Illustrator (Desktop) Feature Requests
When entering a new feature request, please provide:
- Description
- Why is this valuable to you?
- or
962 results found
-
When exporting an image, using artboard, with a single artboard, don't change filename.
If save an image using "Export As" , and I select the "use artboards" (because I want the image to be of that size, and I only want to export one specific artboard of my file, It would be better if it didn't add to the file name (ie: the filename-01.png would be filename.png). This is because I find myself exporting each layer of the same artboard with a specific name (ex: characterarm.png, characterleg.png, etc) and I have to remove the "01"s manually.
I understand that this feature is really useful when exporting all the artboards at the…60 votesThe latest version of Illustrator now allows you to manually control the behavior with the 'Suffix' option in the Export As dialog. Please check if it it works for you and comment back if it does not.
-
Show missing link path/locations like InDesign. (To make relinking an image simple)
In the Link Panel - Indesign shows the file path for placed images and links (even when missing or embedded). In Illustrator's Link panel these path/locations are greyed out with no text, thus making finding a missing file purely guess work. Can the Indesign Links Panel be directly replicated to Illustrator so absolutely the same? Cheers
33 votes -
Password protect in layers
I am looking for an option in the Adobe Illustrator to have the layers locked with a password. so i can send the source file to the other users only to modify what they have to and not touch my content.
44 votes -
Please bring back Cmd/Ctrl + Opt/Alt + Enter to Transform values to make a proportionally constrained copy
Please bring back this “lost” features from earlier versions of Illustrator;
1) When holding down COMMAND (CMD) when entering a TRANSFORM value + ENTER, one used to scale proportionally, just as with activating the “link values” icon to the right, only without having to link and de-link all the time ...
2) I am sure the link is great for casual or more inexperienced users, but these key commands used to make my work so much faster. Also, holding down CMD + ALT used to make a new instance or copy with those new values, logical and consistent, somehow this…
6 votes -
Existing documents open to your preferred units, even if they were created in different units
So I often work with people in different countries and we often have different unit preferences. I work in mm but when I open files from fellow creatives in America for example, they are often using inches.
Now I thought that my preferences being set to mm would mean it would show the files in mm, but apparently this only applies to new documents you create, not to existing files. This seems so crazy to me given the digital, remote working, globally collaborative world we live in today.
Please could this be a thing because going into the settings…
3 votes -
Allow the existing file to remain active when using "Save as"
When working in AI in a native file format, then saving as a different file format (ie PDF), the new file format is now the active file. In InDesign and PS, when you "Save as," your new file is saved in a folder but you are still able to continue working on your native ID or PSD file. I wish Illustrator would work this way, too. Or am I missing something in settings to fix this?
6 votesUse 'Save a copy' command instead of 'Save as', it does exactly what you want.
-
Better join segments tool
There are instances (mostly when cleaning up DXF files from 3D models) were there are a lot of broken line segments. It would be great if there were options for the join command to join multiple line segments that are within a certain distance and tangent angle to each other. It would then take multiple separate line segments and join them into one clean and continuous line.
Maybe there would also be a preview ability that would recolor\highlight the lines that would be joined and then allow you to adjust the distance and angle until you get the desired result.
…
10 votes -
Share for Review - Ability for teams to update links
Currently in InDesign and Illustrator, the person that created a review link is the only one able to update the review link. There are times when another person on my team needs to update a file and send an updated review link, but to do so, they have to create a copy of the file and make a brand new link. This is a bit tedious and doesn't keep the history of comments, which we sometimes need to refer back to. I would like to suggest the ability to allow teams on Create Cloud to be able to work on…
6 votes -
Relative paths for linked assets
An option to use relative paths for linked assets. Because links use absolute paths, simply moving the folder your artwork is in will break the links unless the links are in the same folder. For example:
c:\artwork\project-1234\layout.ai
c:\artwork\project-1234\assets\logo.jpg
c:\artwork\standard-title-block.aiIf logo.jpg and standard-title-block.ai are both linked to inside of layout.ai, renaming the project folder will break the links. Moving the project folder will break the links.
