Skip to content

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

8370 results found

  1. SVG import bug: patterns import incorrectly

    This pattern (from the MDN page) imports visually incorrectly (see screenshot):

    <svg viewBox="0 0 230 100" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg">
    <defs>
    <pattern id="star" viewBox="0,0,10,10" width="10%" height="10%">
    <polygon points="0,0 2,5 0,10 5,8 10,10 8,5 10,0 5,2" />
    </pattern>
    </defs>
    <circle cx="50" cy="50" r="50" fill="url(#star)" />
    <circle
    cx="180"
    cy="50"
    r="40"
    fill="none"
    stroke-width="20"
    stroke="url(#star)" />
    </svg>

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  2. SVG import bug: SVG parser is (incorrectly) dependent on <defs> order

    The SVG spec recommends but does not require <defs> appear at the top of the document (before elements that use them).

    This SVG, from the MDN patterns page, imports visually to Illustrator (albeit incorrectly):

    <svg viewBox="0 0 230 100" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg">
    <defs>
    <pattern id="star" viewBox="0,0,10,10" width="10%" height="10%">
    <polygon points="0,0 2,5 0,10 5,8 10,10 8,5 10,0 5,2" />
    </pattern>
    </defs>
    <circle cx="50" cy="50" r="50" fill="url(#star)" />
    <circle
    cx="180"
    cy="50"
    r="40"
    fill="none"
    stroke-width="20"
    stroke="url(#star)" />
    </svg>

    If I reorder the <defs> to the bottom, which is still valid SVG, it does not import anything visual at all:

    <svg viewBox="0 0 230 100" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg">
    …

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  3. Fonts get missing on file reopening

    Sometimes when I open a file I have already worked on, fonts go missing even though I used them before closing the file.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. Illustrator 2026 (30.0) saved files contain a large amount of blank space.

    OS: windows 21H2
    Adobe Illustrator 2026 (30.0) (desktop)

    In Adobe Illustrator 2026 (version 30.0), files saved with default settings are significantly larger than those from the previous version. Before saving, the action “Delete Unused Panel Items” is executed to remove all unnecessary elements (the Save Options panel as Figure 1).
    A comparison of file sizes with version 29 (with identical content, Figure 2) confirms this increase. When the file is opened as a text document (Figure 3), it reveals a substantial amount of whitespace.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. Illustrator deletes macOS tags when file is stored on an SMB Synology server

    When I save an existing document on an SMB Synology server Illustrator removes/deletes the macOS tags assigned to the file.

    macOS 26.0.1, Illustrator 30.0, tested on SMB server: Windows 2019 and Synology.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. Snap to Point doesn’t help much to snap an object’s edge to another edge, even with Smart Guides

    'Snap to point' in Illustrator is poor. You cannot currently snap objects together reliably. Results are inconsistent.
    For example:
    1) snapping a point to an edge does not work well, if at all. I have 'snap to point' on and smart guides enabled.
    2) when using constrain with the Shift key, whether they be points or edges. Even with Snap to Point turned on, or using Smart Guides. Just something simple as drag-copying another box adjacent to itself does not snap together the edges.

    In my videos, the first video applies to point 1) and the second video at 10s,…

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Need More Info  ·  5 comments  ·  Snapping  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  7. SVG import bug: object with multiple fill overrides in style attribute (including P3) import with no color

    Example:

    <svg width="91" height="91" viewBox="0 0 91 91" fill="none" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2000/svg">
    <circle cx="45.5" cy="45.5" r="45.5" fill="#FF7575" style="fill:#FF7575;fill:color(display-p3 1.0000 0.4572 0.4572);fill-opacity:1;"/>
    </svg>
    

    (Figma exports SVGs from any files with P3 color profile like this)

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Template Layers Still Visible on Export for PNG and JPG

