Skip to content

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

8365 results found

  1. Document Raster Effects settings not being honored on all affected objects

    Illustrator 30.1 on MacOS 14.6.1
    Changing the Document Raster Effects settings used to affect all objects with pixel effects, at current it appears not to anymore and one has to manually force an update of the Drop Shadow effect for example.

    Regards,
    Pfaffenbichler

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  2. Bug - Graduated stroke colors automatically changed!

    A graduated stroke color was in a saved file applied to a brush stroke. I had not been in the file for several months. The preview appeared full color, but when I opened the file, it was like the opacity of the colors had been turned down, except they hadn't been! Inside the file, it appears faint. But the stroke does not indicate the opacity has been reduced. It is so confusing since the file has not been opened for over two months.

    Don't know if it is a gradient or brush stroke issue or a compatibility issue.
    Running Illustrator…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Need More Info  ·  3 comments  ·  Gradients  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  3. Blending modes inside groups does not work

    When an object is part of a group nothing from the transparency settings is working. Selected object in the screenshot is set to Multiply and it appears as Normal.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. All fonts disappeared in Font Explorer list

    I work on PC with the latest version of Illustrator, version 30.1. None of my fonts show in the drop-down menu. I've deleted and reinstalled Illustrator, deactivated and reactivated the auto-activate Adobe fonts option, checked whether Adobe fonts are synced through the Creative Cloud App. Nothing seems to work, while they work fine on Photoshop and InDesign. The only way I can use a font is by using the Eyedropper tool on an already existing body of text. How do I fix this? Please help!

    6 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. Missing cancel button on background remove

    in the updated 2026 illustrator the Remove Background button leaves no option to cancel

    unrelated the updated firefly image 5 embedded in photoshop is non functional...

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. Incorrect command names in Exporting Icons tutorial

    For the Illustrator tutorial: Exporting icons
    In the instructions it says Hide Rulers but it should be Show Rulers
    Also in the instructions it says Unlock Guides but it should say Lock Guides.
    With tutorials in general need to specify the Workspace because some workspaces offer different options than others and can be missing when doing a tutorial.

    I use Windows Pro 11, Illustrator 30.5.1

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  7. テキストをアウトライン化すると

    エリア内文字で作成したテキストをアウトライン化すると、ボックスの形状がベタや罫線が一部で残ってしまう現象を改善してほしい。

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Ai won’t change the fill of an object when using Shape Builder exactly according to rules

    A minor quirk of the Shape Builder.
    Following this post by Hanako Igarashi (hamko): https://x.com/hamko1114/status/2035911311763399048?s=20

    As per the post, when Shape Builder tool is selected, the color chosen in the Color panel, Swatches, or Color Picker, won’t recolor the selected objects (that is a big difference with Live Paint tools, that would recolor the selection, unless a 'Live Paint Select' selection is made), but use the set color to force on a result of the next Shape Builder Union operation.

    This happens only when 'Pick Color From' option is set to 'Swatches' in the tool’s options (called by Enter)... and…

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. SAVED AS .ai files going back to older directories for linked files. BUG with links

    This has happened several times over the last 6 months. I regularly will open an .ai doc I did a few months ago (generally saved onto an SSD external drive), save as to my desktop (mac mini m4) and do updates to linked images in the file. Later the new .ai is packaged when finished and all the linked files are in the LINK folder. However, after closing and opening the file the next day, or days later, the .ai file has gone back to the original folder location and picked up the old links (linked names are generally saved…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  10. 効果メニューのグレーアウト

    Mac OS 26.5.1のメニューバーの効果メニューがグレーアウトし選択できない。
    アピアランスパネルからはグレーアウトなく選択可能。
    最新の30.5.1でのバグだとおもわれます。
    前バージョン30.4にダウングレードしたところ解決。

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    1 comment  ·  Other...  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. Wacom ExpressKey Remote Touch Ring zoom fails when GPU Performance is enabled

    Illustrator: 30.8.2
    Windows: Windows 10 Home 22H2
    GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060
    Wacom: Cintiq 27QHD + ExpressKey Remote EKR-100
    Wacom driver: WacomTablet_6.4.5-5 and newer

    Description:

    In Illustrator 30.8.2, the Wacom ExpressKey Remote Touch Ring does not zoom correctly when GPU Performance is enabled.

