Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs
When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:
- Details of your operating system
- The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop)
- The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
- Your expected result and the actual result
- Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)
5920 results found
-
Add Select > Same / Object in right-click menu
Could you please add the Same / Object drop-downs to the Select section of the right-click menu?
2 votes -
Gradient issues: annotator jumps and changes direction on object hover
2 problems in CC2020 on Mac OSX 10.15.1:
1. Gradient annotator doesn't show on expanded shapes
2. gradients inconsistently applying -- see attachment3 votesHi,
Apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to this issue.
We are unable to reproduce this issue in house.
Can you help the Illustrator team to isolate this issue further so that we can nail this down?
If yes, then please let me know the following:
1)Kindly provide some video , Test file(Via File→Package) & some steps with which you are facing issue and share with us .
2) Is this file specific or happens with any object in a newly created file also?
3) Kindly share your preferences folder with us in a zip File
MAC: /Users//Library/Preferences/Adobe Illustrator 24 Settings//
Win: C:\Users\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe Illustrator 24 SettingsKindly share the requested information at ShareWithAI@adobe.com in a Zip file.
Please mention the title of this issue as the subject of the mail.Thanks and Regards
Ankit Goyal
Illustrator Team -
Adjustment of a gradient in Live Paint Bucket (K)
In Illustrator CC2019 the Adjustment of a gradient in Live Painting Bucket (K) does not work.
When in Live Painting Bucket (K) i apply the gradient, then i can not adjust it manually.38 votesHi Everyone,
The fix has been rolled out and is available in our latest release build – 29.3.0 which is available worldwide now.
Illustrator will now allows to change gradients of the Live Paint selections, using Gradient tool.
The annotator won’t show up when you do this, but you will see the changes immediately if you have GPU Preview and Real-Time Drawing and Editing options enabled in Preferences.
What’s new in 29.3: https://helpx.adobe.com/illustrator/using/whats-new.html
You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html
Thank you for all the feedback.
-
"Show Hidden Characters" is disabled every time "Export for Screens" is used
Steps to reproduce:
1. Open / create a document with any text
2. On the application menu enable Type -> Show Hidden Characters
3. Next do File -> Export -> Export for Screens
4. Export a file or cancel out, both trigger the issue
5. Notice the Hidden Characters are no longer visible
6. Confirm on the application menu that the feature is disabledHappens on Illustrator 24.0.1 (64 bits), on Windows 10.
2 votes -
Artboard units do not follow what is set in preferences (v 24.0.3)
Set units to be in inches, but Paragraphs palette shows fields in points.
2 votesThe issue is no longer happening in the latest versions. If something similar happens for you — please comment of log a new bug report.
-
Set round corner numerically for multiple corners
When multiple Anchor Points are selected, it would be nice to set the rounding numerically, in stead of by dragging the mouse.
But unfortunately double clicking a Corner Widget let us set the value for only the clicked corner, and not for all selected corners.
2 votesThis can be done with the Corners field, located in the middle of Control panel, or in Properties.
-
Blob brush tool in Illustrator 2020 crash
If I press and hold my blob brush tool for too long Illustrator will stop working, partially. I can still move my cursor and press shortcut keys but the display and everything remains not responsive.
5 votes -
Thai language bug
Thai font deleted or missing when create outline.
Most of the time it happens to few or last fonts of the line.Macbook Pro 15"
OS 10.14.6
IllustratorCC version 23.0.47 votesHi,
Can you upgrade to latest release 23.0.6 and let us know if it fixes your issue. We had fixed a bug with similar description in 23.0.6Thanks,
Ashutosh -
"Clear Overrides" in Paragraph Styles menu is needlessly picky
I can clear overrides only if the selected text is all in a single paragraph style. If I select multiple lines in different styles (which happens all the time in lists of text, calendar items, etc), the thing is always dimmed out.
This makes it needlessly tedious to get all the text back into a known set of styles, so that the styles themselves can be redefined and the text will update accordingly. (Example: taking formatted text to a new and differently-sized layout.)
12 votesThis problem is reportedly fixed (finally!) in the latest Beta Build 30.5.0.18. You can update and test if it’s truly gone.
However, please not there are some known issues with this particular build:
- Opening recent files from Home Screen Recent section is not working (opening recent files from File > Open Recent Files works fine).
- Generative Expand does not open its own HUD when used after Generate Vector, Generative Shape Fill, or Sketch to Vector. Instead, the previous tool's HUD is displayed and Generative Expand remains inaccessible. Workaround: Ungroup the generative content first, then apply Generative Expand.