    I am creating a logo package for a client and am attempting to export multiple logos / graphics with transparent backgrounds using the export panel. I've already confirmed multiple times that my PNG settings include transparency and that the View > Overprint Preview setting is unchecked. My background layer is set to non printing, however any PDF or PNG I export includes a visible background layer. I can completely hide this layer to avoid exporting it, but then I can't see my artwork correctly. The whole point of non printing layers is to see them when you are designing without…

    8 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Under Review  ·  12 comments  ·  Layers  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. 3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. Free Transform resets frame after each use

    If it was the only problem... Have you ever tried to "free transform" an object like you can do it with Photoshop in a breeze ? Free Transform tool (Free Distort) resets the handles to the rectangular bounding box after each handle drag! Super convenient to adjust a deformation! But did Adobe internally have the distortion tools proposed in Illustrator tested? there are 3 or 4 but all are tedious to use and very incomplete. Please, Adobe, put all this in the trash and replace these useless things with a single tool effective and intuitive... exactly like the "free transform"…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. The default text color in Swatches Info is rich RGB black when used in a CMYK document

    Create a CMYK document with Print profile.
    Create a Swatches Info object.
    Notice the black text in it is way too sharp on edges.
    Select text and check its color. It’s RGB 0 0 0, displayed in CMYK something like 91,17 78,69 61,95 97,45 (depending on the profile used, of course).
    It makes zero sense to use RGB Black in a CMYK document... in a live object especially.

    Yes, black color is not defined with Normal Paragraph Style, but is properly defined when a text is created with Type Tool. Why doesn’t this function know about it?

    12 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  12. Morisawa Fontsの和文バリアブルフォントDriveFluxが使えない

    いつのバージョンからかMorisawa Fontsの和文バリアブルフォントDriveFluxが急に使えなくなりました。macOS 15.6、Illustrator 2024 29.7.1を使用しています。2024の最初の方は使えてたんですが、どこかのマイナーバージョンアップで急に表示されなくなってしまいました。2025でも使えません。モリサワに相談したところ「こちらではどうしようもないのでAdobeさんに相談してください」とのことでした。ちなみにMonotypeの和文バリアブルフォントは問題ありません。ご対応お願いします。

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    最新の30.3一般リリースで修正されたとのことです。アップデートしてフォントが正しく表示されるか確認し、問題がまだ発生する場合はコメントでお知らせください。


    Claimed to be fixed in the latest 30.3 general release. Please update, check if the font now works properly, and comment back if it still happens.

  13. Once you start typing a font name in the Font Browser the scroll wheel stops working

    Once you start typing a font name in the Font Browser the scroll wheel stops working.
    Several of the other menus don't scroll either. For example, the units dropdown in the create new document window.

    Arrow keys still work.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. Bring to front/back not working with new update

    Manually right-clicking and selecting "bring to front" and "send to back" aren't working. The shortcut (ctrl + shift + [ or ] ) is also not working. This seems to have started after updating to version 29.4.

    Every tutorial I can find hasn't helped. This bug has massively increased my workload as I use this action every few seconds.

    7 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    6 comments  ·  Other...  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. Uniwidth/multiplexed fonts extends in Illustrator

    A font of mine is uniwidth/duplexed (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uniwidth_typeface) and keeps its width in InDesign and ABC Dinamo’s Font Gauntlet when changing the weight of the VAR.ttf.

    In Illustrator however, the text ‘extends’ when adding weight. Visualized: The last letter on a line is standing further right than before. The other way around it also contracts when lowering the weight, obviously.

    I went on and found the same behavior in other VAR fonts (right in InDesign, wrong in Illustrator), but also ones that don’t have the issue. My Illustrator version is up to date, and the bug was also in…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Live text in transparency mask not outlining or showing in font list

    This is a 2 part issue:

    1. If I select all and outline the type the document doesn't outline anything that is in a transparency mask. This is a major flaw that needs to be resolved as has lead to mistakes being printed with default text.
      Select all and outline needs to either include everything within transparency masks or a new command to outline text within these masks needs to be created as a separate option.

