Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs
When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:
- Details of your operating system
- The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop)
- The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
- Your expected result and the actual result
- Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)
414 results found
-
Unite on Pathfinder leaves mess of little vectors
This is something that happens to me frequently when creating underbases for screen printing. I'll make a copy of my top colors and unite them to create my base, and there's a mess of little vectors left behind that have to be cleaned up before I can trap the base. There's no gaps in the art so these vectors should not be there and this is a big lag on my production time.
6 votesAs per the comment, you can adjust the Pathfinder precision in Pathfinder Options dialog, accessible from the Pathfinder’s panel flyout menu. The higher the value, the less accurate the result is going to be. Lesser values gives more precision, but it can lead to many 'residuals'. The default value is 0.028 pt, but you might try something like 0.01 pt and see if it works better.
-
Smart guides not working on Text Area boxes
Mac OS 10.11.6 El Capitan (and also Windows 10)
Illustrator CC 2018Hi!
I have a problem with the latest version of Illustrator (I just upgraded from CS6):
Smart Guides do not appear on Text Area boxes (corners or sides), for example when I want to draw a line with the pen from one corner of a box to a corner of another box).
They do appear normally on other objects.Snap to Grid and Snap to Pixel are off. Snap to Point is on, but the problem is the same when off.
Is anyone experiencing the same? Is there…
6 votesDoesn’t happen anymore with recent builds of Illustrator
-
Error using picas
This error has existed in Illustrator since at least version 10, in 2001.
Switch units to Picas in Preferences > Units… or by right-clicking in the ruler and selecting Picas.
Select any object.
Go to Object > Transform > Move…
Enter a negative value higher than -1p0. e.g. -0p9.
Watch as the value is converted to a positive and the object moves to the right, or don, not to the left or up.
In earlier versions of Illustrator this bug exited across the application in any dialogue that excepted a distance, including Offset Path, Effect > Convert to Shape (using…
6 votesThis issue seems to happen no longer in the newer Illustrator versions. If you still can reproduce it — please comment back.
-
No longer possible to assign keyboard shortcuts to the CHANGE CASE commands
Why is it no longer possible to assign keyboard shortcuts to the CHANGE CASE functions in the latest version of Illustrator? I am attaching an image of the text menu under 'Change Case' showing remnants of the old assigned shortcuts (I have been using the same shortcuts for many versions of Illustrator now, as well as in InDesign, where they are still active even in the latest version). /
Perché nell'ultima versione di Illustrator non è più possibile assegnare comandi da tastiera alle funzioni di CAMBIO MAIUSCOLE?
Allego immagine del menu testo alla voce cambio maiuscole con residui dei vecchi…5 votesSomehow it got fixed in 30.7 release. Please comment if it’s still a problem
-
Blue share circle is misplaced under the icon
This blue circle is very distracting and It just looks super weird. I don't know if you guys purposely did this or if it's a UI glitch with the latest update, but if you guys can get this fixed asap it would be helpful. It's SUPER distracting while trying to focus in on work.
5 votesClaimed to be fixed in the latest 30.3 general release. Please update, check, and comment back if it still happens.
-
"Could not complete Package" after Tahoe upgrade
After upgrading to macOS Tahoe 26.0, Illustrator (latest version) is unable to Package a file that has links located on a network drive.
5 votesThe fix has been pushed into the latest 30.3 general release. Please update, check, and comment back if it still happens.
-
Dialog windows move / float to the left
Bug Report: Floating windows drift offscreen (see attached video).
Adobe Illustrator 26.4I tried reverting to older versions of Adobe Illustrator, but the issue exists for them as well; To me, that suggests the problem is related to the beta macOS. I am raising this bug now because the issue could present itself as users upgrade to macOS Ventura this fall.
System Info:
I am running MacOS, Ventura, Version 13.0 Beta (22A5311f) on iMac M1 (2021) with 8MB RAM.5 votesThis issues is fixed in macOS 13 Beta 5
-
GPU acceleration issue
Adobe Illustrator have problem with GPU acceleration.
