Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs
When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:
- Details of your operating system
- The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop)
- The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
- Your expected result and the actual result
- Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)
80 results found
-
ver26.4.1で、AppleScriptでcharacterのpropertiesが取得できなくなった
ver26.3.1までは取得できました
2 votes -
Illustrator 2021 and 2022 crash when trying to run an action from a script
Attempting to run any action from applescript or javascript is always resulting in Illustrator 2021 or 2022 immediately crashing for me.
I've tried on multiple computers, and running it on a fresh install of AI 2022 with no settings changed.
Tested on MacOS Mojave, Big Sur, and Monterrey
It doesn't matter which Action or Action Set is used, I've tried the included "Default Actions" and others.
The identical scripts work fine from AI CC2020 back to at least AI CS6.
For example, I can copy and paste this straight from Adobe's ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CC SCRIPTING REFERENCE: APPLESCRIPT:
tell application "Adobe…
2 votes -
pathfinder - unexpected behaviour inside script
when I select two compound paths and subtract, I get a fully selected group.
If I create an action consisting of just the pathfinder operation and run it from the actions panel, the result is identical.
If I call this action from extendscript, the group sometimes is only partially selected. - and the following steps produce unexpected results :(
It turns out that adding an extra object.selected = true can help.
I observed this in 2022 edition, I have the impression that this did not happen in 2020 edition2 votes -
Recolor artwork using scripting
Please add the recolor artwork functionality to the scripting DOM. We need this.
2 votes -
Scripting Issue on MacOS Monterey
We had this script for Illustrator that will export PDF and images with predefined presets. This was working until some of our team upgraded their macOS to Monterey.
When they tried to run the script it will create a PDF and images with different file names, we are expecting that it will have the same file name from the AI file.
EXPECTED RESULT:
AI File: 02020-MVP-3.ai
Exported Files:
- 0202-MVP-3-THUMBNAIL.png
- 0202-MVP-3-FULL.png
- 0202-MVP-3.pdfACTUAL RESULT:
AI File: 02020-MVP-3.ai
Exported Files:
- ai1655486566390202-MVP-3-THUMBNAIL.png
- ai1655486566390202-MVP-3-FULL.png
- ai165548656639_0202-MVP-3.pdfOperating System: MacOS Monterey 12.4
Adobe Illustrator: Adobe Illustrator 2022Object…
2 votes -
broken: reading File date properties
Unable to read date properties from a File on Mac (does work on Windows)
alert(app.activeDocument.path.modified)
alert(app.activeDocument.path.created)// always returns null as if file is not saved
I tested on:
Mac mini M1, macOS Montery 12.3.1, Ai 26.2.1 and Ai beta 26.4.2
Macbook Pro Intel, macOS Catalina 10.15.7 Ai 26.2.12 votes -
Unable to control third party applications with AppleScript
This is essentially the same issue as https://community.adobe.com/t5/indesign-discussions/indesign-16-3-2-not-authorised-to-send-apple-events-to-other-apps/td-p/12312871 except for Illustrator.
Illustrator is missing the NSAppleEventsUsageDescription key from its info.plist file. This prevents the system from asking permission from the user to send apple events from Illustrator.
Mac OS 11.5.2
Illustrator 25.4..1To recreate:
in terminal
tccutil reset AppleEvents com.adobe.illustratorsave the following AppleScript and place in the scripts menu for illustrator.
tell application "Finder"
display dialog "test"
end tellExpected result:
dialog in finderActual result:
AppleScript error: Not authorized to send Apple events to Finder. (-1743)2 votesI am happy to share that we have fixed this bug in our latest release – 26.3.1 which is available worldwide now.
Going forward, our goal is to fix as many top User-Voice bugs as possible and as frequently as possible. Given the nature of the fixes, some of the bugs will take a longer time to fix, but we are on it.
You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html
Thank you for all the feedback. Keep it coming!
-
Illustrator 2021 breaks Export command with AppleScript
Export command for AppleScript has suddenly stopped working as of Illustrator 2021. This error breaks almost all my professional workflows.
macOS 11.1, Illustrator 25.1
When I run AppleScript workflows that worked fine in Illustrator 2020, 2019, 2018, etc. they now fail at the 'export' command with 'Adobe Illustrator got an error: document doesn't understand the "export" message.'
Screenshot of simplest possible script failing attached.
2 votes -
Applescript "open without dialogs" no longer works
I have an Applescript that has the statement
open (thePDFName as alias) without dialogs
In Adobe Illustrator 2019, it works. In Adobe Illustrator 2020, it gives me an "unable to open file" error. When I comment out "without dialogs", it opens the file, but then naturally pops open a dialog (not helpful when you are opening dozens of files!)
MacOS 10.13.6, not sure what other information would be needed.
2 votesThis issue is reproducible with HFS paths.
Workaround: Use the POSIX path for opening files
Example:
set myFilePath to POSIX path of theAIFile
open file myFilePath without dialogs -
Possible bug: Crash after script runs... runs OK in ESTK.
I believe this might be a bug since it crashed Illustrator rather than the script crashing gracefuly.
I have a script which, when completed, crashes Illustrator. The script runs fine when ran from within the ESTK but crashes when ran from the AI File->Scripts menu. Attached is the crash log. I cannot post the script itself here but am willing to send it to an Adobe employee privately if needed.
2 votesThanks for sharing the script, we are able to repro the issue at our side & have forwarded it to the engineering team for further isolation.
With Best Regards,
Raghuveer -
Applescript convert to paths deletes image used as transparency mask
Since Illustrator 21.1.0 (okay before) there is an problem with Applescript command "convert to paths (every text frame of current document)"
If the text has an image as a transparency mask the script will delete the image. This does not happen if I do this manually within Illustrator. The problem still exists with the latest version of Illustrator.
