Skip to content

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

8343 results found

  1. Free transform tool is still broken.

    Free transform tool is still broken in CC 2018.

    Look at the comparison.

    13 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    4 comments  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    I am happy to share that we have fixed this bug in our latest release – 23.0.6 which is available worldwide now.

    Going forward, our goal is to fix as many top User-Voice bugs as possible and as frequently as possible. Given the nature of the fixes, some of the bugs will take a longer time to fix, but we are on it.

    You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html

    Thank you for all the feedback. Keep it coming!

  2. 2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Gradients  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  3. Transform grayed out

    Very frequently (might be even 50 percent of the time) when I select an object the "Transform" and "Arrange" options in the "Object" menu (as well as the associated keystrokes) are grayed out as unavailable. When I deselect the menu and then select the menu again the "Transform" and "Arrange" options have magically become available. Selecting the menu a second time always "fixes" this.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. Placed .tiff file making vector image disappear

    In my line of work we have "distresses" that we place over the vector image that we've created. The distresses are .tiff files and with the last update have began making the vector image disappear. When printed everything is fine. However most of the time we also have to export as a .png to send our customers a proof and we have to export several times before getting a .png we can use.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Under Review  ·  5 comments  ·  Performance  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. Media size setting of print dialog returns to default settings on changing color via swatches (or apply arrowhead via strokes)

    Any operating system (happens on both Windows and Mac)
    Illustrator Version 22.x or 21.x

    Change "media size" in print setting from "Defined by Driver" to any paper.
    Finish the print dialog ("Done" click).
    Select from the color book with Swatches panel, or set the arrow with the Stroke panel.
    When returning to the print setting again, the media size returns to "Defined by Driver".

    Does not occur before Version 20 (CC 2015.5).

    Possibility to occur when using settings that refer to another Illustrator file.

    Problems reported in the Japan Forum.
    https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2424994

    13 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Print  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    I am happy to share that we have fixed this bug in our latest release – 23.0.6 which is available worldwide now.

    Going forward, our goal is to fix as many top User-Voice bugs as possible and as frequently as possible. Given the nature of the fixes, some of the bugs will take a longer time to fix, but we are on it.

    You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html

    Thank you for all the feedback. Keep it coming!

  6. Export fails for path item with pattern stroke

    Using File -> Export -> Save for Web or File -> Export -> Export For Screens (at scale greater than 1x) will give an error: "Could not complete this operation. An unknown error has occurred". This error only occurs when this particular item is visible and involved in the area to be exported.
    See attached file and screenshots including that of mentioned path item.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  7. Cursor jumps while editing Font Family name

    When I try to change font name from HeliosCondBlackC to HeliosBlackC (both are installed), erasing part of the name, CC2018 moves cursor to the end (while CC2017 does not)
    I also have 'Entire Font name' option chosen (and never change it), but cursor still jumps to the end.

    12 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    I am happy to share that we have fixed this bug in our release – 23.1 which is available worldwide now.

    Going forward, our goal is to fix as many top User-Voice bugs as possible and as frequently as possible. Given the nature of the fixes, some of the bugs will take a longer time to fix, but we are on it.

    You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html

    Thank you for all the feedback. Keep it coming!

  8. Live shape missing radius

    When creating a shape, then deleting an anchor point, the remaining anchor point does not have radius transforming options available.

    See screenshots.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. Breaking link of scaled Symbol with "Scale strokes and effects" off will scale Symbol appearance back to original.

    Illustrator CC 2018
    Windows 10

    I have put a Symbol on my Artboard, and scaled it to 50% of its original size.
    I want to break its link, and maintain its proportional appearance (i.e. stroke width half of original).
    If "Scale strokes and effects" is off, stroke sizes are doubled (back to original value). You have to tick it on for it to work as expected.

    Is this a bug or a feature?

    In the attached image, to the left is the Symbol (at 50% scale) broken with tick on, to the right off.

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    9 comments  ·  Symbols  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. Drop shadows unnecessarily re-render when placing new images, slowing workflow

    As of 5/22/18 using Illustrator 22.1, all existing drop shadow effects within document re-render each time a new image is placed. Rendering can take up to 30 seconds to process (a Progress dialogue box appears), which slows down workflow considerably.

    This is never an issue with InDesign or Photoshop, so I'd love to see this fixed in Illustrator. Thanks!

