Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs
When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:
- Details of your operating system
- The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop)
- The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
- Your expected result and the actual result
- Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)
8343 results found
-
Renaming an artboard deletes the original name
in previus version Illustrator if i need to rename artboard without deleting original name, i press in text field of artboard. In new version pressing on this field comes to delete original name
12 votesWe have the fix available in the latest release. Please update Illustrator using Adobe Creative Cloud application to the latest build for version Illustrator CC 23.0.
Please refer to our knowledge base FAQ – https://illustrator.uservoice.com/knowledgebase/articles/1844590 if you face difficulty in update.
Or get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.htmlWarm Regards,
Ashutosh Chaturvedi | Sr. Quality Engineering Manager – Illustrator
Adobe. Make It an Experience. -
Paste occasionally does not put the pasted art in the center of the view (artboard), even after Fit Artboard in Window
I'm about as expert an illustrator user can get — for years I've used FIT ARTBOARD (Command-0) as a way to cut/paste pixel perfectly centered artwork. The latest AI version 2017 is off - I realize align to artboard is the intended feature to attain this effect, however that way somewhat stinks because you can't make into a hotkey. Why doesn't Command-0 no longer perfectly center my artboard?
(NOTE: the off-centered-ness varies from .1 to .01 inches - so very small -- but significant if you're doing engineering grade designs) -- thank you.16 votesThis was marked as fixed in 2019, but there were several reports about this still happening after 2022.
Please vote and comment if this is something you occasionally experience still.
-
Cannot merge layers
Version 22.0.1 brand new download of Illustrator
'The action cannot complete because a parameter is invalid.'
(possibly a program error)...
This is what I get when trying to merge layers.9 votes -
Transform Each always uses visible preview bounds instead of expected geometric bounds, ignoring the state of Use Preview Bounds option
Rotate via Transform Each incorrectly places reference point.
1. Version: AI-CC 22.0.0
2. Steps taken:
Objects: Triangles with 1:1 height/width ratios. Stroked with stroke centered on vector and sharp corners.
Operation: Rotation via Transform Each command with a centered reference point.Expected result:
Since the vector was contained within a square bounding box (1:1 H:W), I expected the triangles to rotate without changing XY location.Actual result:
Rotations happened off-center, slightly moving the triangle toward the point that did not align with one of the bounding-box corners.
Additional Testing:
I tested the behavior of both the Rotate tool and the…9 votes -
Font Suggestion/Preview Font NOT Working on MAC's
I select a text box on my artboard and go to the Character panel to change the font. I was able to use the arrow keys up and down and see the font change on the artboard. This feature no longer works with CC2018 Mac.
Or I was able to start typing a font name into the Character panel and suggestions would pop up. This feature no longer works with CC2018 Mac.
I find this very irritating and a difficult way to work. This only happens on my MAC, my PC still works.
Can anyone help me with this?
CC2018…
3 votesHi,
Please get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html . Since this is not a generic issue that we can reproduce at our end, we will need someone to look into your machine to figure out what is going on here.
With best Regards,
Raghuveer Singh -
New File and Help Tabs Not Working
This is not an idea, it's a bug in the system. The 'File -> New' command does not work. If I click 'File -> New', it brings up a new window that remains black and does nothing. I found a work around. If I check the use 'legacy "File New" interface' box In the 'Edit -> Preferences -> General' dialog, only then will it allow me to create a new document.
I can, however, upon initially opening illustrator, create a new document. But say i'm working on a project and I want to create a new document with the 'File…
7 votesI am closing the ticket due to lack of response.
Please get in touch with us at sharewithai@adobe.com or any of the other support channels – helpx.adobe.com/support.html . Please give a reference to this post so that we can identify you.
Since this is not a generic issue that we can reproduce at our end, we will need someone to look into your machine to figure out what is going on here. -
Changing font by typing first character isn't working
Changing/selecting font by typing first character is not working
or scrolling with arrow has no preview.
illustrator cc8 votes -
Central Resize handles disappear when setting guides from the rulers
When setting a guide by dragging from the ruler, the center resize handles of a selected object (the handle it is directly in the middle of a selected object) disappear. A short cut i used to use often is if i wanted to find a centerline of something, i would create a temporary square between two points, then drop a guide at the center where the resize handle is because i know that is the center of the two points.
8 votes -
Zoom in and Zoom Out Through Mouse Wheel does not work
In previous Adobe PD and Illustrator versions i was using preferences setting to change the zoom with Mouse Wheel, but in this version it is not available.
18 votes -
"Save as SVG" exports mojibake-parttern-ID when it contains CJK character
Illustrator CC 2018 (v22.1) on Windows 7
When I save the attached document as SVG in any setting, the stripe patterns had gone completely. I checked up the exported SVG file and noticed the pattern ID defines itself correctly, but actual tag id referenced by "xlink:href" attribute is a wrong mojibake-ID.