2 votes -
Adobe Illustrator CC 2017 SDK Download Page Broken (404)
Here is where the download Link should be but the page returns a 404.
http://www.adobe.com/devnet/illustrator/sdk/eula_cc_2017.html
2 votesyou seemed to have reached here through some bookmarked link. Our coordinates have changed since last few months.
Please use this link https://console.adobe.io/downloads/ai to get the SDK.If you an actively into developing plugins for Illustrator please join us on our pre-release program so that you can get jumpstarts before we even release versions to our customers.
Link to join the pre-release program: http://adobe.ly/1Q3rCPI -
Unicode - or wrong code - in file names
File names with strange characters produce strange and inconsistent info in the DocumentAfterSave and DocumentAfterActivate events. I keep adding regexes to my "fix name" routine....
These messages belong to the same file:
<documentAfterActivate><url>file:///X:/Symbole/Ornamente,%20grafische%20Designelemente,%20Blumendekor,%20einfache%20Grundformen/Designelemente%20basierend%20auf%20geometrischer%20und%20konstruierter%20Grafik%20%B9%20Basis-edit.ai</url><name>Designelemente basierend auf geometrischer und konstruierter Grafik ¹ Basis-edit.ai</name></documentAfterActivate>
<documentAfterSave><url>file:///X:/Symbole/Ornamente,%20grafische%20Designelemente,%20Blumendekor,%20einfache%20Grundformen/Designelemente%20basierend%20auf%20geometrischer%20und%20konstruierter%20Grafik%20%C2ą%20Basis-edit.ai</url></documentAfterSave>
So, this ¹ is represented as %B9 in one place and %C2ą (note: a letter with a waggy tail) in the otherOS: Win 11, Illustrator all versions (at least back to 2019)
1 vote -
Issue with Reading Variable Data from DataSet in Illustrator 29.5
Dear Adobe Support Team,
I am reaching out to report an issue with Adobe Illustrator (version 29.5) regarding the inability to read variable data from a DataSet object in a script, even though the dataset is correctly loaded and updates the document content as expected.
Problem Description
I have a script that processes a CSV file to generate PDF files using variable data in Illustrator. The CSV file contains columns "Cislo" (number) and "JMENO" (name), and it is correctly loaded into Illustrator as a dataset (via Window > Utilities > Variables > Load Variable Library). The dataset updates the document…1 vote -
Adobe Illustrator 28.7.3 does not load AIBeautifulStrokes
Adobe Illustrator 28.7.3, at least the macOS version, does not load AIBeautifulStrokes suite in my plugin (error 29550). All other versions, including up to 28.7.2, work fine. I am using SDK build 142, the version of the 2024 SDK now available for download.
AIErr err = sSPBasic->AcquireSuite (kAIBeautifulStrokesSuite, kAIBeautifulStrokesVersion, (const void**) &sAIBeautifulStrokes);1 voteNo longer happens with 29.1
-
Illustrator JavaScript Scripting Reference.pdf Pages 46 (Documents Section)
"ArtBoard" or "artBoard" ???? There must be consistency in capitalization
[, numArtBoards]
[, artboardLayout]
[, artboardSpacing]
[, artboardRowsOrCols])1 vote -
getSystemPath using CSInterface throws URI Malformed error
I was trying to get the my documents folder path of the system using CSInterface getSystemPath function. It works in most of the cases. But it throws URI malformed error (refer the screenshot below), if the path of the documents folder contain characters from languages other than English.
I debugged the CSInterface.js file at line 521. And I found that the below piece of code returns the path of the folder without encoding the characters from languages other than English.
window.adobe_cep.getSystemPath(pathType)
IN MY CASE:
Path of documents folder: "C:\Users\sanjay\OneDrive - Élégante\Documents".
window.adobe_cep.getSystemPath(pathType)
// Returned value -…1 vote -
Applescript Artboard Name no longer works
Getting/Setting name of artboard no longer works. It used to work fine. It is an issue with class of properties. All options Fail.
1. name of (get properties of artboard 1) -- error
2. get item 7 of properties of artboard 1 -- error
3. name of artboard 1 -- always failedIf you insert «class bAl9» in place of Name and compile, it does not fail however will fail next time since the dictionary replaces it with Name
1 vote -
VBScript Internal Script Execution Error in version 25.1
Running VBScripts from File > Other Scripts is not currently functional in the latest update- however the very same scripts work fine if the scripts are opened manually (and worked as expected from 'Other Scripts' in the previous version).
Please fix!
1 voteI am happy to share that we have fixed this bug in our latest release – 25.2 which is available worldwide now.
Going forward, our goal is to fix as many top User-Voice bugs as possible and as frequently as possible. Given the nature of the fixes, some of the bugs will take a longer time to fix, but we are on it.
You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html
Thank you for all the feedback. Keep it coming!
-
update link to illustrator 2017 sdk on https://www.adobe.com/devnet/illustrator/sdk.html
The move from https://www.adobe.com/devnet/illustrator/sdk.html
to https://console.adobe.io/downloads/ai left behind a broken link to the 2017 sdk.
Easiest thing to do would be to update the 2017 sdk link on the old devnet page.1 voteWe are moving away from devnet to the Adobe io site. Moving forward that will the place to get all of Adobe SDK.
We also have an early access program for our plugin partners. You may join our prerelease site you will get SDK builds way before we release it on public facing pages.
Here is the link to join Illustrator prerelease http://adobe.ly/1Q3rCPI
- Don't see your idea?