Illustrator (Desktop) Feature Requests
When entering a new feature request, please provide:
- Description
- Why is this valuable to you?
- or
962 results found
-
Templates created do not store color profile attribution
Steps to reproduce:
- Start a new document
- Use the menu Edit -> Assign Profile...
- Assign a profile to the document, such as Working CMYK
- Save this document as a template (.ait)
- Open the template file just created
- This new document will not have a color profile assigned
6 votes -
Select similar colors (with a tolerance slider) so you can round up and streamline elements in a messy document
This is basically a tolerance slider added to Select>Same>Fill Color. It would just allow you to cast a wider net to quickly select colors and convert them to a single global color. It's very hard to track down a color that's 1% off from the others in a complex file otherwise. It could also help process multi-color graphics into a limited color palette more efficiently
6 votes -
Feedback on Enhanced Cloud Document Feature (in Beta now)
Now, embed Photoshop cloud documents into your cloud documents and files. You will be able to select your Photoshop cloud documents in a new cloud picker in the Place dialog.
Track the status of individual cloud documents, through the Cloud Sync icon in your CDO.
1 vote -
metadata
Please update the ability to add metadata to a file, similar to the way you can with Adobe Lightroom Classic. The current file info feature is difficult to understand and you have to drill way down to get your information into the metadata.
The ability to create Metadata presets that you can easily apply to files. The metadata preset would include:
- Basic file information
- IPTC Content, Copyright, Creator, etc. info
- Keywords1 vote -
Eliminate the Adobe Search Pane in the top right of illustrator
Adobe does not seem to be able to fix the problem of Adobe search being selected by default when a file is opened. I use a master layout page & am constantly pasting art I have copied to the pasteboard into the stupid, virtually useless Adobe search window. It immediately hangs Illustrator which eventually crashes.
This bug is ridiculously enraging. I cannot believe Adobe has not addressed this. It can't just be me having this issue
6 votesThe search bar in the top right corner is gone and is replaced with a button with a magnifier icon — it now calls the new Discover window.
Please check how you like it now and reply back. -
'Expand' generates excess groups, clipping groups, compound paths and other unwanted vector garbage. Keep it simple!
Try expanding a brush or a 3D shape and take a look at the large pile of unwanted groups, compound paths and clipping masks Illustrator has generated for you. It just adds complexity to the file and makes the object appearance tricky to work with. See example ai file attached.
If you have Astute Graphic’s Vector First Aid plugin you can remove all that stuff and see just how simple and usable your vectors can be (I recommend it), Wouldn’t it be better if Illustrator didn’t generate junk in the first place?
Please make sure Illustrator only generates the barest…6 votes -
STOP changing the behavior of the tools!
I have used AI for over 20 years -- I've even been featured in books!! Why the F is the team changing the behavior of tools. IT AINT BROKEN and you're making it worse.
Just in the last 5 minutes I've found that I can no longer rotate a text box and have the text rotate, as well. Now the text stays put and the box rotates. WHY?
Also, when I save a new document (with it set to AI editable pdf) it's saving some other copy and the document that's currently open is still unsaved and untitled. How is…
2 votes -
Smart Guides snapping to the cursor is just making me work much slower
I have been having problems with smart guides after the recent update. It has been snapping my cursor to objects, which I have never wanted and never will want to do that ever. I just want to simply align objects together, and now I have to use the features in the align window to time-consumingly do the jobs. Please remove the snap-to-cursor feature for the sake of my deadlines.
1 voteThe latest Beta build allows to disable snapping to the cursor position as an advanced option in Preferences > Smart Guides. Please try and see if it’s something that works for you.
-
Change shortcut for paste in place/paste on all artboards to match Indesign
I'm in a workflow where I work simultaneously with Illustrator and Indesign, linking illustrator files to indesign (they could probably be integrated more!).
However, it is probably my most irritated moments when I realize I have used cmd-alt-shift-V (shortcut to paste in place in Indesign) instead of cmd-shift-V. If you work on one artboard, it looks the same, and you don't realize your mistake until you go to another artboard and see that the pasted thing has been pasted on all artboards. And you've worked far enough to not having the possibility to undo...
2 votesYou can customize your hotkeys in Keyboard Shortcuts dialog. Search 'paste' and change 'Paste on All Artboards' to anything else or remove shortcut completely.
