Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs
When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:
- Details of your operating system
- The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop)
- The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
- Your expected result and the actual result
- Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)
5923 results found
-
Illustrator suddenly changed from RGB to CMYK
Windows 10, Illustrator 2020
Working on a digital comic and suddenly colour has been changed
from RGB to CMYK, which means I cannot copy and paste the colours
I was repeatedly using anymore.Black colour has been automatically replaced by a dark greenish black;
upon further inspection, it can be seen that it is not completely black. It feels odd at plain sight. I have manually selected each line which has changed colour, but it keeps going back to that dark greenish black.
2 votes -
SelectiveUnlock.aip error - Adobe Illustrator CC version 24.1.2, OS Windows 10 Home Edition Build 1909
The File New/Open screen does not work.
When clicking File > New opens a pop-up screen with title %CCXFNFTDIALOG_NAME with nothing inside.Can not create NEW file.
2 votes -
Transform effect vanished from Appearance Panel. Multiple times
After using Distort & Transform/Transform from the Appearance Panel, I noticed that this effect was missing from the list of effects that I'd used. As you can see in the attached image, Transform is not in the list. The long shadow on this text is created using that effect and it is still live, but there's no way to edit it since it is not showing up in the Appearance Panel. I started over and created it once more and once again, it wasn't in the panel. I tried a 3rd time and it worked as expected.
2 votes -
Tools disappeared with update
Tools disappeared. Pen add and minus points. No square with round corners.
4 votes -
Saving a document in build 24.0.1 (2020) fails with an 'Illustrator tried, but could not save the file' message
When saving an existing ai document that I have made an alt to illustrator keeps giving me a save error.
Illustrator tried, but could not save the file 'file name' Click "Learn more" to try alternate options for saving a file.
If I then use the 'save as' command and save over the top of the existing ai it will save. Illustrator leaves a .tmp file in the same folder as my ai. I may work on the file a few more time re-saving using the 'save' command with no issue and then randomly I will save and we go…
8 votes -
duet for iPad pen stroke and pressure not working in illustrator (it does in photoshop)
using iPad and "duet" to provide pen stroke and pressure (using wacom drivers on the mac/adobe side). This DOES work in photoshop so the connection is working but it does NOT work in illustrator.
Here is a video showing the problem:
https://wetransfer.com/downloads/f4f5d9ff1e73c6f4fa8b0db134fc9a5520200403114111/d6d4d546381022bba6df3990c6bc9ca120200403114111/bf9f4cPleas contact duet: team@duetdisplay.com - the guys name is Hector.
Thanks !
3 votes -
program freezes on layer reorganizing and moving shapes 24.1.3
MacBook Pro OS Catalina 10.15.4
2.3 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
16 GB 2400 MHz DDR4
Radeon Pro 560X 4 GB
Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MBUsing a Wacom Intuos M running drivers v. 6.3.39-1
Illustrator 24.1.3
When using computer's trackpad or drawing tablet I have encountered problems that render the program unresponsive.
As I re-order layers in the layers panel and I when move simple shapes or groups of shapes across the artboard, the action is not performed. When hovering the cursor anywhere in the interface I see a circle with a strike through it, program is essentially…
2 votes -
pdf cannot be displayed
Hi, Since update Illustrator 2020, when I save ai to pdf file, it cannot be displayed the thumbnail, and even use Acrobat open still can't see it. Please see attached.
Thanks!7 votes -
Temp file string prepended to filename slug like "ai2483293123FileName.ai"
When saving a PDF copy of a file with cropmarks to a network share a temporary string such as "ai157536670945_" is prepended to the filename in the page info/slug in the cropmark area.
Ai 2020 24.01 Mac OS Catalina 10.15.1
6 votesThanks for sharing the details.
We are now able to reproduce the issue.
The team will be looking into the problem.Thank you for the feedback.
-
White color text is showing as black
I just updated my CC and now my text will not change to white, it remains black. The text will change to any other color, just not white.
6 votes -
Point Transformation after Undo
In Illustrator version 2.1 (macOS Catalina 10.15.3) as well as whatever the most previous version of Illustrator was I have been experience an issue where after undoing a point movement of a shape with the direct selection point, further transformations to the point can nor be made. If I attempt to move the point (or any points on the shape in question) they snap back to their previous positions. The only solution I have found is to cut the object and baste it again, where after further point transformations will work. This is a tedious work around in work with…
4 votes -
The bounding box for lines and narrow objects doesn’t have center handles
Missing the center handles for all lines, unable to extend lines properly (without scaling them) unless I switch to direct selection tool, which is a pain.
