Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs
When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:
- Details of your operating system
- The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop)
- The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
- Your expected result and the actual result
- Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)
8370 results found
-
The program is crashing frequently
The program is crashing frequently, giving a black screen and sometimes the screen freezes on a file, even if I change tabs.
1 vote -
Transform Each records angles for gradients in a way Eyedropper cannot pick them
Take a look at the test file attached and the GIF with the steps.
1. All gradients have zero angle
2. Select All and call Transform Each dialog
3. Set an angle (I chose45°) and disable Transform Objects — this should rotate only the fill, not the paths. Apply.
4. Check the angles with the Gradient panel, the values is displayed as correct.
5. Create a new rectangle and set its appearance to the default one with D hotkey
6. Pick the Eyedropper toll and make sure both Appearance options are enabled in its options (otherwise it shouldn’t work at…8 votes -
Text Converted to Outlines Upon Copy in 2026 with Keyboard Maestro Installed
Adobe Illustrator 2026 (30.0)
macOS Sequoia 15.7.1
Keyboard Maestro 11.0.4When copying a live text object in Adobe Illustrator 2026 (point type, area type, type on a path objects), pasting with CMD+V or Edit > Paste converts the text into outlines when Keyboard Maestro Mac automation software is running.
Quitting Keyboard Maestro Engine stops the behavior so that copying and pasting gives live text in the pasted object.
Disabling com.adobe.svg as a clipboard copy flavor also fixes the problem, allowing copy and paste to preserve live text instead of creating outlines.
This problem does not occur in Illustrator 2025 (29.8.3)…
1 vote -
PDF Export for Screens saving full document even thought multiple files selected
When you 'Export for Screens' as a range or tick certain artboards to export as PDF. These exported PDFs opens the full document rather than just the selected artboard. This happens when you open an exported PDF artboard in Illustrator 2026, but if you open it in 2025 version it opens as it should.
Version 30.0
OSX Sonoma 14.311 vote -
Missing fonts are no longer highlighted when file opens
Quand j'ouvre un fichier et que je n'ai pas la police ouverte, avant j'avais le texte en surbrillance ce qui permettait de voir où la police était manquante.
Maintenat j'ai bien la fen^tre qui s'ouvre me disant que la police est manquante, mais je ne vois pas où ?When I open a file and I don't have the font open, I used to have the text highlighted, which allowed me to see where the font was missing.
Now I have the window that opens telling me that the font is missing, but I can't see where it is.2 votes -
Applying a material to an extruded object says it’s not enough RAM
I apparently don't have enough RAM to do this. I'm trying to add a material to the border of the left file, it's a fill not a stoke... I have 96GB of RAM.... I am apparently using 26GB of memory. 70 Gb of RAM Should really be enough for almost anything I would think. Please let me know if there's a way I can use these tools if not I'll have to go back to my client and say "Adobe can't do it" once again.
1 vote -
Command+V not working in Pantone Connect
I just had an automatic update for Illustrator version [30.0], and since then, copying the hex code and pasting with shortcut Command+V is not working in the Pantone Connect extension. It seems that it is working with a right click of the mouse, but does anyone have an idea why the shortcut is not working anymore, as this was way faster?
I'm on Apple M4 Pro 24GB Version 15.6.1 (24G90).1 vote -
Switching keyboard layout with Win32 API message hangs Illustrator.
When I switch the keyboard layout to non-English, using the Win32 API SendMessage/PostMessage WM_INPUTLANGCHANGEREQUEST (0x50), Illustrator crashes.
15 votesThis problem is reportedly fixed in the latest Beta Build 30.5.0.18. You can update and test if it’s truly gone.
However, please not there are some known issues with this particular build:
- Opening recent files from Home Screen Recent section is not working (opening recent files from File > Open Recent Files works fine).
- Generative Expand does not open its own HUD when used after Generate Vector, Generative Shape Fill, or Sketch to Vector. Instead, the previous tool's HUD is displayed and Generative Expand remains inaccessible. Workaround: Ungroup the generative content first, then apply Generative Expand.
