be able to rename layers in a row without scripting, by simply typing tab to go to the next visible layer’s name.- it would really help with Character Animator's process.
Step by step :
I’m in the Layers panel.
Those are badly named (layer 1, layer 2, layer 7…)
I double click on the top layer (1) name to change it.
I type « item A »
Then i press Tab once.
I’m now in the « layer 2 » name field, and all is…90 votesSadly, the recent accessibility improvements broke the way this feature works.
If it affected your workflow, please upvote this bug request:
Tab now shifts to toggle buttons in Layers Panel instead of renaming the next layer
-
Effects do not rotate (drop shadow) or scale (e.g: gaussian blur)
If you create a logo and use the drop shadow effect, the values will scale but not rotate.IN packaging design we often rotate the logo for every panel on a carton. After you rotate the logo you must manually change the values to for example get the most popular bottom right drop shadow on all logos.
Gaussian blur can be sued to make a your own drop shadow effect, but that has another problem in that the blur amount will not adjust.
If you search your home or local supermarket, you will eventual find items that went incorrectly to press,…
46 votesThank you for reporting the issue. We have added the issue to our backlog.
With Best Regards,
Raghuveer Singh -
ADOBE!! I have a request. Would you consider creating a T-shirt making app for Illustrator? It would be great to be able to design your layo
ADOBE!! I have a request. Would you consider creating a T-shirt making app for Illustrator? It would be great to be able to design your layout, take a look at your sample, then send to a printer to print! It's a thought 😀
1 vote -
Move close button away from save in File menu
Moving the Close button away from the Save button, maybe to just below Revert
Sounds like a sad fix but having the Save button right below the Close has caused me to lose original works due to accidentally pressing Save instead of close when i don't to save the changes made.
This has happened when my mouse has had a sudden glitch and not moved the .5mm needed to press the correct button. worse when you can't undo due to hitting the maximum number of undos
Not a major issue but anyone that has done this would know the pain…
3 votes -
Ability to use separate graphic styles on strokes versus fills
the title basically says it all.
i would like to apply a graphic style to an object's stroke, and apply a separate graphic style, or more likely no style to that object's fill. this way i can alter the stroke of many objects at once, without altering their fill color.
typically i have illustrations with 100s of groups each consisting of 100s of faces with the same stroke style, but different fill colors. in the course of design, i need to tweak the stroke color and weight to get the right look, but it's extremely tedious to have to click…
1 vote -
Typesetting formulas, mathematical equations and symbols in LaTeX-style
When typesetting mathematical formulas, LaTeX is the way to go and is the standard in many scientific areas. But a problem arises when mathematical symbols should be used in figures. If these figures are e.g. created in Illustrator, it is always a bit inconvenient to include the symbols in the figure. It is e.g. necessary to render the symbols separately and include them as EPS files in Illustrator or the symbols are added later to the figure by another program.
It would be really cool to have a build-in feature in Illustrator which would allow direct typesetting in the common…
74 votes -
Add motion blur effect
We have radial, gaussian, but no motion blur. Please, add one.
57 votes -
Suppress "Do you want Illustrator to save changes the in xyz.ai before closing" dialogue
Suppress the "Do you want Illustrator to save changes the in xyz.ai before closing" dialogue (or indeed all such questions). If I want to save it first I'll save it first. Please, answering this 'helpful'(stupid) dialogue box question a million times a year is killing me! I'll take my chances that I lose some work one day.
2 votes -
Consistent and/or customizable number of decimals places for values
v 22.0.1
Most of the Features in Illustrator have inconsistent number of decimal places.
New document size — 3 decimal places, 0.001
Artboard size — 2 decimal places, 0.01
Artboard position x,y (in the same window) — 1 decimal place, 0.1
creating new rectangle — 4 decimal places, 0.0001
Object transformation — 3 decimal places, 0.001
Rectangle angle — 2 decimal places, 0.01
Rounding corners — 3 decimal places, 0.001
Split into grid — 2 decimal places, 0.01Offset path — 4 decimal places, 0.0001
3d revolve angle — 0 decimal places
3d Extrude & Bevel angles — 2 decimal…-
Screenshot 2018-11-26 at 18.52.25.png 16 KB -
Screenshot 2018-11-26 at 18.43.05.png 241 KB -
Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_12.29.50.png 93 KB -
Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_12.35.48.png 213 KB -
Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_12.42.24.png 79 KB -
Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_12.28.37.png 86 KB -
Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_12.25.42.png 141 KB -
Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_12.18.23.png 156 KB -
Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_12.12.55.png 43 KB -
Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_12.10.36.png 201 KB -
Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_12.07.16.png 240 KB -
Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_12.05.25.png 91 KB
45 votes -
-
Data merge like Indesign
It would be nice if you could have the data merge function like in Indesign so you can import .csv-files.
61 votes -
Replace or Delete Swatches should automatically re-color objects with new swatch
I propose swatches have the function of applying new color to objects on the art board whenever a color needs to be replaced with a different color. Instead of simply deleting the current swatch, we should be prompted to "replace current color with new color?" then select the new color after adding it to the palette, then BAM! all the objects are automatically updated with the new color. (Example: art editor says that we will print only using 2 colors: black text with red headlines. I already have the art set using black and green. I could add the red…
37 votes -
When working on multiple artboards it would be very helpful if the artboard I'm working on was highlighted in the artboard panel.
When working on multiple artboards it would be very helpful if the artboard I'm working on was highlighted in the artboard panel. I find myself clicking through multiple boards on the panel because I can't remember which board I was on. It's not uncommon for me to have 50 boards.
3 votes -
Show how many artboards are selected
Since we can have multiple artboards selected and this selection isn't very noticeable (which should be fixed too), why not to show how many artboards are selected?
Just say how many in empty 'Name:' field, since it shows nothing when more is one artboard is selected, in brackets or different color.28 votesBeta 30.9.0.52 now offers a method to see how many artboards are selected currently — choose 'Artboard Selection' from Show dropdown in the status bar.
-
Adjust the length of the extremitys to avoid outline vectorization
Avoid contour crossing without vectorizing the paths and losing my paths (if I ever want to reshape my shape)
1 vote -
Curvature tool continuation tolerance
I work quite zoomed in, and when drawing close to an existing path with the curvature tool, it often picks up the end of the existing path and continues drawing from it. I'd love to be able to select the tolerance for this behaviour, so I can be more precise.
Currently I have to draw my intended path somewhere else, and move it to its intended location, or switch to the pen tool, which it more accurate.
10 votes -
Artboard-specific Layers
When working with multiple artboards, it would be very helpful to have artboard-specific layers displayed on the Layers panel as opposed to one long blob of all layers from all artboards.
89 votes
- Don't see your idea?