Skip to content

Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs

When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:

  1. Details of your operating system
  2. The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop) 
  3. The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
  4. Your expected result and the actual result
  5. Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)

  • Hot ideas
  • Top ideas
  • New ideas
  • My feedback

5936 results found

  1. Can’t overwrite values in size fields of the New Document dialog

    When creating a new document, you cannot click into width or height box and select as one and overwrite - previously you could do this.

    You have to use backspace — incredibly irritating. Please fix.

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Thanks for reporting the issue , Illustrator team really appreciate this.
    Unfortunately we are not able to reproduce this issue. Could you kindly provide the following information to help us nail this down :

    1. Kindly provide a short recording with some steps with which you are facing the issue and share with us in a zip file on ShareWithAI@adobe.com .

    Thanks and Regards ,
    Ankit Goyal
    Illustrator Team

  2. Files with extra-long file names aren’t saved on Windows, without a warning

    If the file name is too long for Windows 10, no error message is generated but the file is not saved.

    Interestingly, the thumbnail on the Home page for AI shows the final version of the artwork, but clicking on it opens the last one actually saved instead. I didn't know what had happened and closed/reopened AI to get AI to open the correct file, then saw the file did not actually exist.

    I was able to recover my work because the last 3 tmp files were not removed, so I renamed the extensions to "ai" and got my work…

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  3. Bug when Alt/Option-dragging multiple points with Direct Select

    In Illustrator version 24.3, I'm getting a bug with Alt/Option-dragging multiple points using the Direct Selection tool. See screen recording attached.

    Opt+dragging one point gives expected results.

    Opt+dragging 2 or more points copies the entire object.

    12 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  4. Colors in entire file are suddenly completely wrong (when not in pixel preview mode)

    I just encountered this bug on macOS 10.14 with Illustrator 2021. After pasting a PNG into my document, the colors of everything suddenly look very different and washed out.

    I can "fix" this by using Pixel Preview mode OR "View using CPU", but that slows down my workflow. I even tried opening an earlier version before I pasted the PNG, and the colors are still completely wrong! Can anyone help?

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  5. Illustrator 25 extremely slow

    Illustrator 25 (the past several versions; currently running 25.2.3 on two separate Macs) on Mac OS (Big Sur) has been running extremely slowly for me. I've reinstalled the app, reset prefs, removed plugins, removed fonts, etc., unticked "GPU performance," ensured that dictation is disabled at the OS level, and Illustrator is still giving me the beach ball of death for things like selecting items in the menu with a dead-simple file.

    I have downloaded Affinity Designer, but it's not making my socks go up and down — twenty years of Illustrator muscle memory makes it hard to switch. I'm not clear…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Performance  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  6. Can't Save certain files on Big Sur (Illustrator 24.3)

    While saving certain files, illustrator starts loading, freezes and crashes.
    Reinstalling didn't seem te work.

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  7. Normal "Save" operation in recording Actions becomes a "Save as" operation

    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 2004, Illustrator version 25

    When you create a new action and use "Save" it becomes a "Save As" where it displays a path.

    My scenario: I often have to re-save a batch-exported pdf again with normal "Save" so that all text is converted to paths for a print house via custom shortcut F12.

    Because during batching there is no option do convert the text.
    So I need a second run with recorded actions:

    • select all
    • convert all text to path (outlines)
    • save
    • close

    The normal save operation is required so this can work with any file…

    9 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    5 comments  ·  Actions  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  8. Transform > Mirror does not work properly

    Illustrator Version 25.0.1 german (Funktion SPIEGELN)

    Sometimes if i use many time the mirroring function this mistake comes

    An object is mirrored, (Funktion SPIEGELN in german) axis VERTICAL.

    The object is copied, mirrored again and he remembers the last setting and is mirrored again on the VERTICAL axis.

    Then suddenly in between he suggests the ANGLE axis.

    This problem happens after using many times this function mirror, and not evray time very strange.

    I never saw anything like this in the old versions.

    I work with Illustrator all day and something like that is for me noticeable.

    5 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    7 comments  ·  Other...  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  9. ドロップシャドウを適用したオブジェクトをグレースケールに変換するとシャドウ部分がマスクされてしまう

    macOS10.15.6 Illustrator ver.25.2.3

    再現手順:
    1.長方形を作成し塗りを設定し、「効果→スタイライズ→ドロップシャドウ」を適用する。
    2.1のオブジェクトを選択した状態で「編集→カラーの編集→グレースケールに変換」を適用する。
    3.オブジェクトの下に適用されているドロップシャドウ部分がオリジナルの長方形をドロップシャドウパネルの「X軸オフセット・Y軸オフセット」分移動した状態の図形にてマスクされる。
    4.「分割・拡張」を適用してアピアランスを分割するとマスクされた状態でビットマップに落とされる。

    期待する結果:
    シャドウをクリッピングせずにカラーの変更のみ行う。

    実際の結果:
    シャドウがクリッピングされてしまう。

    以前に報告されていた投稿がありましたが、一部に挙動の誤認があるため、新たにバグ登録を行いました。
    https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447-illustrator-desktop-bugs/suggestions/38758498-ドロップシャドウのバグ
    また、光彩(外側)においても同様の挙動となります。

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
    Under Review  ·  PCM Maro responded

    製品フィードバックへのご協力ありがとうございます。

    ご報告いただいた現象を確認いたしました。
    追加検証を行ってまいります。

    情報のアップデートがありましたら、こちらでご報告いたします。

    よろしくお願いいたします。

    Illustrator チーム

  10. Communicating with Adobe

    Hi Adobe people,

    I have a question about the communication with users. Under what circumstances does it make sense at all to post a comment/bug/idea/etc. in this place. Do users get heard? Is there a limit of votes above which ideas are actually implemented? How are decisions about what is fixed and what not made?

