Skip to content

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

1204 results found

  1. 「ドキュメントの描画モードを分離」を適用したIllustrator形式ファイルを配置すると中身が表示されない

    macOS13.6.7/Windows11
    Illustrator.28.6

    1. 新規ドキュメント上に適当に図形を描画、描画モード(乗算など)を設定する。
    2. ドキュメントの描画モードを分離を設定してIllustrator2020形式(PDF五感)で保存する。
    3. 新規ドキュメントを作成し、先のドキュメントを配置する。
    4. 配置されたドキュメントの内容が表示されず、空白のドキュメントを配置した状態と同様にある。

    期待する結果
    配置ドキュメントを正常に描画する。

    実際の結果
    配置された「ドキュメントの描画モードを分離」を行ったIllustrator形式ファイルは内容を正常に表示できない。

    回避方法
    Illustratorドキュメントに配置する場合Illustrator形式ファイルではなく別途PDFを書き出せば配置は可能ですが、データによってはPDFが意図したとおり書き出されない場合があります。
    基本的にはドキュメントに対してのこれらの処理は行わずに個別に調整するのが無難です。

    ここでは「ドキュメントの描画モードを分離」を行ったドキュメントについて報告しましたが、「ドキュメントのグループの抜き」が適用されたIllustrator形式ファイルも同様の問題を抱えています。

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    Under Review  ·  MIE responded

    ご報告いただきました内容について只今検証中です。

    進展がありましたら追ってご連絡差し上げます。

    よろしくお願いいたします。

    イラストレーターデスクトップ版チーム

  2. Export for Screens does not remember color model format settings for JPG 100, JPG 80, etc.

    When Illustrator is closed, it forgets the color model that was chosen for exporting JPEGs with Export for Screens.

    For reference of how this setting is accessed:
    File > Export > Export for Screens
    Then in the Formats area, click the gear icon.
    In the column, select any of the JPG formats (JPG 100, JPG 80, et cetera).
    Then there is a drop-down labeled "Color Model" that allows you to choose between CMYK, RGB, and grayscale.

    If you select RGB then click "Save Settings" it will remember the setting while Illustrator is open. But when you close Illustrator, and open…

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  3. Unable to "Save for Web (Legacy)"

    When trying to save for web I get the following error "Could not complete this operation. An unknown error has occurred"

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. SVG Export Settings not applied

    Operating System: macOS Monterey v12.1
    Illustrator version: 26.1

    Steps:
    1. Open .ai file or .svg file in Illustrator that uses a gradient
    2. Export as SVG with the following settings (see attached screenshot):
    - Styling: Presentation attributes
    - Font: SVG
    - Images: Preserve
    - Object IDs: Unique
    - Decimal 2
    - Minify: yes
    - Responsive: yes

    Expected Result:
    - The SVG elements use the "fill", "stroke", etc attributes directly
    - No <style> tag
    - No inline style attributes in the SVG elements
    - Object IDs are random strings (uuid)
    - SVG shouldn't have the <?xml starting tag

    Actual Result:
    -…

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. Error css classes in svg export

    In version before 26.2, applying a graphic style to a simple object (rectangle, line, etc.) allowed the name of that graphic style to be used as a CSS class in the an exported SVG. So a graphic style of "thick-outline" would become a CSS class called ".thick-outline" when the SVG file was exported with internal CSS.

    Now, a useless class called "cls-1" is applied to the illustrator object instead, making re-use of overriding of the style in the SVG difficult. This is a regression that makes the usefulness of the SVG export feature limited.

    See below for a comparison of…

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. Data Recovery is Disabled for This Document

    Shortly after creating a new file, I receive the message "Data recover is disabled for this document due to an error in recovery process in last session. To enable data recovery, save this document with a different name.". I've not used any complex art and have not saved the file.

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  7. Doesn't open cloud files

    Illustrator just couldn't open a file saved in the cloud.
    This issue only occurring when a file was double-clicked. When I single click on the file, it opens normally after installation.
    This problem has occurred after the update.

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Recovery Files Missing, Autorecovery enabled

    I had auto-recovery on before Illustrator crashed however when I restarted the program I received a prompt that said auto-recovery is now disabled. I tried to manually recover the files from the data recovery folder but there are no files in the folder even though it say the most recent update was when I last opened the missing files.

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. Accessible title is ignored when opening or exporting an SVG

    When an SVG document with a <title> element is opened, the title appears to be silently dropped. I don't see it in the Document Title of the File Properties nor in any layer. Moreover, when a Document Title is provided in the File Properties no <title> element is created in the SVG export. This is a significant barrier to creating accessible content for a file type that is becoming ubiquitous on the web. Yes, a title can be entered separately in a text editor after export, but such a requirement unnecessarily adds significant fragility to the process of creating/editing accessible…

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. Illustrator 24.2 not saving changes!!!!!

    Since the last update it already happened twice, and I am mad as ****!!!

    I just had another file that I worked one day before, and when I opened it now, the file has a lot of missing changes! Pretty much hours of work are gone! And I will have to do all over again! Luckily I had saved a copy as PDF to show to the client, so some graphics I could recover, but all the text elements I will have to redo!

