Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs
When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:
- Details of your operating system
- The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop)
- The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
- Your expected result and the actual result
- Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)
5923 results found
-
Current bugs that are making it nearly impossible to get work done
As I type this, I'm reinstalling AI for the second time this month. This time without saved prefs. Please, Adobe, make this storied and remarkable piece of software STABLE before you talk about giving us new features. I don't want a new icon, I want not to have to explain to my boss that I didn't get anything done this morning because my industry-standard software didn't work.
AI 24.2 (June 2020)
MacBook Pro 16"
2.6 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i7
32 GB
AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8 GB
Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
1 TB internal SSD, with 2…5 votes -
Variable Font bug: "wiggling" top of "U"
Download and unzip https://www.dropbox.com/s/3b6k0izkm5ma3dy/200719-AdobeVFBug.zip?dl=1
Install the font from font/DaikonVF-mini.ttf
Run Illustrator 24.2.1
Type "AU" and choose the Daikon VF font
In the property bar, click the Variable Font button and move the weight slider between the extreme locations. Observe how the top of "U" "wiggles" (jumps up and down). This is shown in videos/DaikonVF-Illustrator-24.2.1,.mp4
The same problem occurs in InDesign 15.1.1
The same problem occurs in DTL OTmaster 7.9 and in FontView 2019 (an open source app built from https://github.com/googlefonts/fontview ) — both apps use older versions of the FreeType library.
The problem no longer occurs in FontView 2020 (which I’ve…
3 votes -
Colours of Layers defined in documents saved by version 23.1.1 & prior are shifted one colour down the list by Illustrator 24.0
When a document created by or saved via Illustrator 23.1.1 or prior is opened in version 24, some (but not all) the Layers are incorrectly set in the colour immediately below the correct colour in the default Layers colour list.
For example, a Layer that was set in “Brick Red” in a version 23.1.1 or prior document, is automatically changed to be in “Olive” when opened in version 24.0. “Olive” is immediately below “Brick Red” in the default colour list.
This error is consistent across many different Illustrator CC documents - e.g. every document that I tested & that had…
15 votesWe have the fix available in the latest release. Please update Illustrator using Adobe Creative Cloud application to the latest build for version Illustrator CC 24.0.1
Now your files created in 23.1.1 or prior will retain layer color when opened in 24.0.1Please refer to our knowledge base FAQ – https://illustrator.uservoice.com/knowledgebase/articles/1844590 if you face difficulty in update.
Or get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.htmlThanks
Anish Kumar -
blob brush
Any idea what is causing these weird color boxes? not having issues with the blob brush but these are annoying
2 votes -
Josef Pro font disappears as you type
I am trying to type the word "Communications" in Adobe Illustrator. If I use any other font, it types fine and looks fine. When I use Josef Pro, the "ti" goes missing and only shows "Coomuncaons". When I change from Josef Pro to any other font, I can see the "TI". I tried this is other applications such as Microsoft Word and Excel and this problem does not happen. It's definitely an issue with Illustrator.
Unfortunately, I cannot use another font because our company logo uses this Josef font.
Please help.1 voteIllustrator tries to load a ligature from the font and can’t get one. Got resolved with unchecking the 'Standard Ligatures' button in the Window > Type > OpenType panel.
If you have a similar problem with a different font, please try the same thing and comment.
-
Escape Button and Arrow Keys not working with latest Illustrator 2020
This was a previous bug that seems to be resurrected: https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447-illustrator-bugs/suggestions/35763892-escape-key-and-arrows-not-working-with-illustrator
Escape and arrow keys randomly stop working. If I close the application and restart it sometimes solves the issue, but I'd really like to not have to close everything down and start it all back up again every time it stops working 5 - 10 min into editing a document. :(
4 votes -
Popup Message: Error loading plugins
There is a bug. Once I launch Illustrator I get the popup message about Error loading plugins. SelectiveUnlock.aip. Otherwise the program functions after I click on OK to close the popup.
4 votes -
Large size canvas saving to pdf failed
Using windows 7 and Illustrator 24.2 June release
As documented for Large size canvas, created a file using 2270x2270 in. While saving it as ai it's saving as expected, but saving it as pdf using pdf ver. 1.6 or later getting an error:
"The dimension of this page is out of range"
3 votes -
Expanding simple paths autogenerates dozens of unnecessary Bezier points
Drawing 2 overlapping shapes or paths (or shapes expanded from paths) could once be reliably split/trimmed/etc. cleanly using Pathfinder tools.
Currently, doing so autogenerates dozens of unnecessary Bezier points. This can be cleaned up using the Smooth tool, but becomes a tedious process, especially given that the same cleaned shape will behave the same way if Pathfinder is used again.
This is a critical part of my workflow that's become substantially disrupted by whatever change was made under the hood in the past 6 years.
My hope is that with the change to other drawing tools, this is a preference…
3 votes -
GPU Performance is deeply broken - UI overlay refresh issue
Within about 20-30 min of starting illustrator with GPU Performance enabled, everything goes haywire.
