Skip to content

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

247 results found

  1. フリーグラデーションオブジェクトがFinderプレビューに表示されない

    環境: M1 iMac OS 13.0.1 / Illustrator 27.0.1

    フリーグラデーションがFinderプレビューに表示されません。
    表示されない形式はaiとpdfです。
    同じファイルを別のデバイスで確認したところ、最新のMacOS13で表示されないことが確認されました。

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  2. 2020ファイルフォーマット、後方互換性の破壊

    iMac 27inch(2020/32GB/1TB/Corei5)
    macOS10.15.7

    リンク配置したJPG画像に対してエフェクトをかけると以前のバージョンのイラストレータ(ver.24およびver.25)でPGF部分を正常に認識できずにPDF部分より復元しようとする。

    再現手順
    1. ver.26.0.1にて新規ドキュメントを作成し、JPG画像を配置する。JPG画像自体は埋め込まずリンク画像としてあつかう。
    2. 配置画像に対して「効果→スタイライズ→ドロップシャドウ」のアピアランスを適用する。
    3. 2020形式で当該ファイルを保存。
    4. Illustrator2021にて当該ファイルを開くとネイティブ部分のデータを読み込めず、ダイアログが表示されPDF部分のデータよりリカバリを行おうとする。

    実際の結果
    旧バージョンにてIllustratorファイルを正常に開くことが出来ない。

    期待される結果
    2020形式で保存した場合、ver.24及び25にて従来のように正常にファイルを開くことができる。

    これはJPG画像をリンクとして配置したものにエフェクトを適用すると起こるようです。スタイライズのみならずトリムマークやPhotoshop効果等でも同様の症状が出ます。
    しかしながら、すべてのJPGで再現するわけではありません。条件を特定しようとしたのですが特定に至っていません。
    当該ファイルを添付いたしますので確認頂けると幸いです。

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    こちらの問題が修正された Illustrator 2022(ver.26.0.2)が、製品リリースされました。 みなさん、ご協力ありがとうございました。 こちらのトピックは対応完了とさせていただきます。 コメントはオープンにしておきますので、何か問題がありましたらご報告ください。 よろしくお願いいたします。 Illustrator チーム
  3. Align with preview bounds doesn't work with transform effect copies

    I created a gear by creating a circle, then a box for one of the pieces. I created a point in the middle of the circle and grouped the box with that point. Then I used the transform effect on that group to create a circular array. Then I grouped that and added a pathfinder-Add effect to make it one piece, but still keep it nice and editable. Then I punched a hole in the middle by adding another circle, grouping it to that, and adding an effect, pathfinder-Subtract.
    I then added two lines of text as one object. Those,…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. ドロップシャドウを適用したオブジェクトをグレースケールに変換するとシャドウ部分がマスクされてしまう

    macOS10.15.6 Illustrator ver.25.2.3

    再現手順:
    1.長方形を作成し塗りを設定し、「効果→スタイライズ→ドロップシャドウ」を適用する。
    2.1のオブジェクトを選択した状態で「編集→カラーの編集→グレースケールに変換」を適用する。
    3.オブジェクトの下に適用されているドロップシャドウ部分がオリジナルの長方形をドロップシャドウパネルの「X軸オフセット・Y軸オフセット」分移動した状態の図形にてマスクされる。
    4.「分割・拡張」を適用してアピアランスを分割するとマスクされた状態でビットマップに落とされる。

    期待する結果:
    シャドウをクリッピングせずにカラーの変更のみ行う。

    実際の結果:
    シャドウがクリッピングされてしまう。

    以前に報告されていた投稿がありましたが、一部に挙動の誤認があるため、新たにバグ登録を行いました。
    https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447-illustrator-desktop-bugs/suggestions/38758498-ドロップシャドウのバグ
    また、光彩(外側)においても同様の挙動となります。

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    Under Review  ·  PCM Maro responded

