Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs
When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:
- Details of your operating system
- The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop)
- The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
- Your expected result and the actual result
- Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)
5924 results found
-
Apple M1 Illustrator tool problem
I am using the new iMac mini with M1 chip and I am trying to use illustrator for the first time. Photoshop works great, InDesign works fine...but illustrator has issues. All of the tools in the tool bar, when I try to select a line, type, point, etc. are shaky and flashing other tool symbols in a strobe-like effect. I need to use this app! Please help!
2 votes -
Decimals are divided by point instead of comma
After updating to MacOs 11,1 and AI 25.1 the numeric keyboard do not recognize comma "," as input and put in values without any decimals.
Point "." from the regular keyboard are accepted, but this is wrong way of writing numbers in my language and most common european languages except english.
2 votes -
Margin or Adjustment Markers for Type on Path not showing
The margins or markers on the left and right side for adjusting the type showed up for a moment but then can't get them to reappear again. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling with no luck.
I was able to get the margins to show by starting a new document but after a while they disappear or stop working. Can this bug be looked into please thank you.
2 votes -
1 vote
GPU ドライバーが最新の状態で、システム互換性レポートダイアログが表示されるという問題が、最新リリースバージョン「Illustrator 2021 (ver.25.2.3)」で修正されましたので、製品アップデート後に挙動のご確認をお試しください。
もし、まだ問題が再現するような場合は、ご使用のマシン情報の詳細もご報告ください。よろしくお願いいたします。
Illustrator チーム
-
Layer's not working - Bring Forward Not working
I have tried various ways to get this graphic to show OVERTOP of the blue box. At first I tried just the "object arrange bring to front" and after that didn't work for some reason, I just used the layer panel. As you can see... even having the head on the top later OVER the bottom layer... it still will not show upfront.
Using macOS Catalina version 10.15.6
Adobe Illustrator 2021 Creative Cloud2 votes -
Projecting Cap for zero length path dissapears
A convenient way to create dots is to make a zero length path and give it a capped stroke. With Round Caps, this still works, but with Projecting Caps it doesn't.
(More: in early versions of Ai, this trick even worked with single vertices! - Bring that back please! Its a real data saver whenn working with lots of dots)2 votes -
Page selection when opening a PDF
This is should be beyond trivial to correct, and there are users all over the place asking for this in a different issue report:
Please fix the UI for page-selection when opening a PDF in Illustrator!
Browsing through the thumbnails at the top of the dialog should automatically select that page to open below. It is bad UX to scroll through the pages to find the one that you want and then have to manually enter it below---I can't think of a single reason to have these UI elements disconnected (as they presently are), and there's no reason not to…3 votes -
Image trace does not limit colors in grayscale
When using the grayscale mode in image trace and limiting the number of colors image trace creates an unlimited range of grays. I selected ten grays, expanded, and when clicking "re-color artwork", more grays than I would waste time counting are shown (at least 50, but maybe more).
3 votes -
Fix inconsistent Smart Guides
Smart Guides say 'intersection' while snapping to a midpoint / origin.
Even when an intersection is near, the origin is favoured by the algoritm.Best would be to configure Smart Guides priorities to the user's needs, or add 'Snap to intersections' in the View menu.
Please repear the wrong descriptions.
4 votes -
Font Preview Size
In Illustrator 24.2.3,
We are not able to change the Font Preview Size in the preference Dialogue in/under the Type Tab, and you also do not have the same feature in the Type Menu, which is the right place to set the Font Previews size default,
we are also not able to see the Font names in the written text as a preview in the Font/Character Menu.6 votes -
Selection of many objects across layers causes Illustrator to stop responding.
Running Windows 10 Pro and Illustrator v 25.1.
Opened existing illustrator file
Unlocked a layer of my design
Attempted to select all items within that layer.
Expected: Items are selected and can be manipulated
Actual: Illustrator stopped responding.I attempted to select the items multiple ways, including the "Click to target..." circle to the right of the layer in the Layers window, using Ctrl+A, and using the Selection Tool.
