Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs
When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:
- Details of your operating system
- The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop)
- The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
- Your expected result and the actual result
- Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)
5917 results found
-
Static screen
Can you fix the new update of adobe illistrator? I can't use it. Every time I try to create a new file it shows the lines of something similar to a static screen and I'm not able to use it for anything. I really need to be able to use this program for college.
2 votes -
Pasting a hexadecimal color code into the Fill or Stroke under properties > appearance occasionally causes Illustrator to freeze up
- MacOS 10.14.5 (18F132)
- Select an object (for example, a rectangle), in the properties panel, under the appearance heading, select either fill or stroke, and paste a hex code into the textbox at the bottom of the popup panel. Occasionally, this results in Illustrator freezing, and can only be fixed by force-quitting.
- It not to freeze
- It freezes
- Video attached showing the behaviour once it is frozen
3 votes -
Illustrator 2019 Freeform Gradient and compound paths not quite right
When applying a freeform grad to a compound path, the effect struggles to jump a gap between paths, leaving odd results. If you create a path with a "hole" in the middle and create grad its OK. Move the whole fully out of the enclosing shape and its blank, move back into to cross border line and it works correctly with overlap creating hole.
In the attached file, the four squares are a compound path. Top right shows standard linear gradient covering the whole shape. The top left fort squares are supposed to share a freeform grad copied from the…
24 votes -
Direct Selection Tool on Control Handles Doesn't Work Properly After Puppet Warp
Normally, you can adjust a single control handle of an anchor point with the Direct Selection tool without affecting the other control handle. But after you perform a Puppet Warp on a shape, this is no longer the case. Using the Direct Selection tool on a control handle affects both handles simultaneously. In order to reproduce this bug, the object you're working on may have to be a group of objects. Here is a video of the problem: https://youtu.be/qZoJOQb0seI
This is in Illustrator 23.0.6 on a Mac.
2 votes -
Text becomes impossible to edit after several minutes of having the program open
Working on macOS Mojave 10.14.5 and Illustrator 23.0.4.
After working in the program for a few minutes, transform controls no longer appear around text boxes when selected (show transform controls does not fix the issue). Text attributes are then buggy when applied (tracking will not apply to selected word, can't change font). Shortly after, I can no longer select text boxes at all.
I'm a graphic designer and this issue is hurting my productivity greatly. Please provide a solution!
2 votes -
cannot place image into Illustrator.
Cannot place or drage image to illustrator.
Sometimes only a rectangle with X in the middle appears, or just the selection pointer appears after I try to place (using the menu) or dragging an image to the Illustrator.
I used different *.png, *.jpg files and I could not place image in the illustrator.
Need help.
I use Windows 10.6 votes -
Illustrator 2019 Alignment not working
Illustrator 2019 Alignment feature not working. I can't center or align my work.
5 votes -
Glyph rendering bug with non-empty space char on OT-SVG fonts
The space character is not rendered consistently when it includes an SVG glyph:
- The glyph is invisible by default
- But - as expected - it is visible in full color when moving the text object, and in greyscale version when switching to Outline mode
16 votesI am happy to share that we have fixed this bug in our latest release – 25.3.1 which is available worldwide now.
Going forward, our goal is to fix as many top User-Voice bugs as possible and as frequently as possible. Given the nature of the fixes, some of the bugs will take a longer time to fix, but we are on it.
You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html
Thank you for all the feedback. Keep it coming!
-
Resizing a new document window is broken
When creating a new document the widow goes full screen, when I try to resize using the bottom right corner to resize window, it automatically grows larger than the screen size and can't grab the corner... then when I do get the corner back on the screen trying to resize just doesn't work well, it’s very slow and largish and half the time it won't resize it jumps back to full or only partially resizes... never did this before and it’s a pain. I spend 10 min trying to get the window like I want it to be nearly every…
8 votesHi,
Sorry for the inconvenience caused. Please try changing the UI scaling option under preferences—>UI interface—>UI Scaling —> small. Please revert back if this doesn’t work.
regards,
Ritika
Illustrator team -
Version 23.0.3 Adobe PDF Preset / Transparency Flattener Preset "Convert All Text to Outlines" Not Working
In all previous versions of Illustrator and InDesign, when saving a PDF, I have been able to set my PDF settings to convert all text to outlines by checking "Convert All Text To Outlines" in my Adobe PDF preset. Since my recent update to 23.0.3, this feature is no longer working properly. The setting is still an option, however, upon save/export of the PDF, text is not converted to outlines as it previously was.
I have reached out to customer support for this issue and have been informed that this issue is "expected behavior of the software".
How is this…
5 votes -
Ai quits unexpectedly constantly
working on a new or existing file, Ai unexpectedly quits: on save, quits when i choose "edit link" and quits randomly- no idea why. does not save file at all, as if the file never existed and i need to start from scratch every time, even if i previously saved my work!
