Skip to content

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

995 results found

  1. Getting error while opening illustrator. Workspace missing.

    Get an error while starting the illustrator. Workspace is missing as well. Even if I reset the workspace nothing happens. Nothing happens when I select an already saved workspace. Please figure this out ASAP cannot complete my work.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Hi,

    Please try to delete your preferences. If it still doesn’t solve your problem, please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience. Please get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html . Since this is not a generic issue that we can reproduce at our end, we will need someone to look into your machine to figure out what is going on here.

  2. tools panels disappeared.

    I've just updated the software and got a dialogue box that some preferences were missing, then the interface changed to the dark one (I opt for the lightest one) and then all my tools seem to have disappeared and I can't get them back. I've quit, reopened, and repeated after restarting but same problem so far exists.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  3. "Open" button not responding first time

    After the recent update, with the new layout of the home screen, I have to click the "Open..." button two or three times before it opens the file explorer window. It acts like it is being clicked, but then nothing happens.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. CC 2018: The 'undo count' button in preferences is not responding

    Basically, I can click it but it doesn't respond.
    It's impossible to change the value.

    See video of the bug:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gSnDwWVZnhs

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. Allow Shift + arrows in an input field to always add 10 (like in Photoshop) instead of rounding up to a 10 first

    In illustrator if you change sizes using shift + arrows in the top bar, it rounds up to the nearest 10 and then goes up in 10s. In photoshop it doesn't round up just increases by 10.

    I think it would be better to be able to choose which mode to use as sometimes I prefer either depending on what I am doing.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. release to layers not working

    release to layers not working. Does it for 1 group or sublayer, but not for all of them. Had to open CC 2014 to get it to work.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Please get in touch with us at sharewithai@adobe.com or any of the other support channels – helpx.adobe.com/support.html . Please give a reference to this post so that we can identify you.
    Since this is not a generic issue that we can reproduce at our end, we will need someone to look into your machine to figure out what is going on here.

    Warm Regards,
    Mohit Agarwal | Lead Software Engineer – Illustrator

  7. CC2014 No artboard names (macOS Sierra - 10.12)

    When using Illustrator CC2014 with macOS Sierra (10.12.6) no artboard names appear. Can this bug be rectified please?

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Some shortcut keys is not working well

    Some of the shortcut keys is not working well when drag file from computer to illustrator.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. Hitting Enter/Return to confirm after modifying values (Stroke, Opacity, Etc) in the Top Toolbar Opens a Move Dialog Box Instead

    When modify values such as opacity in the toolbar, i have always hit enter/return to confirm changes. As of recently however, this now opens a Move dialog box instead of submitting my changes. (See the attached gif for an example)

    If there is something wrong about my workflow please let me know, but I don't currently see any other way of confirming these types of minor edits.

    After several rounds of cancelling the move dialog, the changes will miraculously go through, but there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason as to why. As you can imagine, this is…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. Stroke / Fille indicator sometimes in not in sync occasionally

    On Illustrator 30.5.1 (Windows 11), the fill/stroke indicator in the toolbox occasionally renders out of sync with the internal active-paint state. The indicator shows stroke brought to the front, but clicking a swatch edits the fill instead of the stroke. Pressing X two or three times forces the indicator to repaint, and afterwards the behavior is correct again.

    Steps to reproduce:
    1. Press X so that stroke becomes the active paint. The indicator shows stroke in front, as expected.
    2. Switch tools, use the Eyedropper, create a new object, or press D.
    3. Click a swatch (or pick a color…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. Inconsistency With Transform Controls in Control Bar

    I am noticing inconsistent display of Transform dimensions in the Control bar, when selecting similar elements. Referencing the attached images, notice that when one of the pasted .tif images is selected, the Transform dimensions are displayed in the Control Bar, but when the other image is selected, the Transform controls are collapsed and require an extra click to view and copy/paste sizes. These images were copy and pasted from the same website and appear to be the same format. Unfortunately, this slows down my workflow as previous iterations of the software always displayed the Transform dimensions of selected elements within…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  12. Transform dimensions - Constraint applied even though it is disabled

