Illustrator (Desktop) Bugs
When reporting a bug, please provide a detailed description with the following:
- Details of your operating system
- The version of Adobe Illustrator (desktop)
- The steps you were taking when you experienced the issues
- Your expected result and the actual result
- Upload your Illustrator file or a video (screen recording or gif, this helps us most to reproduce the issue and resolve it)
5917 results found
-
Gestures Broken
Gestures (e.g. pinch to zoom, two finger panning) don't work in Illustrator for me anymore. They used to work just fine on both my Wacom tablet and laptop's touchpad, but now don't work for either. They work in Photoshop, just not Illustrator, so I'm not sure if it's an option that's been deselected or an actual bug, but I can't find the option if so. I can usually scroll vertically, pinch to zoom sometimes scrolls horizontally instead, and I can't use gestures to actually zoom at all.
OS: Windows 10
Version: Illustrator 201738 votesI am glad to update that this issue was fixed in 23.0.5 release.
Thank you for all the feedback.
-
Illustrator CC2019 using palettes sometimes makes palettes disappear and reappear on the left side of the screen
Every time this happens I have to reset my workspace.
2 votes -
Image Trace over a white square on color mode with 2 colors crashes Illustrator
This is a bug that happens on all versions of Illustrator, even CC 2019, and regardless of OS.
It's very specific, but here are the steps:
Create a new document. Color Mode doesn't matter.
Draw a square with only a white fill.
Rasterize it. Resolution and color mode doesn't matter.
Run Image Trace on it
In the Image Trace settings, set the Mode to Color and the number of colors set to 2.
Illustrator will crash.
Try it out! The expected result is probably just the same as if the number of colors was set to 3 or anything else…2 votes -
Random selections and wandering selection tool
When selecting and deselecting layers, the software will select and deselect other layers on its own. The selection tool and text tool will wander on its own all over the screen when trying to select or add text.
2 votes -
Illustrator ignores ‘Use Preview Bounds’ setting unless multiple objects are selected
Not much more to say. Single object selected? Bounding box ignores the object's stroke. Multiple objects selected? Bounding box encompasses the stroke.
MacOS Mojave 10.14.2
Illustrator 23.0.1Attached is a video demonstrating the issue.
1 voteSeems like it was fixed and won’t happen anymore. Please confirm
-
What video formats can we upload to bug requests?
I used to be able to upload videos to the bug reports but now no matter what format I seem to choose, I get a note that the format cannot upload. Furthermore, the bug report gets posted anyway without notice so if I try to upload a different format the post is double posted.
Can you please tell us what types of formats are allowed?
Can you change the bug report form so that when an unsupported video format is selected there's a warning or indication before pressing the post idea button OR if an unsupported format is selected and…
1 voteWe receive videos in form of .mov, .mp4 and at times even .mpg.
This portal allows attachments up to 50 mb and you can use any format for it. Is it possible there is a software or an browser extention that is troubling you. Can you please try this bug form from another browser or computer. -
Move tool also pans the view
When ever I move an object the view also moves, it is very disconcerting. Never experienced this before using lower versions.
2 votes -
Tabs captions are missing, Home screen is visible through the hole
Above the top ruler I should be able to see a tab, or multiple tabs when several files are open. However all that is shown is a cropped "Ai" ident. This means the only way I can flick between files is by through "Window" in the top panel.
4 votesPlease accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience. Please get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html . Since this is not a generic issue that we can reproduce at our end, we will need someone to look into your machine to figure out what is going on here.
-
Adding extra points and distorting paths after using Eraser and Scissor Tools
When I use the eraser and scissor tools Illustrator decides to add points to my existing shape. In the image I have attached all lines should be straight or have a slight curve on the corners. I did not add those points and didn't even know they were there until I zoomed out. I just updated Illustrator to its current version. If someone else is having a similar issue or know how to fix it please let me know.
30 votes -
'Edit SVG Filter' quote bug
The 'Edit SVG Filter' window text entry auto-replaces " with “ , invalidating the markup.
3 votesHello Isa,
We can confirm the issue and are sorry that you experience it. We are working on a fix for this issue.
Thanks for reporting the issue.
Dirk
-
Circle size change when rotating
When I rotate a perfect circle, the size changes up to .004”. A 15”x15” circle, when rotated 17.184° becomes a 15.004”x15.004” circle. I know it may sound trivial, but I’m creating technical drawings that have to be accurate to the ten thousandths of an inch.
2 votesI am happy to share that we have fixed this bug in our latest release – 24.3.0 which is available worldwide now.
Going forward, our goal is to fix as many top User-Voice bugs as possible and as frequently as possible. Given the nature of the fixes, some of the bugs will take a longer time to fix, but we are on it.