-
In illustrator, you can't add a stroke to an image file. But when you click on an image, it shows the option to select a stroke colour/size
In illustrator, you can't add a stroke to an image file. But when you click on an image, it shows the option to select a stroke colour/size
3 votes -
Merge some features of Color window into Swatches window
I've always wished the "Color" window and "Swatches" were sort of merged... I wont' bother explaining why its useful to keep the Swatches window open, as i have to assume everybody is constantly using this. I toggle over to the Color window when i'm viewing the color name and swapping the color/fill. In the latest update of Illustrator, they've updated Swatches to include a stroke and fill selector (as well as a list of recent colors, which is pretty cool). they've not however included the swapping arrow, display name of color, or that little default fill selection. can we please…
2 votes -
Print multiple artboards on one page, with options
I think it'd be nice to be able to print only what's on multiple artboards onto one page. Right now the only option is to "ignore artboards", but that will print everything within the file, which doesn't work. The workaround is to save as a .pdf then print everything on one page from there, but this really shouldn't need a workaround, it should be an option within the print dialog.
6 votes -
Save the .ai file and only after finishing the .pdf
As done in CC 2019, I can save the .ai and only after finish it I can save a .pdf
Now with AI 24.2.2 I save the .ai and immediatly the .pdf but the .ai file is not saved. So the .ai and .pdf are not the same. This can cause a lot of problem becasue is I start work to AI file I'm not in last version and if I start on .pdf in low resolution I lose some elements, and reduce the quality to raster.
Please, do as CC 2019 that Illustrator block user before .pdf save.
I…2 votes -
Show image output dimensions before exporting with Export As
Under File > Export > Export for Screens and > Export As, it would be great to be able to know what the output dimensions will be when selecting 150dpi, 300dpi or a custom resolution.
Often I will need to export images from various source to specific JPEG or PNG dimensions. This will save the step of exporting, checking the dimensions of the output file, then adjusting the output resolution or resizing in Photoshop.
5 votes -
Autosave
Apple Mac OS has had it's own version of autosave and recovery in the OS for YEARS! I am so sick and tired of every time my illustrator crashes that I have to go through the headache of everything having [recovery] attached to it. Let's be honest, it happens ALL THE TIME. If Adobe isn't going to adapt to the OS its on, why don't you make your own file system?!? I dread having to open Adobe products to complete a take because they are unstable, outdated and just lame.
6 votes -
Improve print quality for non-postscript printers on macOS
When using Illustrator on macOS Computers, the quality (resolution) of documents is lower when printed on non-postscript printers than when printing the same document using Acrobat (this seems not to be the case for Windows).
The attached file shows the difference between the exact same file printed on the same printer using the same settings. The upper part was printed using Acrobat, the lower part was directly printed with Illustrator.5 votes -
Library search and place behaviour
As I drag an item out of the library panel, as soon as the item clears the edge of the panel, the search results reset to whatever library I was looking at before; the search results are lost.
This frequently results in me having to repeat the exact same search multiple times over which can be madening. Consider the following situations:
1) I forgot to alt-click/my alt-click didn't register, and I'm stuck with a linked file which can't be converted to a useful vector (I've never yet actually wanted to place a linked file from the library, so having that…
6 votes -
An ability to update variables
I'd like to be able to bind Variables to pageItems and be able to reimport the Variable Library; that is, I'd like to be able to reimport the CSV or XML file and not have to rebind the Variable to pageItems.
This would let me create a template or master file that is ready to import new data without having to rebind the Variables.
Also, make Variable binding scriptable.
5 votes -
fsType not honored when exporting as PDF
Hello,
I've noticed the fsType value in the OS/2 table of OTF fonts is not honored by Indesign nor Illustrator.
I've set the value of fsType to 0x0102 and this should prevent subsetting and embedding.
However, Illustrator exports to pdf, embedding . Worst, it gives no warning the embedding/subsetting isn't allowed for the current font.for info, I had flushed any font cache to be sure the font files are the good ones and deleted them from my disk before reopening my pdf to be sure they're embedded.
For info, these fonts are located in Library > Application support >…2 votes -
Link pictures from Variable Panel
When setting variables into variable panel, we can't auto add links addresses to variable, and need to add them into external xml or csv files. If we will add "Links" into variable panel we can click on folder icon and auto load link address into variable panel.
1 vote
- Don't see your idea?