I cannot provide my file, but I will provide further details:
The top layer that I had unlocked included many groupings nested within it. I was able to reproduce the issue…
2 votes -
New version of Illustrator Smart Guides do not work
Ever since the last update, and now also with the brand new version (as of 6/17/20), the Smart Guides have stopped working properly, almost non-existent.
7 votes -
Illustrator strips out XMP metadata when exporting PNGs
From CS1 until CC2017 when exporting PNGs the XMP metadata was preserved; Adobe BROKE this in CC2018/2019/2020! It works for all other file formats. We have production customers that rely on the XMP metadata matching between the Illustrator file and the exported PNG. FIX IT! Photoshop fixed this bug in their most recent release - why are you behind?
20 votes -
Eyedropper STILL not wroking on grouped objects in Illustrator 24.2.3
When using the eyedropper on grouped objects, it'll show correctly in the color panel, but it'll only apply the stoke color to the group. Please fix this! The eye dropper has not worked for grouped objects for way too long now.
Windows 10
Illustrator 24.2.36 votes -
Downsampling not working properly with Extra large artboards
When saving into a PDF file larger than 225.5417" it uses the new extra large artboard feature (since version 24.2). This applies a scaling factor of 10 so that the file can be viewed properly in Acrobat.
The issue is that if you downsample your images it doesn't take into account the scaling factor. This means for a 1000" document, if I want to downsample to 300 dpi/in, I will need 300 000 dpi. But, the downsampling tools views the document as being 100" instead, and I end up with 30 000 dpi. So the end result is a 30dpi/in…
5 votes -
Big Sur and native Effects gallery crash
Anybody else getting Illustrator CC2019 and 2020 to crash in Big Sur (beta) when accessing the Filter Gallery (eg. Effect > Texture > Grain)?
You don't even have to apply the effect. Simply opening that window will doom you to a crash.
Tested with latest public releases of CC2019 + 2020 and macOS 11 Beta (20A5384c) on 2015 iMac.
2 votesThis issue is resolved in Big Sur (macOS 11) public release.
-
Live Paint Dead
Wow, I haven't seen AI get this slow and bad at basic vector work in years! (Just might be way too bloated.) Had to delete latest version 25.1 and go backwards just to get my day job done on time.
1 voteAs per OP’s comment:
> Primary cause was that Windows was secretly downloading and installing a major update in the background. This manifested in terrible performance in Adobe Illustrator.
-
No tools on illustrator 2021
Im on the last version of illustrator (on the date of 2021-01-20 at 9:47 am EST) and when i launch illustrator and create a project, there is no tools at all, when i change a settings in the window tab, nothing change
1 voteReinstalling Illustrator helped to solve this issue
-
GPU-Support fällt reproduzierbar aus
Die GPU-Unterstützung funktioniert zunächst bei neu angelegten Dateien wie erwartet. Sobald ich das Lineal einblende oder eine Zeichenfläche verändere oder hinzufüge, fällt die GPU-Unterstützung aus und das Programm wird extrem 'laggy'. Man kann das GPU-Rendering nicht wieder aktivieren, bis man Ai neu startet. Bestehende Ai-Dateien, die eingeblendete Lineale haben oder Hilfslinien enthalten, funktionieren ebenfalls nur mit CPU-Rendering. Entfernt man hier alle Hilfslinien und blendet die Lineale aus, speichert die Datei, beendet Ai und öffnet die Datei anschließend wieder, bringt das die GPU-Unterstützung zurück. Bis man aben wieder an Lineale oder die Zeichenflächen geht – kurzes weißes Flackern, GPU-Unterstützung ist weg.…
2 votes -
Right Menu Bar Not appearing
Hello Adobe Crew! This is Eva.
I am here to report that the right menu bar is not appearing. I don't know what the bar is actually called so please excuse any misnaming. I wasn't drawing in fullscreen, and the fact that the right menu bar was in the way kinda annoyed me. So I clicked the 'X' button to put it away. I was done drawing, so I put my laptop away. Next day I want to draw, I open Illustrator, open a new canvas, and the right menu bar doesn't appear. I have tried to restart Illustrator many…
1 voteYou can always call this panel back with Window > Properties command
- Don't see your idea?