Skip to content

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

5920 results found

  1. Illustrator crashes on Macbook Air Mojave

    Illustrator crashes frequently - generally after 20 minutes of use. Most frequently when I'm using pen tool do draw qith bezier curves. First the background desktop goes black, then menu items dissappear, then it freezes and goes entirely black. 2015 Macbook Air on Mojave -

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Performance  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  2. Brush not working with dual monitor setup

    1. Illustrator v 24.1.1
    2. My brush pen doesn't line up to where my pen touches on the screen. I am using a touchscreen monitor on a desktop computer. The brush works in photoshop and every other program but illustrator.
    3. I would like to use the brush in illustrator for drawing
    4. The brush is about 2-3 inches away from where I touch the screen almost like it's treating my two monitors as one, always pulling toward the center of the two screens.
    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  3. Type on a path tool resizing causes crash

    I have the latest version of Illustrator CC 2020 v. 24.0.3. Unfortunately, everytime I try to resize a type on path, Illustrator crashes. I have restarted the app and system and that didn't help.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. Flatten Transparency generates clipping groups when none expected

    I found a bug in Illustrator CC 2019 and 2020 MacOS 10.14.6 and Windows 10 v1903. I will report this to Adobe.

    A. I create a glass effect on a non-circle object with blending dark to light red and a black and white gradient mixed with 'screen' to it.
    B. I flatten the transparency with the highest or other option. There is always is a clip group (1), that should be automatically removed. For better seeing, I put it on top of the group, after using Flatten Transparency.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. ⚠️ ⚠️ svg filter effect rasterized in image instead of generating svg filter element when exporting svg file

    macOS Catalina version 10.15.1
    Adobe Illustrator 24.0.1

    Steps:
    File -> New (Web -> Common)
    Rectangle Tool (M) -- draw rectangle on artboard
    Effect -> SVG Filters -> AIShadow1
    Open "Asset Export" panel. Choose SVG from "Format" combo box in panel. Click "Generate a single asset from the selection" button at bottom of panel. Expand "Export Settings" in panel, and click "Export" button at bottom of panel. Choose directory for export.

    Expected result:
    SVG file should have a "filter" element. No PNG file should be generated.

    Actual result:
    The exported SVG file does not contain a "filter" element. And…

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. Cursor stuck on hand

    The cursor is stuck on the hand tool in all my adobe apps so I cannot use them at all.

    48 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    33 comments  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We need your help in re-creating this issue at our end. If this issue is reproducible at will, please reach out to sharewithai@adobe.com with your convenient time for remote screen sharing. If this happens intermittently, please do screen recording and send us the same. Any other details that help in re-creating this issue will be helpful (files, workspace, plug-ins, preferences, etc.)

    -Rama
    Illustrator Team

  7. Dashes not reproduced properly on paste from Excel

    Copying any chart from Excel to Illustrator, where the chart contains a dashed line does not respect dash spacing set in Excel, and always imports with fixed (and rather nonsensical) 1000px dash spacing (so typically no dashes are seen except the first one in almost any artwork).

    This has been happening for a while, 1-2 years for sure, so it's not a new bug. It persists across Illustrator and Excel versions.

    1) make a chart in excel
    2) add dashes to the line
    3) copy and paste into illustrator

    Expected:
    Dashes as they look in excel

    Actual:
    Dashes are always…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Cannot print A3 at 100%

    From my Mac running 10.15.4, A3 will not print correctly to my Epson WF 7720. No scaling is applied - it's at 100% both in the driver dialog and Illustrator itself - but the prints are coming out at 97.2% of what they should be.

    8.5 x 11 prints work fine, and the same document prints correctly at A3 from within Inkscape.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Print  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. Can’t save over network or on a desktop

    We are still having save file issues. Illustrator will not save the file over a network or even at time to the desktop. Also please do say "this is not a generic issue" looking at all the posts below with the same problem it surely is.

