Skip to content

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

8341 results found

  1. Illustrator 30.6: Window geometry is corrupted after exiting Presentation Mode on MacBook Pro M4 (macOS Tahoe 26.5.2)

    I can consistently reproduce a window geometry issue in Adobe Illustrator after exiting Presentation Mode.
    After pressing Esc to leave Presentation Mode, the Illustrator document window returns with an incorrect size that extends beyond the visible area of the built-in MacBook display.
    The issue only occurs on the built-in display. If Illustrator is moved to an external monitor, the problem does not occur.

    System
    Adobe Illustrator 30.6
    macOS Tahoe 26.5.2
    MacBook Pro 14-inch (M4, November 2024)

    Steps to reproduce
    Launch Illustrator.
    Open any document.
    Make sure the document window is on the built-in MacBook display.
    Enter Presentation Mode (Shift +…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  2. Select > Same > Object menu has Unicode square is visible in front of hotkeys

    Select > Same > Object has a Unicode White Square □ in front of each displayed hotkey combination — these probably should indent the hotkeys to the right side, and it never happens.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  3. Custom letter shortcuts are not displayed in menus on macOS (JIS keyboard)

    Environment
    Illustrator 2026 (30.0&30.6)
    macOS 26.5.2
    Japanese (JIS) keyboard

    Issue
    Custom keyboard shortcuts work correctly, but shortcuts using letters or symbols are not displayed in the application menus.
    Numeric shortcuts (for example ⌘1, ⌘2) are displayed correctly.
    Letter shortcuts (for example ⌘@, ⌥⌘R) execute correctly but are not shown in the menus.
    The shortcuts are visible in Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts and are saved correctly.
    This appears to be a menu display issue only.
    Steps to reproduce
    Open Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts.
    Assign a custom shortcut using a letter (e.g. ⌘@).
    Save the shortcut set.
    Observe that the shortcut works.…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. Adobe Illustrator Pantone Connect LAB Color Bug

    My team is running into a bug with Pantone Connect integration in Illustrator.

    Steps to repeat:
    1. Create Adobe Illustrator file.
    2. Add Pantone swatch with Pantone Connect.
    3. Swatch is LAB color, as it should be.
    4. Save as PDF.
    5. Import PDF into InDesign, and it comes in as a CMYK Pantone swatch.
    6. If we import the native AI file, it comes comes in as a LAB Pantone swatch.

    We also noticed that if you put something like a rectangle in the document, and have it selected, when you select your swatch in Pantone Connect, it will…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. Cannot register Japanese script names containing dakuten (voiced marks) in Actions

    Illustrator 2026で、アクション機能と日本語スクリプト名に関する再現可能な問題を見つけました。
    濁点を含む日本語名の JSX スクリプトは、「ファイル → スクリプト」に正常に表示され、通常どおり実行できます。
    しかし、「アクション → メニュー項目を挿入」を使用して同じスクリプトを登録しようとすると、Illustrator はそのメニュー項目を見つけられません。

    例えば、スクリプト名は次のとおりです。

    テキストばらしAI.jsx

    しかし、メニュー上では次のように表示されます。

    テキストはらしAI

    濁点付きの「ば」が「は」として表示されます。

    このため、アクションではスクリプトを検索・登録できません。
    スクリプト名を英数字のみへ変更すると、アクションへの登録・実行は正常に行えます。
    このことから、Illustrator 2026では、アクションのメニュー項目登録時に濁点を含む日本語ファイル名を正しく処理できていない可能性があります。

    Steps to Reproduce
    1、濁点を含む日本語名の JSX ファイルを用意する。

    2、Illustrator を再起動する。

    3、「ファイル → スクリプト」に表示され、正常に実行できることを確認する。

    4、「アクション → メニュー項目を挿入」を開く。

    5、スクリプトを登録しようとする。

    6、メニュー項目が見つからず、登録できない。

    Expected Result
    濁点を含む日本語名のスクリプトも正しく表示され、アクションから検索・登録できるべきです。

      

    I found a reproducible issue in Illustrator 2026 regarding Actions and Japanese script names.
    A JSX script with a Japanese filename containing dakuten (voiced characters) appears correctly under File → Scripts and can be executed normally.

    However, when I try to register the same script using Actions → Insert Menu Item, Illustrator cannot find the menu item.
    For example, the…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Actions  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. "Save each artboard to a separate file" creates AI files with hidden layers and missing linked files

    Adobe Illustrator 2026
    30.6.0 (Windows 11)

    I discovered an issue when saving an Illustrator document with multiple artboards as separate AI files.

    1. Create an Illustrator document with multiple artboards.
    2. Place artwork on each artboard, including linked images/files.
    3. Go to File > Save As.
    4. Choose Adobe Illustrator (.ai).
    5. Enable "Save each artboard to a separate file".
    6. Save the files.

    Expected result:
    Each generated AI file should contain all artwork from the corresponding artboard, with all layers remaining visible and all linked files preserved.

    Actual result:
    When opening the generated AI files in Illustrator, the files initially appear to…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  7. Vector shape out of place after saving as SVG

    This is about the version 30.6. After saving the illustration as SVG, some elements got out of place.
    As you'll see on the attachment, the black elements should be aligned to the road lanes.
    I had to down grade to version 30.1 (desktop) to fix it.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Bounding box with Use Preview Bounds get calculated wrong for a specific appearance applied

    When Use Preview Bounds is enabled, the bounding box doesn’t hug the object as expected, calculating the final dimensions wrong.
    Just open the faile attached, select the circle, go to the Appearance panel, double-click contents to access the only child of the group, and change the stroke. Once it's changed, the bounding box becomes larger than the actual bounds stays like this until the document is reloaded.

