Skip to content

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

5917 results found

  1. Illustrator underperforming on Mojave

    Since updating to Mojave, Illustrator is sluggish at best. Moving a page activates the spinning wheel every time before moving the page. Almost unusable for work.

    I am using the latest version of CS suite, Illustrator and Mojave.
    Illustrator system info attached.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Performance  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  2. Moving objects - error message "can't move the object"

    I'm working with vectors and type. Since the update to CC2018, at random moments and in multiple files, I'll select a vector object and select some text, then try to move them, and I'll receive the error message "Can't move the objects. The requested transformation would make some objects too large". The problem is going to force me to revert back to the 2017 version of Illustrator - please make sure this is fixed ASAP. See attached screen grab.

    44 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    86 comments  ·  Other...  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We have tried to fix the issue in the current release. Please update Illustrator using Adobe Creative Cloud application to the latest build for version Illustrator CC 22.1.

    Please refer to our knowledge base FAQ – https://illustrator.uservoice.com/knowledgebase/articles/1844590 if you face difficulty in the update.

    Warm Regards,
    Ashutosh Chaturvedi | Sr. Quality Engineering Manager – Illustrator
    Adobe. Make It an Experience.

    PS: We are only referring to the issue that got introduced in CC 2018. As I can see there were few workflows that were existing even in older releases. Please log a separate request for it so that we all can track it better

  3. Alignment Tool is Off

    I'm using the alignment tool to center a logo onto it's artboard. Both the logo and the artboard are 500px by 500px, but when I use the align tool the logo is off by a couple px. It's barely noticeable until I export to png, then I can see that the circle is cut off slightly.

    Any help?

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. Recent Files Browser Window: the wrong file opens when choosing a recent file

    This has happened multiple times. It isn't a one off incident.

    Adobe Illustrator CC 22.1 (64-bit) / Windows 10

    Step 1: Open Illustrator from desktop icon.
    Step 2: Click on a recent file from displayed recent file options.

    Expected result: Selected file opens.

    Actual result: A file other than the one I clicked opens.

    There doesn't appear to be a pattern to which file opens, other than it is one from the selection of recently opened/saved files shown. See attachment.

    12 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    I am closing the ticket due to lack of response.
    Please get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html . Please give a reference to this post so that we can identify you.
    Since this is not a generic issue that we can reproduce at our end, we will need someone to look into your machine to figure out what is going on here.

  5. script cannot be uploaded

    Download the script of random swatch fill from http://vectorboom.com/load/freebies/freescripts/randomswatchesfill/22-1-0-167

    Opened my illustrator CC2019>File>Scripts>Other Scripts, chose the downloaded file and pressed open, nothing happened.

    Tried drag the script file directly into the folder of the software, this time script showing when I opened the script panel, but still no effect applied when I clicked it.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. Type tool

    Idk about anyone else. But since I updated Illustrator, my Type Tool has been slowing down my computer to the point where it almost crashes whenever I am using the tool. Clicking ANYTHING or highlighting type causes the "spinning ball" to pop up instantly, and sometimes not even highlighting the selection I want!

    Thoughts?

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Performance  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  7. Extreme performance issues (AKA the dreaded color wheel) when trying to type in AI 23.0.2.

    I get the color wheel with anything text-related. From basic typing to simply deleting a letter or space. Haven't found any way around the issue. I design a ton of infographics and this is seriously adding unnecessary time to my projects.

    Here's my system info

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Illustrator 23.0.1 hangs on start up

    Tried launching Illustrator this morning and it just keep hanging on start up. Blue spinning wheel. I tried uninstalling, and then reinstalling the app, but still hangs.

    Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600X Six-Core 3.60 GHz
    RAM: 16 GB
    Windows 10 Pro

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Launch  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. Extended properties panel inconsistent with InDesign

    Not so much a bug, perhaps a feature request but yet more evidence of the various dev teams going off in their own directions - like the Photoshop's inexplicable rationale for switch the default behaviour of proportional scaling ... ahem, I digress.

    Please would you consider implementing the properties panel behaviour from InDesign? By this I am specifically referring to the extension of the properties panel behaviour when selecting the 'more options/fewer options' ellipses.

    The InDesign implementation expands the existing sub-panel to include the additional options which are not normally visible.