    2. A huge worry is I released work last week where I believed everything in the transparency masks had been correctly outlined by individually going in…

    13 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. 一部の日本語フォントが正常に表示されない

    macOS Tahoe 26.0 / Macbook Pro Late 2023
    Illustrator 29.8.1

    添付画像のとおり、一部の日本語フォントが正常に表示されません。
    他のAdobeアプリ(Photoshop等)では正常に表示されますが、Illustratorだけがダメです。
    また、同じフォントでもウエイトによって表示される文字と表示されない文字が混在している様です。

    さらに、フォントパネル上ではフォント名が表示されていますが「フォントの検索と置換」のドキュメント内のフォント名が文字化けしています。

    Illustrator 28.7.9では正常に表示されている様なので、OS依存のバグではなさそうです。

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. 表示用に埋込んだ日本語OTFが表示されない

    macOS14.7.2/27inch iMac/i5/32GB/1TB
    Illustrator ver.29.3

    再現手順
    1.新規ドキュメントを開き任意のテキストを入力し日本語OTFフォントを指定する。
    2.「ファイルプレビュー用に許可されたフォントを埋め込む」チェックボックスをONにして保存して閉じる。
    3.指定したフォントをアンインストールする。
    4.先のドキュメントをIllustratorで開く。
    5.プレビュー用に埋め込まれたフォントが表示に利用されない。

    期待する結果
    埋め込まれたフォントを利用してオリジナルの体裁が表示される。

    実際の結果
    ドキュメントのDictionaryに含まれる「Embeded Font Binary Data」にはエンコードされたフォントが保存されるが、ドキュメントを開いた際に利用されない。

    いくつか検証しましたが、WesternフォントやCJKであってもTrueTypeであればプレビュー表示されます。AdobeFontに含まれる日本語フォントやモリサワのOTF等がドキュメントに含められているにも関わらず表示に利用されません。
    フォントのファミリー名やスタイル名の処理に問題があるように思います。

    Translated:
    Steps to reproduce
    1. Open a new document, enter any text, and specify a Japanese OTF font.
    2. Check the "Embed permitted fonts for file preview" checkbox, save, and close.
    3. Uninstall the specified font.
    4. Open the previous document in Illustrator.
    5. The font embedded for preview is not used for display.

    Expected result
    The original appearance is displayed using the embedded font.

    Actual result
    The encoded font is saved in the "Embedded Font Binary Data" included in the…

    15 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  19. Spot channel percentage reduction after Envelope or Effect > Warp > Arc is applied to a DeviceN Transparent Single Ink Image

    My client embeds raster PSDs that include an additional spot channel and applies pre-distortion to them using Envelope or Effect > Warp > Arc. When the PSD is embedded, the spot channel becomes a Transparent Single Ink Image in the DeviceN color space with an alpha channel.

    After applying Envelope or Warp > Arc, the spot channel percentage is multiplied by the alpha channel value, while the alpha channel itself remains in the image. The result is a significant reduction in the effective spot ink coverage.
    In the attached example, a 50% spot in the original becomes 25% after the…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. Use Artboards option disabled when exporting as PDF – even in new multi-artboard documents

    Description:
    In the current Illustrator version, the ‘Use Artboards’ checkbox in File ▸ Export ▸ Export As... ▸ PDF is greyed out and cannot be selected.
    This happens even in a new document with multiple artboards (e.g. 3 pages with simple shapes).

    Steps to reproduce:
    1. Create a new document with 3 artboards
    2. Add simple objects on each artboard
    3. Go to File ▸ Export ▸ Export As… ▸ Select PDF
    4. → “Use Artboards” option is greyed out

    Expected result:
    “Use Artboards” should be selectable so that Illustrator exports each artboard as a separate PDF file.

    Actual result:…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?