What can we fix in Illustrator? Vote for or report a bug.

after updating to Mac OS 10.13 I get this file has been modified outside illustrator. do you want to continue?

78 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Anonymous shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

We have the fix available in the latest release. Please update Illustrator using Adobe Creative Cloud application to the latest build for version Illustrator CC 22.1.
Please refer to our knowledge base FAQhttps://illustrator.uservoice.com/knowledgebase/articles/1844590 if you face difficulty in update.
Or get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html

Warm Regards,
Ashutosh Chaturvedi | Sr. Quality Engineering Manager – Illustrator
Adobe. Make It an Experience.

171 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Christina commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    So I got this "problem" when I want to save my illustrator file. Sometimes when I click save, it tells me that this file was edited outside of illustrator and asks if I want to continue. I can click Yes and everything is fine, but getting that message is kind of annoying and doesn't make any sence, since that file is only on my desktop and nobody else can even take a look at it or edit it from somewhere. Sometimes I just change a color and that message appears when I want to save that file, sometimes there is no message...
    I have Illustrator CC by the way (a german version if that matters).

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Not just DropBox but it definitely seems to be related to saving to a "non-local" folder. I see it when I am saving to either a DropBox folder and also a GoogleDrive folder.

  • Rich commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Holy cow, I just upgraded to High Sierra and immediately discovered the same problem as everyone else with Illustrator (CC 21.1.0) and Dropbox(v39.4.49). I save to a folder on my hard drive, which is synced to Dropbox. After that file has been synced to Dropbox, something mysterious happens and Illustrator thinks the file has been altered (name change, or something?) outside of the application. So, when trying to save that file again from within the application, the message pops up. Only happens with Illustrator, and started happening immediately after upgrading to High Sierra (10.13.1) Been working in this same manner for a couple years with no issues until now.

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I don't use dropbox but sometimes i get same message since i have updated High Sierra (not while working on ALL of my illustrator files - i don't know what causes this problem).

    Running Illustrator CC 2017.

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Hi, I don't use dropbox but I do use iCloud and also I use an external server (lord knows where it is) as I work at home. The problem occurs when I use the the drawing tools and then try to save to my desktop which is connected to iCloud. It doesn't happen when I update a drawing using the data plotting devices. I am running OS 10.13.1 on an 2015 iMac and also a 2016 MacBook Pro also running OS 10.13.1. Running Adobe Illustrator 2018 version. Thanks

  • Joerg commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Same problem, happens with high sierra and illustrator 2018. Happens only with Illustrator.

  • Andy commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Same issue here - after updating to illustrator 2018 and Mac OS 10.13.1 when saving .ai file I get the message 'this file has been modified outside of illustrator...' very annoying. No other CS apps are open. Please make it stop.

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    i am saving onto my mac hard disk. it's an ai file that i have reopened and made changes to. Using CC 2017, Illustrator 22.0.1. Getting the exact same message. This didn't happen before updating to High Sierra 10.13.1 on mac. Make it stop please.

  • Benjamin commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Same problem here when saving as .ai

    Problem seems to occur when saving a document for the second time and onwards.

  • Mac commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I can also confirm this issue. Experiencing the exact same issues as others have mentioned on this thread with AI CC after upgrading the mac to macOS 10.13.1.

  • SamHunter commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I'm on CS6 standalone, Ai 16.04, and started getting this (not every save) after I upgraded to the latest MAC OS 10.13.1, and updated Java to go with it (had to or AI would not open). I don't think it's related to AI, I think it belongs to the OS

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Saving an AI file on desktop, not networked, no other program running and not sharing the file but get the 'this file has been modified outside illustrator' message.

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Yep same problem here as well. Saving an ai to a folder in documents. Started happening after updating to Illustrator CC 2018 22.0.1 and macOS High Sierra 10.13.1.

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Yep I'm getting the same since upgrading to High Sierra and CC 2018. All my live work is also on Dropbox.

  • Ian commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I get the same thing, when saving an .ai file to Dropbox. doesn't always happen, but all the files are created new in CC2108 and only used by myself and also only on one desktop--so it has not been accessed by me or anyone else from another computer. I am running Apple OS 10.13.1 and Adobe CC2018

    Only started after the CC2018 and 10.13 update, so something between those I would think

Feedback and Knowledge Base