90 votesSo it’s obviously not fixed, and we all know it.
While the cursor gets changes into the horizontal/vertical two-headed arrow, the center handles for the bounding box indeed don’t appear, if the width/height of the art (here just an orthogonal line) is small enough.
Please continue to share you thought, screenshots, GIFs. It’s time to re-review this again.
-
Cannot open Illustrator after updating to version 24.1.2. Windows 7 reports an error "missing VCRUNTIME140_1.dll". (The 24.1.1 is ok)
Cannot open Illustrator after updating to version 24.1.2.
Windows 7 reports an error "missing VCRUNTIME140_1.dll".
(The older version 24.1.1 works fine after downlaoding.)1 votePlease try the steps mentioned on this page to have this issue resolved – https://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/kb/vcruntime-error-on-launch.html
-
Anchor Points Automatically Go Back When Moved
If I create a shape such as using the Rectangle tool then I click on a single anchor point and move it with the Direct selection tool, it goes automatically back to the position that it was at instead of where I moved it. However, if I move the shape then select the single anchor point and move it then it will go to the position to where I moved it.
Here's the kicker. This happens some of the time and not all of the time so there is no consistancy to it. I mean I can completely bypass this…
3 votes -
Variable Data - ignoring a blank cell in the data library
Variable printing – an amazing utility within Illustrator which is probably often underutilized!
Unfortunately, if the .csv file containing your data contains a blank cell you'll run into issues. Fixing this or creating a workaround so that we can import those blank cells as just a space would be HUGE!
Printing mailing labels and being able to ignore a second line for an address would no longer be out of the realm of possibilities! And that's just the tip of the iceberg!
Let's get behind this – Help me vote this to the top!
12 votes -
'Fit to Artwork Bounds' doesn't work in action command
Illustrator 2020 won't crop the artboard to the illustration limit with an action.
I need to make an action which:
- Selects all
- Object > Artboards > Fit to Artwork Bounds
Not implemented.8 votesBoth 'Fit to Artwork Bounds' and 'Fit to Selected Art' commands can be inserted in an action using the 'Insert menu item...' command from the Actions panel’s flyout menu.
This approach can be used to insert other commands which Illustrator skips while recording. You can read more about it here: https://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/using/automation-actions.html
-
Crashing and not recovering when Windows 10 laptop awakes from sleep
HP ZBook Studio G5
Intel i7 8th Gen
Running Windows 10 Pro
Creative Cloud completely updated, including AIAny time I have an open file and leave the laptop for a few min, it seems to crash AI and will not recover any files, so I have to recreate files quite often.
2 votes -
"Save as PDF"/"View PDF after saving" checked/Acrobat DC error "file not found"
"Save as PDF"/"View PDF after saving" checked/Acrobat DC error "file not found"
10/4/2019 Illustrator CC update broke "Save as" PDF option of viewing the PDF after a save-as to PDF. Acrobat DC gives a"PDF not found" error, but displays the file in the "Recent" Home window.6 votes -
Illustrator and InDesign crashing multiple times a day
I have a weird crash — many but not all times I step away from my Mac (2020 MacBook Pro 16" running Catalina; 64GB RAM, AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8 GB; Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB), Illustrator goes down (and often, InDesign as well). I'll come back and wake up the machine and am greeted with system crash messages. The crash message seems to be related to Dispatch queue. Is it possible this is tied to sleep functionality, or perhaps a GPU issue? Would love to resolve this.
4 votes -
Common Dialog Boxes lag: saves each step from Dialog Box
– MacOS Mojave 10.14.1
– AI 24.1.2The problem appears in ALL dialog boxes in Illustrator: from transforming to changing colours.
For example I want to move my object 10px to the left. I open the Dialog Box, all the Positions are 0, Preview is on. I enter 10px, the object moves to 10 px. But, for example, that isn't enough for my artwork, and i'm entering then 12px instead of 10px, in the same dialog box.
And then the "magic" happens.
Let's say the original position of the object is 0. When I enter 10px, the position changes also…
2 votes
- Don't see your idea?