    I am asking because I have so many points collected over the years that I am planning to post. But this is kind of a lot of work on the side of regular work day that I want to make sure it is worth the…

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  11. Not enough memory

    Working on MacOS Catalina 10.15.7 with Illustrator 25.3.1
    I have a simple shape like half of a circle which has a standard color filling plus a "inner Glow" effect. When I want to transform the object like scaling, it tells me there is not enough memory. When I hide the effect and redo the steps it will let me transform the object. Thanks for taking care.

    2 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    0 comments  ·  Performance  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  12. Intel HD Graphics 4600 unsupported video driver

    We've updated to the latest available driver from Intel for this integrated graphics card on our laptop.

    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/30196/Intel-Graphics-Driver-for-Windows-15-40

    However, Illustrator still warns of incompatibilities every time we launch it. We've set our discrete NVIDIA graphics card as the preferred GPU, and it's listed in the Edit > Preferences > Performance > GPU Details. However, Illustrator still appears to be trying to verify the Intel drivers. There's not an option to disable the onboard graphics chip in our BIOS (MSI laptop). We tried disabling the onboard graphics in Windows Device Manager, but that didn't appear to make any difference. We saw…

    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    4 comments  ·  Launch  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  13. Mouse/Tablet issues when using Hej Stylus! in combination with Ai

    Operating system: macOS 10.15.6
    Graphics card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2 GB
    Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB
    Wacom Tablet, Intros Pro, or Cintiq 24 HD f.i.

    Broken: Ai CS6+

    Eilert from Hej Stylus! writing. Hej Stylus! is a tool that smoothes tablet output amongst other features.
    Hej Stylus! pulls live tablet event data and re-infuses altered events back into the macOS event stream using:

    CGEvent.tapCreate(tap: .cgSessionEventTap,
    place: .headInsertEventTap,
    options: .defaultTap,
    ...
    Using any of Hej Stylus!' position smoothing algos creates cursor issues in Ai - on tablet use only. Mouse is not affected.
    Using Tablet devices causes blender to 'use'…

    14 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    2 comments  ·  Other...  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    Hi All,

    Thanks for reporting the issue .
    We are not able to reproduce this issue in house. ,Kindly provide following info to nail down this issue:

    1)Kindly provide some video showing how in Illustrator issue is observed, Test file(Via File→Package) & elaborated steps with which you are facing issue and share with us at ShareWithAI@adobe.com .

    Please mention the title of this issue as the subject of the mail. 

    Warm regards
    Aishwarya G Gadodia
    Illustrator Team

  14. Textframe bugs out, and won't change color. Had to make new text boxes

    Found a bug where a specific text box will NOT ovewrite the color of the text. I tried deleting paragraph styles, making new paragraph styles with different color, character styles and eyedropper tool. I can change weight, italics etc but the color would NOT change, despite the changes appearing in the appearance panels and other areas. Fixed by making new text boxes and moving the copy to those, but an annoying bug for sure.

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  15. Saving issues

    I have an issue with illustrator, files are not saving properly. The file 15 year warranty vector I created is saving as "~ai-87c8b406-558b-424b-915b-974d5eb7acda_"

    Or it doesnt save at all.

    I am running the latest illustrator

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  16. Incorrect file extension when exporting to *.png

    Hello! When I try to export an illustration to *.png, the file generated ends up with a *.dwg extension. If I rename the *.dwg-file to *.png and open it it's still a valid *.png file.

    The export is done using File->Export->Export As... Select *.png as file type, type a filename (with no dot in it), press Export. Select Resolution 150ppi, press ok. A *.dwg file is now created at the selected path

    1 vote

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    3 comments  ·  Other...  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  17. プロパティパネルだけが英語表記になってしまう。

    プロパティパネルが英語表記になってしまう。
    プロパティパネル以外は日本語表記のまま。
    環境設定やAdobeCCの設定を確認しても、言語の欄は日本語になっいる。

    78 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  18. Type — Different Opacity Settings Not Displayed (GPU Preview)

    AI Version: 25.2
    OS: MacOS 11.2.1
    Using GPU Preview

    Problem:

    • With some type selected, edit the text and change the Opacity of only some letters.
    • Note that those characters do not look changes.
    • Switch to CPU Preview and note that the Opacity of those letters now display as expected.
    3 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    I am happy to share that we have fixed this bug in our latest release – 25.2.3 which is available worldwide now.

    Going forward, our goal is to fix as many top User-Voice bugs as possible and as frequently as possible. Given the nature of the fixes, some of the bugs will take a longer time to fix, but we are on it.

    You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html

    Thank you for all the feedback. Keep it coming!

  19. Smooth Blend option doesn’t add enough steps

    On the Mac OS, when blending between two shapes using the smooth blend tool, 7/10 times the blend will not be smooth but have one step between the shapes. I can instead create lots of steps as a work-around, but the designated tool does not work. If the shapes are separated far enough, more (but few) steps will appear.

    In the images below, you will see an attempted blend between a dark green gradient square, and a light green square. I am using the smooth blend tool.

    4 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    3 comments  ·  Blends  ·  Admin →
    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  20. Show Import Options Not Working

    I'm on the latest version using Big Sur OSX. I was wanting to use import options for Placing a layered psd file but checking "Show Import Options" doesn't bring up the dialogue.

    8 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    How important is this to you?

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)
  • Don't see your idea?