Translate Ideas and Comments
Choose language:
There was an error during translation

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback
  1. Fonts are not refreshed when right sided metrics are changed

    This issue happens in the context of editing the metrics of a font file multiple times (in order to view new metrics changes in realtime).

    Fonts will not always be refreshed to the latest version when overwriting a font file in the Adobe Fonts folder with a new updated version:

    • When a right sidebearing of a glyph is changed and the font regenerated, the font is NOT updated in Illustrator.

    • Whereas editing a left side bearing and regenerating the font will show the updated font with all edited metrics (both the new left & right sidebearings).

    Issue happens in all…

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    2 comments  ·  Type, Fonts, Text  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    Hi,

    Thanks for reporting this issue.
    Unfortunately we are not able to reproduce this issue. Could you kindly provide the following information to help us nail this down.

    1) Kindly share both version of fonts at ShareWithAI@adobe.com .
    2) Please mention the title of this issue as the subject of the mail with tag [UserVoice] and Uservoice link in subject of email.

    Regards
    Ankit Goyal

  2. A blank white popup window opens over a file when opening.

    Closing the window gets it out of the way & I can continue. It only happens the first time I launch AI and then open a file.

    I'm on a 2016 MacBook Pro running Catalina & Illustrator 24.0.
    Screenshot attached.

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    7 comments  ·  Launch  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
  3. Artboard names are not saving in CC 22.1 - all artboard names "reset" when save/close

    In the new version of Illustrator - CC 22.1 the ARTBOARD NAMES do not save anymore. To reproduce open a new illustrator document, set up 10 artboards, NAME THEM, save the document, close it, re-open the document, the names are GONE. Also, when opening illustrator files that PREVIOUSLY had artboard names, all names are gone. They have been replaced with generic artboard names. To fix the issue switch back to a previous version of illustrator, ie: 20 or below, and the artboard names are back and they stay.

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    5 comments  ·  Documents and Artboards  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
  4. Window tabs in illustrator glitch can't navigate

    I've lost the ability to navigate and manage my tabs in illustrator on MacOS High Sierra 10.13.3. Multiple restarts of my computer have not solved this, please fix this super frustrating glitch!

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Performance  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    Need More Info  ·  Anish Kumar responded

    Hi,

    Thanks for reporting the issue and apologies for the inconvenience caused.Does this issue persists even now? If yes , can you please share the specific steps that you were doing,it may help us to reproduce the issue

  5. Strokes are become sporadic and missing in some places

    Strokes are become sporadic and missing in some places. I don't know what the issue is. My strokes were perfect yesterday and now I update my mac and the strokes are now sporadic, jagged and missing in places. See screenshot.

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    4 comments  ·  Tools  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    Need More Info  ·  Anish Kumar responded

    Hi,

    We apologize for having such an irritating issue with your workflow.
    The issue is still not reproducible in-house. We need your help to reproduce the issue.
    Please provide your system details and the objects with which you are working.
    If issue is happening in any specific file and you can provide the file to us at ShareWithAI@adobe.com, also please do mention this User Voice thread link in the mail.

  6. 'Can't save some resource data, but artwork was saved successfully. AN I/O error occurred. Id:-36'

    'Can't save some resource data, but artwork was saved successfully. AN I/O error occurred. Id:-36'

    This happens when saving an illustrator doc now.

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    2 comments  ·  File Save, Import and Export  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    Need More Info  ·  Anish Kumar responded

    Hi,

    Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience. Is this happening even now with the latest Illustrator version. Please revert back if you are facing this even now.

  7. Opacity bug

    AI CC 2018
    I turned the opacity down on a selection to see below layers. Then I went to work on below layers. Upon returning to original layer and re-selecting the object to return it to 100% opacity it showed I was already at 100%. I could not get it back to 100% until I copied and pasted the object to a new layer.

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    6 comments  ·  Colors, Swatches, Patterns  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    Need More Info  ·  Anish Kumar responded

    Hi,

    It seems like opacity is applied on the Layer and not on the object inside that layer. It is possible that the user is selecting object inside the layer and not the layer itself. Hence the user is able to see the opacity of object which is 100% in this case and not the changed opacity of layer.

