Skip to content

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

5942 results found

  1. Can NOT see what is selected!

    Selecting an Object or text no longer gives any indication that it is selected! No handles, no highlighting. I updated to 27.5 and it seemed like it worked for a few clicks, but has reverted back. I can't see that it is a setting, and can't seem to get the expected behavior back. It is ridiculously difficult to work on a file when you have to just assume something is selected!!

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Selection  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  2. MacOS Finder window freezes when trying to save an Illustrator or rename file

    When I try to save an Illustrator file, the Finder window that pops up is frozen. None of the buttons are clickable. I've tried saving files with other apps, including Adobe apps like After Effects, and they can save files just fine - to the same folder even.

    Currently using the latest version of Illustrator.

    Things I've tried:
    - Resetting Illustrator preferences
    - Reinstalling Illustrator
    - Versioning down Illustrator
    - Deleting the com.illustrator cache folder
    - Relaunching Finder
    - Restarting the computer
    - Starting with a fresh Illustrator file
    - Opening an existing Illustrator file

    Any solutions? At the moment,…

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  3. PDF error "This file is damaged" in the new Illustrator 2023 (27.0)

    In Adobe Illustrator 2023 (27.0), when attempting to open a PDF in illustrator, I get an error message and the file does not open. The error reads "This file is damaged" with no extra context or solution. The file refuses to open.

    The same file WOULD open on the previous Adobe Illustrator 2022 (I believe 26.5), and I would receive an error message (The document contains PDF objects that have been reinterpreted: An unknown shading type was encountered.) The file would then open, and then I could poke around the layers in order to get the vector shapes I needed…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. Colour Change when pasting object from one document to another

    I have an object with colour #D96581. If I copy this object from an RGB document and paste it into a new RGB document, the HEX colour changes.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. Lenovo Ideapad opens Display settings instead of Align panel when Shift + F7 is pressed

    Help. I can't use the shortcuts properly. I press shift + f7 to open the align tool but it keeps open the display setting pop-up of the laptop.
    I'm using Lenovo ideapad 5.

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Other...  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. Clipping Mask Shows Some Bugs

    Hi
    I’m using Illustrator CC (27.1.1) and macOS Monterey 12.3
    When I use a clipping mask, sometimes Illustrator shows hidden parts of images that are inside the clipping mask (that should be hidden). When I scroll through the artboards, bugs change shape. (Generally, images inside the clipping mask are effected by the transparency tool, screen, multiply...)
    Looking at the attached files you can see a clipping mask with some shapes inside.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  7. トラックパッドでの拡大縮小が出来ない

    トラックパッドの2本指でのピンチで拡大縮小が
    起動後、暫くすると出来なくなる。

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Need More Info  ·  1 comment  ·  Actions  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Dashed lines changing style when exporting to SVG

    The latest update to AI has caused this issue. When exporting an svg with dashed lines, the svg's dashed lines either disappear or become dotted lines.

    Operating System: Windows 10 Enterprise
    Adobe Illustrator version: 27.0
    Steps:
    1) Open Adobe Illustrator
    2) Create a new file
    3) Draw a line
    4) Open the properties window by going to Window > Properties
    5) Click on the Stroke option
    6) Check "Dashed Line" on
    7) Set the first "dash" to 10
    8) Make sure the rest of the "gap" and "dash" options are blank
    9) Go to File > Export > Export As…

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Strokes  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. Changing color via Hex doesn't count as an action, so save does not update file

    When changing the color of a selected object, if you paste a hex number in to the color palette window and hit enter the object will change to the correct color. However, the program does not register this as an action/history change. So you can’t hit save and have the color change applied to the saved the file. This also is apparent in that it doesn’t become an “Undo Color” item under the Edit menu. Besides pasting a Hex color, I get the same bug if I type a Hex color in.

    Any other form of changing the color of…

    7 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. Problem with linked png files

    I opened a file I had last edited in January 2022 and it says there are a lot of missing files. Upon inspection it turns out only the png files are missing, jpegs are still linked. Now when I try to relink the missing files nothing happens. I'm taken back to the dialog box which said that the file is missing. There's no way for me to relink the pngs!