Instead of storing the link paths absolutely, store them relatively. This way at least renaming the folder will preserve both links and moving the folder will only break links that point to file outside…
84 votesThis feature is now available in all the public builds starting V 28.5. Please give it a try and let us know what you think!
-
We want you to make file size light even if we save by "Create PDF compatible file".
Selecting “Create PDF compatible file” saves the file size. We want you to be able to choose a resolution such as "350dpi" or "72dpi", and you can see the preview and reduce the file size.
5 votes -
Effects Gallery interface extremely tiny on 4K resolution screen - Windows 10. No fix for it.
Using the latest version of Adobe Illustrator. I've just bought a brand new Dell XPS 15 it has a 1050 NVIDIA Graphics card, Windows 10 and a 4K screen. The interface is extremely tiny. It's usable but the effects gallery is too tiny to use.
I'm not sure if this a "bug" per se, but none of the fixes available online work (this included creating a Prefer External Manifest file and code for the Illustrator executable file). What I've read says this is a problem Adobe needs to address.
I'm extremely disappointed in this. What can I do to fix…34 votes -
Our own custom new document templates
It would be great if we could have our own folder in which to store our customized NEW DOCUMENT TEMPLATES and have it in the row where RECENT, SAVED, MOBILE, WEB, PRINT... are stored.
There is also an error when saving a template in the templates folder:
http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/504168393 votes -
1 vote
The issue has been resolved offline. It was actually not an issue.
-
Let's add Vasily Hall's name to the Ai credits?
These never get added for some reason, so I'm going to try once per day to put it up here:
As you may be aware, Illustrator has a natively build CSV-import feature for variables now. This wouldn't have come if Vasily didn't undertake the effort to create this feature as a script, 3 years prior. https://github.com/Silly-V/Adobe-Illustrator/blob/master/Variable Importer/VariableImporter.jsx
His contribution was:
1. User research, connecting with users from all over the world to get a sense of whether anyone even wants to import CSV files and use graph variables.
2. Naming convention syntax for visibility and graph variables.
3. Logical mechanism…16 votes -
9 votes
-
Reduce Quality on file opening
I would like to have an option when illustrator detects me opening large and complicated files that my computer might struggle with running. This option would automatically simplify paths and decrease or outright eliminate gradients, as well as doing stuff to decrease the intensity of effects on the system.
This would be extremely helpful with taking care of files that people send into my company where they just go all out in complexity. For example, I had someone send in a file that had over 150k anchor points for 18 paths in a 9mm x 9mm artboard. This would be…
2 votes -
Show number of selected objects
It's amazing nobody asked for this.
Just use that bottom filed that can show artboard name, current tool, etc, for saying how much objects user has selected.
If you are as lazy as you are implementing user requests — make just this. But make it better and allow this field to show several things instead of one. And add artboard number there.
41 votesAs per the comment, this value is available in the Window > Document Info panel, when Objects option is picked in the panel’s flyout menu
-
Easier way to find object in large file with small blue bar above layers panel
Working in larger files, it's hard to find the exact object selected. What if there was a blue bar that highlighted which way to scroll? (top of the layers panel scroll up, bottom of the layers panel scroll down) to find it rather than looking for the blue box next to the object's layer? When you click on the blue bar, it takes you directly to the selected object. If multiple objects are selected, you could keep clicking the button to go to the next object down the list.
I've attached a photoshoped mockup of what I am trying…
3 votes -
Make a more integrated way to report bugs
Figma allows to report bugs directly from the web app.
You go 'Help > Contact Us > Report a bug'. Then you fill out the form, directly in the app, provide steps, attach files... looks very similar to the approach Ai uses, but more streamlined, with no intermediate steps.
Once it’s done, the dropdown is collapsed, and you are where you were at the moment.To report bugs in Illustrator you have to search for the way.
First one should locate 'Help > Submit Bug/Feature Request'. This redirects you to the browser, to http://www.adobe.com/go/aiWishform/, which can redirect you…10 votes -
Please fix jpg open/place bug.
Ever since updating to CC2018, cannot open or place jpg files. Please fix this bug.
2 votes
- Don't see your idea?