    When transforming the dimensions in the 'Transform' window, the constraint option (chain icon) is applied even though it is disabled. One measurement - width or height - cannot be altered without the other following along.
    I have been able to fix this by closing the application completely, but this is happening repeatedly.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  13. Relink not working as expected

    I am trying to use "relink," in the Links panel, to replace images that have already been placed into an Illustrator clipping mask.
    When I click "relink," I am expecting to be able to place a link to an image I'm pasting or typing the name of, because I have a huge list of filenames I'm pulling from, and I don't want to have to navigate to the file in the UI.
    However, when I type the filename, the "link" checkbox is grayed out. When I click "place," I would expect it to simply embed the file, but, instead, the…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. Select > Same, Object > Filters menus are smaller than other ones

    Ai has just fixed the Effects menu, thanks to this report: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/36951433

    What about Select > Same that suffers from the same problem?
    What about Object > Filters (that appear only if you have plugins that offer these)?

    What about other menu related problems?
    — Mouse scroll doesn't work in Window, Object, other top menus: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/40081633
    — Dark / Light mode (theme), both automatic and manual, with full support for dialogs and menus: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/35730127

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. Artboard Size option is not available in the top Control panel in 30.6

    In previous versions, the Artboard Size option was available in the top Control panel next to Document Setup. This was very convenient and helped speed up my workflow. However, in version 30.6, I have to use the right-side Properties panel every time I want to resize an artboard. This adds extra steps and slows down the design process. It would be greatly appreciated if you could bring back the Artboard Size option to the top panel.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Illustrator 30.6: Window geometry is corrupted after exiting Presentation Mode on MacBook Pro M4 (macOS Tahoe 26.5.2)

    I can consistently reproduce a window geometry issue in Adobe Illustrator after exiting Presentation Mode.
    After pressing Esc to leave Presentation Mode, the Illustrator document window returns with an incorrect size that extends beyond the visible area of the built-in MacBook display.
    The issue only occurs on the built-in display. If Illustrator is moved to an external monitor, the problem does not occur.

    System
    Adobe Illustrator 30.6
    macOS Tahoe 26.5.2
    MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4, November 2024)

    Steps to reproduce
    Launch Illustrator.
    Open any document.
    Make sure the document window is on the built-in MacBook display.
    Enter Presentation Mode (Shift +…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. Select > Same > Object menu has Unicode square is visible in front of hotkeys

    Select > Same > Object has a Unicode White Square □ in front of each displayed hotkey combination — these probably should indent the hotkeys to the right side, and it never happens.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. Custom letter shortcuts are not displayed in menus on macOS (JIS keyboard)

    Environment
    Illustrator 2026 (30.0&30.6)
    macOS 26.5.2
    Japanese (JIS) keyboard

    Issue
    Custom keyboard shortcuts work correctly, but shortcuts using letters or symbols are not displayed in the application menus.
    Numeric shortcuts (for example ⌘1, ⌘2) are displayed correctly.
    Letter shortcuts (for example ⌘@, ⌥⌘R) execute correctly but are not shown in the menus.
    The shortcuts are visible in Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts and are saved correctly.
    This appears to be a menu display issue only.
    Steps to reproduce
    Open Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts.
    Assign a custom shortcut using a letter (e.g. ⌘@).
    Save the shortcut set.
    Observe that the shortcut works.…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  19. Opacity Slider Not Visible If Docked to Bottom

    If you dock top panel with tools and actions to the bottom you can't see the slider for Opacity at all. Other menus like "Stroke" and "Style" are popping up just fine.

    1. Windows 11
    2. 30.6
    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. Maximized Window doesnt cover the whole Screen

    Is there a Setting to fix this or is this a bug?

    PC info:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-14900HX (2.20 GHz)
    RAM 32,0 GB
    NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop GPU (8 GB)
    Intel(R) UHD Graphics (128 MB)
    64-bit operating system, x64-based processor

    Windows 11 Pro
    25H2
    26200.8655

    Illustrator v 29.8.7

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?