Some of part of screen disapeared when move object.
BUG tested on graphics card:
GTX 1660
RTX 3060 TI
RTX 3080 TI
Laptop Dell Latitude 5420 with Intel Iris Xe Graphics.Problem occurs on 2 situations:
When trim view is enabled,
When project have many object.
Watch the attached movie.I think this is global problem which which affects all users.
Tested on different AI versions.
I think this bug occurs many, many time earlier.5 votesAs per the confirmation by the original poster in the latest comment, the problem is gone.
-
Round corner not showing, object select not showing multi-select
round corner only shows with regular select tool but not direct select tool
when using direct select tool, would not outline selected object
round corner mod would only show up for default shapes, if anything is divided or combined the round corner stops showing.Why do we need to vote for bugs to be fixed?
shouldn't all bugs be fixed?? i mean it's not a new feature we are requesting.5 votesThis happens when edges get hidden.
Enable them back with View > Show Edge (or Cmd/Ctrl + H).
Also, you can edit your corner values precisely with Corners field in Control and Properties panel. The Shape section in Transform panel allows you to do the same for live shapes.
-
Learn tab prompt covers necessary tabs
I hate the learn tab with the fire of 1000 suns and I long for the sweet release of death to keep me from seeing this prompt I have no ability to disable.
Every time I start Illustrator I get this prompt to use the Learn tab. I don't want to use the Learn tab, I have work to do and this prompt covers important parts of the interface that I need to do my job.
There's no affordance to turn it off, the links just open a tab I do not want. It take 3 click to dismiss it…
5 votesThis got solved by eliminating the Bulb button altogether. Instead we now have the Discover panel now, which can be called with Help > Illustrator Help / Tutorials / What’s New(they all lead to different sections of the same panel).
-
Rectangle tool draws slightly rotated rectangle
Update 24.2 - When drawing a rectangle (by selecting the rectangle tool, clicking on the artboard, and entering desired dimensions), the resulting rectangle is slightly rotated, skewed or tilted. It's not noticeable until it's viewed in outline mode.
To confirm this, I create a 1" x 1" square with the rectangle tool. Then drag the ruler origin to the top left anchor point. The transform palette confirms this anchor point is at x=0, y=0 (as expected). Then I select the top right anchor point and see that its coordinates are x=1, y=-.0022. The y-value should be 0.5 votesAs per the comment, the solution might be to check the Constrain Angle value in Preferences > General (Cmd/Ctrl + K) — it should be 0.
If you still have this issue when it’s set to 0, please comment.
-
Gradient stroke cannot be cut and pasted.
Reproduction:
- Draw a path with a gradient stroke and no fill.
- Select and cut or copy the path.
- Paste. Normally, In Front, Behind, or In Place.
- The expected result is, of course, a new copy of this gradient-stroked path.
- Actual results range from a copy of the path with the stroke expanded, an image that was cut and paste sometime last week, or an error popup that says "This operation cannot complete because of an unknown error [PDF!]"
Seen on OSX 10.14.6 with AI 24.1 and AI 24.1.2.
5 votesAs per the comment from the OP, the LaunchBar clipboard manager seems to not be compatible the Illustrator format. The same happens with other clipboards managers, including the default one for Windows. However, there are reports it used to work with previous versions of Illustrator. If you have more details on this, or the same problem, — please comment.
-
Global colours don't seem to be preserved in freeform gradients
I have complex files that are made up of multiple gradients to create a 3D effect. Some of the gradients are linear and some are freeform. I am currently in the process of creating artwork files for both print and digital. To create the digital files I am converting all the files to RGB. There is a specific brand colour that has a different RGB make up than the standard conversion. I thought, no problem, I'll just update the global colour swatch and it should cascade through. But it doesn't! It does on the linear gradients, but not on the…
5 votes -
Anchor Points Malfunctioning
I regret to report that, after updating to Adobe Illustrator CC 2019 and upgrading my OS Mojave, the anchor points have become rather fickle, especially with the Direct Selection tool. The shape will look the same once drawn with the Pen Tool, and the anchor points will still be there, but they are invisible. They can still be tampered with, but after releasing the mouse they will disappear. The same issue applies to the rectangular grid tool. Anchor points can be edited and seen with the curvature tool; that is about the only way to do so without the anchor…
5 votes -
Tool panels are enlarged or scaled up
Updated to Illustrator 2019 - workspace panels have increased dramatically in size - see screen grab of Illustrator and the same area in photoshop.