- Half of Astute Graphics plugins can’t get loaded. Both teams are now aware of the problem.
-
"In App" tutorials not actually In App
When I click on these tutorials, nothing happens. When I called the help, they said there are only tutorials online.
Why does this screen say "In App Tutorials" if there are only videos online? I'd assume that I could click on a tutorial option and it would walk me through the tutorial, similar to mail merge wizard. Or it would show pop up balloons with instructions on what to do, then I would do it.
3 votes -
Artborads erased and layers grouped when opening a file, Illustrator 2020
Illustrator 2020 (24.0.1), Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6
Whenever I close a file with multiple artboards and multiple layers, and re-open it, all artboards but one are erased (and renamed to "Artboad1"), and all my layers are grouped into one single layer.
Even when I fix the file, and save it, the next time I open it, the same thing happens.
2 votes -
Increase font shortcut: Command + Shift + . no longer works
Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6, 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2667 MHz DDR4, Radeon Pro 560X 4 GB
Illustrator 23.1.1
Increase font shortcut: Command + Shift + . no longer works.
Decrease font shortcut DOES still work. Super annoying.
EDIT: I just realised if you press the decimal point on the number pad it works. The wrong "." seems to have been assigned the shortcut.
3 votes -
UI freezes, then crashes. Can't save.
Last version is pretty unstable. Can't work with it, crashed several times since the update i made this morning. While working, UI freezes (but some tools are still availaible via keyboard shortcut), then crashes without message. Can't save when UI is freezed.
I'm going back to the previous version. Aren't you ashamed that EVERY TIME we update, softs become unusable for professionnal purpose?
Ho, and when will get ******' keyboard shortcut to rename layers? Is it in the current update at last?
9 votes -
Freeform gradient fill disappears on select all action
- OS: Windows Version: 10.0 System Architecture: x64 Illustrator v 23.0.6 (64-bit)
- I used a freeform gradient fill to fill a path and upon doing a select all to group a few different paths and shapes for easier movement or duplication, the fill of the path disappears and I need to either rebuilt the gradient or re-load the file as even doing CTRL+Z doesn't bring back the gradient
- The expected result is that the gradient remains as it was when doing a select all (Either through CTRL+A or using the Selection Tool)
- The Fill for the path disappears and the freeform…
5 votes -
Activating fonts in Illustrator takes too long
The process of activating fonts in illustrator is taking way too long. Is there a way to make the process faster?
5 votes -
3D extrude and bevel effect breaks on large paths
Windows 10 64 Bit, AI 23.1 .I've observed this bug all previous versions, and on multiple computers.
Add a 3D effect (eg. Extrude and Bevel) to a path and increase the scale... it always breaks past a certain size. The theshold increases with the extrude depth, so deep objects can be larger while flat objects (ie. no extrude depth) break at a relatively small size. Check out the attached image.
It's an extremely useful effect... clearly it would be a whole lot better if it could still be used at larger scales!
4 votes -
All looks jagged
Jagged when using the Pen tool, on texts and on curved paths.
Tried toggling the GPU and CPU preview , reinstalling the updated app, updating the drivers, updating Windows 10. The issue is still not resolved.
Clearly see the the lines are not smooth in outline mode too.
Unusable file with this bug.2 votes -
Character panel reads all fonts instead of just synced fonts
Windows 10, Illustrator 24.0.1
Change font weight from font weight drop down
See only filtered (synced) fonts from Adobe fonts
See all fonts installed on system and synced
2 votes -
Applescript "open without dialogs" no longer works
I have an Applescript that has the statement
open (thePDFName as alias) without dialogs
In Adobe Illustrator 2019, it works. In Adobe Illustrator 2020, it gives me an "unable to open file" error. When I comment out "without dialogs", it opens the file, but then naturally pops open a dialog (not helpful when you are opening dozens of files!)
MacOS 10.13.6, not sure what other information would be needed.
2 votesThis issue is reproducible with HFS paths.
Workaround: Use the POSIX path for opening files
Example:
set myFilePath to POSIX path of theAIFile
open file myFilePath without dialogs -
Missing font doesn't show up
Hi
When I open a document with missing fonts, the texts which without fonts will disappear and they aren't being white! I cannot even see them. It is really causing my problem....
Is it a bug or I can adjust the setting to fix it?
it is CC2020.
4 votes
- Don't see your idea?