    Originally reported as a part of another bug, now fixed: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447/suggestions/44770009

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. Shapes move when scaling

    Window 11 Pro
    Ai verion: 30.6

    Make a square and add a stroke. Align stroke to center. Grab the top path with selection arrow and pull down. The square will decrease in size but the bottom of the square will move down a little. It should stay in place. This happens with outside aligned stroke as well, but not inside.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Need More Info  ·  2 comments  ·  Strokes  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. メモリ食い過ぎ。強制終了せざるを得なくなる。新機能や生成AIはいらないから安定を希望する。

    メモリ食い過ぎ。強制終了せざるを得なくなる。新機能や生成AIはいらないから安定を希望する。使用するかしないか選択できるような改善が必要。

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. Extremely Sluggish after Using Edit Toolbar

    Picking any tool from Edit Toolbar will bring Illustrator to a crawl. Popups become unresponsive for around 5 seconds. If I start Illustrator while holding down Shift Ctrl Alt, it works great - but only when I do so. If I don't, it's back to being slow. Running Illustrator as an Administrator also makes it run great.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  12. Object Selection and Text Editing Issues in Illustrator 2026

    Operating system and Adobe Illustrator desktop version:
    Adobe Illustrator desktop version: Illustrator 2026

    Steps to reproduce:

    Open a file in Adobe Illustrator 2026.
    Try to select an object using the Selection Tool.
    Try to select and edit a text object, including changing the font or text content.

    Expected result:
    Objects should be selected smoothly and accurately.
    The selection cursor/arrow should remain stable.
    Text objects and fonts should be selectable so that the text can be edited normally.

    Actual result:
    Objects cannot be selected or grabbed reliably.
    The selection cursor/arrow does not behave consistently.
    Text objects and fonts cannot be selected…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  13. Area Type text disappears after editing in Illustrator 30.6 (macOS), Composer recomposition causes inconsistent rendering

    [Environment]
    •Application: Adobe Illustrator 30.6
    •Platform: macOS
    •Language: Korean UI
    •Text Type: Area Type
    •Composer: Japanese Composer
    •Language Options: East Asian Options enabled

    [Summary]
    While editing an Area Type text frame, several characters near the end of the text were modified. Immediately afterward, a portion of the text disappeared.
    The text itself still exists and is selectable, but is no longer rendered correctly.
    The issue is also reproduced in exported PDF files.
    Creating outlines renders all missing text correctly.
    Changing the Composer temporarily restores the missing text, but introduces different layout corruption (first-line indentation becomes incorrect).
    Creating a brand-new Area…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. Illustrator not snapping to guides while holding shift key

    Illustrator 30.6 Mac is not snapping to guides while holding shift key.

    When creating a square, so I'm holding the shift key to constrain, it will not snap to a guide. If I let go of the shift key, then it does snap to the guide——but then I don't have an actual square! Why does it not snap to guide if I'm holding the shift key?! Makes now sense, and makes using Illustrator so frustrating. Slows my work down.

    Please fix!

    (Also, Illustrator is STILL NOT snapping to artboard edges--with Smart Guides on or off!)

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Snapping  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. Preenchimento e linha do vetor saiu fora da seleção

    Como na imagem, enquanto movia o desenho, o contorno e preenchimento ficaram totalmente desalinhado da seleção do vetor

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Opacity Slider Not Visible If Docked to Bottom

    If you dock top panel with tools and actions to the bottom you can't see the slider for Opacity at all. Other menus like "Stroke" and "Style" are popping up just fine.

    1. Windows 11
    2. 30.6
    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. Sizes of vector art is NOT accurate

    When I select a vector graphic (a logo), I go to Transform to set the size.
    I set the size to 3in x 3in
    But when I PRINT and measure the graphic, it is NOT 3in x 3in.
    I have to set the graphic to 3.1in x 3.1in in order to output an actual 3in x 3in graphic

    This has caused me a LOT of issues when I am outputting graphics that need to be a specific size.

    WHY are the transform measurements NOT accurate?

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. Export for Screens Inaccurate on Large-Size Canvas

    The export for screens, scaling by width option does not always export at the right size. For example, I will input 2000 pixels, but the exported images will be 20,000 pixels. Sometimes, it does output 2000 pixels as desired. I believe the pattern may be whether the file is a large-sized canvas or not, the large-size canvas being the inaccurate export. For the time, I have been using "200" to get 2,000 pixels. However, this feature is essential for exporting mockups of large-format prints as the true size is too large for sharing. Usually I am exporting JPG. I am…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  19. Regression: Freeform Gradient renders differently after scaling in Illustrator 30.5.1 (same AI file renders correctly in 29.0)

    Illustrator Versions

    • Illustrator 29.0 → Works correctly

    • Illustrator 30.5.1 → Incorrect rendering

    I found a rendering regression between Illustrator 29.0 and Illustrator 30.5.1.

    The exact same AI file renders differently depending on the Illustrator version.

    The artwork contains a Compound Path with a Freeform Gradient.

    In Illustrator 29.0, the rendering is correct.

    In Illustrator 30.5.1, after scaling the object, the color interpolation changes unexpectedly.

    Most noticeably, the letter "o" changes its rendered appearance even though the Freeform Gradient control points remain exactly the same.


    1. Open the attached AI file.

    2. Select the Compound Path containing the "only" logo.

    3. Scale…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Gradients  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. The alignment tool isn't working

    STOP UPDATES NOW
    The alignment tool isn't working right now. Thanks. Why don't you find another job instead of justifying your salary by causing more damage to the software.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?