    The Illustrator implementation is less elegant by simply repeating…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. AI CC2019 slow and jittery on iMac 27" 5k w/ 40gb ram and 4.2ghz i7 processor... why???

    AI CC2019 slow and jittery on iMac 27" 5k w/ 40gb ram and 4.2ghz i7 processor... why???

    Why is this program so slow? I have a fairly robust iMac, working in vectors... trying to layout a simple menu board and the program is jittery and laggy. I have two programs open at the moment: AI and Photoshop

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    2 comments  ·  Performance  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. rtf

    Currently cannot import advanced RTF documents with Adobe Illustrator. Common RTF file format options like Tables, Colored Backgrounds, and embedded Images fail to be pulled into Adobe Illustrator. Instead the application omits these things.

    Cannot attach an example file.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  12. Releasing a Layer Mask releases all clipping masks within

    When I create a layer mask that includes clipping masks within, there are problems releasing the layer mask.
    a) Using the Layers panel Make/Release Button releases some of the clipping masks within. (see attached movie)
    b) Using the Properties panel button and/or the Object > Mask > Release will appear to do nothing, but is a redraw issue requiring View > Outline / View > Preview toggle.

    Mac OS 10.12.6, AI 23.0.1

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  13. Pasted shapes from Illustrator turn to graphics in Indesign

    You cannot cut and past even a simple vector shape from the very latest Illustrator CC into the very latest Indesign CC without the shape being turned into a graphic in Indesign. I back installed to the last versions for both programs and it is work again. I have this exact setup at home (Mojave) and it work perfectly but at work (High Sierra) I had upgraded to the latest of both programs and hence the issue.

    What should happen is the shape from illustrator remains an editable vector in indesign.

    I experienced this today (19 March 2019)

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. Freeform Gradient tool tip pop up won’t go away

    Using Windows 10 on Dell XPS15. tool tips pop up appears and then i cant make it go away... I've disabled the tool tips in the Preferences menu but it hasn't made any difference. Is this a bug or something to do with my system?

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. Freeform Gradient line mode misbehaviour

    The new Freeform gradient tool seems to be full of bugs :(

    One such example is when you are working with a line type gradient that has 3 or more points, selecting a certain point, double clicking to change the colour and then selecting the eyedropper will change the point selection to the most recently created point.

    Illustrator 23.0
    MacOS 10.12.6

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    2 comments  ·  Gradients  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Touch Workspace Inconsistent

    I have a Dell XPS 15 9570; it's more laptop than tablet, but it does have some touchscreen functionality.

    When I first launched Illustrator on this device, I had the option to use touch mode, which was awesome.

    For some reason though, it is no longer accessible. I've checked the workspaces menu, window>wirkspaces, etc. Nothing. There's not external keyboard connected (the laptop has a built in keyboard), I've restarted illustrator, I've tried different document types, I've switched my OS between tablet mode and laptop mode... nothing.

    I'd really like to be able to use this mode again. Any advice?

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. GPU preview glitch

    I encounter this glitch since introduction of GPU preview.
    Only now I managed to narrow down the conditions to replicate it.

    When the Control pane is switched off (Window > Control), and Screen Mode is in Fullscreen Mode with Menu Bar, then when the working area is scrolled down, black horisontal lines appear. As if they are somehow traced by the top edge of the working area. Once I zoom out/in, they disappear. Also switching to CPU preview removes the glitch all together. This appears on both retina and non-retina displays.

    This does not happen when the Control pane is…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. File > New or Cmd/Ctrl+N fails to create new document

    After opening Illustrator, I'm only able to open existing files. Trying to create a new file by clicking "File > New" in the menu, or clicking "Ctrl+N" results in a brief pause, but no new artboard or new file appears.
    Illustrator 22.0.1 (64-bit)

    45 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  19. Export to EMF file causes Crash

    When exporting files as EMF, application crashes. I had to install older version of Illustrator to get this function back.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. Unable to save Illustrator file as SVG using artboards

    We use Illustrator to draw lots of icons.
    If we place each icon on an artboard and try to save each artboard to a file by selecting Save as > SVG > Use artboards > All, we expect multiple icons to be saved to multiple SVG files.

    We actually get multiple SVG files, but each SVG contains all layer names from the original file and one SVG icon.

    It would be very helpful, if manual cleanup after saving / exporting wasn't necessary.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?