  8. Entering a text field should select value by default

    There are certain default behaviors that one becomes used to when using a computer and Adobe appears to have completely disregarded this with respect to manually entering values! Please fix this serious bug.

    When clicking on any modifiable value field, a single click should select the entire contents of the field by default. If I click on the width field in the Illustrator top bar, I should be able to simply type a width and hit tab or enter to apply. THIS IS NOT HOW IT WORKS.

    If I see that my width is only off by a small amount…

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    3 comments  ·  User Interface  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    Need More Info  ·  Anish Kumar responded

    Thanks for your inputs. We have tried doing all the scenarios stated by you. You have mentioned that it use to work fine before. Can you please let me know on which build was it working fine. I have tried it on CS 6 as well as the latest 23.0.3 but both works in the same manner.

  9. Recent work thumbnails are missing on the welcome page

    When I launch my latest version of the Desktop illustrator app there are no more visible the thumbnails of the recent work. Please bring it back.

    Currently using Illustrator 25.4.1. (64bit) on latest update of Windows 10

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    4 comments  ·  Launch  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
  10. New document size - selection problem

    When creating a new document, you cannot click into width or height box and select as one and overwrite - previously you could do this.

    You have to use backspace - incredibly irritating. Please fix.

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    7 comments  ·  Documents and Artboards  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    Thanks for reporting the issue , Illustrator team really appreciate this.
    Unfortunately we are not able to reproduce this issue. Could you kindly provide the following information to help us nail this down :

    1. Kindly provide a short recording with some steps with which you are facing the issue and share with us in a zip file on ShareWithAI@adobe.com .

    Thanks and Regards ,
    Ankit Goyal
    Illustrator Team

  11. SVG Export Distortion

    I am having 0 success with Adobe Illustrator exports that incorporate filters. Some are stock images from Adobe stock that have polygonal patters. Others are 3D text rendered objects. Others are layers built with a variety of transparency filters and opacity settings. The SVG exports are not usable and we are resorting to .png files until we solve this. I saw a similar post that was unresolved: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447-illustrator-bugs/suggestions/33118615-sizes-and-coordinates-get-distorted-in-svg-export
    I am using export settings with Styling: Presentation; Images: Preserve; Object ID: Minimal; 2 Decimals; Minify and Responsive checked. Other modifications to these settings has not worked.
    Additionally, many of the Adobe…

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  File Save, Import and Export  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
  12. Properties panel contents scaling and freezing

    The contents of the Properties panel is scaling down to tiny sizes. It doesn't reset until you quit and reopen Illustrator (CC 2018).

    The scaling happens with ⌘+scroll while hovering on the panel. The contents will scale up or down as long as you are holding the ⌘, but if you let it go while the contents are scaled down the panel with freeze at that scale and won't respond to ⌘+scroll anymore. The panel's functions still seem to work fine after this.

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Need More Info  ·  6 comments  ·  Properties Panel  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
  13. ローカルに保存できない(不明なエラー)

    Windows10 64bit pro
    Illustrator2021(Var.25.3.1)

    不明なエラーでローカルに保存できません。

    ・何も配置していないドキュメントでも保存できない。
    ・ai/eps/svg/pdfどの形式でも保存できない。
    ・クラウドなら保存できます。

    ・Illustratorをインストールし直しても無理。
    ・Illustrator2020にダウングレードしても無理。
     (2021にアップグレードする前はできていた)
    ・環境ファイルを削除しても無理。

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  File Save, Import and Export  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    Illustrator 製品フィードバックへのご協力ありがとうございます。

    ご報告内容ですと、ローカルにドキュメントファイルが一切保存できない状況ということでしょうか?

    ご確認のほどよろしくお願いいたします。

    Illustrator チーム

  14. New update (23.0.1) shows Home screen instead of my actual file until I press F

    Most of the times, when I open an AI file I can't see my actual artboard until I press F (Toggle Screen Mode). Once I switch the screen mode it shows a weird red color in the artboard (too fast to capture).