You can update to the latest release using Creative Cloud desktop App: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/creative-cloud-updates.html
Thank you for all the feedback. Keep it coming!
-
Selection tool moves objects in steps when using mouse
In CC2018 I could move my objects either in steps (arrows), big steps (Shift+arrows) or with precision using the mouse.
Now in CC2019 if I move something with the mouse it emulates the arrow keys movement, I'm talking about Twitch Badges (72x72 px) so It's a heavy issue for me, when working on big documents like 1080p this problem is barely noticeable2 votesMost probably you have View > Snap to Grid option checked, or Snap to Pixel.
Please comment back if it still a problem.
-
Freeform gradients color stops were altered after crash
Running Mac OS High Sierra and Illustrator CC2019.
While editing one shape with a freeform gradient, Illustrator crashed. Document had been saved prior to the edits. When opening the recovered file, all objects using that freeform gradient had all their color stops altered. Instead of dark brown, med brown and yellow, color stops were changed to use Registration, an unnamed brown and an unnamed pale color. None of those colors matched what had been used prior to the crash. Had to manually go back and redo the freeform gradient.
This feature is going to be really useful but you have…2 votesPlease get in touch with us at any of the other support channels – https://helpx.adobe.com/support.html . Since this is not a generic issue that we can reproduce at our end, we will need someone to look into your machine to figure out what is going on here.
-
Wrong font preview for RTL languages
There are a few problems with the new fonts preview in the last version of Illustrator.
1. Even though 'Selected Text' preview option is selected the preview shows first five Hebrew alphabet letters instead.
2. This happens weather the text box is selected or the text itself.
3. Sometimes the 'Selected Text' preview is shown. In those cases it's shown backwards (LTR instead of RTL).This happens in spite of the fact that the text box is marked as a 'Hebrew' one and 'RTL Arabic' digits is selected.
I'm using a Mac running OS X 10.13.6 High Sierra.1 voteHi Eli,
Not all the fonts have all the glyphs available with them to show the preview. For the fonts where glyphs are not available, we show the default sample preview (that’s why you get first five glyphs for those fonts)
Hope This helps.
Thanks
Anish Kumar
Illustrator QE -
Selection tool not working with Text
Intermittently, the selection tool isn't working with my text. For area type, the bounding box will disappear (and "show bounding box" is enabled). When it re-appears, often there is a lag between when I move the text and when the bounding box follows it. If there is no lag, it is not uncommon for the bounding box not to move at all.
OR my selection tool will (on area type) act only like a direct selection tool. And the transformation controls on each side of a rectangle of the type box will disappear. All I can do is use the…
13 votesHi All,
Thanks for reporting this issue.
We are getting response from users that they are facing this issue no more on Latest Illustrator released version .Hence marking this issue as resolved.In case you are still encountering this issue.
Kindly provide some video and Test file(Via File→Package) with some steps with which you are facing issue and share with us in a zip file at sharewithai@adobe.com .Please mention the title of this issue as the subject of the mail.Regards,
Ankit Goyal
Illustrator Team -
Paste Remembers Layers doesn't work if original layer is hidden
Steps:
Create object on layer.
Copy object.
Hide layer.
Create new layer.
Paste object with new layer selected.It will warn you that the layer you're attempting to paste onto is hidden. But... no it's not. I have the "Paste remembers layers" checkbox turned off.
This is either a bug, or someone should stick close to someone who actually understands user expectations.
4 votes -
Pathfinder Actions not properly saving in Illustrator CC 2019
Every time after I close and open Illustrator I have to edit my actions all over again. I've set all Pathfinder options to expand when being performed. They work while I'm in the session, when I open the software the next day I have to re-set them to do the same, otherwise they all act as if they're Unite and don't even perform the proper action. I've moved them out of the default folder and into a custom folder - still keep doing that. Slows down work a lot.
2 votes -
save for web image has missing data / missing layer
save for web image has missing data / missing layer
2 votes -
SVG export for screens distorted
Vectors getting quite distorted creating SVGs of logos even with 5 decimal places and no minify. I've had to copy and paste into Sketch then export SVGs from there, not ideal at all.
9 votes -
Secondary view moves when editing text
OSX 10.13.5, Illustrator 22.1.
When I have two windows open on the same document and start editing text, the inactive window will recenter its view on wherever my text cursor is.
Reproduction:
- Open a new document
- Draw something off on the side of it
- Zoom in on this thing
- View > New Window
- Arrange both windows so you can see them at once
- Recenter the new window far away from the thing you drew in step 2
- In the window that's not showing the thing you drew in step 2 make a new text box, or create a new point…
5 votes
- Don't see your idea?