Illustrator (Desktop) Feature Requests
When entering a new feature request, please provide:
- Description
- Why is this valuable to you?
4818 results found
-
File transfer time via CC too long !!
The process to synchronize files on the Creative Cloud is not practical for small bandwidths.
It is painful to sometimes wait several hours for file synchronization on the CC
I would like to choose among several files the one that I would like to synchronize in priority.
Transfert de fichiers via CC trop long !!
Le processus pour syncroniser les fichiers sur le Créative cloud n'est pas pratique pour les petites bandes passantes.
C'est pénible d'attendre parfois plusieurs heures les synchronisations des fichier sur le CC
J'aimerai choisir parmi plusieurs fichiers celui que je voudrais synchroniser en priorité.
1 vote -
Remove 'move' function mapping from the Return/Enter key.
The "move" function pop-up menu is activated by both "Shift + Command M" as well as the Return/Enter key. You are able to clear the "Shift + Command M" function by using Edit Keyboard Shortcuts, but the Return/Enter key will still engage this pop-up menu when an object is selected. Being close to the Shift key, it's constantly triggered on accident and it's not (as far as I can tell) currently possible to remove this function from being mapped to the Return/Enter Key.
13 votes -
Illustrator 2020 performance significantly slow/sluggish -
Sorry, can't recommend upgrade of 2020 to my colleagues. I work for a large Engineering firm and we have powerful computers. We have critical deadlines for Q4-2019 - Upgrading to 2020 will be a big mistake as it will cause delay to our projects and stress to the members .
Saving files takes too long, copying takes system long to process - pasting is fine. Adding text is ridiculously taking forever and it creates its own textbox size - It feels like going back to AI CS6.Suggest to review what you had for AI 2019- this was one of…
1 vote -
Illustrator window should stay maximized when opening existing documents from Explorer
What we want is simple, make it so that opening an Ai file from File Explorer does not change if Ai is in windowed mode, or fullscreen mode.
This has been an issue for years that disrupts the workflow of users on a regular basis. Here is an old forum thread going back as far as June 2012 further detailing this ongoing issue: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1026020
When opening an Ai file from File Explorer, Illustrator automatically Restores down to a window from Maximized mode. While the work-around, (of extending edges of Illustrator's window from edge-to-edge of the desired monitor), minimizes the impact…
44 votes -
Disable scale stroke on placed CC files
We would like to have the option to disable the scaling of stroke in placed (linked) CC library files. Ie. if we scale the placed file 200% the stroke of the object in the file stays at 1pt instead of increasing to 2pt.
We have a CC library with a large component library with various electronic and mechanical components. These components should always look exactly the same, but sometimes they need to be scaled. When they are scaled they need to keep the original stroke weight in order to look the same as the other placed components. Since there is…
1 vote -
Change forms of Pan-CJK font in language dropdown menu
Super OTC Pan-CJK font like "Source Han Sans" has multiple forms of character in same unicode. In Indesign, we can change them by choosing language in dropdown menu, but in Illustrator, it works only for hyphenation and we can't choose CJK languages.
Please add function to change forms without installing Subset OTF.
3 votes -
2 votes
Sorry, you have to elaborate, because this could mean a lot of things.
-
Instantly swap two colors
I've been making icons and when I have to reverse them to be on a dark background it would be great to be able to do that with one click.
2 votes -
why is there no illustrator workspace file location?
why is there no illustrator workspace file location? i need to control workspaces that i save as the way they are currently handled is rubbish. why cant i save the workspace as a file? please make this possible
3 votes -
Allow to add points in curve when Simplify panel is open
With the Object > Path > Simplify feature, it seems like the ability to quickly add a point to the outline by clicking on the artwork, while the panel is open for refinement. The feature in there 'show original outline' combined with this new recommendation would be a very intuitive way to refine a shape.
2 votes -
Keyboard Shortcuts for Select > Same > Fill; Select > Same> Stroke; Select > Same> Appearance
Requesting Keyboard Shortcuts for Select > Same > Fill; Select > Same> Stroke; Select > Same> Appearance; Select > Same> Stroke Weight.
Graphic designers and pre-press use these all the time and I am surprised there are keyboard shortcuts for these very vital features.
From a fellow pre-press production specialist.... this small little tweak would skyrocket workflow efficiency! Would love this!
Also, Adobe rocks!
8 votes -
Copy/pasting text from illustrator into other text editors
I can't copy text from illustrator and paste into Word, gmail, Notes, Google Docs... anything! It makes it so I have to retype everything which is insane. I used to be able to copy from illustrator into other text editing tools. Why not anymore?
21 votes -
Shape Eraser Tool
similar to eraser tool in clip studio paint vector layer, you just click to delete a shape / path / compound path, or sweep the tool to delete multiple adjacent shapes.
Currently I have to click and delete to trim these lines, which are expanded brush strokes, really time consuming process.2 votes -
Pathfinder: show preview on hover
An improvement in the Pathfinder panel.
Show a preview of the result on hover and execute the pathfinder command on click.
3 votes -
Export X, Y, W, H and angle to a text file or Excel format?
Please add a feature to allow AI to export X,Y,W,H and angle to a text or Excel file.
I have a need to get the coordinates and sizes of buttons (in pixels) for my Touch screen. After you design the image for LCD. You will need to know XYWH and angle for touch purpose. It will be good to have AI to send those information out to a file (not image).
Thanks,1 vote -
Please comeback to moving objects with arrowkeys and escape from any tool with "esc"
Please comeback to moving objects with arrowkeys and escape from any tool with "esc"
2 votes -
Combine color and stroke in one palette
Older versions of ai had color and stroke in one palette... since in almost 100% of the cases when you draw an object you will need to modify both. This could be be an option under both current palettes.
5 votes -
Gray hash marks and numbers against a black background for rulers
Gray hashmarks against a black ruler may be fashionable, but they are hard to see when aligning text and objects, or even measuring objects. How about a white ruler with black hashmarks, and a black curser?
3 votes -
Enhance Miter limits on type inner strokes
There are a few mentions of "miter" you might get interested in.
One that I regularly had to deal with was Miter Limit for typefaces (as applied in appearance panel).
Could there be a way to have a miter limit applied only to the outside paths of the letter and not to the counterparts ? (like the holes in e, a, o…)
The second page of this thread shows nice ways to play with that too:
https://community.adobe.com/t5/illustrator/ai-2020-stroke-path-won-t-do-anything/m-p/10802353#M1583931 vote -
Merge swatches with right-click
In InDesign you can right-click in the swatches panel and select 'Merge Swatches' (among many other things).
In Illustrator there is no right-click menu at all, you have to click the fly-out.
Adding the right-click menu (or even the ability add a keyboard shortcut to things in the fly-out) would be helpful as we get a lot of files with duplicate colors or need to convert odd mixes/incorrect names to true Pantones so our rips will recognize them. We do a lot of merging.
Thank you!
9 votes
- Don't see your idea?