    And please can we get moving on this. There seems a real lack of effort to fix these things. Whenever I read these posts you guys are always saying you have fixed the problem but the posts show that you have not, or you made the error occur again in another update. Very disappointed…

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. left justifying text doesn't work

    Command +Shift+ L does not work. I checked my hot key preferences and even tried changing it and it still doesn't work.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    A possible common solution to this is to check if other applications — browser extensions, screenshot/buffer managers, etc. — steal the hotkey Cmd/Ctrl+Shift+L combination.

    Unfortunately, Illustrator can’t see other apps claiming hotkey at OS level, as can’t they.

  11. 24.0 crash

    Positive: when it does crash files are recovered,
    negative it does crash often... at least once or twice per day.

    8 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    3 comments  ·  Performance  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  12. Fill/Stroke icons to match in the tools bar

    The smaller sub-icons for Fill and Stroke Boxes should match. (Fill is Full and Stroke is Hollow). Under stroke, the icons only change for the color, but the icons do not change for gradient and no/color/opacity.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  13. Giant Font Menu in Secondary Monitor

    Using an external/secondary monitor off of a Surface Pro 6. The Font Menu is so big it's unusable. Works fine on the main display, but gets like this on the second monitor.

    11 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. Duplicating an Artboard with art on it and then Undoing it, causes crash

    if you drag and artboard with art on it while holding option to duplicate, it duplicates fine, but if you Undo, the duplicated artboard remains and you can't delete. sometimes if you try and select the artboard illustrator will crash. the only way to update is to reopen the affected file.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Hi, Fernando, thanks for reporting the issue.

    Since we are not able to reproduce the issue in house, kindly provide the following information to nail down the issue further: the machine details, the Illustrator version with which the issue is happening, the test file, and test steps to help us reproducing the issue.

    It would be very helpful if you can provide the video recording to reproduce the steps. Kindly share the above details ShareWithAI@adobe.com in a Zip file. Please mention the title of this issue as the subject of mail.

    Regards, Pooja Garg, Illustrator Team

  15. File > Save not saving in the newest version format

    Since vr 24.1.1, "File > Save" automatically saves legacy versions of illustrator as the same legacy version. This means any files made pre this version all come up with this and I have to use "File > Save As" every time.

    Previously any file I worked with, I could use "File > Save" and it would save as the newest version of AI (maybe with the exception of very older file types like CS ones). Not sure if there's an option I can change to switch it back? As this is slowing my work flow.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Constraint not working properly in Properties

    I'm using adobe illustrator cc 24.1.2 on Windows 10 v 1903, The constraint function in the properties tab is not working properly for me. When i press the constraint button, the height and width proportion should stay the same when i change one number, but it changes them to be slightly off. If i make a circle 500 x 500, constrain the dimensions, and change the height to 250, it changes the width to 249.499. It doesn't matter what numbers i use, it will always change the other dimension to be slightly off what it should be.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. Editing text with warp doesn't update

    Editing text that has a Warp effect applied does not update on screen or even in a saved PDF until the warp effect is turned off then on again in the Appearance panel. See the attachments where I have changed the bolded word 'egg' to a roman type weight. In the second warped screenshot it is still bold. This bug has only started since the very latest general release of Illustrator: v24.1. Occurs in MacOS 10.15.3 and in MacOS 10.14.6

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. when I open Illustrator there are no tools showing

    I can't see my tools in Illustrator and I can't change or reset my Workspace :(

    I'm able to add some things like the Toolbar and Swatches/Layers/Etc windows, but I'm never able to see it complete, with that top bar that includes the Align + Transform + Etc

    Usually setting the Workspace to Essentials Classic does the job... please help!

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  19. cannot duplicate or move artboards

    Cannot duplicate or move artboards with artwork in Illustrator 2020. Artboard will merely move with the artwork contained when hitting opt+click. Can only duplicate artboards without artwork.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. SVG Stroke Widths are not scaled according to viewBox

    MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
    Illustrator CC 2019

    1. rename the attached .txt file to .svg and import the SVG file into Illustrator.

    expected: it should display two horizontal lines
    actual: it appears as a rectangle because the lines are touching

    here are two lines, 200px apart, with 100px stroke width in a 500x500 SVG with a viewbox of 1000x1000. since the viewbox is twice the size of the SVG document, the stroke width should be scaled down to 50px and the lines should not overlap.

    12 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?