    And the crazy thing is that I have the habit of saving changes pretty much every…

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. Temp file string prepended to filename slug like "ai2483293123FileName.ai"

    When saving a PDF copy of a file with cropmarks to a network share a temporary string such as "ai157536670945_" is prepended to the filename in the page info/slug in the cropmark area.

    Ai 2020 24.01 Mac OS Catalina 10.15.1

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    Under Review  ·  Anjali responded

    Thanks for sharing the details.
    We are now able to reproduce the issue.
    The team will be looking into the problem.

    Thank you for the feedback.

  12. The hinting not applied when export to JPG with anti-aliasing set to Hint in "Export for screen"

    When exporting a JPG using "Export for screen", the hint information applied in the anti-aliasing setting is not applied and the expected output cannot be obtained.

    environment / OSX10.13.6/Illustrator ver.24.0.0

    Step to reproduce.
    1. Files -> Export -> Export for screen
    2. Set the Format as "JPG 100" and click the Preferences icon.
    3. Choose "JPG100" and set the Antialias as "Hint".
    4. Click apply and export.

    Result : The Hint no applied.

    We need to get correct images like Illustrator ver.23.

    Workaround
    Use another functionality such as "Save for Web" or use Illustrator ver.23.

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Disabling 'Export in Background' in Preferences > File Handling helps to workaround the problem (until the actual fix). Make sure you enable 'Art Optimized (Supersampling)' as an anti-aliasing option in Export for Screens settings as well.

  13. Google Backup and Sync (aka Google Drive) locks Illustrator files and saving fails unless I quit Backup and Sync.

    This happens intermittently but frequently. Google support assures me this is not caused by them, though I don't believe it. Still, is there anything that can be done from Adobe's side?

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. "Save as PDF"/"View PDF after saving" checked/Acrobat DC error "file not found"

    "Save as PDF"/"View PDF after saving" checked/Acrobat DC error "file not found"
    10/4/2019 Illustrator CC update broke "Save as" PDF option of viewing the PDF after a save-as to PDF. Acrobat DC gives a"PDF not found" error, but displays the file in the "Recent" Home window.

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. Image embed option in SVG options does not work

    Environment:
    OS: Windows 10 Home
    Illustrator Version 23.0.3 (64 bit)

    Recreating the bug:
    1. Create some Illustrator artwork with a linked image (.jpg, .png, etc).
    2. Export an SVG through File > Export > Export As...
    3. Select the Image > Embed option.

    The resulting SVG does not contain the image. This was an issue introduced with Illustrator 2019, the 2018 version worked fine. Right now I'm embedding the image into the AI file itself as a workaround and then exporting it using the same method since that embeds the image into the SVG, but it would be nice if…

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. cannot place image into Illustrator.

    Cannot place or drage image to illustrator.
    Sometimes only a rectangle with X in the middle appears, or just the selection pointer appears after I try to place (using the menu) or dragging an image to the Illustrator.
    I used different *.png, *.jpg files and I could not place image in the illustrator.
    Need help.
    I use Windows 10.

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. Illustrator doesn't support 'vector-effect' in SVG import

    Illustrator doesn't support 'vector-effect' in SVG import.
    'vector-effect' has 3 values : non-scaling-stroke | none | inherit

    https://jsfiddle.net/api/mdn/
    Please open it any browser and you will see the perfect result (scaling) which is not supporting on any version of Illustrator.

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. svg text

    Exporting SVG on Illustrator CC 2019 23.0.2 on MacOS 10.14.3 is giving inconsistent results in regards to text. I am trying to export a file as an SVG with Font option set to SVG. However, the SVG file exported has some texts converted to paths or outlines and some texts are preserved as texts, which is what is desired. We have also tried this under Illustrator CC 2019 23.0.1 on Windows 10 Home with same results. We have included a sample file for you to test.

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Hi Akshay,

    We were able to confirm the issue that you see. The issue indeed does not happen with Illustrator 2018 (22.1).

    We identified hyphenation as the potential culprit. To workaround the issue, either disable hyphenation in the Paragraph panel or make sure text does not get hyphenated.

    We are sorry that you experience the issue and are working on fixing the issue.

    The Adobe Illustrator Team

  19. Can't save preview - error notice |

    after simply saving an illustration
    i get this error.
    It seems i get it across both my systems
    uninstalled and reinstalled illustrator (AiCC18)
    i still get it...
    seems to not affect the files them selves...(all seems well)
    Just seems to be a bit anoying...

    kai
    †

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    The issue seems to be file corruption, our support should be able to recover some of the information when you contact them. A file normally corrupts when the disk is not available during file wrote or when Illustrator crashes. We also do not support network drives which is prone to file corruption when writing large files.
    Please get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html . Since this is not a generic issue that we can reproduce at our end, we will need someone to look into your machine to figure out what is going on here.

    Warm Regards,
    Ashutosh Chaturvedi | Sr. Quality Engineering Manager – Illustrator

  20. Cannot open multiple files

    1. Version 21.1.0 (windows)
    2. Selecting multiple files, right clicking to open all files
    3. Expected results that all files open the same way I have been opening files for years.
    4. Only one file opens and locks illustrator, need to close out program through task manager, restart computer and that sometimes fixes the issue. If not I have to uninstall and reinstall illustrator and that fixes the issue for a day or two.
    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
1 2 … 6 8 10 … 60 61
  • Don't see your idea?