Illustrator (Desktop) Feature Requests
When entering a new feature request, please provide:
- Description
- Why is this valuable to you?
- or
962 results found
-
Add "Crop Image Data to Frames" option to PDF Export (after first adding PDF Export).
InDesign can crop image data to frames, which can significantly shrink PDF files. Why is this long existing InDesign feature missing from Illustrator? Please add it. There is no excuse.
5 votes -
Keyboard Command for Expanding Objects
Please. It's so much more intuitive to press ctrl/cmd+a and expand using the keyboard. I work with other peoples files all the time so being able to easily expand their files to make them work is critical.
3 votesYou can assign your own hotkeys via Edit > Keyboard shortcuts, including Object > Expand, Expand Appearance, and object-specific Expand commands (Blend, Shape, Envelope, etc.)
-
Some computers cannot successfully output SVG files
Unable to output SVG in the format of a style attribute. May be the reason for incompatibility with the system
1 vote -
Option to export to clipping mask boundaries
When exporting assets to raster formats, it would be a huge time saver if we had an option to use the boundaries of clipping masks as the edge of the exported artwork. I created three triangles and used a circle as a clipping mask in the attached image. You can see that the exported file has a lot of padding around the artwork because the outer edges of the triangles are used as the boundaries of the file.
If there was an additional option to use the clipping mask boundary as the edge of the exported raster file, it would…
-
Artboard 1.png 317 KB -
Artboard 2.png 7 KB -
Artboard 1.png 7 KB -
Outline View.PNG 31 KB -
Exports Fine.PNG 35 KB -
Issue Exporting.PNG 28 KB -
Ekran Kaydı 2019-01-04 12.27.16s2.mov 27590 KB -
Screen Shot 08-29-18 at 02.10 PM 001.PNG 214 KB -
CE-serving_.jpg 56 KB -
Untitled-1-01.jpg 63 KB -
Untitled-1-01.png 33 KB -
Illustator_ClippingMask_Bug.ai 188 KB -
Screen_Shot_2017-09-28_at_10.01.53_AM.png 314 KB -
Export.jpg 27 KB
526 votesHi Everyone,
The fix has been rolled out and is available in our latest release build – 24.1.1 for Win and 24.1 for Mac which is available worldwide now.
What’s new in 24.1: https://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/using/whats-new.html
You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html
Thank you for all the feedback.
-
-
Overprint simulation on image file exports (JPEG for example)
I think that it would add great value when Illustrator exports to image file the option to add overprint simulation, in the same way as InDesign easily does.
I would add great benefit to our jobs and would simplify some steps (not going to InDesign just to do that).14 votes -
File > Adobe PDF Presets menu, to have even faster PDF export options
Starting with build 28.6, we can now Export As PDF (thanks to this request: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/32841790)
This works alongside with a pervious lesser known method: Save a Copy, as PDF.
However, exporting a PDF copy to make a quick 'snapshot' still feels slow — we get a dialog and have to choose a preset we want to use.
Meanwhile InDesign offers a handy configurable menu that allows to skip format options and go with a chosen preset, like the attached screenshot shows.
Please make a similar menu.
41 votes -
Save from Illustrator to iPad Cloud
I need to be able to save illustrator files to the cloud for ipad use, as I can for Photoshop.
4 votesYou can save documents to cloud in new versions of Illustrator
-
Bigger text input files for generative prompts
Two lines are way too less in many cases. Make it scalable. Preferably automatic ;-)
3 votes -
File Management
Hi, it would be a great feature in Illustrator if you could see at a glance where the illustrator file is linked eg Indesign or Framemaker.
This would help massively and save considerable time when updating files that use the same linked Illustrator file.
Thank you
Phil Crowcroft
1 vote -
Save A Copy Action with current name of file
Currently, if you create an Action and go to File > Save A Copy... with a PDF Preset and in specific folder or desktop etc., it saves the file name that you create the Action with in the Action.
It doesn't update to the new file you are applying the action to. So if you run this action on several documents they all save over each other unless you manually change the file name in the operating system.
It would be nice if there was an option that lets you add the file name to which the action is being…11 votes -
Set all colour palette swatches to Global as default
Could we have all default swatches and custom colour swatches we select set as 'Global' when are working in a document? Or at least be able to select multiple swatches all at once and make Global? Why is the default 'non-Global' when colours are likely to be used regularly across multiple working files?