It seems to be an issue with UI overlays such as art board bounding boxes and shape paths/points. As you pan about or adjust a shape, it seems that old overlays are not disposed and new overlays are just drawn on top resulting in layers and layers of overlays. The overlays are cleared if you zoom but when you start to pan or manipulate shapes again, the overlays continue to populate on screen.
Images attached should illustrate the issue better then I can describe it. What…
3 votes -
Window not showing
From the Finder (MacOS X 10.15.4), I open a n illustrator Document. The app comes forward and I see a black screen. The "Window" menu tells me that the document is open BUT where? I don't see it (nope, I don't have a second monitor). Close the invisible window and the Window menu shows nothing open. Try again, from the finder and again, no windows look opened. Try from Illustrator, File/Open: same thing, another fail. Quit app, relaunch app by launching doc from the Finder. now the file opens as it should. Close file, try again. Back to the black…
3 votes -
Issues with using Assets Export in Isolation mode
If you enter the isolation mode of any objects and try to export any artboard by using Assets Export, it will eventually generate the wrong assets. However, if you exit the Isolation mode and try again to the same process, it will be all fine.
2 votes -
Cannot stop Auto Resize on Area Type box for large text areas
I do not want my text box to auto-resize. The "Auto-Resize" option fails on large text box areas. Auto-Resize is turned off in my preferences. I have large text box areas filled with type and whenever I need to make an adjustment to the type box it always automatically resizes. I have tried selecting the "fixed" options and those fail too. In the video attached you can see that large areas of text will automatically resize. However, on a smaller scale the Area Type box does not.
2 votes -
Illustrator 24.2 crashes while using gradient tool
Right before I updated to the most recent Illustrator 24.2 I experienced the issue and then it continued after the update. I reset my preferences but it did not resolve the issue.
OS: Catalina 10.15
MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2017)
Desktop Illustrator 24.2Thanks!
4 votes -
Since the last update, workspaces are not saving anymore.
This is a huge problem.
2 votes -
Eyedrop multiple fills
Please allow there to be an option on the eyedropper tool to select multiple fills on appearances to apply to another object. Example; with pattern design, we create a top transparent pattern than a second fill with a solid color to create the final pattern. We would like to be able to easily apply those two fills to another object
1 voteYou can open Eyedropper tool’s options (double-click tool icon or hit Enter while the tool is active) and check both Appearance ticks to force it to pick and apply all appearance items, including multiple fills.
-
1 vote
No longer happens in latest releases
-
Zoom on drag, not after
Zooming involves pressing the command key and the space bar, and then clicking and dragging the mouse. The speed and duration of the drag is replicated in the zoom on screen. Or so it used to be.
All of a sudden now, when I click, instead it draws a box, the contents of which then fill my monitor — but only when I release it.
It used to zoom in on the mouse drag - but now it waits until I’ve completed the box. How do I toggle back to the previous settings?1 voteThe 'marquee' way of zooming is the way it worked before GPU rendering was introduced.
So it works only in GPU mode — check it you have enabled in View > GPU Preview.
Plus you should check if Animated Zoom option is enabled in Preferences > Performance section.
-
After redo is different from before undo
The reproduction procedure is as follows.
1. Create a point text containing two or more paragraphs
2. Change the transformation reference point to a position other than the default position
3. Transform it with the scaling toolAt this point, remember the state of the artboard.
Undo (command + Z) once.
Then redo (command + shift + Z).
It should be different from before undo.I feel very threatened because I often do this by hand.
in Japanese
再現手順は以下の通りです。
1. 段落を2つ以上含むポイントテキストを作成
2. 変形の基準点をデフォルトの位置以外に変更
3. それを拡大・縮小ツールで変形ここまで進めたら、アートボードの状態をよく覚えてください。
一回取り消し(command+Z)します。
そしてやり直し(command+shift+Z)します。
取り消し前と様子が違っているはずです。私はこれを手癖でよくやるのでとてもこわいです。
17 votesI am happy to share that we have fixed this bug in our latest release – 24.1.2 which is available worldwide now.
Going forward, our goal is to fix as many top User-Voice bugs as possible and as frequently as possible. Given the nature of the fixes, some of the bugs will take a longer time to fix, but we are on it.
You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html
Thank you for all the feedback. Keep it coming!
-
Crash on Quit
Illustrator crashes on quit 4 out of 5 times on my Mac and has for many months and builds. Crash on quit wouldn't be so bad if Illustrator didn't save so many interface and plugin settings on quit. The main crash indicator is below and full log is attached. Currently running illustrator 24.2.3, macOS Catalina 10.15.6. 2019 16" MacBook Pro Radeon Pro 5500M.
Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
Exception Type: EXCBADACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: EXCI386GPFLT
Exception Note: EXCCORPSENOTIFYTermination Signal: Segmentation fault: 11
Termination Reason: Namespace SIGNAL, Code 0xb
Terminating Process: exc handler [56728]3 votes
- Don't see your idea?