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    3 comments  ·  User Interface  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    Need More Info  ·  Anish Kumar responded

    Hi,

    Sorry to hear that you are facing this issue. We have fixed similar issue in 23.0.3,
    Can you please upgrade to 23.0.3 and let us know if your problem is resolved or not?

  15. Appearance of Black Feature Not Working in Illustrator CC 2019

    The "Appearance of Black" feature is not working after installing Illustrator CC 2019. I've tried to disable and re-enable the feature, however all blacks appear as rich black now. The document shown in the attached screenshot is in CMYK color mode. The black box on the left is 100% K only, the box to the right is C: 60%, M: 50%, Y: 50%, and K: 100%.

    Previously 100% process black only would display as shown in the preferences window. I've tried to open an old document and create a new CMYK color mode document, however the 100% K looks rich…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    4 comments  ·  Colors, Swatches, Patterns  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
  16. Isolate Selected Groups Does Not Work in CC 2019

    Spent 4 days following a tutorial thinking I was losing my mind.
    Then, it dawned on me I downloaded CC 2019 four days ago.
    Downloaded CC2017 and the operation works as advertised.
    Used especially for cartooning…
    Goes like this:
    1. Select all inked artwork>Object>Expand Appearances>Merge.
    Create and color a rectangle covering artwork.
    Select All>Merge
    Then>>>>>Right Click<<<< and click "Select Isolate Selected Groups”
    This will put editable color with all closed line work.

    The enclosed pic is where things go wrong in 2019
    Once Isolate Selected groups is clicked you should be able to delete the outside green in isolation mode…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    3 comments  ·  Tools  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
  17. application frame

    1. These are not 'ideas' they are bugs, errors, problems - stop with the Orwellian language, just makes you look insincere and untruthful.

    The problem:
    When Application Frame is selected, files either do not display when opened or have a corrupted display. Doesn't happen every time, but quite often.
    Mac Pro macOS 10.12.6, Illustrator 22.1

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  User Interface  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    Need More Info  ·  Anish Kumar responded

    Hi,

    We have made a fix in latest version for the same. Can you please upgrade to 23.0.3 and let us know if you still face this issue?

    Thanks
    Anish

  18. Can't click on properties dropdowns

    I just updated AI to the newest release and suddenly I'm unable to access extended properties not displayed on the main panel nor will it let me select and change colors via the properties panel. I also don't like that you've all decided what tools I work with constantly, I need to be able to customize what I need to keep open for my workflow optimization. Because if I could, I could work around this bug.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Need More Info  ·  3 comments  ·  Properties Panel  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
  19. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Other...  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    Illustrator 製品版フィードバックへのご協力ありがとうございます。

    ご報告いただいた「変形パネルの長方形プロパティセクションの角丸の下方向増減ボタンが押しにくい」という問題についてですが、基本的に機能は正しく動作しています。
    「押しにくい」という詳細が不明ですので、いくつか質問させていただきます。

    1. 添付のスクリーンショットの左下角、右下角の項目のボタンだけが押しにくいということでしょうか?

    2. 左上角、右上角のボタンも UI デザインは同じですが、押しにくいと感じないのでしょうか?

    3. 文字パネルにも同様の増減ボタンの UI がありますが、そちらは押しにくいと感じないのでしょうか?

    お手数をおかけいたしますが、ご回答くださいますようよろしくお願いいたします。

    Illustrator チーム

  20. 書き出し設定からjpgを書き出した時。

    書き出し形式からjpgを書き出した際,裁ち落とし設定を入れていてもアートボードの大きさで書き出されてしまいました。2020では通常の書き出しができたので,2021のみのバグのようです。

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  File Save, Import and Export  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    Illustrator 製品版フィードバックへのご協力ありがとうございます。

    書き出し時の詳細が不明ですので、以下の情報をお聞かせください。

    1. お使いのオペレーティングシステムおよび Adobe Illustrator のバージョン
    2. 問題が発生したときに実行していた手順(データ作成方法)
    3. 想定していた結果
    4. 実際の結果
    5. 問題が再現する Illustrator ファイルをアップロードしてください。

    お手数をおかけいたしますが、よろしくお願いいたします。

    Illustrator チーム

  • Don't see your idea?

Feedback and Knowledge Base