- Half of Astute Graphics plugins can’t get loaded. Both teams are now aware of the problem.
Comment back if the bug still persists for you.
-
Add colour theme to swatches from CC Library is not working, it only gives a pink swatch
Add colour theme to swatches from CC Library is not working, it only gives a pink swatch
1 vote -
Text style in a mess when editing text. They appear ok in Preview mode. I can't complete the task or job.
I am trying to edit this text in illustrator 29.7.1. Each time a type, make an amendment to the existing text it scrambles all of the settings and messes everything up (please see screenshots of before and after). I've tried to output to PDF but this also displays in a mess. Please let me know if there is a fix so I don't have to abandon this job and start again. Thanks, D
1 vote -
Show pixel grid above 600 zoom not working
I am tying to do pixel based artwork and I want to see the pixel grid when zooming in at high values. There is an opition in preference panel to show pixel grid above 600 zoom which is not working
1 vote -
When I make a change in text, the font reverts to the previously used font
Hello,
When I make a change in text, the font reverts to the previously used font3 votes -
Split Into Grid adds printable lines instead of guides
In Split Into Grid window there's an option to "add guides". But instead of guides lines are added that have standard stroke — printable lines that are conveniently in neutral greenish color 0,1 pt stroke and look like guides so it's easy to miss that.
2 votes -
Unable to export blank canvas using 'Export to Screen Multiple Formats'
Cannot export blank canvas using 'Export to Screen Multiple Formats'.
When making a brochure, one page is blank, but when using "Export to Screen Multiple Formats" to export, it prompts that a blank canvas cannot be exported.2 votes -
Spots and Globals are converted into process colors when included into Swatch Info
If we pick several spot or global color swatches to display in Swatch Info, the resulting color chips won’t be using the actual swatches picked — these would become process color copies — while Ink Types are shown as 'Spot' for spots... which are not... and no information about some being 'Global'.
I realize this connection would have to be monitored, refreshing cards when a swatch is changed...
But this is what is expected. This is what scripts that offer a similar functionality do.If we choose to convert these into process colors, we can just can select one and…
6 votesNo longer a problem in the latest release
-
Joining two paths completely ruins brush width/variable stroke width profiles
- Draw a path with a pressure-sensitive brush. Draw another one that begins near where the first one ends.
- Select the ends of both paths. Object > Join.
Wonder why the resulting pressure profile bears no resemblance to what you had on screen before the join.
Draw a path with a variable stroke width. Draw another one that begins near where the first one ends.
Select the ends of both paths. Object > Join.
Wonder why the resulting width profile bears no resemblance to what you had on screen before the join.
I think it might be just grabbing the pressure/width…
1 vote -
Illustrator prevents Mac display from sleeping due to inactivity
When Illustrator is left open for some time, it prevents my MacBook display from turning off and locking. It also prevents the screensaver from coming on. I am 100% sure this is caused by Illustrator because I have done the following experiment twice:
- Change the screen saver to come on after 1 minute.
- Leave the Mac idle for over 1 minute.
- Screen saver does not start.
- Close Illustrator application.
- Leave the Mac idle again.
- Observe that the screen saver starts and the computer locks after 1 minute.
After restarting Illustrator, the problem goes away for a short time but then…
11 votesThe team made some fixes in the latest general release 30.7 to fix the problem with the sleep mode. Can you please give it a spin and comment if it helps?
-
Documents don't open
If I create a new document the dialog appears and I select the option and hit OK. Then the screen does not show the document. Only a gray screen. The same happens when I try to open an existent document. I have to close and and open several times until it opens or create the document.
1 vote -
Strokes with a profile and have the rounded corners selected end up having pointy corners
The corners of my strokes should have a rounded corner but the moment I adjust the profile with the width tool they turn all pointy
2 votes -
Error al crear cuadricula
Tengo windows 10, Ram de 8GB, Disco ssd de 900GB, procesador corel i5.
Ajusto los divisores de la cuadricula pero al crearla, los divisores verticales cambian aleatoriamente la cantidad, por números mucho más grandes. Adjunto video.1 vote
- Don't see your idea?