And I know this will not happen when use "Export for Screen". It export correctly, but not scriptable. I think it very strange...
2 votes -
Slow/Won't Export/Won't Save
Have the latest version of Adobe Illustrator CC and the errors and error message are constant when exporting and saving.
3 votes -
Shape tools lagging and leaving mark when resizing
I just started using Illustrator CC 2018 on Windows 7. I began using some of the shape tools and started to experience an issue. Each time I go to resize a shape or move it, the shape leaves an impression of its previous size or location. I tried to uninstall Illustrator and then reinstall, yet the problem persists. If I minimize or maximize the art board the lines go away. I have also found that the smart guides don't work when re positioning the shapes.
2 votesPlease accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience. Please get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html . Since this is not a generic issue that we can reproduce at our end, we will need someone to look into your machine to figure out what is going on here.
Thanks & Regards,
Raghuveer Singh -
Artboard units do not update when I change ruler units
Hi all,
Video of the bug: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5yhDUw2YTY
Also posted this to the Community Forums.
The units of the artboard do not update in the properties panel when I change the Rulers Units.I have to de-select, and re-select the artboard to make this happen.
9 votesWe have the fix available in the latest release. Please update Illustrator using Adobe Creative Cloud application to the latest build for version Illustrator CC 23.0.1
Please refer to our knowledge base FAQ – https://illustrator.uservoice.com/knowledgebase/articles/1844590 if you face difficulty in update.
Or get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html -
"Export as" not working as expected
When I use File > Export > Xxport as ...e.g. png, using the "Use artboards" function the "Save As" dialog isn't working properly...
Firstly, it doesn't save the name I typed exactly... "Version 1.2.png" it somehow uses parts of already existing file names like "Version 1.2_Text.png" which is really weird...
Secondly, if I use parts of the name of a file that already exists like "Text_Version 1.2.png" in the saving process and Text.png already exists it asks me if I want to overwrite that file...
2 votesIf you still have the problem, please share a test file and a strict chain of steps to reproduce the problem, ideally with a video attached the team can follow. Please mention the exact names for the files already existing in the target folder also, if it matters.
-
Text size is not the same size as I set it
How do I get illustrator cc 18 which I pay per month for, to apply text size the same size on the monitor as I pick in the layout?? If I put in for instance .50 size text it will be approx. .375 on the monitor or my layout. This is aggravating. It is something I am doing wrong or HOW DO I CORRECT THIS SO IT WILL BE THE SAME SIZE AS I CHOOSE. THANKS Jerry L. Evans Kokomo, Indiana. I had illustrator 6 on disk I purchased and had no problems like this.
3 votes -
Properties panel contents scaling and freezing
The contents of the Properties panel is scaling down to tiny sizes. It doesn't reset until you quit and reopen Illustrator (CC 2018).
The scaling happens with ⌘+scroll while hovering on the panel. The contents will scale up or down as long as you are holding the ⌘, but if you let it go while the contents are scaled down the panel with freeze at that scale and won't respond to ⌘+scroll anymore. The panel's functions still seem to work fine after this.
6 votes -
Export As... in Actions Panel doesn't show dialog even if " show dialog" toggle is selected.
OS X version 10.12.6; Illustrator version 22.0.0
Previous versions of Illustrator worked correctly.5 votesWe have the fix available in the latest release. Please update Illustrator using Adobe Creative Cloud application to the latest build for version Illustrator CC 23.0.
Please refer to our knowledge base FAQ – https://illustrator.uservoice.com/knowledgebase/articles/1844590 if you face difficulty in update.
Or get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.htmlWarm Regards,
Ashutosh Chaturvedi | Sr. Quality Engineering Manager – Illustrator
Adobe. Make It an Experience. -
Save for web - image size percentage not working
When using save for web option, the image size percentage is not changing even when a new number is put in there. It is only saving as 100%. Sometimes it allows me to increase the percentage, but more times then less it saves as 100% no matter what number I type in there. I am using the creative cloud version.
2 votes -
Type Object Selection by Path Only not working correctly
When a Type Object is rotated, Ai selects it when the pointer is clicked in side the bounding box of the rotated object, even when Selection by Path Only is active.
2 votes -
Selecting Anchor Points is WAY TOO HARD
Why is it necessary to click 30 or more times just to delete an anchor point? I have the tolerance set to the maximum, but it makes no difference. When one zooms in, it should make it easier, but nothing changes. Very time consuming and frustrating. Please fix. Illustrator CC 2017 v21.02
6 votes
- Don't see your idea?