OS: Mojave 10.14.6
latest Ai cc version2 votes -
Paste in Place gets object pasted into its original layer and not a selected one
Copy an object (Cmd + C), then create a new layer, select it and Paste it in Place in the new layer — the object gets placed in tis original layer instead.
9 votesThe 'Paste Remembers Layers' option in the Layers panel’s flyout menu regulates this behavior. When it is checked — Illustrator will honor the original layer of a copied artwork and paste it in the same layer, ignoring the selection of a layer.
However, if disabling this option does not help — please comment.
-
Embed images disappears/ becomes damaged after illustrator crash.
It started to happen after I changed to windows 10 and dobe updated the Illustrator version. Prevent this from happening, cause when images are embed I do not have any copies in my computer. They are just there in illustrator and lots of hard work might be lost.
2 votes -
AI 23.03 - Absolute Performance Hog
AI has a clear performance problem on my MacBook Pro (Mid 2015, 15", top of the line model). My computer bogs down entirely, fans kick up, the software is extremely slow to respond to doing anything, even simple tasks. It's not isolated to my file--it is the software. Upon quitting, my system returns to normal. The CPU processes for AI were in excess of 120% and consuming nearly 40% of my entire CPU processor power (2.8 GHz i7, 16GB Ram).
No trouble with previous version of AI.
5 votes -
Text copied from Illustrator and pasted into Word, Keynote and other editors appears as image and not editable text
Illustrator CC 22.1.
Mack book pro MacOS high Sierra Version10.13.6.
Microsoft Word Version16.23 (190309)Copy text from illustrator (Command C) and paste it into Word (Command V) using shortcuts on keyboard the text does not come in to word as editable text but as a picture that I cannot edit.
I copy text from illustrator and past it into Word for editing and then past it back into Illustrator when I am done with the word editing. I do this for technical drawings, sketchbooks and any other 2D design and presentation work.
Since 2011 until 2018 I was able to…4 votesIf you right click in word you should get a paste as text option.
Can you please contact Microsoft support. Like most applications we do promise text in clipboard along with other formats like svg, metafile etc…
It is for word to pick any of these clipboard formats and consume. -
Cannot export large files to .png format at 300dpi
I’m using the command: File > Export As > PNG
Use artboards: Not selected
Resolution: High (300dpi)
Ahti-Aliasing: None
Background Color: TransparentI have an immediate need to export Illustrator files of roughly 8000 px by 6500px to .png format at 300dpi. I tried doing this with a file containing a complicated drawing, but it fails and displays an error box saying:
The operation cannot complete because of an unknown error [!now]
I created a simple file containing a few filled rectangles and experimented, with the following results: (all set to export to .png at 300dpi with no anti aliasing)…
4 votes -
Lock doesn't work for groups in groups
How to reproduce the bug:
1. Create two shapes.
2. Group the two shapes
3. Create two new shapes.
4. Group the two new shapes
5. Select the two groups.
6. Group the two groups.
7. Now you have a parent group with two child groups.
8. Lock one of the child groups.
9. Select the parent group.
10. Now both child groups are selected and can be changed even the one that is locked should not be possible to alter.3 votes -
Unstable CC 2019 in Mojave
Illustrator CC 2019 on OSX Mojave is completely unstable.
Ive been working on a few files today, Illustrator crashes within 3mins of working on a file and there is no recovery file, so basically I lose what I am working on. Im now saving every 30 sec anticipating a crash. At first I htought it was a font conflict, so I outlined all of hte fonts. Nope, still crashes. Next I will uninstall Illust CC19 and re-install.14 votesMojave is a supported operating system since Illustrator version 23.×.
We request your help. Please get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html . Since this is not a generic issue that we can reproduce at our end, we will need someone to look into your machine to figure out what is going on here. -
Can't reset bounding box on certain shapes
"Reset bounding box" is greyed out on objects that has been created with these tools: Line tool, Rectangle tool, Ellipse tool, Polygon tool, Rounded rectangle tool
It seems to work with all other objects.
I'm using 23.0.6.
2 votesNot a bug, but is an intended behavior, as far as I’m aware. Any live shape (when selected alone) doesn’t allow to alter the rotation of its bounding box, because it follows the live shape. 'Resetting' the box would mean the shape gets distorted with any new change. If this is your intention, you can convert a live shape into a simple path with Object > Shape > Expand Shape command (or Pathfinder > Add).
-
Text with small caps is not exported correctly to SVG
When setting the small caps variant to a piece of text, this information gets lost on SVG export.
How to reproduce (Winx64, 23.0.3):
- Create a new document
- Add some text, e.g. "Some Text"
- Activate the small caps property for the text
- Export the document to SVG via File -> Export -> Export As...In the resulting SVG document, the text does not appear as small caps but instead is capitalized, e.g. "SOME TEXT".
Expected behaviour: the text should appear with small caps with the help of the font-variant: small-caps; CSS attribute.
2 votes
- Don't see your idea?