7 votes -
I cannot see my file when I open it into Illustrator. The app opens but the file is hidden.
I cannot open my files into Illustrator. I try to open it but the app launches but no file is visible. I try to "Open file…" and it says that it is already opened. I cannot see it. I can only see it if I go to "Arrange" and "Float windows". This is a new issue.
2 votes -
Illustrator window should stay maximized when opening existing documents from Explorer
What we want is simple, make it so that opening an Ai file from File Explorer does not change if Ai is in windowed mode, or fullscreen mode.
This has been an issue for years that disrupts the workflow of users on a regular basis. Here is an old forum thread going back as far as June 2012 further detailing this ongoing issue: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1026020
When opening an Ai file from File Explorer, Illustrator automatically Restores down to a window from Maximized mode. While the work-around, (of extending edges of Illustrator's window from edge-to-edge of the desired monitor), minimizes the impact…
44 votes -
Please let list of scripts displayed in File > Scripts get updated
When I add or make changes to Scripts folder, I have to relaunch AI to make it see changes. How difficult it would be to add an option there to auto-update it, or just to add command 'Update scripts'?
35 votes -
Keep Linked Image File Name and other data when it gets Embedded
Keep File Name on Embedded Images. So many times the file name disappears after the image is embedded and the file is saved. If you have multiple versions of an image it would be helpful to have the file name.
11 votes -
Ability to link "Data set name" upon CSV import for Variables panel
Currently when you "load variable Library" from a CSV illustrator defaults each Data Set with "Data Set 1, Data Set 2, Data Set 3, Data Set 4... ect."
Currently the only way I know to rename that data set is to manually rename each data set by selecting that data set from the drop down menu, and selecting "rename data set" from the options panel, and then either typing or copy and pasting some text in.
I use data sets for more batch like designing, it would be really nice if we could bind the data set name to a…
33 votes -
Allow to set custom default layer colors, with options
In 2017 we asked to allow to customize colors for layers, so that edges drawn for object didn’t burn our eyes out: http://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/333657/suggestions/31535431
In 2020 Illustrator team removed yellow color from the default 5th color for new layers, shifting the order, but never did anything with cyan, gray, black...
We need an ability to set up our own order for these colors.
We need to be able to store these as presets, so we can switch these.
We need a way to make a certain order preferred in a template or a document profile.
We need an ability to remap…
41 votes -
save to cloud documents for illustrator and other apps
Can we please add the function of saving to the adobe cloud documents on apps other than PSD?? Currently after the 2020 update there is a function window that pops up when you click save/save as and it gives you the option to save to the adobe cloud documents, which is great because it saves me from using space on my flash disc memory. However, sadly illustrator does not have this option, it only has the option to save to the creative cloud synced files which is different from cloud documents because synced files still takes up space on your…
7 votes -
Allow to choose if the Save dialog should "remember the last file format used / PDF is set as a default filetype when saving a new document
Ever since last update, if i save off a pdf and then create a brand new doc and go to save it, it goes to PDF automatically when it used to always default to .ai so i forget and get to the PDF options and then have to cancel and go back and retype my file name which is just annoying and remembering the last format is not helpful. Almost as annoying as PS trying to export in the last export location instead of the same folder as the .PSD --- NOT HELPFUL
Mac OS 15.5 (24F74)
Ai 29.634 votesHi everyone,
In the latest BETA 30.0.21, we’ve improved the ‘Save As’ workflow.
Now, instead of remembering the last used format, the default will always be .AI.
We made this change to ensure that your files are consistently saved in the native Illustrator format, which is the most reliable option for preserving full editability.
Please try out he changes by downloading the latest BETA from the Creative Cloud and let us know if it helps you or not.
-
Make the Illustrator Home Screen Responsive
Problem:
Right now, the Home screen is center-justified and fixed-width. On wide monitors, this creates huge blank space between the left sidebar and the file previews. Even worse, recent projects are hidden off-screen until the app window is stretched far enough. They don’t wrap, resize, or scroll, they just vanish.Why this sucks:
Users with wide displays waste massive amounts of screen real estate.
Important files appear to be “missing” unless you manually widen the window.
The layout looks like an old webpage centered in a box, not professional software.Screenshots attached:
Welcome screen: can’t see all projects unless window…2 votes
- Don't see your idea?