Illustrator (Desktop) Feature Requests
When entering a new feature request, please provide:
- Description
- Why is this valuable to you?
4818 results found
-
Add Clipping Mask Feature Similar to Corel Draw's Powerclip
Please make clipping mask like Corel Draw's Powerclip.
2 votes -
More precision options for Dimension Tool
Please add: 0"-0 1/8" & 0"-0 1/16" to Unit precision. I really need 3/8", 5/8", 7/8"...
10 votes -
Distribute Spacing options not available in keyboard shortcut list
When the Distribute Spacing options were added to the Align panel, they were not added to the Keyboard Shortcuts panel. They remain unavailable in v28.0.x. This is an oversight, obviously, that should not be hard to remedy but will make life much easier for those of us who rely on kbscs and/or auxiliary devices like Stream Deck, Logitech G-keys, or Xencelabs' Quick Keys, etc.
18 votesThe day has come. The latest 30.5.0.102 Beta adds Align To and Distribute Spacing commands into the Object menu.
These also work in actions, can get hotkeys assigned.
A shy message gets displayed when Align To mode is toggled to be sure it’s switched, and the Distribute Spacing dialog allows the set the gap value with the Preview option.
This is a lot, and it now completes the original request.
Please try, test, comment back, have joy!
-
Smart objects (opened from Photoshop) should have the same name as their Photoshop layer
I'm working on a complicated digital twinning pipeline which involves a lot of nested smart objects within Photoshop files.
Oftentimes these smart objects are merely white text and it's difficult to distinguish between them when several are open at the same time.
The problem is compounded because illustrator simply refers to each object that I open as "Vector smart object". Having several open at the same time quickly becomes difficult to manage. I believe, too, that Photoshop is sometimes unable to launch a particular smart object in illustrator because of a clashing "Vector smart object" 'file name' instance.
It would…
3 votes -
Pencil and Brush Tools 'Pulled String' Smoothing / Stabilization
I've been using Illustrator for a long time now and one of the things that have bugged me over the years is the fact that there's no brush stroke stabilization like the Pulled String Mode in Photoshop or the Rope Brush in Affinity Designer. Ai has evolved so much over the years and it's been used to create freehand vector art since day one, so I cannot understand why this function hasn't been developed yet as of 2024.
Path Smooth or Fidelity are definitely two options to smooth out lines, but that's done once the path has been created. Stabilization,…
8 votes -
Add a button to Character panel to enable Snap to Glyph right there
Character panel has Snap to Glyph section, with buttons to toggle different sub-options. But all of these are disabled unless we toggle the main View > Snap to Glyph option.
But...
1. The panel doesn’t tell you this
2. The 'Snap to specific glyph' button is not a button but an hover hint area (a rather small one, and it blinks hysterically, at least on Windows)
3. The panel just doesn’t have the button to enable the main optionWHY? What was the reason to allow to toggle sub-options but permit to enable toggling them?
1 vote -
Fit artwork to match the size of artboards
Fit a shape to CANVAS SIZE
Fit a shape to artboard from ARTBOARD / FIT TO CANVAS SIZE2 votes -
Integrate with AEM to enable linking assets without having to work with them locally
By using Adobe Experience Manager as a DAM and having to work locally with links in Illustrator the user experience is awful. We need to download the folder from the DAM and then work on the file and links knowing that the next person to work on that will need to to the same, it's very time consuming for our team
1 vote -
Smart Guide object edges (on mouse hover) should be easier to distinguish from actual selected object edge
With smart guides on, a selected object's edge outlines look the same as a rolled-over / mouse-over / hover-over object.
With complex art, it's often difficult to distinguish if you have an item selected or not. Bounding box handles help, but It would be better if there was some additional attribute related to the actual outline. Perhaps a lower tint of the same guide color?
3 votes -
Select small fragments to delete
Select small fragments to delete by having a sliding scale or by size. Show colour to indicate the affected area.
2 votes -
A feature that allows users to customize keyboard shortcuts
A feature that allows users to customize keyboard shortcuts for specific tools and commands, giving more flexibility for personalized workflow.
Customizable keyboard shortcuts would enhance productivity by allowing users to streamline their workflow and reduce time spent navigating menus. This would be especially beneficial for users who rely on specific tools frequently.
Adding a simple interface to assign or modify keyboard shortcuts, and offering a "Save as Default" option, would provide users with more control over their experience, making the tool even more efficient for professional and personal use.
1 voteIllustrator already allows users to customize hotkeys with Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts dialog. There are many restrictions users have with it, but perhaps you meant something specific. Please elaborate.
-
Need to add Fillable Interactive Forms in Illustrator
Need to add Fillable Interactive Forms in Illustrator
1 vote -
Add an option for Offset Path command and effect to respect the direction and starting point of the original path
Offset Path makes width and length of a rectangle to swap
When applying Offset Path after making a rectangle, the size of width and length of the rectangle are changed into each other and the rectangle gets rotated 270 degrees even though real shape is not changed.
It seems bug need to be fixed.I attatched gif video and related link.
4 votes -
Warn about text elements in a document
Greetings, team. I have a suggestion to enhance your fantastic design software. I frequently work with tiny text elements in my vector art designs for textile sublimation. The challenge lies in the sheer volume of items I create daily, each with various sizes and variations. Sometimes, I inadvertently include text within the art, only to notice it after printing. To address this, I propose the creation of a 'guide text' feature. This text could be visible during the design process but excluded from the final print. Alternatively, a warning could be implemented to alert users when text is present within…
1 vote -
Round Corners effect works wrong with curved paths
The native Round Corners effect (not the corner widget!) can work well only with all-straight segments.
It doesn’t round anything for points connecting straight and curved segments, straightens up curved segments, and hardly fit rounded corners within original paths.This is embarrassing. Fix it!
12 votes -
Allow merging global and non-global colors
Please make it possible to merge non-global swatches with global and vice versa. It would greatly help tidy up submissions for printing.
2 votes -
フォントのアウトラインのショートカットを直してください
フォントのアウトラインのショートカットが効かなくなりました。
Shift+ctrl+o を入力すると、右上に「FPS フレーム時間 GPUの使用率」というウィンドウが出るようになりました。ウィンドウズ10proです
早急にご対応お願いいたします
1 vote -
Change how lock and hide work
Сan you adjust how hiding layers vs locking layers works?
Lock should prevent edits of any kind.
Hide should allow edits if the master group or layer are adjusted.
Example: Character Animator makes us hide Illustrator layers for various poses, mouths, etc. All the mouths are in a head group. If I move a head group with hidden layers, those layers don't move with the group. They should move. They should just not be seen while doing it because they are not locked.
If hide works this way, can you explain the difference between lock and hide?
I find this…
1 vote -
「テキストからベクター生成」にレイヤーオブションを加えてください
背景と上に乗るキャラクター等をレイヤー分けできるような仕組みを追加してください。
たとえば、「下のレイヤー:波の穏やかな白い砂浜のビーチ、上のレイヤー:じゃれ合う2匹の子犬」
というようにプロンプトに記述したレイヤー構成に従って生成されるようになると格段に使い勝手が良くなると思います。
5 votes -
Bleed 5 mm
Buenas tardes, mi sugerencia es que por default al guardar un pdf el illustrator y el indesign, venga con 5 mm de sangrado en lugar de 0 (cero). Trabajo en preimpresión y el error mas común de los clientes es que envian los pdfs sin sangrado lo cual implica tener que volver a editar el archivo cuando se podria evitar si por default el bleed vendria activado en 5 mm
2 votes
- Don't see your idea?