    製品フィードバックへのご協力ありがとうございます。

    ご報告いただいた現象を確認いたしました。
    追加検証を行ってまいります。

    情報のアップデートがありましたら、こちらでご報告いたします。

    よろしくお願いいたします。

    Illustrator チーム

  5. Stop rasterizing the gradient on an object when expanding its appearance

    When you expand the appearance of an object with a gradient, the gradient is rasterized, which I believe, defeats the purpose of using it considering the results. The resulting image has a lot of erroneous White specs. If there is a stroke aligned to the center, it creates two layers with the same gradient, which means you have to unite them with pathfinder. A layer that's shaped the same as the rasterized object with the gradient is the color gray.

    The workaround is to apply a solid color, then expand, then reapply the gradient, but it took me some time…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. Opacity Doesn't Live Update when using Properties Panel + Keyboard

    AI Version: 25.2
    OS: MacOS 11.2.1
    Using CPU & GPU Preview

    Problem:

    • With an object selected, open the Properties Panel.
    • Click in the Opacity field and use the keyboard to increment the opacity up or down.
    • Note that the object's opacity doesn't change unless the change is accepted either by pressing the Return key, or clicking into the artwork.

    Expected Behaviour:

    • As the opacity is adjusted using the keyboard, the artwork should demonstrate the changed opacity.

    Notes:
    - If you use the Transparency Panel, and adjust the Opacity there, the keyboard commands are recognized as usual.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    I am happy to share that we have fixed this bug in our latest release – 27.1.1 which is available worldwide now.

    Going forward, our goal is to fix as many top User-Voice bugs as possible and as frequently as possible. Given the nature of the fixes, some of the bugs will take a longer time to fix, but we are on it.

    You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html

    Thank you for all the feedback. Keep it coming!

    Archana Kumari

    Illustrator Team

  7. 3D Revolve Clipping

    3D Revolve is clipping the front faces. I can get the faces to appear when the object is in a different rotation, when it object is parallel with the view. I've tried this with both a normal path and a compound path.

    I think the plane the 3D object is being rendered to is too far forward.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Excluding fill and stroke settings when applying a graphic style

    Intention: I want to have a graphic style for applying shadows (using the material UI shadow requirements)

    Because it does not seem to be possible to just copy and paste and existing effect of an element (like a drop shadow on a square element) I am using a workaround.

    I created a graphic style with my desired shadow. I noticed that when applying the graphic style to element, it overwrites its color and stroke values.

    I thought the setting "override character color" would prevent that from happening, but it doesn't. Every time I'm applying a graphic style it replaces the…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. Twist effect does not act on a group as a whole

    When applying Effects > Distort and Transform > Twist to a group, the effect is applied on an individual object level and not on the group as a whole.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. Appearance panel - Stroke on rectangle shape

    I have a rectangle shape in my appearance panel. When I try to add a stroke to it, I get a row saying "outline stroke" (underdotted as if it should be able to change) and popup tips saying "click to edit effect". But nothing happens when trying to click to open stroke settings. So I'm not sure if this is a bug, feature request or simply me doing it wrong. Anyway, it seams to be meant to work, if not it would be great if you could add things like strokes to these shape rectangles/circles.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. 'Edit SVG Filter' quote bug

    The 'Edit SVG Filter' window text entry auto-replaces " with “ , invalidating the markup.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    Started  ·  Dirk Schulze responded

    Hello Isa,

    We can confirm the issue and are sorry that you experience it. We are working on a fix for this issue.

    Thanks for reporting the issue.

    Dirk

  12. Drop shadows unnecessarily re-render when placing new images, slowing workflow

    As of 5/22/18 using Illustrator 22.1, all existing drop shadow effects within document re-render each time a new image is placed. Rendering can take up to 30 seconds to process (a Progress dialogue box appears), which slows down workflow considerably.

    This is never an issue with InDesign or Photoshop, so I'd love to see this fixed in Illustrator. Thanks!