    OS: Mojave, 10.14.6
    Illustrator: 25.4.8

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    6 comments  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. Problems opening Illustrator

    Windows 10 Enterprise 22H2
    AI 27.3

    When I have to open the program 7 times out of 10 it doesn't open.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Launch  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  12. Save As dialog is too large and empty

    When I click save as the window is so large i cannot see the UI. I have checked the settings for the UI size and it is set to small. I also checked with multiple other screen resolutions and nothing could remedy the problem.

    Windows 10
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7560U CPU @ 2.40GHz
    Intel(R) Iris(R) Plus Graphics 640
    16gb RAM

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  13. Text läuft über Textrahmenbegrenzung

    Text sollte im Textrahmen bleiben und nicht darüberhinaus gehen.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. Unable to save

    This is not an idea, it is a serious bug.
    Apple OS Mojave - latest version, Illustrator 2022 - latest version.

    Saving doesn't happen. Clicking File>Save As and nothing happens, no dialogue pops up, nothing. Trying shortcuts on the keyboard. Same. Trying to quit the program, shows File not saved/ I click Save FIle and it does nothing. So, unless I force quit, there is no way to close the program. Illustrator seems to not initiate any action on my attempts to perform a SAVE. It is a HUGE problem for my work!

    28 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. レイヤーの前後関係を無視して”線”が表示されます。書き出し後も問題あり。

    レイヤーの前後関係を無視して”線”が表示されます。(画像参照)

    プレビューの問題かと思い、書き出してみましたが書き出し後も線の表示に問題があります。

    制作の都合上、表示-アウトラインを多用し切り替えて表示します。
    単なる処理負荷によるものかと思いましたが、今回2度目だったので報告させていただきます。

    以下してみたことです。

    [→再度、開き直してみる]
    開いてすぐは正常に表示されます。ひとつでもオブジェクトを操作すれば問題が発生し、レイヤーを無視した表示になってしまいます。

    [→別PCで開いてみる]
    クラウド共有したデータを別デバイスで開いた際も問題が見られます。

    [個人的な解決方法]
    オブジェクトを別ファイルにコピーし直して解消

    Adobe Illustrator2023 27.2
    MacBook Pro 2019 15inch MacOS Monterey 12.5
    iMac 2014 MacOS Big Sur 11.6.8

    よろしくお願いします。

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Illustrator does not insert images from Telegram by drag&drop

    When I try to drag and drop an image from Telegram into Illustrator, it inserts the text of the temporary file path instead of the image.

    Note that drag&drop from Telegram to Photoshop works correctly. The same method can be used to drag and drop images to the desktop or other applications.

    Mac OS 12.6 (but I have tested it on Windows too)
    Illustrator 26.5 (but also tested with previous versions)

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. Direct Selection Tool not working

    I'm on a Macbook pro (macOS Big Sur version 11.7) using Adobe Illustrator 2023.
    When using the direct selection tool and clicking on an object or path, the anchors don't show up and the object/path does not look like it is selected. However, if I run my mouse around the edge of the object/path then the anchors will show up when the mouse is hovered above it and I can select the specific anchor. However the handles don't show up.
    What can I do to fix this?
    I've tried restarting my computer and resetting my preferences but the problem still…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. language change

    I am not able to change the language of the apps I am paying monthly money for. Your support team ist not able to help / sending me around, so I explained 3 people what is the problem in german and english. I have changed the language on my michrosoft windonws - it is in english now, my adobe cloud is in english + I have deinstalled and installed the apps / nothing helps -still german - the support team is not able to help / sending me the same links / very annoying and dissapointing - adobe is giving…

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  19. 1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. Library not updating once stock asset is purchased

    I have had a recurring issue for at least 18 months now (and across several updates of Illustrator). I use previews of stock images on drafts of layouts and then when I purchase the chosen image - clicking on the cart icon on the image in the Library panel, completing purchase - the preview image does not updated to a licensed image. I have to go into my account via a web browser, navigate to licensed images, download the file and manually drag it into my library. The cloud icon at the bottom left of the Library panel says it's…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Cloud, Libraries  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?