Solutions helpful as I cannot have as many panel open as they now take up so much space!
5 votes -
Paste on All Artboards Not Working
I have a design on a single artboard. I want to paste it to other artboards to prepare my color separations for screen printing. When I cut the design and select Paste on All Artboards, it pastes the design the correct amount of times...but NOT on the artboards. It pastes them out in the gray area. I have tried different artboard arrangements, and having different artboards active at the time of paste, but the designs still end up not on the artboards.
5 votes -
High Sierra (macOS 10.13) GPU rendering issues with few CMYK document - Intel Graphics
Rendering issues with few CMYK files as illustrated in the screenshot
5 votesIssue has been resolved by Apple in 10.13.6
-
Polish translation TERRIBLE QUIRKS
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR
POLISH TRANSLATION1)
WHERE
Right click on typographic objectENG
Create OutlinesPL current
ZmieĠna krzywePL proper
Zmień na krzyweREASON
A terrible, ugly typo - present for many editions of Illustrator!!!
Ġ character does not exist in Polish language
IT MAKES ME SICK EVERY TIME I LOOK AT IT!!!2)
WHERE
Illustrator CC -> Preferencje -> Jednostki
Illustrator CC - > Preferences -> UnitsENG
TypePL current
TypPL proper
TekstREASON
Translator didn’t give a **** about the context3)
WHERE
Nazwa palety narzędziowej: Odnajdywanie ścieżek
Tool palette name: Pathfinder
MENU: Okno -> Odnajdywanie…5 votes -
Artboards in 2018 can no longer be rapidly deleted
In past versions of Illustrator, I was able to click on an artboard and continuously delete artboards until I had to ones that I want. Now when I select an artboard and delete it, the selection is deselected. I now have to continuously highlight and delete, highlight and delete until I have removed all the artboards I need.
5 votesWorks as it should in the latest versions, deleting a selected artboard (artboards) now selects the one before it (them). Holding Delete key would rapidly Delete these in succession (at least on Windows).
-
オブジェクトの移動時にShiftキーやOptionキーを押した際にオブジェクトが表示されない
- Mac OS 15.6.1
- 選択ツール(V)でオブフェクトを選択し、ドラッグで移動中、Shiftキー(またはOptionキー)を押した
- 今まではオブフェクトをドラッグで移動させ始めてからShiftキー(またはOptionキー)を押せば、水平垂直および45度方向にオブジェクトが移動する様子がリアルタイムで描画されており、そうした挙動を想定していた
- バージョン30.8にアップデートした後、上記の3.とは異なる挙動となった。具体的にはオブジェクトを選択して移動させる際、オブジェクトを選択してドラッグしている最中にShift(またはOptionキー)を押すと、オブジェクトの表示位置が元の位置に戻ったまま固定されてしまう。オブジェクトを選択し、ドラッグせずにShift(またはOptionキー)を押した後にドラッグを開始すると、従来通りオブジェクトが移動していく様子が描画される。 オブジェクトの移動は最も多く使用する作業なので、大変困っています。できるだけ速く以前と同じ動作になるよう改善を求めます。
4 votesご報告いただきありがとうございます。
弊社側でサーバーの設定を変更いたしました。変更を反映させるため、お手数ですがアプリケーションを一度再起動し、問題が解決したかどうかをお知らせいただけますでしょうか。弊社側でも修正の確認は行っておりますが、お客様側でもご確認いただければ幸いです。
- Don't see your idea?