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. Font point size change

    In the new CC 2018 release, when changing font point sizes, the program registers every keystroke entered in the font size field of the character box. For example, if piece of text is set to size 10, and you want to change it to size 15, entering "15" into the character panel changes the font briefly to size 1, until the 5 is entered and then it changes to 15. When undoing this change using command-z, the it requires two keystrokes to return from 15 to 10, because the first undo returns it to size 1, and the second then…

    14 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We have the fix available in the latest release. Please update Illustrator using Adobe Creative Cloud application to the latest build for version Illustrator CC 22.1.
    Please refer to our knowledge base FAQ – https://illustrator.uservoice.com/knowledgebase/articles/1844590 if you face difficulty in update.
    Or get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html

    Warm Regards,
    Ashutosh Chaturvedi | Sr. Quality Engineering Manager – Illustrator
    Adobe. Make It an Experience.

  12. Outline mode does not work

    I have Illustrator CC, I have tried the work around of Ctrl+E then Ctrl+Y.
    Outline mode displays the lines but freeze and won’t allow the color to leave the image or the lines to be manipulated. I’m so fed up how could I possibly use this program professionally, i have looked up the work around and tried Ctrl+E followed by Ctrl+Y and have tried to access through view mode, still no joy. I have shut down and reopened files 8 times and started again three times on new art board. This problem has gone on for two days. I had…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  13. Acrobat DC PDF file has a difference spot color name than the same PDF imported into Illustrator

    1. A production file was created in Illustrator CC 2017 (21.1.0) Windows 7 and saved as a PDF for print.
    2. The file needed editing and when opened again in CC 2018 (22.1.0) on Windows 10, one of the spot color names in illustrator is different from the PDF file.
    3. File-open repeats the issue, but File- Place imports the correct spot color name.
    4. Not only did the spot color name change but the text underneath a color call out, we do use Tortoise SVN software which could be part of the issue. Why would illustrator read that file differently than Acrobat DC?
    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. Tools and panels never open

    I am having a problem with Illustrator since a few days now and I just don't find solution for it.
    Every time I open Illustrator it forgets that the Control panel, the Tools panel and the other panels such as Transparency, Layers, Color, etc. was opened. It is really annoying to open them every time.
    Could someone give a solution. And I am using the latest version of Illustrator for 2 months now I think, and it started to do this only a few days ago.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. Creative Cloud is not syncing

    Creative Cloud files are constantly syncing in Illustrator. They don't show up online either. However, if I try to stop syncing through the app preferences it just displays error screens. I am on a Mac using High Sierra. log attached.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Smooth Anchor Bug

    Shapes created with the Blob brush, and then simplified with the simplify path tool are creating some weird smooth anchors that look like corner anchors based on the handle locations and line angles exiting the anchor. But when you grab a handle, they snap together or straight, changing the curve shape in an unintended and undesirable way without warning. Very frustration and time consuming to correct.

    8 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    2 comments  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. BUG - Illustrator won't open files

    Illustrator won't open files this is no good. On Illustrator vision 22.1 Mac book pro 2015

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Performance  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. CC 2018 Multiply Blend Mode Incorrect

    CC 2018 & Mac Sierra

    If you apply multiply blend mode to a path, group that and apply multiply again at the group level, you now get 2x multiply. This is wrong whether you look at this from a process ink or spot color printing.

    Omg the uploaded example, I am expecting both left and right sides to be identical to each other, as in versions prior to CC2018.

    We often get files from designers who will try to make a color look good on screen, and printing off a color laser printer. You could for example draw 2 overlapping…

    9 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    6 comments  ·  Print  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We could reproduce this issue at our end, following are the findings

    1. This issue is reproducible in CPU, GPU Rendering and Print Preview(thumbnail).
    2. Reproducible in older versions as well including Illustrator CS6 (not a new break in CC 2018)
    3. Works fine in Overprint Preview
    4. Works fine in Print & PDF

    Please confirm above observation match with the problem reported in this issue

  19. Unselctable and undo glitch

    When I go to select a shape or text item sometimes the bounding box disappears. Even when I go to show bounding box (command + Shift + B) the issue isn't resolved. I don't do anything different and it seems to happen randomly. I have to restart illustrator to fix it but sometimes that doesn't.

    Once the bounding box disappears I cannot track the type and if I move an item it goes back to its org place.

    Additionally, when I hit undo rather than going back one action it will go back 4 or 5 actions. This only happens…

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Other...  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. Overprint black does not record in action in CC2018

    In CS6 it was possible to record the properties of the Edit > Edit Colors > Overprint Black command into an action.

    In CC2018 (22.1) this is no longer possible and would appear to be a bug.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Actions  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?