    When rotating the Touch Ring, the canvas briefly flickers/shakes and may zoom by only one step, then stops responding.

    The problem disappears immediately when I disable:

    Preferences → Performance → GPU Performance

    With GPU Performance disabled, the Touch Ring zoom works normally and continuously.

    I have confirmed that:

    Wacom Diagnostics correctly detects Touch Ring rotation.
    The same…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  12. CUANDO DOY CREAR NUEVA CARPETA SE BLOQUE ILLUSTRATOR

    Tengo un problema, cuando doy guardar como y quiero crear una carpeta nueva se congela y bloquea illustrator.
    no importa si es en red o en el escritorio

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Other...  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  13. Windows Explorer freezes when Saving As PDF

    • Fresh install of Windows 10 Pro. Fully up-to date (as of Feb. 27, 2026). DXdiag attached.
    • Illustrator 30.2.1 (64-bit) ** Only Illustrator and Photoshop installed (via Creative Cloud application)
    1. Open AI file
    2. Save as.. PDF
    3. Choose a PDF option, click Save
    4. Click Windows Start Menu icon (or any other icon on the task bar) - Windows task bar (explorer.exe) will be unresponsive
    5. To remedy, Ctrl-Alt-Del and open Task Manager -> Right-click Windows Explorer -> Restart

    I literally have to do this every time I start Illustrator. It then seemingly stay stable for awhile, but then will randomly lock up Windows…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  14. Disappearing settings/options

    Single options disappear and I can’t change view or workspace back, it won't be fixed by restarting Illustrator.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. Swatches don’t display names on hover

    Please restore the display of color names when hovering over a color swatch in the palette.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Area type centering option not working, text jumps to top of frame

    When creating text frame with area type (it is not threaded nor multiple columns) set to center vertically, the text jumps to the top and will not center align at all. This is a function I have used in 2025 with no issues and now it will not work at all in 2026.

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    This problem is reportedly fixed in the latest Beta Build 30.5.0.18. You can update and test if it’s truly gone.

    However, please not there are some known issues with this particular build:

    • Opening recent files from Home Screen Recent section is not working (opening recent files from File > Open Recent Files works fine).
    • Generative Expand does not open its own HUD when used after Generate Vector, Generative Shape Fill, or Sketch to Vector. Instead, the previous tool's HUD is displayed and Generative Expand remains inaccessible. Workaround: Ungroup the generative content first, then apply Generative Expand.
    • Half of Astute Graphics plugins can’t get loaded. Both teams are now aware of the problem.
  17. Picking Eyedropper temporarily disables Smart Guides

    As reported here: https://www.reddit.com/r/AdobeIllustrator/comments/1p6ecuj/behavior_of_eyedropper_tool_changed_recently/

    In previous versions (can’t say for sure now when it stopped) we were able to aim with the Eyedropper better, when Smart Guides were enabled. In CC 2017 it works. Was quite helpful to pick color from a stroke, highlighting the object that is going to be sampled. Cool, right?

    But now, I suppose with the Photoshop-style sampling rings glued on, Illustrator forgot it’s a vector program. The sampling ring should not disable Smart guides!

    I somewhat get why pressing Shift might disable it, because Shift enables the 'sample by pixel' mode, and picking a color…

    8 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    3 comments  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. The tooltip about the ability to smooth a part of the path get displayed many times instead of once until tried

    The tooltip about being able to use the direct selection tool to select only a few anchor points and smooth just that portion is helpful... once. Afterwards, it's just distracting. Please have it turn off either after the first time it appears, or if the user has successfully done this maneuver at least once.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Need More Info  ·  2 comments  ·  Tools  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  19. DICカラーの表示がおかしい

    Ver30.3で新規ファイルを作成したうえでカラーにDIC指定をすると、色がくすんで表示されます。CMYK値に変換したとき、くすんだ色のままの数値になってしまいます。
    新規ではなく以前作ったファイル上でDICカラーを指定した場合はこれまで通りの表示になっています。
    設定の変更で対応可能でしょうか?

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. Select > Same > Object menu has Unicode square is visible in front of hotkeys

    Select > Same > Object has a Unicode White Square □ in front of each displayed hotkey combination — these probably should indent the hotkeys to the right side, and it never happens.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?