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  13. White lines appearing on the text when we apply Extrude and Bevel effects in 3D

    White lines appearing on the text when we apply Extrude and Bevel effects in 3D. Is there any solution to fix this.

    Version: Adobe Illustrator 22.0.1

    Expected result: 3D effect of the text layer without white lines.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. Scribble Effect Not Showing Up in Menu, But Still Accessible

    Before, the Scribble effect used to be found under Effects > Stylize. In the 2026 version, it's gone. Only Glowing Edges appears under Stylize. But when I search for Scribble by hitting the magnifying glass icon and typing it in, I can access the effect and still use it. Some people still use this effect for making ikat-inspired shapes, for example...I think it was removed from the menu by accident. Please readd it under Effects > Stylize.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. 3D and Materials is very buggy in Illustrator 30.7

    I had no problems using this Effect up until recently, the update from 30.2.1 to 30.7 didn't solve it.

    Numbers and cursors are glitchy: text fields cannot be used to input a value in the Y and Z rotation of the 3D Effects window.

    3D and Materials applied to text makes the text clip out and loses its outer edges when using Ray Tracing (reproduced with different fonts, always the same issue).

    Doesn't make a difference if the text has been outlined or not.

    I believe that somehow the Perspective is turned on and stretches the letters or adds spacing…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Performance issue / Freezing with Transform Effect after v30.6 update

    After updating to Adobe Illustrator v30.6, I am experiencing significant lag, freezing, and hanging when using the Appearance > fx > Distort & Transform > Transform effect. This performance degradation was not present in previous versions of the application.

    I use the Transform feature extensively in my templates. Following the latest update, I am encountering this exact same issue across all of my Windows 11 PCs.

    I hope this gets addressed and fixed in the next version update.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. 2026 completely misrenders Inner Glow applied to an individual fill

    If I apply an Inner Glow to an individual fill, I just get a flat fill in the glow color at the desired transparency, with no glow effect going on.

    This is new to 2026, it worked fine in 2025.

    Repro file is attached.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. Bounding box with Use Preview Bounds get calculated wrong for a specific appearance applied

    When Use Preview Bounds is enabled, the bounding box doesn’t hug the object as expected, calculating the final dimensions wrong.
    Just open the faile attached, select the circle, go to the Appearance panel, double-click contents to access the only child of the group, and change the stroke. Once it's changed, the bounding box becomes larger than the actual bounds stays like this until the document is reloaded.

    Originally reported as a part of another bug, now fixed: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/44770009

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  19. Drop shadows in .ai files hide original object

    When drop shadows are applied to placed images and the file is saved, only the drop shadow shows up both in the preview on MacOS, as well as when importing to InDesign or Photoshop. RGB or CMYK (in Illustrator) doesn't matter, the placed object is always missing.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. カラーフォントを指定したテキストのドロップシャドウが正しく表示されない

    macOS14.7.2
    ver.30.3.

    再現手順
    1. ドキュメント上にポイントテキストを追加し「TEST STRING」と入力。
    2. Trajan Color Conceptフォントを指定する。
    3. 効果→スタイライズ→ドロップシャドウを指定する。
    4. 効果部分がドロップシャドウだけでなく、半調になったテキストが含まれる。

    期待する結果
    ドロップシャドウのみがテキストに追加される。

    実際の結果
    カラーフォントを指定したテキストはドロップシャドウ部分に不透明度が低下した状態のテキストが含まれる。

    EN
    Steps to Reproduce
    1. Add point text to the document and type “TEST STRING”.
    2. Select the Trajan Color Concept font().
    3. Select Effect > Stylize > Drop Shadow.
    4. The effect includes not only the drop shadow but also the text rendered in halftones.

    Expected Result
    Only the drop shadow is applied to the text.

    Actual Result
    Text using a color font includes text rendered with reduced opacity in the drop shadow area.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?